Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Subscribers Posts: 16,600 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

he has to be a bit more adamant than that imo, none of it fills me with confidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

GBX wrote: »
    "I asked him if the player was happy in Liverpool and he said yes. It was a short meeting."

Not nearly good enough for me. Lets not be fooled, its a typical Rafa tactic to blindside other tops clubs. On Monday we'll wake up to see Alonso on the front page of Marca and Gago at Anfield. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Alonso's going nowhere unless we get 25m+ for him i'd say. Some of the rumours of clubs offering 18m are a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

How long has Alonso for left on his contract?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

3 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

once again i say,

he's not going any-f***ing-where.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

It would require some crazy money to get him I would say and I would be surprised if he did not sign anothe contract next season.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,600 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

I dunno, if we were serious about making sure he was here next season we would have already got him signed on to an extension. Just like Rafa has done with the players he sees as the core of the team. Imo Rafa doesn't appear too concerned about losing him but is playing a game to make sure he gets maximum bids when and if they come in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

copacetic wrote: »
    I dunno, if we were serious about making sure he was here next season we would have already got him signed on to an extension. Just like Rafa has done with the players he sees as the core of the team. Imo Rafa doesn't appear too concerned about losing him but is playing a game to make sure he gets maximum bids when and if they come in.

if this is the case, that rafa doesn't see him as the core of the team...

how the f**k doesn't he?

i'd be very disappointed in, and questioning, Rafa if he allowed xabi to go;
    1) without a hell of a fight or;
    2) unless xabi adamantly tells him he wants to go.

for me, he is integral now. he sets the tempo etc etc etc; all the things we know he does that nobody else in the team can do for us, and very few midfielders in the world could come in and do for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,525 ✭✭✭joe123

Yaay back from my ban!

And if Xabi Alonso leaves il cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

if a serious bid 0f 26-30m comes in from madrid i can see Xabi going.

Personally i think him leaving would be a disaster,as i love the midfield we have now and can only see it getting better with the addition of hopefully Barry to add more competition.

Gago i wouldnt want near Liverpool,incredibly overrated.

I picked Gago cos he's crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

mike65 wrote: »
    I picked Gago cos he's crap!

my bad so:o

Rumours on some LFC sites that we might be getting Micheal Owen back on a pay as you play contract. Could be announced within the next week. What would people make of this? I think if we are'nt paying a penny for him it's a win win situation for us. Can't really be judged on his time or performances at Newcastle IMO as Messi would have found it hard to score in that team. Would he be a good back up to Torres playing against the smaller teams (Hull,Blackburn,Everton:cool: etc...). Can't really see him wanting to be a bench player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

A bit like Ronnie Whelan? I can see no reason why MO would go for that, a second/third tier prem team would still take him I would say, once fit he would definitely do a job for them.

Also, I am not sure I would like to see him anywhere near the club anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

If you could get him away from the horses, you'd have a darn good player on your hands. But he's lost his pace, and tried to reinvent himself as a withdrawn striker, but not sure he's got the skill for it.

I'm just trying to imagine Owen on the bench game after game looking on (as you know Sky cameras would spend nearly as much time on him as Torres!) as his "spiritual" successor bangs them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

Also, I am not sure I would like to see him anywhere near the club anyway.

I dont think he would really fit into the Benitez work ethos of most of the players either. Cant see this happening really. Someone else will bail him out of Newcastle, and give him a wage, so he wouldnt have to resort to a play for pay type deal. Either way, he wont play for Liverpool again imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Liverpool FC in profit - but club's debts have doubled
    May 30 2009 Tony Barrett

LIVERPOOL Football Club’s debts have almost doubled to £86m according to its latest financial results, despite returning to profit following losses the previous year.

The club’s annual accounts will reveal a pre-tax profit of £10.2m for the year to July 31, 2008, an improvement on the previous year’s loss of £21.7m.

However, the accounts will also show that net debt soared from £44m to £86m during the same period, despite an increase in revenue across the board.

The results are due to be posted with Companies House by today in keeping with UK company law and though both revenue and profits show clear growth the increasing level of debt will be a concern to Liverpool’s fans.

Turnover has shot up from £133.9m in the previous year to £159.1m mainly as a result of the lucrative TV deal which the Premier League secured with leading broadcasters Sky and the BBC.

But with matchday and commercial income both also having gone up it is clear that Liverpool’s revenue streams are on an upward curve.

The club’s net spending on players went up from £22m to £28m due to the recruitment of Javier Mascherano, Diego Cavalieri, Andrea Dossena, David Ngog and Robbie Keane.

The net spend does not reflect the full transfer fees agreed with other clubs in transfer deals, it merely shows the initial outlay and downpayments made to secure the transfers.

The sales of Peter Crouch, John Arne Riise and Momo Sissoko brought in £24m and the net value of Liverpool’s squad soared from £100m in the previous year to £130m.

Interestingly, the report also reveals that owners Tom Hicks and George Gillett injected £58m into the club.

The ECHO understands that £12m of this was used towards player acquisitions while the bulk of it was provided according to the refinancing agreement secured with the Royal Bank of Scotland in February 2007.

Hicks and Gillett are due to refinance again next month but sources indicate they are likely to be given a six-month extension to their current loan arrangement.

Meanwhile, Liverpool have stepped up their search for a replacement for outgoing chief executive Rick Parry.

Recruitment specialists Odgers Berndtson have been appointed to head hunt Parry’s successor and they have now placed an advertisement on their official website as they look for the right person to fill the role.

According to the advert, a “significant package” is available to the successful candidate as Hicks and Gillett look for someone who can “give outstanding leadership and clear direction to the club through its next phase of development, ensuring it performs exceptionally both on and off the field”.

Joy!:(

Interesting to note that they are finaly investing their own money however.

See two page back ;)

mike65 wrote: »
    See two page back ;)

Oops.

Bank holiday weekend and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Interesting to note that they are finaly investing their own money however.
    Don't think they had any choice - was either that or lose the club and any profit they hope to make when they eventually sell.

PiE wrote: »
    Don't think they had any choice - was either that or lose the club and any profit they hope to make when they eventually sell.

I don't think they're selling.

I think they were really close, but now it's just not viable.
    They have no buyer, are investing their own money, which means that they would have to sell for higher to cover their outlay, and both are selling shares, or whole franchises in America to cover the cost of Liverpool.

Also, all reports I've read indicate an easing of the tensions between them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

cant see the club increasing in value or turning a significant operating profit without a new stadium.

i keep going on about it, but its the key to everything regarding the club going forward.

I'm sure most of ye have seen this.
    OBSERVATIONS from Wednesday night’s Champions League final:
    Tony Barrett

l When Carlos Puyol hoisted the European Cup he did so in front of only a smattering of ManchesterUnited fans because the vast majority of them had already left. Compare and contrast with the scenes in Athens two years earlier where all Liverpool supporters stayed behind to watch and applaud AC Milan as they lifted Europe’s most famous trophy.

l “Paul Scholes, he’s never mastered the art of tackling,” chortled Andy Gray after the United midfielder had scythed down Sergi Busquets.

It was the kind of challenge which Scholes has been making for years only for his malevolence to be continually excused by a succession of commentators.

What would Gray have said about the Boston Strangler? “He still hasn’t mastered the art of cuddling”?

l For the first time in recent weeks, the United fans did not sing Are You Watching Merseyside? Funny that because Merseyside was watching....one of the most one-sided European Cup finals in living memory.

l If £6m Brazilian Lucas ever performed as badly in a major game as £18m Brazilian Anderson he would have been hounded all the way back to Brazil.

l Barcelona played United the team, not United the reputation and won with ease, just as Liverpool did at Old Trafford.

l Why did the British media not ask Alex Ferguson to congratulate his opposing and victorious manager?

Do such forced niceties only apply to Rafa Benitez?

l Sighs of relief could be heard all over the red half of Merseyside when Barcelona’s victory was secured, meaning Liverpool’s 5-3 lead over United in the European Cup remained intact. The Anfield club can’t continue to pray for favours from others, though.

The best way of ensuring that the Reds stay on their European perch is to become masters of their own destiny once again.

There would be no better way of doing this than Rafa Benitez leading them to European Cup No 6 in his Madrid hometown next May.

While I agree with all the points, I don't see the point of it in a Liverpool paper TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

While I agree with all the points, I don't see the point of it in a Liverpool paper TBH.

I find it kind of embarrassing. It stinks of sour grapes. United got further than us in every competition this year. Lets regroup and try again next year instead of bringing up stuff like the above. Our 4-1 victory over them was very enjoyable, but its absolutely meaningless seeing as they won the league and theres no point bringing it up at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,789 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

If you don't see the point of it in a Liverpool paper, why would you feel the need to publish it in a Liverpool themed thread?

Joke of a journalist, who is more intent on pettyness than anything else.

http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_5358167,00.html
    Argentina striker Ezequiel Lavezzi wants to remain at Napoli despite reported interest from Liverpool.

Lavezzi, who joined the Naples-based side in the summer of 2007, has scored seven goals for the Serie A club this season.

"Liverpool's offer?, I want to stay at Napoli," said Lavezzi.

"I hope everything will be made clear but it depends on the club not on me.

"I reiterate that my wish is to remain at Napoli."

The 24-year-old is under contract with Napoli until June 2012.

Napoli failed to qualify for European football next season having finished a disappointing 12th in Italy's top flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,525 ✭✭✭joe123

Boggles wrote: »
    Instead of having a go at me, you could have just answered the question, like I said Predictable.

Posts like this have absolutely nothing to do with Liverpool Football Club.

So why is it here?

Regards Owen coming back I dont think hes good enough anymore. If we pick him up on a pay as play deal then its a win win situation for us. But Owen surely doesnt think hes at that stage yet does he?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

joe123 wrote: »
    Posts like this have absolutely nothing to do with Liverpool Football Club.

So why is it here?

Regards Owen coming back I dont think hes good enough anymore. If we pick him up on a pay as play deal then its a win win situation for us. But Owen surely doesnt think hes at that stage yet does he?

owens priority has always been the national team. i reckon if he's looking to get involved again before the world cup he needs regular games and to prove his fitness, i dont think he'd get the regular game time he needs at liverpool.

besides, rafa came out not a month ago and said he wasnt a target, so i'd assume thats that.

3 months ago I was all for Owen coming back as everytime I got to see him play, he regularly showed that he still had what it takes. I am not so sure anymore as he was pretty poor in the last few games of this season. It looked like the most recent injury was just one too many.

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭SWAR

Really can't see Owen coming back tbh...and besides I don't think he is good enough anymore. He has lost his pace and would strugle to adapt to our style of play at the moment IMO. I wouldn't like to see him back...even on a pay as you play deal...it would be a sad sight seeing him on the banech week after week with the likes of Ngog probably getting on ahead of him and I feel he could do a job for a mid table team. I wouldn't be surprised if he goes to Blackburn or Bolton next season...or someone at that level, which is unfortunatly where he is at now IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I'm off to airport to go traveling for the summer lads. See yiz in September - I will be horrendously disappointed if we havent signed Aguero, Tevez, Villa and Clinton Morrison.

Make sure yea keep Boggles in check and most importantly take everything MrAlan says with a bucket of salt. He doesnt really mean it, he just doesnt know any better :p

Adios!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Tusky wrote: »
    I'm off to airport to go traveling for the summer lads.

Langer!

What it comes down to is, would Owen make a difference.
    Sadly, I think not.

Tusky wrote: »
    I'm off to airport to go traveling for the summer lads. See yiz in September - I will be horrendously disappointed if we havent signed Aguero, Tevez, Villa and Clinton Morrison.

Make sure yea keep Boggles in check and most importantly take everything MrAlan says with a bucket of salt. He doesnt really mean it, he just doesnt know any better :p

Adios!

Slán.

What it comes down to is, would Owen make a difference.
    Sadly, I think not.

If he is signed for nothing and ends up on a pay per game contract, he won't do any harm..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,711 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

MO on a pay as you play deal could be good for us next year, he will always want to play well so he gets more game time.

jesus_thats_gre he'll stop Voronin getting games, oh wait! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭SWAR

If he is signed for nothing and ends up on a pay per game contract, he will won't do any harm..

I know what you are saying but I see if from a different angle tbh. I think we all agree we need a back-up striker, someone who can replace Torres when he is injured / rested. If we do sign Owen on such a deal, perhaps Rafa will see that as a solution to the issue as funds are tight at present. IMO it won't solve anything as I just don't think Owen has what it takes anymore...his pace was one of his strongest assets, which he doesn't have anymore.

If we signed a decent striker as a support for Torres, well then I would prefer to see Owen at another club, as I honestly do feel Ngog would be ahead of him in the pecking order if he were to sign...it could probably ruin what is left of his career.

FWIW I think Ngog has the signs of a really bright prospect.

Èxcellent points. The guy makes a hell of a lot of sense. The Anderson one is funny. Have never rated the guy as highly as some would and it's a real eye opener to know man u paid 18m for him :eek: Really hope he stays at utd as Scholes replacement TBH.:)

They paid the same for Nani too ;) or something every similar anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

Owen is too slow and fragile, can't see any possible positive from taking him on. He would not suit our style of play at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Karmafaerie/Boggles bollox deleted.

If you two want to continue your little discussion then kindly do it via PM and spare the rest of us the pain of having to read it.

Cheers

If he is signed for nothing and ends up on a pay per game contract, he won't do any harm..

His presense could do harm, albeit unintentionaly.

Constant media speculation.
    Rafa ruins MO headlines.
    MOTD inquiries into MO.
    Rafa being blamed for ruining Englands World Cup chances.
    etc...

All this could be of a detriment to the squad, and moral.

Highsider wrote: »
    Èxcellent points. The guy makes a hell of a lot of sense. The Anderson one is funny. Have never rated the guy as highly as some would and it's a real eye opener to know man u paid 18m for him :eek: Really hope he stays at utd as Scholes replacement TBH.:)

Like I was saying, I agree with the points, but see no need for them to have been in the Echo in the first place.
    Liverpool weren't in the final, (for a reason).
    We should be celebrating our own club, rather than belittling another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Tony barretts 'observations' are cringefull.

Michael owen is more interested in horses and gambling than playing football these days.....erm, no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

daithijjj wrote: »
    Tony barretts 'observations' are cringefull.

Agreed, sound like bar stool spite talk to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

Owen is too slow and fragile, can't see any possible positive from taking him on. He would not suit our style of play at all.

Yes - his time has passed at Liverpool.
    He doesn't look half the player who could make something from nothing.
    In hindsight, Rafa probably shouldn't have signed Robbie Fowler either.

Yes - his time has passed at Liverpool.
    He doesn't look half the player who could make something from nothing.
    In hindsight, Rafa probably shouldn't have signed Robbie Fowler either.

That was as much for the fans as for the club.

And Fowler was brought in to instill a sense of "Liverpool" in the strikers.
    Kuyt has said that he learned a lot from Robbie.