Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

Large insurer, specialise in Personal Accident cover here.

i think they also used to be the English FA's insurer and paid out before on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

woodyg wrote: »
    i think they also used to be the English FA's insurer and paid out before on him.

Ya learn something new every day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Just up on Sky News.

The King is back!!!!!!!!!:D

LIVERPOOL ANNOUNCE DALGLISH APPOINTMENT

Kenny Dalglish is to return to Liverpool FC, it was confirmed this afternoon.
    Dalglish will assume a senior role at the Liverpool Academy and will also act as a Club ambassador working with the commercial side of the business around the world.

Managing Director Christian Purslow commented: "In our very first meeting Rafa and I agreed that we wanted to try and bring Kenny back to the club to help Rafa really drive forward our Academy which is at the heart of our plans for the future. We are delighted he has agreed to join us and I am sure he will be very successful in his new role back at the club."

http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N164946090703-1605.htm

kenny_&_frankie__02.jpg

Fu€king delighted!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

So happy with that appointment!

Maybe over the next couple of years we'll actually get some decent youngsters through, instead of selling them off to second rate clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,109 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

YAAAAAAAAAAY!

Kenny-Dalglish-FA-Cup-final-1986-v-Everton_1229072.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭fkt

Fantastic news. Huge step forward. Going to help the club in so many ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

SithLord.jpg

Fergie: Come over to the darkside Michael Owen :pac:

Owen is a traitor, I feel sick.

King Kenny >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Michael Owen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Boggles wrote: »
    MichaelOwen-ManUtdkit-_2324976.jpg

Very Odd...

Have to say the sight of him in a United top does not bother me.

The way he left LFC for Real Madrid left a bad taste in my mouth, but since then he has just become a player at another club.

He did well while he was at LFC, and that can never be taken away, but all I see in that pic is an ex Newcastle player in a United top. If he can stay fit and gets a regular run of games, there is no doubt that he should get goals, and as it is a Pre World Cup season, he was always going to take the most commercial option open to him.

The trick for United will be who they match him with up front. I just cannot see him and Berbatov meshing well without someone else doing the legwork for them, and that really leaves Rooney as the runner unless he gets paired with Owen.

Then again United have generally been a team that relies more on goals from the midfield than up front in recent years if you take Ronaldo as a wide midfielder/winger. It could be a good United move if they use the extra cash they have to bring in a world class midfielder or two. With Giggs, Scholes etc shoving on, it is their midfield that will need the boost, and the pity is that I think SAF is thinking that way as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

I can't imagine this appointment taking Liverpool any more forward than bringing Fowler back did. It's nostalgia for the fans, 'nowt more.

astrofool wrote: »
    I can't imagine this appointment taking Liverpool any more forward than bringing Fowler back did. It's nostalgia for the fans, 'nowt more.

Ah come on, its not like he's just some former player in fairness the guy did win premier league titles with 2 different teams as a manager.

He's a Liverpool icon with a wealth of experience from both playing and managing.

He's a fantastic ambassador to have for the club as well and could well be the tipping point to getting liverpool better deals commercially.

He's obviously got an eye for talent as well, this was the man who brought Fowler into Anfield after all.

Generally, all in all, the man Knows football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If Liverpool signed God (not that one, the bearded fella) some would carp.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Rafa OUT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Yea it's not like the guy has any clue about football or anything.

Rafa will learn as much from Kenny as any of the players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭busted flush

spockety wrote: »
    Rafa OUT!

+1 i heard Phil Brown is being lined up as a replacement:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

King Kenny >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Michael Owen

Theres a slim chance tho that Owen could score more than him this season.

The King is back, delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Delighted to see Kenny back, it'll help the youngsters bagsful to have such a legend on the touchline watching them, as well as the first team to know such a primary figure in liverpool football club is back involved with it.

http://a4.vox.com/6a00cdf7eb525c094f00e3989a14dc0004-500pi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Once he isn't using this as a platform to stick his nose in front of the camera every chance he gets like Bobby ****ing Charlton, I would imagine that he will have quite a bit to offer staff at all levels in the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,282 ✭✭✭Glico Man

He's getting a job in the Academy. Imagine youngsters having to choose between which clubs to join... go to Utd and be trained by someone you've never heard of or go to Liverpool and be watched over by King Kenny...

I know where I'd prefer to go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

aaronh007 wrote: »
    He's getting a job in the Academy. Imagine youngsters having to choose between which clubs to join... go to Utd and be trained by someone you've never heard of or go to Liverpool and be watched over by King Kenny...

I know where I'd prefer to go...

Yeah because most young fellas know who Kenny is.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

yes they do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Hate to do break to you but the parents, the ones that actually make the decision, will know plenty about the King.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

I think Kenny is well done amongst youngsters, especially the locals of course. The foreigners will quickly find out who he is, and of course the name will be used as an incentive to bring young lads to the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

mayordenis wrote: »
    yes they do
    Hate to do break to you but the parents, the ones that actually make the decisions, will know plenty.

Yeah maybe the grand parents do.

United no matter who Liverpool have on staff will always be the bigger national / international wide pull, simply because at this moment in time they are successful.

Just ask Roy Keane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Wonder will Tevez realise now that he was silly to think signing for Liverpool would'nt be on? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Cant say i know too many grand parents in their 30s boggles.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Dub13 wrote: »
    Just got a reply from my letter to RBS:

Thank you for your email expressing concern about RBS' banking arrangements with Liverpool FC and it current owners. We are aware of the strength of feeling of a number of fans on this matter and have corresponded with many during the course of the past year or so.

Perhaps I can start by putting RBS relationship with Liverpool FC in context. RBS is the main banker to the Club including all of its operating accounts, cash management, online banking, automated payments, and credit card processing to facilitate ticket sales and retail merchandising. We also provide a credit facility to support the Club’s working capital requirements and a letter of credit facility to facilitate the purchase of players from non-Premiership Clubs, along with a loan facility for design, planning and other preparatory work for the proposed new stadium at Stanley Park. We have set out to establish a long term relationship with the Club, and we look forward to this continuing for many years to come.

We also lent money to the Club’s parent, Kop Football Limited, so that it could repay debt which was on the balance sheet of the Club at the time of its acquisition by George Gillett and Tom Hicks. This is the only portion of Kop Football’s bank debt for which the Club is legally responsible. We took great care when making our original loan in early 2007 and when refinancing it last January to distinguish between obligations of the Club, primarily those outlined above, and obligations of its parent company, the latter being secured by personal guarantees and collateral from the owners and a pledge of the shares they own in the Club. As a result the Club does not suffer the burden of debt implied by a lot of the recent press reports and, in our view and that of the executive management of the Club, it is financially healthy and able to service comfortably its debt obligations from cash flow generated by its playing and commercial activities. It is in our commercial interest to support the Club in the manner described above so that it can continue to perform successfully on and off the pitch.

As far as the Government is concerned, they have been very clear that they do not wish to exercise day to day control over RBS or make commercial decisions for us. Indeed they set up an independent body, UKFI, to oversee the Government’s shareholding in RBS, so matters such as strategy and governance can be agreed, while they leave commercially related matters to us.

RBS attaches a great deal of value to being associated with Liverpool FC. I hope my comments reassures you as to the strength and depth of our relationship with the Club and that we will endeavour to contribute to its long term health and success.

Kind Regards,

Here is the reply from The Spirit of Shankly:

Thank you for your email response, we are grateful for a response but would like to bring the following discrepancies and inaccuracies to your attention:

Thank you for your email expressing concern about RBS' banking arrangements with Liverpool FC and its current owners. We are aware of the strength of feeling of a number of fans on this matter and have corresponded with many during the course of the past year or so.

Perhaps I can start by putting RBS relationship with Liverpool FC in context. RBS is the main banker to the Club including all of its operating accounts, cash management, online banking, automated payments, and credit card processing to facilitate ticket sales and retail merchandising. We also provide a credit facility to support the Club's working capital requirements and a letter of credit facility to facilitate the purchase of players from non-Premiership Clubs, along with a loan facility for design, planning and other preparatory work for the proposed new stadium at Stanley Park. We have set out to establish a long term relationship with the Club, and we look forward to this continuing for many years to come.

Sos
    It is interesting to note that you wish to establish a "long term relationship" with the Club. We feel it is essential that you note that our current "owners" are custodians of the Club, they were not here four years ago and we doubt they will be here four years from now, while we the fans have been here for over 100 years and will still be here long after they have left. We suggest you pay more attention to us as the long term custodians of the Club rather than those more interested in making money from us and leaving.

We also lent money to the Club's parent, Kop Football Limited, so that it could repay debt which was on the balance sheet of the Club at the time of its acquisition by George Gillett and Tom Hicks. This is the only portion of Kop Football's bank debt for which the Club is legally responsible. We took great care when making our original loan in early 2007 and when refinancing it last January to distinguish between obligations of the Club, primarily those outlined above, and obligations of its parent company, the latter being secured by personal guarantees and collateral from the owners and a pledge of the shares they own in the Club. As a result the Club does not suffer the burden of debt implied by a lot of the recent press reports and, in our view and that of the executive management of the Club, it is financially healthy and able to service comfortably its debt obligations from cash flow generated by its playing and commercial activities. It is in our commercial interest to support the Club in the manner described above so that it can continue to perform successfully on and off the pitch.

It is essential that you recognise that there is some financial sophistication among our members and the Club's fans and this nonsense is quite simply that, nonsense. The only asset that secures the borrowings against both the Club and Holding Company is the Club itself. The Club is also the only source from which cash and profits are generated to service the debt to Banks and our "owners" (who also need a return to pay for the cash they have injected, which was also borrowed, of course).

The most recent set of accounts show that the profits and cash generated by the only source of income were INSUFFICIENT to service the debt and further cash had to be injected by the owners. Current reports suggest that this is also the case at this current re-financing point. This injection will also, no doubt need to be serviced, and while reducing the exposure of RBS it does nothing to alleviate the burden on the Club's finances, in fact due to higher interest rates, no doubt the burden has grown. The result is RBS's exposure may reduce but the Club's exposure stays the same or more likely, increases.

As far as the Government is concerned, they have been very clear that they do not wish to exercise day to day control over RBS or make commercial decisions for us. Indeed they set up an independent body, UKFI, to oversee the Government's shareholding in RBS, so matters such as strategy and governance can be agreed, while they leave commercially related matters to us.

You may consider this to be the case but the work we have done shows this to be little more than posturing by you. The taxpayer owns the majority of your bank and there is no way that elected politicians will allow the bank to make some decisions that will affect them and their future electoral prospects.

RBS attaches a great deal of value to being associated with Liverpool FC. I hope my comments reassures you as to the strength and depth of our relationship with the Club and that we will endeavour to contribute to its long term health and success.

While we appreciate you opening a dialogue with us we are far from reassured. Understandably RBS have to protect their risk first and foremost for the benefit of their shareholders. The majority of those shareholders are the UK public - the current re-financing is clearly driven by RBS wishing to reduce its risk.

The element of risk that is being reduced is not disappearing, it is passing back to the Club and our financially challenged owners who are either borrowing from elsewhere or replacing debt with injected funds that also need to be given a return - that return is coming from an asset that is already stretched and unable to fully service its existing borrowings.

We ask again that RBS should engage with the fans and allow us to take over a manageable proportion of the debt that is charged against the Club - the Club can service a reasonable amount of debt and can also be reorganised in such a way that funding for our new stadium would become more attractive ultimately resulting in a stronger Club and a reasonable and mutually beneficial commercial relationship between RBS and a fan owned Club.

We would ask to meet with representatives of RBS to discuss this in more detail.

No to refinance - No to unmanageable debt.

Yours faithfully

Spirit of Shankly

Getting stupidly superstitous for a moment, but the last time Owen made a big move, it was to try and win the champions league. Liverpool subsequently won the champions league. This time its to win the league.....watch this space perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Getting stupidly superstitous for a moment, but the last time Owen made a big move, it was to try and win the champions league. Liverpool subsequently won the champions league. This time its to win the league.....watch this space perhaps?

That'll probably be the deciding factor alright. :pac:

JPA wrote: »
    That'll probably be the deciding factor alright. :pac:

He's had pretty bad luck the past 5 years, i'm hoping it continues!

• Registered Users Posts: 838 ✭✭✭purple'n'gold

Cant believe Owen is going to United, always had a lot of respect for him back in the day when he was brilliant for Liverpool, will never look at him the same when he puts on that United jersey!

Michael Owen professional footballer, son of professional footballer Terry Owen (who actually had a brief career with Everton). The Owen family were Everton supporters.
    Michael Owen played for Liverpool, he was well paid for his services.
    He also played for Real Madrid, he was well paid for his services.
    Ditto Newcastle United.
    He will also be well remunerated at Manchester United.
    The point of this little note? He is a professional footballer, not some sort of famous Liverpool fan. He will give of his best to the club that are presently paying his wages, and then he will move on. And the very best of luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,282 ✭✭✭Glico Man

I learnt of King Kenny when I was just 5, from the "opposition" fans.

I was at The Dell where my uncles favorite team (Southampton) used to play.

He took me to watch a Saints vs Liverpool match and we were sat amongst the saints fans. One of them remarked and I remember precisely what he said "this team is plays far different to the one that played under Dalglish"

I turned around and asked who Dalglish was and for 20 minutes I was given several fans insights into one of the greatest players to grace the turf and touchline at any stadium, let alone Anfield.

So if you're wondering how many kids and youngsters know about King Kenny, I can safely say his legend lives long in the hearts and minds of not just liverpool fans, but fans of football/soccer on a whole, so from that I can assume that kids will be told of who he is and was, in the same light that they will be told who Roger Hunt is and who Bobby Charlton is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,524 ✭✭✭joe123

Absolutely disgusted with Owen. Hes a traitor,a judas and whatever else.

You would never of seen players like Fowler do this.

Dont care if Owen isnt half the player he used to be. The lad has no loyalty what so ever. Michael Owen only looks out for Michael Owen. Fook the fans.:mad:

joe123 wrote: »
    You would never of seen players like Fowler do this.

I am not surprised by this one bit,he is useless anyway once his pace went that was him done.He is like one of these old woman in a disco that once were good looking and are still trying to 'live the dream'.

One thing,don't mention Fowler in the same sentence as Owen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,681 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I am not surprised by this one bit,he is useless anyway once his pace went that was him done.He is like one of these old woman in a disco that once were good looking and are still trying to 'live the dream'.

ill be bookmarking this Dub

and ill enjoy doing a pighead on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭evil_seed

I shall never be mentioning his name again. I thought it wouldn't bother me in fairness, but then I'm after seeing him in a utd jersey and I'm fuming. WAS one of my fave Liverpool players. He's been replaced on that list by Sean Dundee now:mad::mad::mad:

Headshot wrote: »
    ill be bookmarking this Dub

and ill enjoy doing a pighead on it

But you will not get a chance to use it...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,681 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

But you will not get a chance to use it...;)

lol

never say never in soccer Dub

who would have thought M.Owen would play for utd ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

How is Owen a Judas? What do you want him to do, go and work for Phil Brown so as not to upset Liverpool fans? The same fans that have mocked him by chanting "Where were you in Istanbul"?

He has aspirations to play at a World Cup and he's got an outside chance of doing so now.

He's not a Judas he's a guy with a brain. This is his last big chance and he has taken it. I can understand the frustration, if Tevez went to Liverpool it would hurt for example, but in Owen's case it's just common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Not one bit bothered about Owen going to United. Will united fans accept him? Is Fergie that desperate for players that he resorted to signing a player that spent the last two seasons injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Never thought id see the day that united were desperate enough to land him to be honest. He will poach a few goals allright but im pretty sure uniteds fans expect and want better talent out there than him. It just smacks as a consolation prize and a 'heres what you could have won" scenario as a pic of benzema floats past.

Strange one Owen going to united.

I remember when Ince signed for us I was p*ssed off and even with some big performances from him I could never fully take to him at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

super-rush wrote: »
    Not one bit bothered about Owen going to Man Ure. Will united fans accept him? Is Fergie that desperate for players that he resorted to signing a player that spent the last two seasons injured?

Not sure how it will all turn out but one thing about Owens last two seasons, he started 60 games and came off the bench 14 times in those two seasons. He probably won't even play that many games at United. He scored 26 goals in those two seasons, and that was with a team destined for the drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Owen could be United's new Solskjaer.

In one sense I can't blame him for joining United, CL football, challenging for the Prem and World Cup coming up.

If he went to Hull, he'd be in the same boat he's been in with Newcastle, a relegation battle and struggling to get Capello's attention.

As a Liverpool fan, seeing an ex-Liverpool player joining your biggest rival is always gonna piss ya off a bit, but being honest, I was way more pissed off when he fecked off to Real a few years back. That left a bad taste in my mouth.
    This time around, a littled bit pissed, but mostly meh.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

Yeah, united are desperate. Down to the last 80 or so million. :rolleyes: And with only days left in the transfer window. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

pool fans are scared owen will score goals and be a success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,945 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

daithijjj wrote: »
    Never thought id see the day that united were desperate enough to land him to be honest. He will poach a few goals allright but im pretty sure uniteds fans expect and want better talent out there than him. It just smacks as a consolation prize and a 'heres what you could have won" scenario as a pic of benzema floats past.
    We're getting him for peanuts, we have nothing to lose really, well worth the gamble.