Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stalk me for a cent a post!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

Xavi6 wrote: »
    So why be the buzz killer? Why choose to criticise? Does his idea affect you directly? Do you own a rival company in the same industry and you're jealous cause Cormie used boards as an advertising tool before you did?

Why the hostility?

Woah the pony there Xavi. Reading wayyyy too much into this... Ok to put it quite honestly then since you ask, I just don't like people who create a load of narcissistic pomp and ceremony about themselves. And I have absolutely nothing personal against Cormie himself and if you read my initial post I acknowledged that I realised he dreamed this up for the craic but a very very self centred, self congratulating, pseudo-celebrity, terms+conditions apply kinda craic. To be quite honest I've read posts on here quite often from people saying they can't afford to put a roof over their heads. So at the very opposite end of the spectrum where ya have a guy who's flashing the cash at people for just seeing him drive around, living like everyone else. Well I find the very essence of that fairly pretentious, wouldn't you? I don't mean to come across like a serious Sally and like I say, I acknowledged that it was all in "fun" but to be honest if ya have nothing better to do with your 100euro than fling it at strangers for simply recognising you, then you're not very fun to begin with. That's just my take on it and everyone else can agree/disagree/not give a crap -isn't that what discussion forums are all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

You won't be entering then? 100 quid is not to be sneezed at, with the downturn and all.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

This thread is a direct result of the recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Ah jaysus. Now come *on*. "like a pebble on a path..." :) And ya wonder why some people find this thread full of sh1t? And eh, newsflash -->> Any material posted on Boards is subject to the users opinion, be it good, bad or indifferent. I'd have thought ya might have realised that with yer much celebrated 10,000 posts.

Yeah, I did, sure just look at the post I made in this very thread on the subject:
    cormie wrote: »
    Relax, nobody has defended me, people have simply posted their opinion, which everyone is entitled too. If yours is that this is the "Worst ****ing thread you've ever seen" then just get on with life and let it be. It shouldn't be affecting you so much that you need to use so many profanities either. There was no malice intended in posting this. I'm sorry if I've upset you, but that was in no way what I set out to do in this thread.
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    Exactly. And people can also think you're acting like a tool for giving out about it.

Fair play Cormie for doing something a little different.

Well ya see that's exactly my point though Xavi isn't it. I don't give a toss about what any other user says about my posts. They're there to be commented on like everyone elses -unlike our good friend Cormie here. Who's posts are "just there -like a pebble on a path. Not to be analysed" Just floating around in their divine state... :)

If you don't give a toss what any other user says about your own posts, why cause such fuss over something that has absolutely no effect on you or anyone else? Not all my posts are "just there -like a pebble on a path". I've gained and hopefully given valuable information/advice from using boards
    Namesco wrote: »
    When read this first I thought it was 1 cent for each post until you got 10,000 posts, but on second reading it's €100 for the first post with picture.

Now how much for a call out to my house, If its less than say €100, can I photo you then you can give me the €100 minus your call out fee

We both win:pac:

no comment :D
    Woah the pony there Xavi. Reading wayyyy too much into this... Ok to put it quite honestly then since you ask, I just don't like people who create a load of narcissistic pomp and ceremony about themselves. And I have absolutely nothing personal against Cormie himself and if you read my initial post I acknowledged that I realised he dreamed this up for the craic but a very very self centred, self congratulating, pseudo-celebrity, terms+conditions apply kinda craic.

I don't care whatsoever how many posts I have. It doesn't effect my life at all so why should I? People usually like to make a post when they reach 10K etc, I wasn't bothered, but I thought I'd do this for the laugh. I did it when it came, I wasn't replying to any old thread to bump up my postcount, I never have, infact it took about 2 days to get from 9,995 posts to 10,000 if I remember correctly.
    To be quite honest I've read posts on here quite often from people saying they can't afford to put a roof over their heads. So at the very opposite end of the spectrum where ya have a guy who's flashing the cash at people for just seeing him drive around, living like everyone else. Well I find the very essence of that fairly pretentious, wouldn't you?

Did you read this post?: "esel said: I suspect cormie's account on Boards has been hijacked, for the simple reason that cormie parting with €100 like this is just not believable." He said this because I'm known on this site for always trying to save money, (example one, two, three, four, five etc etc). I'm still in debt, this €100 isn't me flashing my money at all. It's €100 I don't have to give away but giving it away may have good karma.
    I don't mean to come across like a serious Sally and like I say, I acknowledged that it was all in "fun" but to be honest if ya have nothing better to do with your 100euro than fling it at strangers for simply recognising you, then you're not very fun to begin with. That's just my take on it and everyone else can agree/disagree/not give a crap -isn't that what discussion forums are all about?

You said yourself "You obviously have a fairly inflated ego that you expect the general public to be interested in running around after you, on your terms for a hundred squids" which seems to me you think €100 is nothing, or not worth it? Can I ask would you have a different opinion on this thread if my username was VanTasks.ie, if I said to photograph the van and a driver (instead of me) and if the prize was €10,000? This would be quite similar to the likes of radio station competitions. Do you feel that these businesses have the same self centred/ego/pretentious issues or is it ok because it's a lot more money and are they flinging away this money and they have nothing better to do with their €10,000? I'm sorry, but I just don't have that kind of money for something like this.

Can I ask have you gained or given anything positive from this thread MissHoneyBun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭ZorbaTehZ

Pesky Shills are getting more clever by the day.....

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭BubbleWrap85

I love the idea! Be great fun goin around with a camera tryin to snap him! Good luck to all in the adventure! Great idea Cormie! Hilarious edits with your picture and the van! And you're fair hot also! Wish I was stalkin ya ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Cremated

esel wrote: »
    I suspect cormie's account on Boards has been hijacked, for the simple reason that cormie parting with €100 like this is just not believable.

+1, €100 for Cormie is a fortune, cant be him :D...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Nobody spotted him yet?

Awww! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

The 60th reply on this thread.

so 60 cent for you to spend so far:D

If you get another 25 posts and you will be able to get a packet of tayto out of spar!;)

Oh and **** the begrudgers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Woah the pony there Xavi. Reading wayyyy too much into this... Ok to put it quite honestly then since you ask, I just don't like people who create a load of narcissistic pomp and ceremony about themselves. And I have absolutely nothing personal against Cormie himself and if you read my initial post I acknowledged that I realised he dreamed this up for the craic but a very very self centred, self congratulating, pseudo-celebrity, terms+conditions apply kinda craic. To be quite honest I've read posts on here quite often from people saying they can't afford to put a roof over their heads. So at the very opposite end of the spectrum where ya have a guy who's flashing the cash at people for just seeing him drive around, living like everyone else. Well I find the very essence of that fairly pretentious, wouldn't you? I don't mean to come across like a serious Sally and like I say, I acknowledged that it was all in "fun" but to be honest if ya have nothing better to do with your 100euro than fling it at strangers for simply recognising you, then you're not very fun to begin with. That's just my take on it and everyone else can agree/disagree/not give a crap -isn't that what discussion forums are all about?

PMS anyone?? :rolleyes:

Will be around Cork tomorrow for all you non Dub folk, which of course means I'll be on the route from Dun Laoghaire to Cork and back so all places in between aswell ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Any idea of what time you'll be back thru Dun Laoghaire?? :D

I do, but Dun Laoghaire is excluded, all surrounding areas (Dalkey, Monkstown, Glenageary etc are fine though) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

cormie wrote: »
    Will be around Cork tomorrow for all you non Dub folk, which of course means I'll be on the route from Dun Laoghaire to Cork and back so all places in between aswell ;)

allright comie, now the ball is in MY court.

i mean;

allright comie, now the van is in MY city.

great idea you had. get to give a little something back to boards users who have entertained you for 5 years AND a small spot of advertising. good job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

mawk wrote: »
    AND a small spot of advertising. good job

seems like a relatively large spot of advertising imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Thats a nice setup you have, well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

How much if we crash into the van?

Just messing, great idea, dunno why people are giving out about someone giving away 100euro.

I though they would be giving out if it was a 1000 Euro !!

Wouldn't like to see some off the people who are giving out, meet the head of the national lottery :pac:

today's routes, dub-Wilkinstown (north of Navan) then back to Stillorgan, then to Cork, then back :eek:

Coming west of the shannon anytime soon?

Well Agent Smith missed a great opportunity when I saw him in Tesco the other night, we both said hello and then I just remembered my van was parked outside so I was wondering would he be waiting to snap me when I was getting in, but nope, nothing. Never make a special agent anyway :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

which tesco? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

I'll give you 10c if you go away.