Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nicest Chipper

• 02-07-2008 3:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭

There's 13 of us (Shels fans) getting the train down to Waterford on Friday for the Waterford -v- Shels match and looking for the nicest chipper.

Our walking route will be over the bridge, along the quays and down from Parnell St, down the Cork Rd, etc...

Any decent pubs along that route aswell?:cool:

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,040 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

There's 13 of us (Shels fans) getting the train down to Waterford on Friday for the Waterford -v- Shels match and looking for the nicest chipper.

Our walking route will be over the bridge, along the quays and down from Parnell St, down the Cork Rd, etc...

Any decent pubs along that route aswell?:cool:

Well along that route theres nothing decent, if its just a take away you are after, then when you come across the bridge go straight up bridge street passed the new hotel on your right, then take the second left after that heading up towards Aldi in the Glen, just across the road from Aldi and beside the Forum is Tony's. Very good food in there.

With regards to a pubs, well there are two around there, the showboat and the old ground, while about 300 yards up the road is Alfie Hales in Ballybricken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Detour a little farther up ballybricken and go to Walkers on Mayors Walk, its the best chipper in waterford by a mile. Alfies and the Tap Room on ballybricken are pretty decent pubs too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭daftdave

Detour a little farther up ballybricken and go to Walkers on Mayors Walk, its the best chipper in waterford by a mile. Alfies and the Tap Room on ballybricken are pretty decent pubs too.

have to agree with ya about walkers, great queue in there too :p

as for the olde ground pub in previous post, nice for old people, dont think it will suit a load of soccer fans !

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭henboy

ye just head for ballybricken few chippers up that way . good pubs as well and your not a million miles away from the RSC

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,500 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Never saw the attraction of walkers, the chips ain';t great and they don't even give you a proper bag...def not worth the wait you have to endure most of the time if you go there.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,642 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

If you make it out to tramore, cunninghams up the town is the nicest in the province! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭flonge

faceman wrote: »
    If you make it out to tramore, cunninghams up the town is the nicest in the province! ;)

its no longer called cunninghams,its been taken over by dooleys.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,642 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

flonge wrote: »
    its no longer called cunninghams,its been taken over by dooleys.

No way, i didnt realise that. havent been down in a while. No one my friends and family told me!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

faceman wrote: »
    No way, i didnt realise that. havent been down in a while. No one my friends and family told me!!!

appartnly its aint as nice anymore either, shame .

Cabaal wrote: »
    Never saw the attraction of walkers, the chips ain';t great and they don't even give you a proper bag...def not worth the wait you have to endure most of the time if you go there.

Say what now? my gast is well and truly flabbered at your statement.

The chips in walkers are lovely, nice and crisp unlike the soggy greasy ones in other chippers in the locality. The scallops there are superior too.

plus....a bag?? chips are best served in proper chip paper not lumped into a bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭south

Have to agree with the poster above.. Probably the best fish a chips in the town. They have a very limited menu so I wouldn’t go their for anything else but fish and chips.. I think they microwave the burgers ,not good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

south wrote: »
    Have to agree with the poster above.. Probably the best fish a chips in the town. They have a very limited menu so I wouldn’t go their for anything else but fish and chips.. I think they microwave the burgers ,not good.

Thats right, the burgers are microwaved. But it is a fish and chip shop not a burger joint. The battered sausages and breasts of chicken are good too.

I guess the thinking is that they try and do what they specialise in very well. The curry chip in there is good to and the scallop butties....mmmmmm

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

I think the nicest chipper in the city is The Marian (at the junction between upper and lower yellow road).

I always loved the food out of Ballybricken take away and since Angelo has left that place to open up the Marian the food has only got better. He is also going to start doing some italian food besides pizzas, pastas n stuff.

Walkers is good but the Marian is better..........

B~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Cheers for the replies. Know Waterford pretty well myself as I have mates down there and stuff so I've been there a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Personally I like the Golden Fry if only because you could walk in there with 50c and come out with a feast in a bag!

Walkers are my favourite though, but are closed until the 14th of July for the families "annual holiday".

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭deise_boi

Can't bate the cleaboy in fairness lads! Best chips in the county, tastiest chicken fillet burgers...... what more can ye want? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭alpha2zulu

Ah its Walkers all the way for me....ya can't bate it boi:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Bit of a long stroll to the RSC, although definitely the most direct route. Not sure how to embed google maps in webpages but if you click this it should get you there a bit quicker.
    And you also pass close to Tony's in the Glen and directly past The Marian.

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&hl=en&geocode=4070111235371447943,52.246863,-7.126563&saddr=52.263955,-7.119226&daddr=Cork+Rd%2FN25+%4052.246863,+-7.126563&mra=mi&mrsp=0,1&sz=15&sll=52.258991,-7.114506&sspn=0.019911,0.05476&ie=UTF8&ll=52.256574,-7.113175&spn=0.019912,0.05476&z=15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭daftdave

the chips in the kentucky are pretty good if you ask me, mmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

deise_boi wrote: »
    Can't bate the cleaboy in fairness lads! Best chips in the county, tastiest chicken fillet burgers...... what more can ye want? :D

correct

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭DupsTheKid

Johnny Walkers is definetely the place to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

danny's on barrack street have those big chunky ass chips, hard to finish those badboys sometimes cos of the amount they give ya. well tasty. walkers always do a good fish n chip as well. the place by the marian, i'm told, is another quality chipper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭flonge

emo!! wrote: »
    appartnly its aint as nice anymore either, shame .

B4 dooleys took it over it was bad,hardly any one went there..
    But now theres always people in d place..
    The food is really good esp the batter sausages!lol!

Roen wrote: »
    Bit of a long stroll to the RSC, although definitely the most direct route.

Walked it before, well walked to my mates gaff on the Cork Road, so add on another 5 mins. Sure only 1 out of the 13 of us will be sober so we won't mind, but he might.:pac:

Thanks for all the replies again.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 amyloneill

the marian is the best , arons is'nt bad either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

yeah aarons is well tasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Personally I like the Golden Fry if only because you could walk in there with 50c and come out with a feast in a bag!

Walkers are my favourite though, but are closed until the 14th of July for the families "annual holiday".

The golden fry is the dogs b***x

BTW the burgers in walkers are absolute kak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

Right the walk turned into a joke because of the rain and so it's all Gavs fault that we're all going to die of pneumonia.

Oh and if the chap that gave me and 2 other fellas a lift is on this thanks for that!

What ever happened to the Sunny South-East.