Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*** Official WSOP Main Event Discussion Thread ***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

How did Gary finish up.....go on you mad bstard mclovin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

good stuff guys - gwon the irish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭g.quagmire

RoundTower wrote: »
    that, plus hali is out, didnt see connie all day, reesy is probably out because I didn't see him with Chub and O'Dea.

at least one other Irish guy in it who I played with earlier today but I cant remember his name, middle aged friendly guy who isn't Connie

John Cunningham? From Cork maybe? Any updates on this guy would be appreciated.

Killme00 wrote: »
    How did Gary finish up.....go on you mad bstard mclovin

Pokernews have his chip count at 79,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭a147pro

LOL. Has there ever been a M.E winner who is as big a douche as Hachem? Guy wins one of th biggest luckbox donkaments ever + a WPT yet constantly whinges about how bad he runs. Throws a basketball like a girl too.

Russell Rosenblum raises to 1,500 preflop and Joe Hachem calls out of the big blind.

The flop is . Q T A Hachem checks and Rosenblum bets 2,000. Hachem calls.

The turn is J and Hachem checks. Rosenblum asks for a count of Hachem's remaining chips -- about 17,000 -- and bets 5,000.

Hachem folds angrily. "Do you realize how bad I've been running?" he says. "Do you realize how bad I've been running for the past two years?" says Rosenblum. Hachem has 17,000 left and Rosenblum has 140,000.

WTF is your problem with Hachem? He bought in, he won, he represented poker well in the year afterwards and AFAIK continued to be a winning player. Do you think the reports from railside are ultra accurate as per what happens? Why do you care about a tournie that you think is one of 'th biggest luckbox donkament ever'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,447 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

a147pro wrote: »
    WTF is your problem with Hachem? He bought in, he won, he represented poker well in the year afterwards and AFAIK continued to be a winning player. Do you think the reports from railside are ultra accurate as per what happens? Why do you care about a tournie that you think is one of 'th biggest luckbox donkament ever'?
    Yeah the pokernews reports are far from accurate. I was talking to Connie today this morning and he was telling me about a a big pot that T.J. Cloutier lost. This is what pokernews reported
    The flop is 6c.gif4s.gif7s.gif and the MP checks. T.J. bets and MP check-raises all in. T.J. calls and shows 10c.gif9c.gif to the MP's 4h.gif4c.gif. The turn and river are 6d.gifqs.gif and T.J. has 14,000 left.

Connie told me that the flop was 6c4s7c and that the action went that mp checks, Cloutier bets 2k, mp raises to 6k and Cloutier shoves and mp calls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Pokernews have his chip count at 79,000.
    He text me this morning after play ended, was in good mood, so say he is happy enough.
    And why not, with over twice the average in day two.

Anyone think the WSOP comissioner looks familar?

48707e0f73789.jpg

Jim's Dad :D:D
    levy_eugene200.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

well done to all still in, comiserations to those not, Valor wouldn't part with any action but i still hopes he wins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭coillcam

Yeah he looks really like Eugene Levi, good spot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

Less than 2000 tomorrow and its less runners then last year so i win my little bet with BCB/RT. Any idea how many are registered for tomorrow?

from pokernews

With roughly two hours to go before the noon kickoff for Day 1d play, roughly 2,200 players have registered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

What happens after day 1d? Is there a break in play for a day or anything? How many players will be starting day 2?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

Remaining players from day 1a and 1b come back for day 2a and then 1c and 1d the following day for 2b

Break on monday

Tues is Day 2A
    Weds is 2B

I'd say 1500 players on 2A, and 2000 on 2B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Mellor wrote: »
    Break on monday

Tues is Day 2A
    Weds is 2B

I'd say 1500 players on 2A, and 2000 on 2B

I'm struggling to figure something out. Disregarding the quality of the players on each day and just focusing on the amount of players/chips in play, would it be better to have been a Day1A/B or 1C/D player?

i'm not sure, i imagine its about the same,
    even though C & D have more chips in play, the average stack is the same,
    So each individual table is the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Which one is playing?

I was referring to Eoghan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭theGIANT

I know a lot of the galway players are on today if anyone has any contact update here.good luck to them and the rest of the irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Hawk Eye

finished the day with 63k, was stuck in between peter jepsen(ept winner) and menlo's roommate so happy to be going into day2b with that stack given I think I got a tougher than average table draw.
    Also got to bust a tv pro - Kirk Morrison.

Hawk Eye wrote: »
    Also got to bust a tv pro - Kirk Morrison.

Is that the lad who went off and live in NZ or somewhere for years? Not a bad player from what Ive seen, no doubt ill be corrected though. Details of the hand you busted him on?

nice running, hopefully the 7.5k gets leaked to pokernews and they do a degen story on you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Kirk always strikes me as one of the friendlier pros... very likeable personality. Seems like he'd he good craic to have at a table.

topnutz wrote: »
    Is that the lad who went off and live in NZ or somewhere for years? Not a bad player from what Ive seen, no doubt ill be corrected though. Details of the hand you busted him on?
    hendon mob lists as as being from New Zealand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Yeah thats the guy.

Mr E wrote: »
    Kirk always strikes me as one of the friendlier pros... very likeable personality. Seems like he'd he good craic to have at a table.

I say he's the nicest pro out there very friendly to all the players/dealers at the table and the pokernews update team whilst knocking back the miller lites.

Also hand of the day was against Morrison
    I raise AQo early 150-300 level he calls in pos, on the button I think.
    I check call a 2k bet on a KQTr flop, turns a 9 I check call 3k, rivers a blank a 4 I think and I check call 7k and my hand is good obv. Kirk said good call multiple times and menlo's roommate said it was the sickest call he's seen all series and he's played nearly every event. Gathered a bit of confidence from that calldown. The good thing is all the espn camera's were following this pro around so it should make tv. They start asking my name and email address so it would quality if it features.

My thinking in the hand was it was either a Jack or a bluff because he never turns a made hand into one on the river. Also his betsizing seemed bluffy and I was giving alot of weak tells throughout the hand intentional.

copied and pasted from pokernews he had about 10k to start the hand
    Kirk Morrison Eliminated
    James McManus opened the action with a raise to 800 from middle position and Kirk Morrison flat called from the big blind.

They took a flop of KhJh7s and Morrison checked to McManus who fired a continuation bet of 1,100. Morrison made the call.

The turn was the 3c and Morrison checked again to McManus who fired a second barrel worth 2,500. Morrison then announced he was all in and McManus snap-called.

"Noooo, are you sure you don't want to fold?!?" cried Morrison knowing that he was in trouble with his KsTs . Trouble indeed, as McManus showed JdJh for a set of jacks. A meaningless 9h on the river, and Morrison stood and shook all of his opponents' hands before heading to the rail.

Mellor wrote: »
    nice running, hopefully the 7.5k gets leaked to pokernews and they do a degen story on you

hopefully not:o

From poker news
    Clark Rockets To Double Up
    Gary Clark has just doubled up, after pushing his last chips in on a board of . Raj Vohra made the call, but cringed when Clark flipped over for the lead against Vohra's .

The fell on the river, but Clark's aces and deuces were good against Vohra's kings and queens.

Clark is now up to 35,000, with Vohra falling to 36,000.
    then 45 mins later
    Vohra Eliminated By Clark
    Raj Vohra has just been eliminated by Gary Clark. The pot was about 12,000 on the flop, with the rest of the chips going all in on a jack-high flop. It was a classic cold-deck situation with Vohra's pocket kings running into the pocket aces of Clark. There was no miracle for Vohra and he is left heading to the rail.

"It was all skill!" joked Clark as he now sits with close to 80,000 chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

NH

yep, confirmed as the 2nd biggest main event field ever. surpassing last years total. ship ship the $$. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭HIVeindhoven

yep, confirmed as the 2nd biggest main event field ever. surpassing last years total. ship ship the $$. :pac:

WP. Hopefully nadal can dig me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

gl to BigMickG and any other irish lads/lasses playing today.

Yang is seriously the worst ME winner ever.
    pokernews wrote:
    Jerry Yang brought a unique style to the WSOP last year and his almost maniacal approach worked brilliantly on that final table. However, it seems that Yang is approaching today's play with a similar level of recklessness, which is proving to be a little less successful. He is playing most pots and often calling players down with light holdings.

In a recent hand, Yang limped under the gun, and the player on the button raised to 400 with Yang making the call. They took a flop of and Yang check-called the 900-chip bet of his opponent. The turn was the and both players checked. The river brought the and Yang checked to his opponent, who fired 1,600. Yang insta-called and turned over , apparently believing that his hand was good. But his opponent flipped for a set of queens to take down the pot.

Yang is already down to 10,400 chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Yang down to 5k already...

does this actually surprise anyone?

dont worry, God will bail him out.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Moneymaker wrote: »
    gl to BigMickG and any other irish lads/lasses playing today.

Tim Vance Eliminated

Tim Vance raised to 325 from middle position and Ray Henson called from the button. The flop came down Jx,Qh,10x. Vance checked and Henson bet out 500. Vance called. The turn was the 2h and Vance checked again. Henson bet 1,200 and Vance raised it up to 4,000. Henson just called. The river was the 5h and Vance checked. Henson tossed a stack out in the middle that was enough to put Vance all in, about 14,000. Vance made the call. Henson showed him Ah 3h for the nut flush. Vance had flopped the straight with As Ks . "F***ing moron," said Vance as he tossed his cards across the table. "It was a pleasure playing with you all, it's been like that the whole Series. Nice hand, sir."

lol'ed at this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

i guess god views charity in the same way hj does.

LOL. From pokernews. Thats gratitude for you.

Seems a man in Kentucky got into a serious car accident a few months ago, his family tried to contact Moneymaker to get an autographed pic to help motivate his recovery. Seems Chris caught wind of it and actually drove from Tennessee to see this guy and play cards with him in the hospital. Moneymaker also offered to buy him into the ME if he felt up to it after recovering.

Fast forward to today...the guy is playing in the ME and Moneymaker shows up 15 minutes into Level 1 to check on him. Money asks the guy "How's it going so far?" Guy says "I'm bored". Money tells him how he's playing for almost 10 million bucks and how it's the ME and he's playing with Dario Mineri, who's one of the best in the world...you can't be bored. Guy says..."I'm bored" and his family tells Chris...he's bored as in "we're sorry and we don't know what else to say".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Moneymaker wrote: »
    does this actually surprise anyone?

The guy won a bucket load of money i'm pretty sure he doesn't give a fk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Wow big up to chris Moneymaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Wow big up to chris Moneymaker.
    He seems like a really nice guy, comes across very well (sincere and humble) in interviews I think. He's a great ambassador for Pokerstars, when you think about it.

ionapaul wrote: »
    He seems like a really nice guy, comes across very well (sincere and humble) in interviews I think. He's a great ambassador for Pokerstars, when you think about it.

The guy won a bucket load of money i'm pretty sure he doesn't give a fk

Nor does he have a clue what hes doing, and hes a total gimp luckbox, which im sure is the point people are trying to make about him, certainly the pokernews quote comes across like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭FedFrank2

good going hawk eye keep it up. Hopefully we'll have a good Irish result this year!

FedFrank2 wrote: »
    good going hawk eye keep it up. Hopefully we'll have another good Irish result this year!

FYP

but +1 none the less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Chris Moneymaker is very easy to root for.

Yeah, hes not the worlds best player but he seems pretty nice, not like hachem who seems like a total d*ck (and hes not even that good or successful)

btw what % of marty did he have himself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Poker_Tony

i dont know if this was posted any where else but fair play to gary clarke, finished the day on 79,300, very nice healthy stack for day 2, good luck gary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭coillcam

Yeah, hes not the worlds best player but he seems pretty nice, not like hachem who seems like a total d*ck (and hes not even that good or successful)

I agree that he could carry himself a bit better at the tables but since his ME win he's cashed in plenty of events and won a WPT. I suppose the fact that he can play any tourney in the world really helps with this too as between stars and his winnings he has an unbustable roll. His hendon mob profile has prolly been posted but here it is anyway http://pokerdb.thehendonmob.com/player.php?a=r&n=5435