Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The NPN (No Purchase Necessary) Thread

• 13-07-2008 1:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭

Ok folks judging by the reaction on the Cokemusic and Deep River Rock promotions I think it's time we had a dedicated thread for NPN's

I'll start things off with this one:

http://www.toyota.ie/about/promotions/gaa/default.aspx

and if you're an MBNA customer this one:

http://www.mbna.ie/cargiveaway.html

So basically if you spot any of these online or on products you buy let us know!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

is that what the freebie thread is all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭eliza64

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

kearnsr wrote: »
    is that what the freebie thread is all about?

no this is competition based and you may actually end up with something worth having!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭sunny2004

eamon234 wrote: »
    no this is competition based and you may actually end up with something worth having!

LMAO... Drinking my Guinness ! ;)
    But I get what you are saying !

Here's another for M&M's win consoles, event tickets and the like
    You need to send them a letter to get the codes - but it's a freepost address and you can send as many as you like - so now we need a bargain alert for cheap envelopes!!!

http://www.fullcolourgaming.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Mossy

Hi Eamon,

I'm a bit confused about the competitions your first post.

The phrase "No Purchase Necessary" (NPN) is used in prize draws (or competitions) that typically require you to make a purchase (like buying a can of coke or a kitkat) in order to enter. The NPN bit comes in when they give you a way of entering without making a purchase.

This is different from free competitions that don't require anyone to make a purchase, although ironcically the MBNA competition requires you to make several purchases for each entry ;)

The MBNA and Toyota competitions are regular free competitions, so I don't understand why they are in an NPN thread. Wouldn't they be more at home in Eliza's competitions thread?

... or maybe I'm missing something.

BTW The M&Ms site is a good find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭CyberWaste

Where do I get a code for the M&M's site?

Mossy wrote: »
    Hi Eamon,

I'm a bit confused about the competitions your first post.

The phrase "No Purchase Necessary" (NPN) is used in prize draws (or competitions) that typically require you to make a purchase (like buying a can of coke or a kitkat) in order to enter. The NPN bit comes in when they give you a way of entering without making a purchase.

This is different from free competitions that don't require anyone to make a purchase, although ironcically the MBNA competition requires you to make several purchases for each entry ;)

The MBNA and Toyota competitions are regular free competitions, so I don't understand why they are in an NPN thread. Wouldn't they be more at home in Eliza's competitions thread?

... or maybe I'm missing something.

BTW The M&Ms site is a good find.

The MBNA one doesn't require you to make a purchase (npn details in the t's&c's) and as stated is for MBNA customers only

See what you mean about the Toyota one I just stumbled across that and thought I'd add it

This thread is really for the M&M's Cokemusic etc types of NPN's I don't want to step on Eliza's toes!

CyberWaste wrote: »
    Where do I get a code for the M&M's site?

A: Read my post
    or
    B: Buy M&M's!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭TVDX

I wouldn't advise doing the MBNA one.
    They will never leave you alone once they have your name and address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

TVDX wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

TVDX wrote: »

But won't they already have your name and address, if you're already a customer?

Just got call from Deep River Rock today to confirm my 80gb iPod and festival pack on the way woohoo! See these things do work:D

In case you didn't see it on the Coke thread

www.purefestival.ie

just enter NPN or Not applicable instead of a promotional code

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

eamon234 wrote: »
    I'll start things off with this one:

http://www.toyota.ie/about/promotions/gaa/default.aspx

Wait, how many footballs are in the car?

that's kind of the question you have to answer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 mr.vavavoom

got my ipod ipod off coke 2day:D:D
    collected 50+ codes off npn(over bout a month) and entered dem all at once at 4am.
    Now thats determination for u.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

^thats probably the best idea ever! should have kept that to yourself!

I sent off a few freepost envelopes for the M&M's NPN yesterday so lets see what happens....

OK folks here's another!

www.cornetto.com

You have to call the HB Careline to get an NPN code (see T&C's)

Anyone else come across any?

I called them today and a very nice lady gave me a code - won shag all though- Bad times

Found an empty lid in the car one of the kids had later on and won a €20 CD Wow voucher - Good times!

Crashed the missus's car an hour later - Bad times:(

Nothing back yet on the NPN request letters I sent for the M&M's comp - emailed them yesterday no reply there either:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Can you just text 'Not applicable' to Deep riverrock?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 hamsandwich1

Conor108 wrote: »

I put "NPN" in

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭Turnip2000

No but you can put that in online. Thats how i won my ipod!

http://purefestival.ie/

Shame because I was thinking I could just set up webtext to automatically send texts! I'll do this yoke so tomorrow! Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Sorry if it has been covered here, but is it "NPN" or "Non Applicable" for online entries? Or does it matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭rliston

sueme wrote: »
    Sorry if it has been covered here, but is it "NPN" or "Non Applicable" for online entries? Or does it matter?

they both seem to work

Ha Ive just been entering deep riverock all day before realizing its Saturday:D

I used NPN on mine when I won (got my stuff yesterday:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Someone must have some more of these competitions. :D

still no word from the M&M's NPN letters :(

Another one:

http://www.magnummanor.ie/en-ie/index.html

Win a VIP trip for NPN

No Purchase Necessary. For the same chance of winning, send your name, full address (incl. postcode) and a selected time of entry in hours, minutes, seconds and milliseconds using the 24-hour clock format (e.g. 23.59.59.10) to the following address:
    (i) Magnum, Unilever Ireland, 20 Riverwalk, Dublin 24, ROI

Did you guys put your landline number in that Deep Riverrock one? I just put my mobile

As long as you put in a number you can be contacted on it's fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Hi All

Thanks to the OP who put up the RiverRock link.

Entered the RiverRock competition three times and got a text today informing me I had won - used NPN on the website - I'd recommend people giving it a go as it seems like at least three people here have won stuff in the competition.

I'll be keeping my eye out for these NPN comps in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭bromley52

I have won 2 of these packs so far.One for me and one for herself. Will go along well with the 3 ipod nanos I won. All for not having purchased not a single can of coke or bottle of water.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

bromley52 wrote: »
    I have won 2 of these packs so far.One for me and one for herself. Will go along well with the 3 ipod nanos I won. All for not having purchased not a single can of coke or bottle of water.:D

Wanker.
    Lucky :D.

Hi All

Entered the RiverRock competition three times and got a text today informing me I had won - used NPN on the website - I'd recommend people giving it a go as it seems like at least three people here have won stuff in the competition.

Argh! I've entered every draw in the day twice and 3 draws today! Nothing! Is it something to do with where you put in the mobile number? What the hell does prefix want you to do? I just put 08xxxxxxxx no spaces or anything? That right?

Congrats and all:) I may seem cranky but I just need caffeine:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

Prefix means the 087/6/5/3 part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Prefix means the 087/6/5/3 part.
    Everyone always forgets the 089

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭rameire

davton wrote: »
    Everyone always forgets the 089

thats just a crazy number,
    next youll be telling us Tesco do mobiles

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Split 2.28S, 1.52E. 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

Hi All

NP - make sure you post anything you find on here! Congrats on the win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

rameire wrote: »
    thats just a crazy number,
    next youll be telling us Tesco do mobiles

Im not sure how to take this....cause a lot of people dont know they do sell them, a huge amount!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Grawns

Have been busy entering the riverrock comp, thanks OP
    Is there a limit to how many times you enter per hour? I'm planning on trying to enter about 5 times today over 5 different hours.

• Moderators Posts: 12,386 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Grawns wrote: »
    Is there a limit to how many times you enter per hour? I'm planning on trying to enter about 5 times today over 5 different hours.
    Ive entered 9 times in the past 10 minutes and its not complained yet. Really keeping my fingers crossed on this one

Ok I've entered this one like 30 times and they've stopped sending emails. Limit reached I assume:) Must win have to win this like come on come on come on come on:pac: Say you enter the 9am draw and you win do not text/email ye until 17:00?

Ok AGAIN I did not win anything:( But I won't let this competetition beat me:D So I will set up a new email just in case (Paranoia), Did winners put both their numbers? Mobile and landline? Statistically I should have one by now!! (In my flimsy non-accurate view of statistial probability) I've entered 30+ times today alone:eek: I'll change my name too just in case

Lets just double check that mobile bit again..

Mobile Prefix:08612345678

Is that right? I havent slept in a 36 hours or so dont get mental here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭filo87

In the 'Mobile Prefix' box you type 08x and in the 'Main No' box you type the rest of your number,eg 1234567.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭jvc

Lets just double check that mobile bit again..

Mobile Prefix:08612345678

Is that right? I havent slept in a 36 hours or so dont get mental here

In the prefix: box type 086
    In the main no: box type 1234567

Edit: Beat me to it:D

• Registered Users Posts: 28 implosive

Woot !! got a text there saying i won :D:D !! thanks eamon234 ! I entered like 100 times over the las few days !! said its gonna take 30days to get the deep riverrock kit ! Must enter again !! think it ends next fri !!