Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Impromptu drinks on Wed 6th August

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    * Disclaimer: It this puts you off going, it was not my fault. I'm not even in this Photo.

The only thing that can put me off is another rendition of drunken twister. ...Although, I had alot of laughs that night :p

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

How does this conversation work for other?

Boardsie - I'm going out for a few pints tonigh, on for it?
    Other types - Sounds like a plan. Where?
    Boardsie - That Churchy place on Jervis Street.
    Other types - Suits me. You meeting anyone?
    Boardsie - Yep, loads of people actually?
    Other types - Do we know them?
    Boardsie - Nope, neither do I.
    Other types - ???? Why the fck are you meeting people that you don't know?
    Boardsie - They are from this internet site, boards.ie.
    Other types - Nerd. feck off, I'm not drinking with you.

5starpool wrote: »

I got that too off my housemates at the last one! Along with "...erhhh whatever you want to get up to on a Sat night I suppose..."

• Registered Users Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

When was the drunken twister? I persume the last All Boards.ie pissup which I missed due to fecking work :/
    Aspiration wrote: »
    The only thing that can put me off is another rendition of drunken twister. ...Although, I had alot of laughs that night :p

• Registered Users Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Anyone that wouldn't go drinking with randomers is not a fun person

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

You guys must be really really socially adept to do these types of things. All I'll say is fair play because I can't imagine anything more awkward meself. (Especially if you're one of the early ones in... 4 or 5 of ye'z not drunk yet just glancing at your watches and then the door and then saying "jaysis where is everyone" for the first half an hour. At least that's how I imagine it!

EDIT: Guess that means me redsie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Hmmmm see now my main aim is to GET trolleyed and then race people around O' Connell street while pretending to be a helicopter....are these goals compatibile?

I'm a creative person, we will figure something out ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

Can I ask if anyone going is in there 30's or are you all young whipper snappers??

• Registered Users Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I may pop in for a bit after I get finished in work.

What time do people think they'll be starting to arive at?

I'll be wearing my awesome new hat and zoo t-shirt if people haven't seen me before.

nocal wrote: »
    Can I ask if anyone going is in there 30's or are you all young whipper snappers??

dolphinus is coming, he's in 40s as far as i know :D

I'll be there MF from about 9 so keep an eye for my mug. Can't wait to see this awesome hat.

You guys must be really really socially adept to do these types of things. All I'll say is fair play because I can't imagine anything more awkward meself. (Especially if you're one of the early ones in... 4 or 5 of ye'z not drunk yet just glancing at your watches and then the door and then saying "jaysis where is everyone" for the first half an hour. At least that's how I imagine it!

EDIT: Guess that means me redsie!

You don't have to be socially adept, just outgoing. besides, even if i was first there, i'm going with two people i know. will be grand. just find me, i'll talk to anyone ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

Well if someone PM's me a number I shall try and come in about the 9:30 mark...if that is cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

I had a VERY similar conversation with 2 girls the last impromptu drink, without the "Nerd. feck off, I'm not drinking with you." part

They leaded up coming to Eamonn Dorans with us and one of the actual join Boards the following week {anybnody know if she is still posting?}

When was the drunken twister? I persume the last All Boards.ie pissup which I missed due to fecking work :/

After the last big meetup, myself, orestes, Spankeh and Agent_Smith went back to Tri's place. 2 pics in BGRH. Pity Tri isn't around tonight, we could have gotten her to bring in the Twister mat :D

Call Me Jimmy, walking into a boards meetup is the most f*cking daunting thing one could do. But also fun. You should try it. At the last meetup I got lost on Dame Street, walked downstairs of the Mercantile hyped up to the last to be greeted by the toilet doors (wrong stairs), asked the bouncer where the downstairs bar was to which he replied "oh, it's that internet thing" and looked at me like i had 10 heads. The I just latched onto 3 of the lads at the bottom of the stairs for the night (thanks!) and had the best craic ever.

Give it ago some time!!

It's daunting for anyone but you gotta push through it, everyone has been in the same boat at least once before.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Wilburt wrote: »
    It's daunting for anyone but you gotta push through it, everyone has been in the same boat at least once before.
    I can show you my "tattoo" Wilburt

^5

I can show you mine also. ^_^
    Just get me drunk and I'l whip it out >_> <_<

To anyone who is nervous about going pop one of the organisers a PM or anyone who is going. Welcoming bunch we are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Planning to arrive around the 8 mark, might be late though, probably won't be out of the lab before 6, and I gotta work the guns before I leave the apartment :D

Sound good Wilbot, but nothing with knives! ;)

Knives? Why would I want to do anything with knives?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

I had a VERY similar conversation with 2 girls the last impromptu drink, without the "Nerd. feck off, I'm not drinking with you." part

They leaded up coming to Eamonn Dorans with us and one of the actual join Boards the following week {anybnody know if she is still posting?}
    yes you did.

Didn't kaids cop off with one of them and she turned up at the BGRH as well?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭The Don

The I just latched onto 3 of the lads at the bottom of the stairs for the night (thanks!) and had the best craic ever.

Your welcome.:pac:

The Don wrote: »
    Your welcome.:pac:

See everyone's sound out too!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

If you don't know anyone there, just walk up to a random person and say 'Talk to me immediately, I is from teh interweb'. Not the barperson or bouncer though preferably as you may not be allowed to stay there after that.
    A sure recipe for success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

The I just latched onto 3 of the lads at the bottom of the stairs for the night (thanks!) and had the best craic ever.

/waves

I can't make it tonight, I'm broke! :( The next beers I'll probably be at will be the 20th Beers, should be in August or September. :confused:

Or maybe if there's an "impromptu" beers in August I might go. :)

Wilburt wrote: »
    I can show you mine also. ^_^
    Just get me drunk and I'l whip it out >_> <_<

\o/

I want to collect number and see if I should shave off my beard or not >_<
    To anyone who is nervous about going pop one of the organisers a PM or anyone who is going. Welcoming bunch we are

Its true you know :3

• Registered Users Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Raep is afoot.

Dord wrote: »
    /waves

I can't make it tonight, I'm broke! :( The next beers I'll probably be at will be the 20th Beers, should be in August or September. :confused:

Or maybe if there's an "impromptu" beers in August I might go. :)

/waves!

I'll buy you a drink if you come tonight! I probably owe ye all a drink - ye poor f*ckers having to put up with me :D

I think orestes is expecting an "impromptu" beers every single Fri night from now on lol

Sherifu wrote: »
    Raep is afoot.
    Your just jealous :(

Whenever your back you will have months of catching up to do :3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

/waves!

I'll buy you a drink if you come tonight! I probably owe ye all a drink - ye poor f*ckers having to put up with me :D

I think orestes is expecting an "impromptu" beers every single Fri night from now on lol

haha thanks for the offer, still can't though. :(
    I've got some studying to do this evening too. :rolleyes:

Which is the one who drinks for a living, orestes or The Don? :D