Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LOL Coppers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

3 bags, one at the door incase someone comes in

hell lets just roll around in as many bags as we can using whatever holes we find and f*ck the begrudgers!

You realise I cant take this thread seriously anymore since you managed to tickle my funnybone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

industria wrote: »
    Are you for real? GTFO!
    Well maybe YOU are the type of guy who wouldn't give a **** about knocking up a random girl and wouldn't want to have anything to do with the child you helped create, but you're not the same as all guys.

Then again I presume you'd just use a condom and not let that happen in the first place...

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭Dlite

Are you for real? GTFO!

Yes, I am for real. Is that such a hard concept for you to understand? There are some decent men out there that would stand up and take responsibility. You are obviously not one of them:(

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

hell lets just roll around in as many bags as we can using whatever holes we find and f*ck the begrudgers!

You realise I cant take this thread seriously anymore since you managed to tickle my funnybone?

i never took it seriously :D

dudess is covering you dont worry

ever hear of a train

humm this isn't really ah material

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,330 ✭✭✭Homer

Dudess wrote: »
    Well maybe YOU are the type of guy who wouldn't give a **** about knocking up a random girl and wouldn't want to have anything to do with the child you helped create, but you're not the same as all guys.

Then again I presume you'd just use a condom and not let that happen in the first place...

Psssst.. This is AH remember?! My posts in here are tongue in cheek! This aint PI.. Chillax!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Dlite wrote: »
    Yes, I am for real. Is that such a hard concept for you to understand? There are some decent men out there that would stand up and take responsibility. You are obviously not one of them:(

i think he'd make a great daddy, he'd love an ol ball and chain

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gGMFEYGJsuc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

i never took it seriously :D

dudess is covering you dont worry

ever hear of a train

humm this isn't really ah material

im off now, cheers for the laugh, see ya in coppers later..... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,330 ✭✭✭Homer

You = Doormat :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Again, why the woman? Shouldn't the man be just as careful about protection? Sure, he doesn't have to worry about getting pregnant, but would getting someone pregnant not also be a rather big concern? Plus, would he not want to protect himself from STDs?
    The responsibility should be equal. All that stuff that women should be more responsible implies that men are kinda helpless.

Why? Why?? Well I don't see a guy wandering around looking for the missing mother to his child!

And you quoted me out of context, I wasn't speaking solely about contraception.

Basically, if you're going to have a one night stand, work away. If you're worried about the aftermath, ensure you know something about the person you're sleeping with! Like, a name for example?? And you'll notice this paragraph is not gender specific.

same sex one night stands all the way

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭Dlite

You = Doormat :p

You = Doorman :eek:

touche.....

Wreck wrote: »
    There is so much I disagree with here its hard to know where to start. I'm just going to reiterate once more that I believe trying to find the father is the right and responsible thing to do, for various reasons.

1) The father has a right to know, at least imo. If I was in this situation I would definetly want to know I had a child, and I can't believe I'm alone in this.

2) The child has a right to know who its father is. In 20 or so years time it will be even more difficult to trace the father, so the mother doing it now makes sense.

3) The father has a responsibility to the child. He is responsible for bringing the child into the world should be responsible for looking after it now, both financially and socially. The mother seeking financial aid (if she is, nothing to suggest that this is the case) is not gold digging, it is attempting to act in the best interests of the child.

Considering how much of my post you supposedly "disagree with", you did a piss poor job making that very obvious.

1)The father probably does know now, or will. So let's leave that part out, because it's up to him after that.

2)What if the father is an asshole? Or now happily married with kids of his own that doesn't want to know his bastard child.

3)You don't know what the mothers interests are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭eamonnm79

Brilliant, brilliant post.

It is in its BxxxxxX

Its feminist Bullcrap.

Women control when, where and how sex happens. If they dont, its called rape.

If hetrosexuals have sex what can a guy do to prevent unwanted pregnancy?

Wear a condom.

What can a woman do?

They can get the guy to wear a condom.
    Use a diaphram.
    They can use the pill
    They can use a rod in their arm
    They can use the morning afterpill
    They can terminate the pregnancy if they realise they are pregnant before 22 weeks.

Its not factually correct to say that guys are "as responsible".

The whole thing is happening in the womans body, of course she can do more to prevent it and therefore is more responsible.

However I have to say, I would want to know if I had a kid regardless of the circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

eamonnm79 wrote: »

eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭eamonnm79

eh?

Its a form of contraception. Its called "The rod".
    As homer would say, In rod we trust!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Condoms are hardly infalable, same for the Pill.
    All that stuff that women should be more responsible implies that men are kinda helpless.

Any kind of sex is a calculated risk, unless you're actually planning to get pregnant.
    And most of the risk lies with the woman seeing as she'll be left gestating and birthing the little bundle of misery at the end of the day.
    So in that respect anyone that thinks that women shouldn't have to be more responsible is only deluding themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

she was a nurse
    in coppers
    having one night stands

there's probably enough of these to start a company selling low cost low turnover low margin exclusive goods to and still stay afloat during the recession

Any kind of sex is a calculated risk, unless you're actually planning to get pregnant.
    And most of the risk lies with the woman seeing as she'll be left gestating and birthing the little bundle of misery at the end of the day.
    So in that respect anyone that thinks that women shouldn't have to be more responsible is only deluding themselves.
    I want to thank you, but I feel the points are falling on deaf ears at this stage. Maybe dumb and blind ears too, by the sounds of it...

Mirror wrote: »
    I want to thank you, but I feel the points are falling on deaf ears at this stage. Maybe dumb and blind ears too, by the sounds of it...

deft from children crying and blind from pee in their eyes from nappy changing squirts

But that still doesn't explain why the responsibility lies more with the woman than with the man... Nor should she be any less responsible. It should be equal.
    To say more responsibility lies with the woman just because she's the one who'll get pregnant is unfair and an outdated attitude.

But that still doesn't explain why the responsibility lies more with the woman than with the man... Nor should she be any less responsible. It should be equal.
    To say more responsibility lies with the woman just because she's the one who'll get pregnant is unfair and an outdated attitude.

cos the man doesnt get pregnant

THATS WHY

tough cookies bein a bird eh

What exactly dates this attitude?

you cant say things are equal if theyb are not equal

the responsability to ones self to protect ones self is dependant on the consequenses

the consequences to the nurse are wurse so she has a greater responsability to herself

this is the same as the arguument about girls going out in skimpy gear and getting locked

is a not fair world
    please see sig

Tigger wrote: »
    you cant say things are equal if theyb are not equal

the responsability to ones self to protect ones self is dependant on the consequenses

the consequences to the nurse are wurse so she has a greater responsability to herself

this is the same as the arguument about girls going out in skimpy gear and getting locked

is a not fair world
    please see sig
    Multiple orgasms.

Now quitsies, right?

What exactly dates this attitude?

sex and the city

Tigger wrote: »
    sex and the city

Multiple orgasms.

Now quitsies, right?

nope

regular organisims are grand if they don't make me pregnant

It is of course outdated because it's from the misogynistic "little slut, she got herself pregnant" school of thought. A woman can't get herself pregnant - obvious I know but people still take that idiotic phrase for granted.

A man not in a committed relationship should carry condoms, a woman not in a committed relationship should carry condoms. The condom should be put on carefully. A woman can't do any more than that, and it's not exactly a hardship for the man either.

I'm not saying this is the case here, but if there are guys who actually feel it's ok to have unprotected sex with a woman and then blame her for not being responsible if she gets knocked up... hope you get ****ing syphillis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

It is in its BxxxxxX

Its feminist Bullcrap.

Women control when, where and how sex happens. If they dont, its called rape.

If hetrosexuals have sex what can a guy do to prevent unwanted pregnancy?

Wear a condom.

What can a woman do?

Use a diaphram.
    They can use the pill
    They can terminate the pregnancy if they realise they are pregnant before 22 weeks.

Its not factually correct to say that guys are "as responsible".

The whole thing is happening in the womans body, of course she can do more to prevent it and therefore is more responsible.

However I have to say, I would want to know if I had a kid regardless of the circumstances.
    I do agree to a certain extent as they are quick enough to say its my body you dont have a say.So really you cant have your cake and eat it.Shes the one that choose to carry on the pregnancy the guy didnt know.Thers no guarentee that she told the truth either,she could just as easily lied to the fella as he probably lied to her.The lessson is bollix i dont care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

KevIRL wrote: »
    'Coppers' fling leads to hunt for baby's dad

By Kevin Doyle

Wednesday July 02 2008

A NURSE who became pregnant after a one-night stand with a man she met in Copper Face Jacks has begun a campaign to find the baby's father.

The woman who will only reveal her name as "Roisin" has appealed for the public help in finding the man she met only once at the famous Harcourt Street nightclub frequented by gardai and nurses.

She had a brief encounter with the father of her child at the club in April 2007. And after a night of passion, she never saw him again.

*checks diary for april 07*

Phew.. Nurse named Michelle.. from Kilkenny.

Had sex right threw the entire length of casino royal.

Nice girl

hope you get ****ing syphillis.

i think dudess is implying roisin has syphillis

It explains it perfectly, the person who is going to suffer the most in the event of a pregnancy is going to be a woman, not a man, Doubly so in the event of it being an unplanned pregnancy where the man is nothing more than a vague blur with a penis in the mothers memory.
    Given the various ways in which a pregnancy will impact a mothers life it's only sensible that they take more responsibility. It's her life and body that will be impacted, not the feckless rogue that vanishes into the night after a brief tryst.

Of course it's unfair, life tends to be, so the sensible course of action is to take care of yourself rather than expect everyone to be a decent person who'll do what you want them to believe is the right thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

Mother/Father/Married/Single/Planned/Accident

-You make 'em, ya mind 'em!!!

End.Of.Story.

What can a woman do?

Oh, cuz the guy can't voluntarily put on a condom. He has to be prompted. Y'know, if I were a man I'd be insulted at some of the attitudes here by my peers - some of you are making men out to be fuking helpless idiots.
    Use a diaphram.
    They can use the pill
    Why should they have to go to the trouble of any of the above when there are condoms, which are also necessary anyway to prevent STDs.
    Yep, if there's an accident. Fair enough.
    Quit belittling abortion. It's a very painful decision for a lot of women, even if the pregnancy is the result of a drunken one night stand. If you think a woman just thinks "****, I'm pregnant. Oh well, I'll have to have an abortion" you've a very simplistic outlook.
    And it seems some here feel more responsibility lies with the woman if she chooses not to have an abortion... seriously, grow the fuk up.
    And the guy planted a seed there.

It explains it perfectly, the person who is going to suffer the most in the event of a pregnancy is going to be a woman, not a man, Doubly so in the event of it being an unplanned pregnancy where the man is nothing more than a vague blur with a penis in the mothers memory.
    Given the various ways in which a pregnancy will impact a mothers life it's only sensible that they take more responsibility. It's her life and body that will be impacted, not the feckless rogue that vanishes into the night after a brief tryst.

Of course it's unfair, life tends to be, so the sensible course of action is to take care of yourself rather than expect everyone to be a decent person who'll do what you want them to believe is the right thing.
    But that implies so, that she's even responsible for the guy having sex with her. That he's not even responsible for it - she is! This crap of "it's her responsibility to ensure she's not put in such a position" completely lifts any responsibility from the man! It implies that if she let him have sex with her, she's responsible... but he had sex with her!

Mother/Father/Married/Single/Planned/Accident

-You make 'em, ya mind 'em!!!

End.Of.Story.

QFT

*High fives*.

But that implies so, that she's even responsible for the guy having sex with her. That he's not even responsible for it - she is! This crap of "it's her responsibility to ensure she's not put in such a position" completely lifts any responsibility from the man! It implies that if she let him have sex with her, she's responsible... but he had sex with her!

Esentially dudess the sad reality is that its a womans responsibility to look after her own body as is it her own right to have an abortion if she chooses.

My friend got some woman pregnant.. she was 22 and he was 29.. Her IQ was about 120,, i suspect the childs IQ wouls be somewhere in around 7 if it were born considering how thick and stupid the "father" is.

My point to my friend was that if she wants the abortion, he needs to except it and support her. At the end of the day he only knew her a few weeks and she has to make a life decision at such a young age, and as much as the father might say "oh yea.. il be there thru thiick and thin" the reality is often very different and the woman is left alone with a fat little kid.

You're drifting a bit now, snyper. What I have issues with is guys being ok with guys having irresponsible one-night stands with girls, but not with girls having irresponsible one-night stands with guys. It's up to both to ensure protection is used. It's not MORE up to the girl. Otherwise it seems it's ok for the guy to not put on a condom, but if the girl gets pregnant as a result, it was due to her stupidity, not his.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

Snyper -;)

You're drifting a bit now, snyper. What I have issues with is guys being ok with guys having irresponsible one-night stands with girls, but not with girls having irresponsible one-night stands with guys. It's up to both to ensure protection is used. It's not MORE up to the girl. Otherwise it seems it's ok for the guy to not put on a condom, but if the girl gets pregnant as a result, it was due to her stupidity, not his.

But Dudess, it is in reality more important for the woman to ensure shes protected.

Its her body, her missed period, her morning sickness, her missed 12 months out of her career, and her pain of child birth and her baby FOR LIFE.

And for a guy? Well if hes an asshole.. nothing.. he walks off .. and if she ever finds him.. some financial support if shes lucky.

Look if i got a woman pregnant.. Moses in a chariot pulled by 18 stallions wouldnt drag me away from my son or daughter and i would share the responsibility. But this is a difficult decision to make for a woman that either does not know who the father is, or doesnt trust him.

So at the end of the day the risk lies with the woman. You may not like that dudess, i may not like that.. but its biology

But that implies so, that she's even responsible for the guy having sex with her.

Well that's probably better than the situations where she isn't responsible. They have a word for that but what is it?
    It's an 'r' word I know that much....
    That he's not even responsible for it - she is! This crap of "it's her responsibility to ensure she's not put in such a position" completely lifts any responsibility from the man!

People hate responsibility, especially is the responsibility in question is a mewling, ****ting lump of blubber that will cost you a fortune and ensure you spend the first two years after it's birth tired and smelling of vomit.
    And it's far easier for a man to escape that responsibility than a woman, so unfortunately as much as you don't like it, the actual burden of responsibility lies more with a woman because she can't just move away and forget about the sprog that they've just helped spawn.

Now you can try to figure out some way to pervert nature and make it so guys can get knocked up too, which is probably what it'd take to create any kind of "equality" in this area (as well as being a cool science experiment), or we can just realise that due to how human biology works that this situation will probably always exist because people are selfish enough to exploit it, and take steps to protect yourself from being in this situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Because i'm knocking the broad generalisations out of the park today.....guys who don't wrap it up for a one night stand are morons.

Leaving the chance of getting the lass pregnant aside you have no idea what she might have....and you have no idea what YOU might have unless you get regular tests done. And most dudes i know don't.

If you get a lass knocked up then man the **** up and carry your responsibilities.

The same goes for the girlies. You know if you are on the pill or not. You know that having unprotected sex can get you pregnant or get you a nice STD.

If he won't wrap up then don't **** him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

I just thought how is she going to find the father if shes only giving out her first name.She will have to put her picture and contact details out as well.He has no way of contacting her .The most responsability lies with her shes the one to decide to carry on with the pregnancy cause yer man is not in the picture.

i'm goin to coppers tomorrow night, should i be worried about all of this!! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

i'm goin to coppers tomorrow night, should i be worried about all of this!! :pac:

Nah you have nothing to worry about bro!

Sure you couldn't even pull in Coppers!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Dragan wrote: »

LMAO big time!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'm with thelordofcheese and Dragan on this one.

Yes it's unequal. Life is unequal, but rather than moan about the inequality, as so many do, take steps to minimise it.

Yes condoms can fail, yes the pill can go awry, but the woman is the one left with the prenancy and the uncertainty.

I know damn well that if I could get pregnant my womb would as like fort knox as possible. Would I have one nighters? Yep, but I'd at least get their name and if they didn't want to use a condom well hello mister there's your hand to work with. We all from time to time may have an itch we need scratching but ffs getting the name of the scratcher and the general gist of who they are seems a tad sensible, if not part of the package. Anonymous shagging a la some Erica Jong novel may seem "exciting", sensible it is not.

I as a man (who could have told them my name was Maurice O'phlegm from Mickeytown. I didn't for the record) and walked away from any consequence have been with women on one nighters and they didn't want to use condoms. I kid you not. My answer? Eh no. Sorry. You're clearly insane.

TBH even as a guy the only one nighters I have even considered in the past was where I knew the woman in question, however vaguely. I could have gotten in contact with them anyway and they with me should the need arise.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Ouch! That's heavy personal abuse mate. Post reported. :D Even I've pulled in coppers.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Last time I tried I failed!!!

LOL Id go to coppers a bit (old habit from college days, old habits die hard!) and I go there cos I like the atmosphere. non pretentious people out to have fun and bouncers who coulnt care less really, they just let ya have your fun and I find the whole "go to coppers to get your ride" thing to be a bit of a myth. It happens, but its not any more prevalent than a lot of other places.

That said, the place is black every nite of the week, the girl is delusional if she thinks shes finding the father!! :P:P

Wibbs wrote: »
    Ouch! That's heavy personal abuse mate. Post reported. :D Even I've pulled in coppers.

I know, im gonna make a thread in feedback!! :P I think everyone has pulled in Coppers! its whether u go there to pull....I certainly dont!