Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SIMI 10 Day figures

• Registered Users Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

seamy_orr wrote: »
    I guess what you're intimating is that the 520d is still a classy car, just because it costs more, BMWs are middle of the road cars with an abysmal reliability record...

truly insightful ! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭cancan

E92 wrote: »
    The 3 series has alloys, aircon, trip computer, 4X electric windows, 6 airbags, ESP in the speclist. And that's the entry 318i ES.

So does a kia.....
    And the entry level model was the 316 the last time i checked...

Having said that, they really did get lucky with this new tax regieme, and it's no wonder their sales have gone as well as they did - they couldn't have written the laws better if they wrote them themselves.

Gormless must be depressed - in an effort to get everyone out of suv's, bmws are the second most popular cars in ireland. His socialist ways backfired on him bigtime.

Wait for the tax to be modified real soon!
    They'll probably make rwd illegal or something

• Subscribers Posts: 16,587 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

cancan wrote: »
    So does a kia.....
    And the entry level model was the 316 the last time i checked...

you need to do a more recent check..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

It might be in the price lists but that's the only place it's in. It is no longer available to buy(fortunately). Carzone shows the grand total of 3 new ones in stock(it does show some dealers wanting more for 08 316is than a new 320d though). Thus the entry level 3 series is the 318i ES, as I said last night. A BMW dealer confirmed this for me 2 weeks ago when we bought a new 520d.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

20 day figures came through today. Didnt want to start a new thread for it so maybe someone can edit the thread title?

Market only up 40% versus same 20 day period in 2007 now and in fact the figures for July 10-20 this year were actually nearly 1000 lower than same 10 day period last year. So it looks like the July bubble has burst or at least is bursting.

Anyway top 10 are as follows:

1. Ford 1432
    2. Toyota 1403
    3. BMW 1340
    4. VW 1173
    5. Peugeot 797
    6. Audi 793
    7. Nissan 783
    8. Opel 528
    9. Skoda 526
    10. Kia 426

Total Mkt = 12004

BMW only 92 cars off being market leader !! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

RedorDead wrote: »
    BMW only 92 cars off being market leader !! :eek:

Recession me arse.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

Was talking to a local toyota salesman - he says there's a 3 month waiting list for diesel corolla's, maybe that's why they're in second place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Interesting figures there, what I am wondering is WTF are Mercedes if BMW are 3rd at 1340 and the 10th mentioned is Kia at 426. I normally thought they sold pretty close the number of cars as each other in this country, did Mercedes really sell less than 426 cars?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Mercedes are down 76 units (34.4%) on the same period last year. MB have sold 3849 units so far this year - 145 of which were sold in July 2008 vs 221 units during the first 20 days of July 2007. Year to date, MB are back 698 units (15.4%).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

Bmw's are so common these days, are they really that good. I hear from the trade that the ford mondeo is much better compared to a 3 series.
    And as for audi's!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

7: Nissan - 5.8%(how do they manage to sell so many cars:eek:? Then again the Qashqai 1.5 is in 16% VRT, which does make a difference)

Could never quite work that out myself(They make the tiida For the love of god).Their only semi class leading cars in my opinion are the Note and Qashqai(Oh and GTR, Not sure it counts though:D).I live in cork and i never really see that many of them at all, even the qashqai.Either i'm failing to notice them or there extremely popular in dublin and the rest of the country.Have hardly seen one 08 micra i'd say

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

7: Nissan - 5.8%(how do they manage to sell so many cars:eek:? Then again the Qashqai 1.5 is in 16% VRT, which does make a difference)

There's a BIG difference between registered and sold!!! Particularly where Nissan is concerned.
    The Windsor fleet and rentals make up a massive chunk of that number unless people have lost all sense of aesthetics. I know there's a massive amount of unpretty cars out there, but Nissans are just plain ugly.

ninty9er wrote: »
    There's a BIG difference between registered and sold!!! Particularly where Nissan is concerned.
    The Windsor fleet and rentals make up a massive chunk of that number unless people have lost all sense of aesthetics. I know there's a massive amount of unpretty cars out there, but Nissans are just plain ugly.

Plus they almost give cars away with some of their discounting. Would love to see how much/little money Nissan Ireland make every year compared to the likes of Ford/Toyota/VW etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

Don't forget that the main reason BMW are doing so well at the moment is all the people who held back taking delivery of their cars in January to take advantage of the VRT changes. That and the fact that BMW released their July prices at the start of April to get the orders in for July too.

BMW were down by over 1000 units in Jan-Jun this year compared to the same period last year.

They registered 96 units in May and 126 in June.

In the period Jan-Jun they had 2.65% of the market. They sold 3295 cars in June, compared to 1340 in the first 20 days in July. They're now up to 3.41% overall this year.

Toyota's market share has dipped slightly to 14.49%, down from 14.86% in June.

That just shows how little interest a large amount of people have in cars more than anything else.

Ford at 16,975 are also ever so slightly down from 12.52% to 12.47%.

This 20 day period must be the first ever time that Toyota hasn't been the market leader in God only knows how long here though.

ninty9er wrote: »

True and true.There would be a load out on rentals and just sitting on forecourts probably.
    As for nissans being ugly your bang on(Except the GTR again of course, the ONLY new nissan i could see myself paying good money for).The tiida deserves some sort of award IMO.I think the qashqai is even an ugly car, wwwaaayyy too mumsy.Have a look at these FFS

31 grand for this abomination
    http://beta.carzone.ie/used-cars/Nissan/Qashqai/EPM-Sport/1106363/

Stick this in youre pipe(And slippers considering the tiidas target market,:D:D) an smoke it
    http://beta.carzone.ie/used-cars/Nissan/Tiida/GT-only/897164/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Zonda999 wrote: »
    As for nissans being ugly your bang on(Except the GTR again of course, the ONLY new nissan i could see myself paying good money for).The tiida deserves some sort of award IMO.I think the qashqai is even an ugly car, wwwaaayyy too mumsy.Have a look at these FFS

I've never believed in the concept of 'best car in the world' - horses for courses and all that. Having watched TG over the last 2 weeks though I think the GTR has to have a huge claim to the title.

Not in a tradional S-class type of way, just in terms of sheer, all-round bloody brilliance and the way it fulfills it's intended purpose so perfectly. Faster round Nurburgring and TG track than half-million-quid hyper cars:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭groupb

Its alright lads, were in a recession:D:D.There shouldnt be so many bmws sold in the future as other manufacturers catch up on CO2 emissions.I will admit though that the 520d iis a fantastic package and i feel i have to say the same about the A6 from a few months time.I believe the 2.0TDI in that car will all be the 170bhp one and that they will be very good for co2 and should beat the bmw price-wise(It is now(140bhp though) to the best of my knowledge).For pure elegance and build quality and materials, i think the audi has the beemer licked

Comparing an old old car like an A6 to a 5 series is silly.

groupb wrote: »

I.....dont understand.The current gen A6 was launched in 2004, a year AFTER the current 5 series was released.And anyway, a 3.0tdi quattro A6 would give a 530d a fair competition accros all areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

groupb wrote: »

A) As Zonda says, the A6 is the newer car.
    B) The A6 is a considerably bigger car, in boot and rear seats and fits golf clubs better. Something that's definitely desirable in a Large Executive Saloon.
    C) The A6 is a more conservative looking car, desirable to some and off-putting to others. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.
    D) The interior of the Audi is arguably better than the BMW (so say most of the reviews), although I don't really see it in terms of materials. I know I don't like the plain-ness of the BMW dashboard - it's got too many flat surfaces and sharp edges.
    E) The BMW is the sportier, more involving, more rewarding drive. If you enjoy pushing your car, the Beemer will be infinitely more rewarding.

Some people are taking the piss out of the slowing market. Here's a good one from the uncle (who hasn't seen as slow a market since the early 80s).

Woman orders a car for July delivery from one of his salesmen.

July comes and she says she's getting a better deal "elsewhere" and doesn't want the car unless they can match it. It's base price and it can't be matched.

Salesman meets salesman from "elsewhere" at a rugby match 2 weeks later and says "I hear ye're giving cars away out there" and elaborates.

Salesman from elsewhere informs that he got the same story from same woman with garages reversed, so now both have new cars with no buyer and a woman who thinks she's going to get a further reduction on the price agreed. Neither are going to give it!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,587 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

good to hear that the shoe is on the other foot..

copacetic wrote: »
    good to hear that the shoe is on the other foot..

You'd think, but yer wan still has no new car!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,931 ✭✭✭dingding

It is about time a bit of reality came into the market.

I got a volvo S40 new in 2002, could spec it exactly the way I wanted it with the extras from the options list.

Go back to get an XC90 in 2005, was told that I had no choice even on the colour and I had to make do with what ever one that they got in.

Did not buy another Volvo, got a Lexus instead.

The level of service when buying an 80K car was abismal (from Volvo)

I.....dont understand.The current gen A6 was launched in 2004, a year AFTER the current 5 series was released.And anyway, a 3.0tdi quattro A6 would give a 530d a fair competition accros all areas.

5 Series got a minor nip/tuck last Spring 07 and the A6 gets a more noticeable makeover this autumn.

Pics of new rear here.

9080430.004.Mini4L.jpg

and front here.

23688112629.jpg

RedorDead wrote: »
    5 Series got a minor nip/tuck last Spring 07 and the A6 gets a more noticeable makeover this autumn.

Pics of new rear here.

9080430.004.Mini4L.jpg

and front here.

23688112629.jpg

Likin the new back, very A4-ish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭groupb

The only A6 I've driven is a 3.0tdi quattro.A big sloppy thing. Hardly a car to compare with a 5 series unless driving comes way down your list of priorities. I guess I'll never understand the "appeal" of an Audi.

Try an RS6 maybe:D.Maybe you found the audi "sloppy" because it is 4 wheel drive and couldnt be as willing to change direction as freely as the bmw.You'd be thankful if you went round a corner too fast, though