Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,764 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

mike65 wrote: »
    Boggles got here first, this could be worse then German porn! :eek:

Mike

Oh yes good old Armin. He just brought it to a different level of weird.

http://edition.cnn.com/2004/WORLD/europe/01/30/germany.cannibal/index.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

torres aside, i think the jan window will be very interesting with citeh building buying a "team"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

if they offered a hundred million for him you could buy Aguero & Kaka for that money....they wont offer that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Didn't Nado take a pay cut to come to us in the first place?

or did I imagine that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

He did.

IF City did bid silly money, the Americans probably would accept while Rafa, Nando and the team would have a good chuckle and tell them to piss off.

yea he did. love him.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    yea he did. love him.

steady on alan.. we know.

the lad wants to win things and on current form he's in the right place and he has exactly the right mentality to fit into the team and more importantly the club. he could prove to be the clubs best ever signing, and that would take some doing looking back at some of the players that have graced our hallowed turf.

kaimera wrote: »
    Didn't Nado take a pay cut to come to us in the first place?

or did I imagine that?

Not really a pay cut, more he refused a pay rise to stay at Madrid, Liverpool are paying him more than he earned at Madrid, if he stayed he would be on more than he is at liverpool now.

So it wasn't as simple as earning 120,000 at Madrid all along and joining Liverpool at 30 grand less.

Still admirable thou.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭slingerz

Am I the only one that thinks an Aguerro/Torres partnership would be worth creaming oneself over?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Boggles wrote: »
    Not really a pay cut, more he refused a pay rise to stay at Madrid, Liverpool are paying him more than he earned at Madrid, if he stayed he would be on more than he is at liverpool now.

So it wasn't as simple as earning 120,000 at Madrid all along and joining Liverpool at 30 grand less.

Still admirable thou.

So turning down a pay rise is not the same as essentially taking a pay cut? :rolleyes:

"Stay as you are and you will amass earnings of X over the next 12 years until you retire. Move to Liverpool, and you will amass earnings of X - Y% over the next 12 years until you retire." That is a goddamn paycut.

The levels of pickiness on this thread are reaching new highs, as people have obviously at least temporarily abandoned the Rafa bashing etc., during the good times.

spockety wrote: »
    So turning down a pay rise is not the same as essentially taking a pay cut? :rolleyes:

"Stay as you are and you will amass earnings of X over the next 12 years until you retire. Move to Liverpool, and you will amass earnings of X - Y% over the next 12 years until you retire." That is a goddamn paycut.

The levels of pickiness on this thread are reaching new highs, as people have obviously at least temporarily abandoned the Rafa bashing etc., during the good times.

He asked a question, I gave an answer.

Problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,146 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

slingerz wrote: »
    Am I the only one that thinks an Aguerro/Torres partnership would be worth creaming oneself over?

would cost a fortune to get Aguerro though. If only the board had backed Rafa when he wanted him before he joined Atleti :(

pretty sure he took an actual pay CUT boggles, ie: he was on 100k at Madrid before he left, in his first season was on 90k at Liverpool.

he spoke about it in an interview that was conducted by a rather hostile athletico fan that appeared online some time ago.

He asked a question, I gave an answer.

Problem?

Yeah I have a problem. It was picky, and not only that it was just plain wrong.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/euro130000aweek-but-torres-taking-pay-cut-892778.html

From Rafa's mouth:

http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/archivedirs/news/2007/jul/4/N156291070704-1746.htm
    http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/archivedirs/news/2007/jul/5/N156295070705-0942.htm

he was on about £103k in spain, and he's on £90k a week at Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Still admirable thou.

He took a pay cut when he joined Liverpool, i.e. he was earning more an Athletico than he is earning at Liverpool..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

slingerz wrote: »

They never clicked when they played together for Atletico, who knows now though

i cant see us spending big money on any striker in the near future given what we've spent the last 2 summers and the resources or lack thereof we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

prendy wrote: »
    i cant see us spending big money on any striker in the near future given what we've spent the last 2 summers and the resources or lack thereof we have.

Yeah i guess your right, we will be sound with Robbie and Nando though, and have Dirk and few more that can shuffle about to do a decent job.
    Man I hate international breaks......the weeks are so boring, and people get so irritated and bicker even more than normal!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

gucci wrote: »
    Yeah i guess your right, we will be sound with Robbie and Nando though, and have Dirk and few more that can shuffle about to do a decent job.
    Man I hate international breaks......the weeks are so boring, and people get so irritated and bicker even more than normal!

I'll second that - International footy is a snooze fest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

gucci wrote: »
    Include Babel in that list.
    I blame the recession.

Yeah I have a problem. It was picky, and not only that it was just plain wrong.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/euro130000aweek-but-torres-taking-pay-cut-892778.html

From Rafa's mouth:

http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/archivedirs/news/2007/jul/4/N156291070704-1746.htm
    http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/archivedirs/news/2007/jul/5/N156295070705-0942.htm

he was on about £103k in spain, and he's on £90k a week at Liverpool.

Yeah tis a nice little story alright, he was so desperate to get away from the club he was born into he took a huge pay cut.

I believe he waived his slice of the transfer fee for the love of Madrid, but the very notion he took a pay cut is in my opinion a fairy tell.

It is an excellent piece of PR to endear him immediately to the scouse faithful, but alas thats all it is.

Why did he "love" Liverpool so much anyways?

Boggles, just admit when you are wrong. please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Yeah tis a nice little story alright, he was so desperate to get away from the club he was born into he took a huge pay cut.

I believe he waived his slice of the transfer fee for the love of Madrid, but the very notion he took a pay cut is in my opinion a fairy tell.

It is an excellent piece of PR to endear him immediately to the scouse faithful, but alas thats all it is.

Why did he "love" Liverpool so much anyways?

Sorry, how do you know all this??

Boggles, just admit when you are wrong. please.

Prove I'm wrong?

Do you have a copy of both his contracts from Madrid and Liverpool, or are you going to pick and choose what stories the papers tell you to suit your arguement.

Prove I'm wrong?

Do you have a copy of both his contracts from Madrid and Liverpool, or are you going to pick and choose what stories the papers tell you to suit your arguement.

Do you?

monkey9 wrote: »
    Do you?

Yeah, I'm not showing them to you thou, you would be straight over to Alans house.

boggles, your making a tit of yourself, i've read an interview with Torres where he talks about how he took the paycut.....obviously i cant say 100% as i havent seen the contract, but its enough for me to believe him. you can be sceptical all you want, but its quite a sad way to be, i'm not taking it from some tabloid, i'm taking it from him saying it himself. you must not believe anyone about anything in this football world of ours as i doubt Utd cc you on their memos/contracts etc.

Boggles, your posts have been well and truly outed as the ill-informed, innaccurate baiting that they are.

boggles, your making a tit of yourself, i've read an interview with Torres where he talks about how he took the paycut.....obviously i cant say 100% as i havent seen the contract, but its enough for me to believe him. you can be sceptical all you want, but its quite a sad way to be, i'm not taking it from some tabloid, i'm taking it from him saying it himself. you must not believe anyone about anything in this football world of ours as i doubt Utd cc you on their memos/contracts etc.

You see Alan, I apply logic. The sport is run by money, agents, lawyers, pr people. He left the club he was born into, it is not too unbelieable that a story might have been fabregated to suggest he left because of his life time love of Liverpool FC and that he would take a massive paycut to fulfull that dream. Shíté like he wrote "you will never walk alone" under his captains arm band, etc.

It endears himself immediately to the Liverpool faithful while softening the blow with the fans he left behind.

Of course I could be wrong and it could be the fairy tell alot of ye like to believe, that would put Torres into a pretty exlusive club.
    Boggles, your posts have been well and truly outed as the ill-informed, innaccurate baiting that they are.

I assure you Spockety there is noone out to bait you, there is no one after you lad. Again I plead with you stop being so paranoid and miserable please. I hate seen you like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

One of the main reasons he wanted to join Liverpool was that Athletico had been struggling to get into Europe and didn't look like making the CL anytime soon. Then when he left they had a cracking season and got into the CL anyway.

Shíté like he wrote "you will never walk alone" under his captains arm band, etc.

it was "we'll never walk alone", it was in reference to him and his mates who grew up being fans of Liverpool as well as Athletico. Hardly ****e my friend.

untitled2ij7.png

was this is preperation for his move to Liverpool a year later, was he laying the groundwork for your conspiracy theory?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

More cracking entertainment here by Boggles.

Don't put too much faith in him being right - after all, he has problems telling right from left!

And his mates had tattoo's of Liverpool, but Torres thought it inapproppiate to get one, hence just the armband.
    Look, the bloke obviously loves Liverpool as well as his hometown club and after realising his dreams of playing for Atletico, jumped at the chance to play for Liverpool. It's not inconcievable that he would take a paycut, especially as it hardly leaves him a pauper. This is all pretty pedantic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Who cares if a player is paid a hundred grand or ninety grand a week?

What fúcking difference does it make?

Silly argument.

it was "we'll never walk alone", it was in reference to him and his mates who grew up being fans of Liverpool as well as Athletico. Hardly ****e my friend.

untitled2ij7.png

was this is preperation for his move to Liverpool a year later, was he laying the groundwork for your conspiracy theory?

That picture published by "The Sun" was taken a couple of months before he signed for Liverpool.

Either way, I'm done with it, you can believe he joined Liverpool on what ever contract you want, at the end of the day it doesn't really matter.

He is a cracking player. And the league is better off with him.

it was months before he moved to us and it was reported in the world press, not a s*n exclusive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭evil_seed

boggles, your making a tit of yourself again,

fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

That picture published by "The Sun" was taken a couple of months before he signed for Liverpool.

Either way, I'm done with it, you can believe he joined Liverpool on what ever contract you want, at the end of the day it doesn't really matter.

He is a cracking player. And the league is better off with him.

he admitted to having it and explained the story behind ffs. trolling of the highest order, congrats as you have managed to do it while staying within the rules again...

I assure you Spockety there is noone out to bait you, there is no one after you lad. Again I plead with you stop being so paranoid and miserable please. I hate seen you like this.

haha, I'm neither paranoid nor miserable. In fact I'm still living in delight la la land after the victory over United. Terribly sad I know. ;)

You like to apply logic, well I apply logic too, to your posts, and my super logic reader comes back telling me that your posts are a load of ill informed inaccurate rubbish. Now you're obviously an intelligent and coherent individual, of that there is no doubt, so the only logical conclusion I can come to is that you enjoy posting on this thread outright lies in the face of evidence offered against what you're saying, in order to get a rise out of people. What other logical conclusion can one come to?

Torres took a pay cut to come to Liverpool, that is a fact. It has been repeated in the respected areas of the press, as well as repeated by Rafa and Torres himself.

What his motives were I do not know, but if you apply logic to these facts you would have to guess that he chose liverpool over other clubs in spite of better financial reward on offer elsewhere because;

a) Liverpool offers him Champions League football that Athletico couldn't in his years there.
    and
    b) Liverpool have a large spanish contingent at the club, and a highly respected Spanish manager to boot.

Now I don't know that for an absolute 100% guaranteed fact, but sure you don't care about facts anyway right? As long as the logic holds.

The armband did exist, but nobody here brought it up from what I can see, you did, why?
    Tell me about the captain's armband you displayed during a game against Real Sociedad last season, with You'll Never Walk Alone written on the inside?

There is a group of my mates, about five or six of us, and we've all grown up supporting Liverpool. Because they are all so committed to Liverpool, they've had We'll Never Walk Alone tattooed on their arms. It's changed slightly because it's a symbol of our friendship as well as our support for the club. Obviously I couldn't have that tattooed on my arm playing for Atletico, but they gave me this armband as a present for my last birthday.

Apply your logic to that.....?

making it out it was only in the S*n has actually pissed me off boggles.

are you also implying it was a doctored photo?

you not think Torres would have said that at the time, or Athletico?

here is a thing on Uefas official website talking about it

http://www.uefa.com/magazine/news/kind=512/newsid=558720.html

heres an article from April 2007 where Rafa was asked about the incident with the armband and wat it meant.

http://www.worldsoccer.com/news/benitez_refuses_to_be_drawn_on_torres_news_117191.html

making it out it was only in the S*n has actually pissed me off boggles.

are you also implying it was a doctored photo?

Where did I say that?. The picture was published by the Sun and as far as I am aware own the copyright of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

jesus christ give over.

nbody cares boggles. troll in an empty plastic bag so ya would.

it was 4 months before he signed for us, as i said the story was carried world wide.

because the s*n has the best pic of it means **** all. torres didnt know he was going to Liverpool in April (according to him anyway, you may know better), also do you think he was unfortunate enough to have the secret inscription spotted on his first time wearing it?

The pic and Torres discussing it proves he had a connection with Liverpool, before he moved to us, something you tried to rubbish.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,598 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

ffs lads don't be moaning about it and feeding it at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,146 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Where did I say that?. The picture was published by the Sun and as far as I am aware own the copyright of it.

any proof? or is it just pool fans who have to provide evidence of everything.

This is actually gone a bit ridiculous now, the focal point of the argument shifts every few posts as someone points out a flaw in Boggles comments.
    A bit of a rundown;
    - Torres takes a paycut,
    - no he didn't,
    - Yes he in fact did.
    - onto 'do you have his contracts?'
    - no but he said it (examples given)
    - dont believe him, all a conspiracy to endear him, like the armband photo
    - then a picture of the photo with explanation coupled with denial by Rafa that this was a sign of him joining, merely that he was one of millions of fans around the world.
    - continues with argument on the origin of the photo, which i fail to see the relevance of...whats more relevant is that evidence has been given for both the Torres paycut and torres armband discussions without any hint of anyone holding their hands up and admitting they're mistaken.

Whats the point of a discussion board if someone isn't prepared to see anothers point of view after considerable backing and proof.

excellent post Rebel.

I'm off home, enjoy the weekend.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    any proof? or is it just pool fans who have to provide evidence of everything.

Their tetchy enough around here, no way I'm linking to The Sun. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Jesus Boggles, you are an awful dickhead...

one more thing, maybe Aguero is laying the groundwork for another conspiracy theory too Boggles ;)
    Aguero wrote:
    "I have been a Liverpool fan for as long as I can remember and it would be a dream to play there.

"I watched the Champions League final and celebrated every goal as if it was for Independiente."