Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wacken 2008

• 12-07-2008 10:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭

Righteo, who's going then?

Mods, not sure if this belongs here or in Gigs/Events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 noloveinfear21

I can only wish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Arucard

i wish, but alas, i can't. gotta get rid of my ticket now too :/
    i'll find another way to see Cynic & Carcass. i hope :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Arucard wrote: »
    i wish, but alas, i can't. gotta get rid of my ticket now too :/
    i'll find another way to see Cynic & Carcass. i hope :P

Pop into Sentinel, they should be able to help you unload it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭quoteunquote

Myself and the boyfriend will be going! We got caught rotten for the flight tickets. Waited too long and got charged about 500 for two return tickets. Twas ridiculous but I don't care. Carcass and Opeth will make up for it!

• Registered Users Posts: 15 rasherbyrne

load of us heading over on the 29th with ryanair.

same here. might see you all bleary eyed that morning in dublin. flight is sooooo early. try telling ryanair you dont do mornings. jeez.

28th to Bremen por moi. Anyone know how much a cab from Hamburg to Wacken would cost. Don't quite fancy the detour through Itzehoe this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭DenMan

pithater1 wrote: »
    28th to Bremen por moi. Anyone know how much a cab from Hamburg to Wacken would cost. Don't quite fancy the detour through Itzehoe this year.

It's fifty km from Hamburg to Wacken. The airport express line will take you from Hamburg (Airport) to Wacken directly, save all the hassle. Unless of course you are planning on taking in other places of interest while you are there. Hope this helps.

http://www.wacken.com/en/woa2007/main-info/anfahrt/

Hmmm..do you think they'd leave us camp a day earlier? Or would we get away with highjacking a field?

I think they let some people camp on the Tuesday for an extra fiver or something like that.

#Don't quote me on that#

I'd imagine there'll be feck all facilities set up though.

tis cheaper than a hotel at least.

thanks!

i wonder if there's many lidl's in germany :D

No probs pithater1, glad I could help. Enjoy the gig. Pissed I can't make it. Next year I will try my best.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭SlaveToTheSkids

A few tickets back on sale there in Sentinel Records! Get 'em while yiz can folks! :cool:

Well there would still be the small matter of trying to secure transport over there at such short notice ;):cool:

Flying out to Germany tomorrow night! ahhhh

bring it on!

anyone have any idea what the weather is like over there? I heard talk of a thunderstorm one of the days. How epic would that be during Gorgoroth?

"satan" haha

Flying out to Germany tomorrow night! ahhhh

bring it on!

anyone have any idea what the weather is like over there? I heard talk of a thunderstorm one of the days. How epic would that be during Gorgoroth?

"satan" haha

Flying out tomorrow night myself. Tis roasting over there according to the lads and BBC say it'll be sun all week :cool:

Now to find some sun cream...

Lucky ba$tards. Enjoy the festival guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Jonakin

Does anyone know a site where you can watch it live?

In a ****in heap now. Great festival this year! Cant wait to get home to my bed. If I dont see any more Becks for a while ill be a happy man:eek:

Wow.....what a way to lose my festival virginity!

The first few days of scorching heat made me cranky but thank god it started to get colder then.

Our campsite fecking rocked! We were the one on Campsite A (? i think) with the really high up Irish, Tipp and Cork flags and pyromaniacs.

Carcass was definitely the highlight of the festival for me. We were at the front row and even though I'm a chick I can safely say that Angela Gossow is hotter in person. :D

Wow.....what a way to lose my festival virginity!

The first few days of scorching heat made me cranky but thank god it started to get colder then.

Our campsite fecking rocked! We were the one on Campsite A (? i think) with the really high up Irish, Tipp and Cork flags and pyromaniacs.

Carcass was definitely the highlight of the festival for me. We were at the front row and even though I'm a chick I can safely say that Angela Gossow is hotter in person. :D

Jaysus! I was pretty much right beside ye so!
    Remember this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UsKgPJ0Nr2s

:D:pac::D:pac:

Hahaha of course!! I was the young one desperately trying to get her boyfriend away from it. I did NOT want him getting covered in ****e. haha.

Were you in the camp with the Ulster flag?

Nah I was the other side of the big Dutch flag going the opposite way from the Ulster flag. I think I spent a good bit of Saturday evening in yer compound though!

Thank Christ I was a good bit away from those portaloos though, they feckin stank!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

God looking at that video, really glad I didn't go so... Stopped going to Wacken in 2003 as it was progressively going downhill every year & by the looks of it, it's getting worse and worse with retards trying to ruin things for others. My friend was there this year, I think it's about her 6th Wacken & she said it was the worst one she was ever at, so bad that she's contemplating never going to any festival again..

Thankfully, I've never seen anything like that at Graspop, place is kept clean & tidy and toilets are proper ones! Just hope Bloodstock next week is a bit better than last year and the security ensure no assholes run amok!

Well, seeing as Wacken was my first festival I don't have any other festival experiences to compare it to. People have said that Wacken was terrible this year and that the atmosphere was too aggressive but I don't feel like that at all.

I managed to find a great group of people to camp with. No one was robbed, molested or attacked. I got to the very front row for all the bands I really wanted to see and didn't get booted in the head by a crowdsurfer once. I jumped into the circle pit for At the Gates and was protected by some very nice Swedish metallers when it got too violent.

Surprisingly, I hardly drank any alcohol at all. I wanted to enjoy the festival and didn't want to wake up with a hangover in that scorching heat. Just cos I was sober didn't mean I was a dryarse for the whole festival though. :)

There wasn't really too much of an aggro vibe around where I was camped.
    Felt as if it had gotten very commercialised this year though.

If you're up for it next year pithater1, I definitely will be. So mad I missed it this year, I mean Nightwish, Opeth, Leave's Eyes, Children Of Bodom, Iron Maiden, Lordi, At The Gates, Obituary, the list goes on, so pi$$ed I missed it.

Sounds like a plan man. May want to get the ould tickets fairly snappy this year though. Rumor is that Metallica are playing next year and that 10000 tickets have already been sold. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 mikekrupel

Love the captions