Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CHLS this Friday the 11th.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

this is why lukes closed and its a hell of a shame.

tonight i dropped 900 in lukes and then had to listen to a sniggery little comment about 'don't bother coming back' from that sad little prick tommy the security guard.

tomorrow a dozen people are out of work because luke was too soft hearted to deal with ignorant scum that players don't want to have listen to for a few hours in a low limit buyin.

do you think derek kelly will abide that **** in his new place in south william st? broke middle age losers eyeballing players with money and making ****ty remarks in earshot?

i'll make my money back in a couple of sales or a few weeks of tight play but dealers and card room managers are out of work and on the dole because of losers like tommy.

i've already told luke about this so it doesn't mean anything to post it on here. i'll always try to support him and his clubs but this club went down because too many scumbags were allowed to hang around outside and act and speak like pricks.

of course if i hit a loser its like rear ending a taxi driver in a 96 corolla.it costs more to pay him off then the the car is worth.

i've said it already and i'll say it again, my friend Luke is too soft hearted, he should have barred these broke idiots from the beginning.

its a hell of a shame.

(i don't see the situation getting any better, i hope tourney directors and managers will have the balls to tell mouthy trash to get lost, otherwise all that will be left is cheap broke mouthy morons that no one wants to spend an evening with)

Oh dear.

Des, this just smacks of sour grapes. As has been said in previous threads Tommy is not to be taken seriously. And as for the remarks such as "don't bother coming back" and "you're barred", these have been a running joke all night.
    Please lighten up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭30something

Farewell CHL's.

The €100 F/O got 52 runners. I busted the FT bubbler when my BB T4 hit an A44 flop, the other guy sacrificed his stack with A9.

On the first hand of the FT one runner had not got a full BB! Money back for 9th to 6th. The CL at the start of the FT had a massive stack but was eliminated in 5th in 2 hands. We talked about a deal with 4 left but the shortie wasnt happy. He would have gotten €700 (when 4th was €400) but he refused the deal and justice was done when he busted in 4th.

3 handed myself Wes and Danny agreed a chop after a bit of a marathon (First was to be €2200, 2nd €1200 and 3rd €800). The other 2 had twice my stack so I agreed a €1400, €1400, €1100 split with €300 for the dealers. We thought there was a trophy and played on for half an hour. Wes busted out and Luke was wondering why we were still playing when a deal was done as it turned out there was no trophy after all!!!

Thanks again to Luke and the crew who put on a fantastic show as ever. Damn, I will miss that place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

what does he look like?

No beard-small bullish character with moustache.I dont think you would be familiar with his work.

Anyhow dropped in for Lukes briefly-hes a class act and will be back in action soon,no doubt. Good luck to all the staff there aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

this is why lukes closed and its a hell of a shame.

tonight i dropped 900 in lukes and then had to listen to a sniggery little comment about 'don't bother coming back' from that sad little prick tommy the security guard.

tomorrow a dozen people are out of work because luke was too soft hearted to deal with ignorant scum that players don't want to have listen to for a few hours in a low limit buyin.

do you think derek kelly will abide that **** in his new place in south william st? broke middle age losers eyeballing players with money and making ****ty remarks in earshot?

i'll make my money back in a couple of sales or a few weeks of tight play but dealers and card room managers are out of work and on the dole because of losers like tommy.

i've already told luke about this so it doesn't mean anything to post it on here. i'll always try to support him and his clubs but this club went down because too many scumbags were allowed to hang around outside and act and speak like pricks.

of course if i hit a loser its like rear ending a taxi driver in a 96 corolla.it costs more to pay him off then the the car is worth.

i've said it already and i'll say it again, my friend Luke is too soft hearted, he should have barred these broke idiots from the beginning.

its a hell of a shame.

(i don't see the situation getting any better, i hope tourney directors and managers will have the balls to tell mouthy trash to get lost, otherwise all that will be left is cheap broke mouthy morons that no one wants to spend an evening with)
    fail-owned-access.jpg?w=499&h=491

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,689 ✭✭✭mormank

what does he look like?

see jbravado's post..

Quick question hectorjelly...Are you really as good at pes as i have heard in the grapevine? Couldnt be, I heard you beat Derek 'Kobraki' Cosgrove 9-1 with your keeper playin up front and your striker in goals!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

broke middle age losers
    who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

I guess it does sound like sour grapes but I was steaming about the comment not really about the loss as the players here who play live know i win and lose the much regularly when i play. At this stage i'm used to it.

Of course i wish Luke and all his team the best for the future. thats why i went in.

As for Reggie's and Murrays comments, well, i guess they can't help themselves but it's sad that they have to work as a pair commenting on anything i say after these few years like a couple of giggling school girls. whatever turns you on i guess.

i will be supporting luke's next tourney and the one after that unlike the two lads above.

i guess i should have taken care of it myself instead of posting it here but there you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

yeah really enjoyed this, its a shame Lukes couldnt receive the support all the time, anyway great buzz.

as Karl (30something) pointed out - myself danny took 1400 each with karl taking 1100.
    at last a win....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭digiman

Well played bottom feeder, I presume it was you that was 2 to my left all night, nice easy blind steals:D:D I busted in 17th I think, flopped set no good against the flush draw allin on the flop. I had got it in marginally behind twice earlier with 2 squeeze plays one against Lazare and one against mick (i think he posts on here) so I was probably due one, would of had 35k had I have won that pot.

Was a great tournament, structure is really too good, tons of play up until I left anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,472 ✭✭✭Lazare

Great night as expected, sad loss.

Nice to meet a couple more boardies.

Well done Carl and Wes, sweet result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

mormank wrote: »
    see jbravado's post..

Quick question hectorjelly...Are you really as good at pes as i have heard in the grapevine? Couldnt be, I heard you beat Derek 'Kobraki' Cosgrove 9-1 with your keeper playin up front and your striker in goals!!!

Lol, its funny how messed up information gets when its passed on through people. Ive played Derek twice, he won one and I won one. When he beat me it was the only time ive felt outclassed at PES in a long time, I beat him in the 2nd game but it was pretty close. I was playing on the Playstation 3 for the first time though, so that might have given him a small advantage.

The rest of the story comes from me beating John Casey, I was Spurs, he is brazil, and I won 5:4 despite putting aaron lennon in nets and paul robinson up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Tommys a good guy, the dont come back you're barred was a running joke all night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Did DBC show?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

How long did the rest of you end up staying in Paul's place Oscar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Jools Poker

Arrived very late into Luke's last night for the last tourney in the building where I played my first ever live poker tourney 5 years ago...greeted by a hug from Luke and a "thanks for coming in" I felt real sadness at the thoughts that I wouldn't be walking through that door again to most welcoming card room manager the country has...arriving into the poker room was like walking into your local and the atmosphere was fantastic with a lot of players who regularly frequented Luke's at one point or another...everyone had a word with the people they knew, very conscious that they wouldn't be meeting there again and a lot of numbers were swapped and "good luck, take care's"....
    Sitting at the table I couldn't have asked for better with Willie on my right (even if it didn't last for very long :() and Conor and Wes and good old Macker on my table....some of whom I hadn't seen for a while and you couldn't ask for nicer at the table. With Ken getting in on the dealing the banter was brilliant and he pulled me out of a hole or two (fair play to ya Ken)...Tommy was in flying form and it was weird to think I wouldn't see him in action again any time soon...we had a risque prop bet on the tourney and all I can say is thank the lord his queens got cracked.
    In true old Merrion style there were various tidbits of gossips being bandied about and those involving a particular boardsie romance added an extra feelgood factor to the already palpable sense of camaraderie at our table. One liners flew left and right regarding it being the next night with one announcement by Luke running something like....I'd like to announce that we'll be closing down every night from now on :D
    Well done to Conor and Wes on the cashes and all the final tablists -and I believe I hold the honour of hitting the last poker in Lukes -7777 FTW:pac: My lasting image of the night though will have to be the snapshot moment when Conor, in a mad rush to his seat before the hand was dealt, collided with one of the dealers carrying the 25 chips after the race and there was the most spectular swarm of chips suspended in the air for a split second, Conor's arms in the air and a look of shock on his face :D

Over all a bittersweet night, more sweet than bitter though thanks to the usual friendliness and professionalism of all involved with CHL's, the fantastic atmosphere at the tables and a few last good memories of the place to take with me. The very very best of luck to Luke and all the staff in your future ventures -hopefully we'll be seeing you very soon -and good luck to all the players...it's the end of an institution as far as I'm concerned and I sorely miss it.

Julie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

lovely summing up of the evening Jules, I was not happy to be moved from that table......:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,689 ✭✭✭mormank

Lol, its funny how messed up information gets when its passed on through people. Ive played Derek twice, he won one and I won one. When he beat me it was the only time ive felt outclassed at PES in a long time, I beat him in the 2nd game but it was pretty close. I was playing on the Playstation 3 for the first time though, so that might have given him a small advantage.

The rest of the story comes from me beating John Casey, I was Spurs, he is brazil, and I won 5:4 despite putting aaron lennon in nets and paul robinson up front.

ah i see. i love chinese whispers!! I think we should play online sometime. Xbox version of course. Outclassed by derek in pes?/ ya he is good. We are about the same tbh. I'd love to say i was better but he just wouldnt allow that comment, we're about the same.

lol at beating that other guy with spurs!!

P.S fair play to everyone for giving CHL's such a good send off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭ghostface ste

Great tourney, busted out 11th just short of the FT. Really good structure, just one thing did the blinds always jump from 500/1000 to 800/1500 with 100 ante before:confused: I always thought there was a level in between previously, ah well, great value tourney where is the next best available in town now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Gavin - I left about half an hour before I posted that, there were still 5 or 6 floating around, I went from there to the Bohs game, just home, shattered.

Jools, great summing up, Ill remember that you owe me for cracking Tommys Kings if I ever play live in Dublin again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Im just back from a weekend in Clare with the good lady and the lil fella. Sorry I could nt make it in last friday but best of luck to Luke and all concerned.

Jay

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I played many a friday tournie in CHLs and I played last friday too. I havent played live much in the last few months but when I have it was Lukes I played in. Had a great night on the tables and spent most of the time either telling or laughing at jokes. Finished 11th when I missed a race :rolleyes:

Lukes was always fun and relaxed. Looking forward to seeing what he does next!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

DeVore wrote: »
    I played many a friday tournie in CHLs and I played last friday too. I havent played live much in the last few months but when I have it was Lukes I played in. Had a great night on the tables and spent most of the time yapping incessantly. Finished 11th when I missed a race :rolleyes:

Lukes was always fun and relaxed. Looking forward to seeing what he does next!

DeV.

That's better :D