Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bouncers in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭riff-raff

The Artist wrote: »
    Sorry there what make you think muscles got to do with doormen?
    they dont show them for a start.
    you dont neccesary need muscles for the job,it purely training comes with the job.
    Ive been with smaller bouncers and i tell you one thing they are worse.
    sorry boys i was one of the smaller door men ..I meant muscle as in there fight skills ..as they want to show of there ability to be one of the boys on the door ...sorry i didn't make this clearer ...I've seen it for 2 different perspectives been refused by door staff and working with door staff who where just bully's and didn't not now what common courtesying is.. its a shame there is still alot of it out there...

Mairt wrote: »
    No. it hasn't done either.

If it had even addressed those issues to a small degree we wouldn't be having this discussion.

But it has it gives you the right to complain about them and bring the club of pub to task by legal means .... its up to the individual to follow it up... but you also got to remember each club has different house rules and for instance if you turn up to a door wearing runners the chances are you wont be getting in;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

riff-raff wrote: »
    But it has it gives you the right to complain about them and bring the club of pub to task by legal means .... its up to the individual to follow it up... but you also got to remember each club has different house rules and for instance if you turn up to a door wearing runners the chances are you wont be getting in;)

Still doesn't make a difference as people/customer's away's had a route to redress a wrong, but most people turned away were ignorant of their rights (most still are) or were drunk and realised the next day that they'd been out of order. Or just couldn't be arsed to follow up on a complaint but would much rather bitch about it on boards.ie or mouth off to their mates about it.

This is very simple, and I seen a girl get an easy €10 grand from a club..

She was thrown out after causing trouble so was refused entry a few weeks later, but the trouble was never recorded in an incident book 'nor was there any CCTV evidence to back up the claims of the doorstaff that she'd caused trouble.

The doorstaff who had delth with the incident were Polish, they had no interest in getting involved and done a runner. The club couldn't provide any evidence what so ever of this incident and and 'hey-presto' the girl was awarded an out of court settlement.

And its that simple, regulation or not a venue is on shaky ground refusing a customer service.

Mairt wrote: »
    Still doesn't make a difference as people/customer's away's had a route to redress a wrong, but most people turned away were ignorant of their rights (most still are) or were drunk and realised the next day that they'd been out of order. Or just couldn't be arsed to follow up on a complaint but would much rather bitch about it on boards.ie or mouth off to their mates about it.

This is very simple, and I seen a girl get an easy €10 grand from a club..

She was thrown out after causing trouble so was refused entry a few weeks later, but the trouble was never recorded in an incident book 'nor was there any CCTV evidence to back up the claims of the doorstaff that she'd caused trouble.

The doorstaff who had delth with the incident were Polish, they had no interest in getting involved and done a runner. The club couldn't provide any evidence what so ever of this incident and and 'hey-presto' the girl was awarded an out of court settlement.

And its that simple, regulation or not a venue is on shaky ground refusing a customer service.
    There you go most of the time we bitch about what we could of or should of done :( instead we should be doing something about it follow up on your grievance and rock the clubs and there door staff ..this way they would provide a courteous service to there customers..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭fredzer

[
    Ive been with smaller bouncers and i tell you one thing they are worse.

Narf Narf!!:D

prefer the big lads eh!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 ronnieboy

i used to be a bouncer and if your on the ball you spot the blokes who look like you can wind up and thats part of the job. me and the other lads would see who could make grow men cry it was fun. never violent though cheers

ronnieboy wrote: »
    i used to be a bouncer and if your on the ball you spot the blokes who look like you can wind up and thats part of the job. me and the other lads would see who could make grow men cry it was fun. never violent though cheers

Classic bouncer mentality!
    Don’t believe I have ever seen a grown man cry because he wasn't let into a night club...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

fredzer wrote: »
    [prefer the big lads eh!!
    oh youd prefer big lads?
    Don’t believe I have ever seen a grown man cry because he wasn't let into a night club...
    is that why you cried because you couldnt get in:)

oh youd prefer big lads?

is that why you cried because you couldnt get in:)

Like what you've done there, just used my lines again, bouncer wit eh!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

Classic bouncer mentality!

Whatever point you were trying to make has been nullified by the assumption that a two-line statement from a man who isn't even bothered with punctuation, somehow qualifies him as a spokesman for an entire industry. I would go as far as to say that that is the most redundant contribution in eleven pages. Well done sir.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Can't say I have either...think that's a case of someone tryin to impress people!:rolleyes:

Whatever point you were trying to make has been nullified by the assumption that a two-line statement from a man who isn't even bothered with punctuation, somehow qualifies him as a spokesman for an entire industry. I would go as far as to say that that is the most redundant contribution in eleven pages. Well done sir.

I would definitely not consider myself a spokesman for the ‘industry’ (industry would imply some sort of skill was involved!). I have seen examples of their behaviour over the years and ronnieboy’s statement merely confirmed what I though to be true i.e. bouncers out of boredom get silly kicks out of refusing people entry into pubs clubs etc. for no reason other then their own little power trip. A two line reply was more than enough for good old ronnieboy.
    Let me know if my punctuation was up to scratch for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I would definitely not consider myself a spokesman for the ‘industry’ (industry would imply some sort of skill was involved!). I have seen examples of their behaviour over the years and ronnieboy’s statement merely confirmed what I though to be true i.e. bouncers out of boredom get silly kicks out of refusing people entry into pubs clubs etc. for no reason other then their own little power trip. A two line reply was more than enough for good old ronnieboy.

LoL, there were four other bouncers posting in this thread and you managed to hinge on the post that went in line with your preconceived opinions.

Are you a journo by any chance?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Smell's like the bull needs a clean nappy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Captain Ginger

So yeah, I have never had a problem with bouncers in my life, I dress pretty smart, I don't act the muppet on the way up to the door, I smile and I'm polite.

Some of you should try it.

And I'm also a guy for the record, so no boob card to play.

never seen a bloke cry because he couldn't get in to a club ..LOL rant and rave maybe :D abuse the staff maybe but not cry ..never...:D maybe except when he'd piss one of the boys off and the bitch slapping he got ... now that would make him cry alright:p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Cvnt

• Registered Users Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Seriously, capitalize. Your post hurt my eyes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

I would definitely not consider myself a spokesman for the ‘industry’
    Actually, I was observing that your were elevating Ronnieboy to the status of spokesman, because it suited your arguement to do so. You seem to have mis-interpeted the language in which you chose to argue.
    (industry would imply some sort of skill was involved!).
    By definition, anywhere a group of tradesmen operate a similar job or service there is an industry. Implying that any job is entirely unskilled smacks of ignorance, if not downright stupidity.
    Again you appear to have mis-understood what I was saying. I was suggesting that someone who doesn't have a grasp on punctuation (i.e. ronnieboy) probably shouldn't be considered spokesman for a section of the workforce.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Every industry has a certain proportion of twats in it, from doctors to lorry drivers. I think it is fair to say that the door man industry has a very high propertion of twats, working a second job to pay for a sh1te bodykit for their 1990 BMW 3 series with fake M3 badges, but NOT ALL bouncers are twats. Some are dead on blokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Seriously, capitalize. Your post hurt my eyes.

Leave him alone he's a bouncer.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Me and a mate of mine went out in Dublin one night when it was raining. He had his hood up (obviously because it was raining), one bouncer decided that he would try and stop us from entering.

He pulled my mate aside and said "drinking tonight lads?" we just replied "yes". He then said "had one too many have we?", and we were gobsmacked by it as we only had about 3 drinks altogether beforehand we said it to him and then he preceeded to ask us where we were from. "Cavan" we replied. He looked us up and down and decided he couldn't do any more to keep us out in front of his buddies and said "Welcome to Dublin lads". We replied, "Yeah... cheers".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Me and a mate of mine went out in Dublin one night when it was raining. He had his hood up (obviously because it was raining), one bouncer decided that he would try and stop us from entering.

He pulled my mate aside and said "drinking tonight lads?" we just replied "yes". He then said "had one too many have we?", and we were gobsmacked by it as we only had about 3 drinks altogether beforehand we said it to him and then he preceeded to ask us where we were from. "Cavan" we replied. He looked us up and down and decided he couldn't do any more to keep us out in front of his buddies and said "Welcome to Dublin lads". We replied, "Yeah... cheers".

What?? He sounds pretty nice:confused:

Anybody seen the biggest bouncer in the world .. he works in the viper rooms he's from the eastern block...when you see this guy you poop your pants:eek: :P ...along with the big south African on the door in the porter house but both are gentle men till you piss them off :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

PORNAPSTER wrote: »

Indeed. It's terrible that a bouncer should ask you a few questions to determine if you are drunk or not before letting you into the pub.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

riff-raff wrote: »
    Anybody seen the biggest bouncer in the world .. he works in the viper rooms he's from the eastern block...when you see this guy you poop your pants:eek: :P ...along with the big south African on the door in the porter house but both are gentle men till you piss them off :rolleyes:

There's a chinese bouncer in Viper Rooms and i swear he must be nearly 7 foot tall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Defenestrate

Bouncers always seem to get a lot of stick on boards, and some do deserve it. But, it's the same in every profession in the world, even in the priesthood there's some 'bad eggs' so to speak...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

It's a tough job, i dont really understand these 'bouncer' threads, it always seems to be started by somebody with a grievance against them. Theres always going to be one or two knuckleheads in every job, get over it people! If a place has sh1t bouncers go somewhere else, theres always an alternative that will gladly take your money.

The job wont make them millionaires and they have to put up with a lot of sh1t from people with drink/drugs taken. Its never easy dealing with people like that.

I havent had hassle off a bouncer in years, and when i ever did get chucked out it was probably because i was acting the bollox.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Dublins a lovely big city, if you're given grief by a doorman- and you're perfectly fine (not a drunken mess, looking alright and all the rest) just go somewhere else. Your mates will more than likely do the same in the event one of you is turned down, and do you even want to go in after being told no without a valid reason?

I've normally (99.99% of the time) got no problem for some reason, but I've seen people turned down on no grounds at all. So it's a "sorry lads, I'll stick with the mates tonight, have a good one" and off I go into the night.

Wouldn't dwell on it if I do ever get turned down at the front of a nightclub, everyone is prone to bad judgement once in a while. If you know you're in grand shape to go into a nightclub take your €€€€s elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Hauk

I've only had two incidents with bouncers.

One good one was when I was going into one of my favourite pubs in Dublin to meet a friend after work, and I had my bag with me.

I had no ID and my bag looked really packed because I had stuffed my jacket into it. The guy just felt my bag a little, asked me had I any drink in it, and then waved me in. Nice guy!

The second was a genuine reason to refuse me entry. I was just too drunk and he was right to not let me in.

And then the third *really* grinded my gears. I was going to a gig that I had been looking forward to for months. I had my ticket and my passport with me thinking I'd have no problems.

So my two friends walked up to the bouncer, showed him the tickets, and then got waved in. He stopped me, asked for my ticket, then asked me for ID. I presented my passport to him, and got the "This isn't you". And I was "That is me." He gives me the "Whats your date of birth?" I give him the date of birth and he goes, "whats your middle name?"

I have two middle names so I gave him one of them, "Thats not what it says here" So I gave him the other one. It then took me 4 more identity cards for him to believe I was me. My student card, the student card from the year before(same photograph o_0 ), my Student Travel card, and another card that I can't remember.

All in all though, I think they do a good job, it's just I thought that was a bit over the top.

Hauk