Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boards.ie Premier League Fantasy Football 08/09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

I only joined yesterday for the interest, 57 points today. Made Zaki captain, but wishing now it was Malouda.:p Also have Delap and Giovanni, Arteta, Terry, Hangeland, Carragher(:() Arbeloa and Cech. Robinho to play tomorrow. Not a sniff of red devil on my squad, I like this game tis fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Got 63 points this week. Arsenal against United next week has made me make some changes though, so Ive gone for next week:

Reina

Bosingwa
    Davies
    Turner
    Figueroa

Gerrard
    Marney
    Lampard
    Kuyt

Anelka
    Berbatov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Lol unlucky. Carragher OG is bound to shaft a few people.

Yeh once the first went in I threw the fantasy football out the window and prayed for a second! Thank you jebus :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Reckon it's probably about time to ditch Armand Traore.
    He's served me well from the start but with Krancjar back can't see him holding down that left mid position...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

51 points with 5 left to play, thanks mainly to Ronaldo and Lampard, what a legend he is, great for the points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

OPENROAD wrote: »
    51 points with 5 left to play

Ditto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭madds

Archimedes wrote: »
    Arsenal against United next week has made me make some changes...

Arsenal will be missing a few through suspension and injury so Utd are expected to win that game.

67 pts here with Ireland, Laursen, and L Young to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

48 with Laursen, SWP and Ireland to play.

My head to head opponent has dunne and ireland and is 5 points ahead so if Villa keep a clean sheet on Monday I just might squeek it.

I dropped Clichy for Cole and the bastid goes and scores and Cole only plays 35 mins. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Been a bit of a bad one for me so far...having a Hull and a Liverpool defender didn't do well for me yesterday, I have two Man City and three Villa players though so hopefully I'll pick things up by Monday evening.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭slingerz

62 points with Ireland, Davies and Aghbonlahor still left to play! Ronaldo got half of that total!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

Im 18th now in the league...

A few to play now today - Ireland, A.Young and Laursen!!

So hopefully will keep on catchin up on the leaders...

TEAM IS AS FOLLOWS: Bring Back Riise?

Turnbull

Traore A, Simpson, Laursen

A.Young, Ronaldo, Lampard, Ireland

Ade, Zaki and Defoe

Poor Defense but I rather the attacking edge to my team :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

62 point so far which I think equals my best score this season. Laursen and Agbonlahor to play tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Ireland didn't do much for me today. 56 points with Laursen, Ashley Young and Agbonlahor to come. I hope O'Neill rests one of them because Delap is my first sub. It's unlikely though.

55 with Gavin McCann (3 points) to come in for Fletcher and A. Young and Laursen to play.

3 points down in the head to head. He has Ameobi left so a Villa clean sheet will do it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

Had Clichy in since 1st game of season, take him out and he scores first goal in 162 games. Transferred in Walcott and Adebayor ( who's been killing me in my own league this season ) and both are strechered off.
    What a wonderful game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,595 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

55 with Gavin McCann (3 points) to come in for Fletcher and A. Young and Laursen to play.

3 points down in the head to head. He has Ameobi left so a Villa clean sheet will do it for me.

Ameobi is gonna score though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I've taken my first transfer hit of the season.

SWP / Defoe out,

Giovanni promoted to first team and in comes Frank Lampard.

4 point hit taken.

Revised team

Reina

Carragher
    Ferdinand
    A. Cole
    Laursen
    Bosingwa

Ronaldo (c)
    Lampard
    Givanni
    Ireland

Zaki

Thoughts? I know cole is injured and may be out for two weeks but I'll run the risk on him and I've Miller, Marney and Evans as subs could come in if he is goosed for that long. I have a feeling he'll be rested for the champions league and be back next weekend though.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

I'mthinking of making a change to my current team...

1 Van Der Sar

2 Bosingwa
    3 Agger
    4 A Traore

5 Ronaldo
    6 Ireland
    7 Arteta
    8 Lampard
    9 Delap

10 Robinho
    11 Zaki

12 Schwarzer
    13 Figueroa
    14 McShane
    15 C.Cole

Thinking of taking our Robinho/Arteta and bringing in Torres/Mullins (4.3m, West Ham). It would also free up 0.8 million for defensive upgrades next week.

Am I putting all my eggs in one basket with having Ronaldo, Lampard and Torres on the same team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

FutureGuy wrote: »
    I'mthinking of making a change to my current team...

1 Van Der Sar

2 Bosingwa
    3 Agger
    4 A Traore

5 Ronaldo
    6 Ireland
    7 Arteta
    8 Lampard
    9 Delap

10 Robinho
    11 Zaki

12 Schwarzer
    13 Figueroa
    14 McShane
    15 C.Cole

Thinking of taking our Robinho/Arteta and bringing in Torres/Mullins (4.3m, West Ham). It would also free up 0.8 million for defensive upgrades next week.

Am I putting all my eggs in one basket with having Ronaldo, Lampard and Torres on the same team?

You would be if they all played for the same team.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

JPA wrote: »
    You would be if they all played for the same team.

1 Van Der Sar

2 Bosingwa
    3 Agger
    4 A Traore

5 Ronaldo
    6 Ireland
    7 Delap
    8 Lampard

9 C.Cole
    10 Torres
    11 Zaki

(Cole and Delap are easily interchangable with subs)

12 Schwarzer
    13 Figueroa
    14 McShane
    15 Mullins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

FutureGuy wrote: »
    1 Van Der Sar

2 Bosingwa
    3 Agger
    4 A Traore

5 Ronaldo
    6 Ireland
    7 Delap
    8 Lampard

9 C.Cole
    10 Torres
    11 Zaki

(Cole and Delap are easily interchangable with subs)

12 Schwarzer
    13 Figueroa
    14 McShane
    15 Mullins

If you haven't changed it wait until after Liverpool play to see if Torres is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

70 points this week, would have been better if Villa had decided to turn up tonight! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Loco

SetantaL wrote: »
    Reina

Carragher
    Ferdinand
    A. Cole
    Laursen
    Bosingwa

Ronaldo (c)
    Lampard
    Givanni
    Ireland

Zaki

nice team but i would switch cash to up front. a.cole or laursen out. or both

my team is

cech
    evra boswinga agger a.traore paintsil
    ronaldo lampard ireland marney delap
    zaki robinho davies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

F*ck sake Villa!

65 for the week, really should have hit 70.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

It's all falling apart again.
    A measly 28 fecking points.
    My trio of A. Young, Gabbie and Carew let me down big time...

Didnt have a single goal scorer and I only had one assist which was from Fab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

This week has not gone well, 35 in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

52. Bah.

I've ditched Van Persie for his stupidity and signed Kenwye "I'm a legend in disguise" Jones. Fat Lampard also joins at the expense of Ashley Young.

First XI

Schwartzer
    Boswinga
    Ferdinand
    Carragher
    Ronaldo
    Lampard
    Ireland
    Denilson
    Zaki
    Defoe
    Jones

58 points.

Lost the head to head by a point.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

58 points.

Same here but I won my head to head easily.

Thinking of getting rid of Wright Philips and Dunne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Is it me or is everyones team starting to look the same

Cech
    Bosingwa, A Traore, Agger
    Lampard, Ronaldo, Delap, Geovanni
    Defoe, Zaki

I'm gonna rotate my other forward on a weekly basis depending on who's playing who - this week im having Robinho as Capt.

58 points.

Apparently the site wasn't updated so I actually got 61 points when Gav McCann came in. Unfortunately feckin Ameobi got 2 bonus points for my head to head opponent so we drew.

Took an 8 point hit this week. Had to get rid of Clichy, Brown, Carlton Cole and Melchiott.

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭The Gambler 101

cech

figuero
    l young
    richards
    emerton

lampard
    ronaldo(c)
    marney

walcott
    defoe
    berbatov

considering taking a 8 point hit to get in torres, by selling walcott defoe and anderson whos on the bench and bringin in bentner(could be a good buy with RvP suspended, walcot and ade injured), reo coker and the boy torres but am i being mad? should i sell berbatov, seems by the ways he playin he ll get more assists than goals! or should i improve my defence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,711 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Took an 8 point hit this week. Had to get rid of Clichy, Brown, Carlton Cole and Melchiott.

isnt that a 12 point hit? Seeing as you got rid of 4 people?

Myhill

Bosingwa
    Laursen
    Carragher
    Turner

Ireland
    Ronaldo
    Delap
    Lampard

Berbatov
    Zaki

Took a 12 point hit to get shot of Defoe, Denilson & Adebayor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Everyone,

STOP SELLING DEFOE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Jesus that was a bad week... Had 46 points after my first 4 players played, Ronaldo (c), Bosingwa, Zaki and Arteta... managed to generate a whopping EIGHT points from the last seven players :(

Wheater 0
    Reina 1
    Arbeloa 1
    Laursen 1
    Barry 1
    Ireland 2
    Robinho 2

Robinho and Barry are so unreliable

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭The Gambler 101

S.M.B. wrote: »
    Everyone,

STOP SELLING DEFOE!!!

Why not sell him? they have a few hard games coming up which they need to get results in but after losing there manager is it not going become more difficult for them as a team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Why not sell him? they have a few hard games coming up which they need to get results in but after losing there manager is it not going become more difficult for them as a team?

They're not that tough in fairness. He's bound to score in a few of the next 5 games.

Sunderland (A)
    West Ham (A)
    Hull (H)
    Blackburn (H)
    West Brom (A)

I'm going to keep faith with him anyway. My only worry is that Adams will do what he did against Liverpool and just play Crouch up top on his own in away games. I'd be surprised if he did that against these teams though.

Sold Laursen and Adebayor.Bought Torres and Alex.Good idea.Who knows?

My team now is

Cech

Turner Alex Figueroa

Lamps Rooney Ireland Marney

Defoe Zaki Torres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,711 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Sold Laursen and Adebayor.Bought Torres and Alex.Good idea.Who knows?

My team now is

Cech

Turner Alex Figueroa

Lamps Rooney Ireland Marney

Defoe Zaki Torres

How did you get Rooney in midfield?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

What's the craic with this ringer conor white. My only chance ever of being top of the league is being cruely denied by a blow-in. Can't someone boot him out?

I want the glory and the powah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Because I'm sorting out my defence at the moment and his price keeps dropping. :mad:

How did you get Rooney in midfield?

I meant ronnie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Loco

What's the craic with this ringer conor white. My only chance ever of being top of the league is being cruely denied by a blow-in. Can't someone boot him out?

I want the glory and the powah.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Just when my team is settling down and I have money to spend on building my defence Adebayor gets injured. Should be able to sort something out but still, classic Fantasy Football. Always one step ahead.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Just when my team is settling down and I have money to spend on building my defence Adebayor gets injured. Should be able to sort something out but still, classic Fantasy Football. Always one step ahead.
    You're as well off, with Arsenal's fixtures and the way they're playing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Two goals and two assists in last three games until being stretchered off at Stoke. It's not bad even if Arsenal aren't doing great.

Still, I'm eyeing Berbatov and Robinho. Should be able to bring one of them in and buy Ade back in a few weeks time; it just defers strengthening ye olde defence for another week is all.

He saved me two weeks ago when he brought in a heap of points as captain but I don't see him scoring as well as last year in the long run.

Next 4 games being Chelsea, Villa, City and United wouldn't have helped.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

How do you know when a players price is going up? was gonna but Giovani earliar in the week but decided against til Champos League was over in case of injury...now I can't afford him!!