Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boards.ie Premier League Fantasy Football 08/09

• 04-07-2008 4:32pm
    Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭

The official premiership fantasy footy is back!! The Boards.ie league is entered again and hopefully out league can do as well as we did last year!!

To enter a team logon to http://fantasy.premierleague.com

To enter the boards.ie league use the following code:
    29-11

Best of luck everyone and hears to another good season!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Bit early to make a team yet, considering the transfer window only opened on tuesday. Still, can't wait for more FF after the Euro 2008 one.

I'd also like to bump therecklessone's idea at the end of last season's game, about having a separate Boards league with no players from Arsenal, Chelsea, United or Liverpool:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=55925920&postcount=2175

I think it would be very interesting, as teams usually have the same core of players (Ronaldo, Lampard, Gerrard, Fabregas etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Jaysus Ozzie, ye got withdrawal symptons from the fantasy football already? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Yes!
    It's back!
    Made a team and joined the league there. But there will be many changes before the actual start :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

lol, i entered. and made a team for the laugh. it will interesting to see how many moves are made before then. we can have unlimited tranfers anyway til the first deadline at no points cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

No Carlos Vela though.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Good stuff. Never done this one before but had great fun doing the Euro 2008 one so will give it a go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

ooooh.... gonna have to give this some thought, made wayyy too many transfers last season ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Ok think I am in.

MODS: Request this to be made a stickie and the code to be put in the thread title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

I'd also like to bump therecklessone's idea at the end of last season's game, about having a separate Boards league with no players from Arsenal, Chelsea, United or Liverpool:

I think it would be very interesting, as teams usually have the same core of players (Ronaldo, Lampard, Gerrard, Fabregas etc).
    Great idea. Kudos to therecklessone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,595 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

wow.

V tough to pick a team

OK just signed up and agree with Kev it's very difficult to pick a team for this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

I didn't find it too hard.

myteamlo1.jpg

I'll sort it out in a month or so.

eirebhoy wrote: »
    I didn't find it too hard.

myteamlo1.jpg

I'll sort it out in a month or so.

LOL. Were you drinking budweiser whilst making your choices by any chance? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

I know lol!

Keane ahead of Rooney? no chance! ;);)

,............hang on a sec.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

They are all irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

LOL Eirebhoy. You claiming Rooney as one of our own? :D

Well I suppose he's more Irish than some players that have played for Ireland.

How much is Ronaldo this season?

BaZmO* wrote: »
    LOL Eirebhoy. You claiming Rooney as one of our own? :D
    It was a choice between him, Caleb Folan and Benni McCarthy. ;)

Ronaldo is 14m. Next highest is Torres at 12m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Good old autocomplete. Some ridiculous prices this year. Hope Ronaldo goes to Madrid or there could be a big gap between those who have him and those who dont as it'll be hard to buy him later on if his value increases. To think you can get Vidic and Ferdinand for the price of Ronaldo (or 3.5 Mark Schwarzers :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

Ok I'm in.

Here comes, 11 Shades of Grey!!

1. Hart (Man City)

2. Brown (Man Utd)
    3. Hutton (Spurs)
    4. Bosingwa (Chelski)
    5. Agger (Liverpool)

6. Arteta (Everton)
    7. Ireland (Man City)
    8. Kranjcar (Portsmouth)
    9. Whitehead (Sunderland)

10. Windass (Hull)
    11. Ashton (West Ham)

Subs:
    12. Carson (Villa)
    13. Richards (Man City)
    14. Owen (Newcastle)
    15. Valencia (Wigan)

I think I win the prize for variety anyway.
    15 players from 13 different teams lol ;)

EDIT: ewwwwwwwwww 3 City players in the team. I feel dirty :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Cant wait, i was automatically in the Boards.ie league, how does that work?

Van Der Sar

Taylor-Dunne-Clichy

Ronaldo-Fabregas-Murphy-Petrov

Martins-Tevez-Ashton

This thing is acting the maggot for me. Every time I go to click on another screen I get sent back to the page asking me if I agree to abide by the rules, and each time I've said yes and I'm still getting asked it.

Anyone else having this happen?

Edit: Actually I think I figured it out now. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Im in

Joe Hart

Rio Ferdinand
    Dan Agger
    Joleon Lescott
    Brede Hangeland

Cesc Fabregas
    Deco
    Ashley Young
    Robert Koren
    Jonas Gutierrez

Fernando Torres

Subs:
    Ricardo Vaz Te
    Sam Ricketts
    Victor Anichebe
    Antti Niemi

What a crackin looking starting XI, will probably fall on its arse and it definitely wont be like that when the first game kicks off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

I was in already it seems. I didnt bother picking my own team. I just let the computer do it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I'm in too.

My team now is

Howard
    Lescott
    Scharner
    Laursen
    Dunne
    Ronaldo
    Fabregas
    Modric
    Jo
    Yakubu
    Sahar

Subs:
    Kirkland
    Zuiverloon
    De Ridder
    Barmby

titan18 wrote: »
    I'm in too.

My team now is

Howard
    Lescott
    Scharner
    Laursen
    Dunne
    Ronaldo
    Fabregas
    Modric
    Jo
    Yakubu
    Sahar

Subs:
    Kirkland
    Zuiverloon
    De Ridder
    Barmby

Who signed De Ridder? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

dodgy first draft:

1: Reina

2: Laursen
    3: Lescott
    4: Scharner

6: Ronaldo (C)
    7: Ireland
    8: Young
    9: Kranjcar

15: Martins
    10: Keane
    11: Carew

Subs:
    12: Turnbull

13: O'Brien A
    14: O'Donovan
    5: Hoyte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

Who signed De Ridder? :confused:

wigan apparently

• Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭tetsujin1979

I'm in, team Iron Men

James
    Dunne
    Laursen
    Clichy
    Reid
    Essien
    Bentley
    Fabregas
    Keane (C)
    Van Persie
    Jo

Subs:
    Hart
    Brown
    Ricketts
    Whelan

probably be some changes before the start of the season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

alright seeing as ye are at it already, my team for now:

Zazzlemogglewuhz FC

Lineup:

Van der Sar
    Lescott----Clichy----Dunne----Evra
    Fabregas---Modric---Ireland--Arteta
    Cruz
    Defoe

Subs:
    Niemi
    Arbeloa
    Dempsey
    Beattie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Apathy Utd

Hart

Bale Campbell O'Shea Richards

Ronaldo Downing Anderson Kranjcar

Keane Berbatov

(Niemi, Bellamy, Reid, Young)

Bound to change after the market kicks off but there ya go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Rolly United

GK: Howard
    DF: Laursen Distin Dunne
    MF: Ronaldo (c) Kranjcar Bullard Young
    FW: Yakubu Defoe Jones

Subs Schwarzer A O Brien Ireland Wheater

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭JæKæ

Great idea, where do I sign up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Daddy or Chips? ready to go

Liked the autreg into the boards league!

1: Van der Sar
    2: Carvalho
    3: Clichy
    4: Lescott
    5: Vidic
    6: Ferdinand
    7: Ballack (C)
    8: Fabregas
    9: Pienaar
    10: Taylor
    11: Yakubu
    12: Simonsen
    13: Barmby
    14: Jo
    15: Windass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

JæKæ wrote: »
    Great idea, where do I sign up?

Will have a link in a sec!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

OK, turns out you can't have two teams under the one registration, so if anyone is interested in competing in the league minus last year's top 4 then you'll need to register a 2nd time. Pain in the ass but there you go.

League code is 3413-1312

I'll put up a separate post tomorrow as I'm off to bed for an early start in work, but in the meantime the rules are:

1. Teams cannot contain any player from ManYoo, Chelsea, Arsenal or Liverpool.

I'll think up some sort of penalty system for anyone who breaks that cardinal rule (was thinking -15pts for every player from the 4 teams that plays in a gameweek) and I'll also come up with some way to allow players transfer players out of their team should they be transferred to a top 4 side in real life.

If people are happy with this, I'm suggesting an entry fee of €20 with half going to the Santa Strike Force and half going to the winner of the league.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Prowetod

does anyone know what the head to head is? and how do you enter it. They seem to have gotten rid of the public leagues:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

reina
    samba scharner clichy

mascherano
    johnson noble fabregas

torres santa cruz keane

seems good on the scree,hope it turns out to be better than last years pick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

It's a bit like the England team, good on paper crap on grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

In as well

Hart

Dunne
    Skrtel
    Vidic
    Lescott

Osman
    Ronaldo
    Young
    Krancjar

Jo
    Carew

Subs:

Myhill
    Clement
    Barmby
    Ashton

Subject to change of course.

eoccork wrote: »
    does anyone know what the head to head is? and how do you enter it. They seem to have gotten rid of the public leagues:(

You mean the fantasy cup? It starts around Christmas.
    OK, turns out you can't have two teams under the one registration, so if anyone is interested in competing in the league minus last year's top 4 then you'll need to register a 2nd time. Pain in the ass but there you go.

Just having a bit of trouble with this part. When I try to register a new team it just takes me to edit the details of my current team.

Edit: Turns out I wasn't logged out, thought I was :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Provisional No Superman United

Green

Lescott
    Dunne
    R.Ferdinand

A.Young
    Fabregas
    Ireland
    Kranjcar

Rooney
    Berbatov
    Ashton

Subs: Kiely, L.Young, Upson, Barmby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Section8Discharge.

Cba doing a team atm.

Automatically in last years boards league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

For now..........

James
    Richard--Dunne--Campbell--Distin

Mascherano---Barry
    Ronaldo
    Bentley

Benjani

Santa Cruz

Subs: Kirkland, McShane, Reo-Coker, Ashton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

James
    Distin
    Dunne
    Kaboul
    Silvestre
    Gerrard
    Barry Bentley
    Hamann
    Torres
    Keane
    Simonsen
    Emerton
    McCann
    Harewood

Changes to come mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭rosboy

I'm in too....and I'm top of the table atm! I'm going to relish this.......cos it won't last long:)

Edit: I've just noticed that Kuyt is listed as a midfielder! LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

Im in and its my first time so be gentle with me.:D

Redordead fc

GK Reina

Def. Dunne, Distin, Ferdinand, Toure

Mid. Ireland, Butt, Hleb, Giggs

Fow. Keane, Santa Cruz

Subs Given, Agger, Carrick, Walcott

Subject to change.

rosboy wrote: »
    Edit: I've just noticed that Kuyt is listed as a midfielder! LOL.
    You'd think Ronaldo would be listed as a forward too.

What's the story with Stoke having so few players? 3 of their 5 midfielders are Irish. I think Lawrence could be a good buy for the FF. 14 goals and 15 assists last season. Takes all their set pieces and did ok in the premiership before with Sunderland.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭Munster Magic

Im in
    Cech

Ferdinand Carvalho Evra

Essien Fabregas Mascherano Hleb

Santa Cruz Berbatov Agbonlahor

Subs: Schwarzer, Meite, McShane, Mendes.

Happy enough with that for now but will probably make a few changes before the start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,933 ✭✭✭patrickc

i'm in too my first time also, should be a bit of fun I'm sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,595 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

You mean the fantasy cup? It starts around Christmas.

Just having a bit of trouble with this part. When I try to register a new team it just takes me to edit the details of my current team.

Edit: Turns out I wasn't logged out, thought I was :o

The head to head has been added in this year. Its a league with 20 randomers and you play each randomer twice, home and away. They did it for hte Euro FF and was great. Nice little addition