Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vegans - How strict are you?

Options
  • 11-07-2008 12:23pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I work in a shop that sells products for your hair, skin and body. A woman came in the other day looking for a shampoo for dry hair. The one we sell is a honey shampoo, and she said "Oh no, I'm vegan, I can't use honey". She left to go try and find a hemp product instead.

Now, I always kind of assumed that vegans only restricted what they ate, and maybe didn't wear leather. Obviously I'm wrong! I'm really interested to hear from the vegans out there, and see exactly what you restrict, beyond food?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Nature Boy

There are 'dietry' vegans who just restrict what they eat, but most will also avoid animal products from their whole lifestyle (clothes, cosmetics, etc). Depends on the person and the reasons

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Faith wrote: »
    I work in a shop that sells products for your hair, skin and body. A woman came in the other day looking for a shampoo for dry hair. The one we sell is a honey shampoo, and she said "Oh no, I'm vegan, I can't use honey". She left to go try and find a hemp product instead.

Now, I always kind of assumed that vegans only restricted what they ate, and maybe didn't wear leather. Obviously I'm wrong! I'm really interested to hear from the vegans out there, and see exactly what you restrict, beyond food?