Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Exactly Alan.

If I was as vehement as some posters are in their arguments sometimes, and something happened to appose my views, I'd say something about it, not just sit quietly and wait for a glimmer of my side of the argument to come up, so I can jump on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

...........................and there goes my pants :pac: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭pesireland

i have no problem with our zonal marking from set plays, yes we will concede now and again but that happens, what im more worried about is our set plays, they are absolutey bruttal, can't even beat the first man whoever takes the kick be that Gerrard, Alonso, Babel, Aureilo etc.

Its like we don't even pratice them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

It's a big week for us before the international break. We've PSV in the CL followed by a tough enough tie against Man City.

We shouldn't have too many problems against PSV, but if we can get 3 points in Manchester, it will really cement our good start to the season before the break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

group_hug.jpg

Mike

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

what the hell mike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,714 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

mayordenis wrote: »
    what the hell mike?

I think he's under the pile of winnins so cant comment? :confused:

*group hug* or possibly *you're a load of girls* ;)

Mike

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

hey guys sorry if this is wrong location but Im trying to watch zenit match on Justin.tv but keeps sayin not broadcasting...can anyone shed any light for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭rosboy

hey guys sorry if this is wrong location but Im trying to watch zenit match on Justin.tv but keeps sayin not broadcasting...can anyone shed any light for me?
    http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=19763&part=sports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Melion wrote: »
    Oh, might just head there instead so. Just down the road isnt it?
    Yeah, is just a couple of hundred yards down the road. I will be inside the side door beside the gambler speaking in an Irish accent surrounded by scousers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭colly10

Mr Alan wrote: »
    my point is Its only the wrong selection when the result doesnt go our way surely....,

Sometimes you get away with it, sometimes ye don't
    hammered Everton at the weekend without the CB many deem our best playing, with a RB some people think is pants, with a LB that a lot of people dont rate, with a CM 2 that people say cant play together-one of who clever people even claim can no longer play in CM, with a striker that people claim was a waste of 20m already and a right winger who is actually a striker and people claim is nothing but a cross country runner and with a left winger people call a man city reject.

He played a variation of the best team really, with the exception of LB and injuries I would say most would be happy with the side selected, the same can be said for the Stoke game (great performance, just one of those days). I would say that the same could not be said for the Marsaille and Villa games.
    football is illogical sometimes, and it suffers MASSIVELY from over analysis-people should just ****ing forget all the ****e and support the team.

Doesn't always make sense but it does even itself out overall, wtf is the point in having a thread where everyone on it agree with all decisions made by the manager, thinks every player is brilliant and agrees with all of your opinions. If you don't want to see analysis then your looking at the wrong thread
    similarly Karma, i feel that the people who knocked rotation and blamed that for silly dropped points over the last couple of seasons went very quiet when we dropped 2 points to Stoke with a full strength team out.

Was a good performance against stoke though, the luck just went against us.

I felt like eating my hand watching that stoke game.

Angering!

colly10 wrote: »
    Sometimes you get away with it, sometimes ye don't

Works both ways

colly10 wrote:
    He played a variation of the best team really, with the exception of LB and injuries I would say most would be happy with the side selected, the same can be said for the Stoke game (great performance, just one of those days). I would say that the same could not be said for the Marsaille and Villa games.

And last season when we destroyed City and only drew, I remember people saying that if Rafa had a set team it wouldn't have happened cause they'd have moe confidence.

colly10 wrote:
    Doesn't always make sense but it does even itself out overall, wtf is the point in having a thread where everyone on it agree with all decisions made by the manager, thinks every player is brilliant and agrees with all of your opinions. If you don't want to see analysis then your looking at the wrong thread

Who said anything about having to agree.
    The point is you own up when your wrong.
    Or you look at both sides openly, and not ignore the good and jump on the bad.

colly10 wrote:
    Was a good performance against stoke though, the luck just went against us.

If we had had a few bad games then a lot of people wouldn't be saying that about the stoke game played under the exact same conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

On a bit of a tangent here but was thinking about Affelay in the match thread, and it reminded me of players we were rumoured to have an interest in during the summer and reminded me of Van Der Vaart.

They were only mild rumours but I always thought he was a player we could have pursed more strongly. With his family connections it was always likely he was going to go to Spain but at the time I was convinced he was exactly what was needed. The fact that he has been on fire for Madrid - 4 goals and a number of assists leads me to think this was a bit of a missed opportunity especially when you consider he only cost €15m and is 25 years old.

Anyone else feel this or am I out on my own barking up the wrong tree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

thing is he would not have cost us €15m.....he wanted to go to Real which is why the price was so cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

Scored a couple of class goals last week as well.. De LaRed playing well for Madrid as well.

We should have signed VdV when Houllier was in charge and he was at Ajax. There were always rumours that we were interested but then nothing solid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

thing is he would not have cost us €15m.....he wanted to go to Real which is why the price was so cheap.

I'm pretty sure it was because he was going into the last year of his contract and could have left for free next year, which is why Hamburg were willing to accept €15m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

iirc, I think VdV was only interested in Real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

crikey, what is it with Liverpool fans and their obsession with signing central midfield players?! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

crikey, what is it with Liverpool fans and their obsession with signing central midfield players?! :p

Simple - we're just trying to find someone to replace momo in that song. That's the main priority - their footballing ability isn't as important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

I'm pretty sure it was because he was going into the last year of his contract and could have left for free next year, which is why Hamburg were willing to accept €15m

afaik Jol said that VdV told him he only wanted to go to Real.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭jaykay74

zing wrote: »
    Simple - we're just trying to find someone to replace momo in that song. That's the main priority - their footballing ability isn't as important.

That won't be easy, it is a waste of a good song :pac::pac:

what about Teemu Tainio ? rubbish but might fit into the tune....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Rafael Benitez today revealed the form of his key players this season has made it difficult for him to rotate his starting eleven.
    The Reds boss is preparing his side for a Champions League test with PSV Eindhoven tonight, and has already revealed he has no intention of making wholesale changes against a side who suffered a damaging 3-0 defeat at the hands of Atletico Madrid in their opening match.

With Liverpool going into the game with three points already on the board after an emphatic victory in Marseille, Benitez is keen for his 'on fire' players to keep their current momentum going.

"We have the experience of last season," he admitted "I won't make many changes. If some players are on fire, maybe it is a good moment to keep them playing.

"Normally we try to check how the players are physically, mentally and also how the team is tactically – and then we decide whether we will change more or less players.

"But now we are in a good position so I do not think that I will change too many.

"When some players are playing well, but are tired, you say 'okay maybe we will have to keep them in.' But then you play them, they are tired and you have to change them in a game!

"You never know. If you win, you can say 'okay fantastic decision,' but I don't think I will change too many players.

"When we were analysing things this week we knew we had four days between the Everton match and this one and four days between this match and the Manchester City game. Three days is not enough, four days is better."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭The Rooster

sometimes people seem to only be happy when they are unhappy
    Very funny to end a long moany rant with that sentence :D

Interesting to hear Benitez now has the opinion that he rotated too much last season. I think rotation is good - keeps players on their toes, stops players getting stale, reduces risk of injury and hopefully stops good players wanting to leave - but wholesale changes is bad. 1-3 changes per game generally keeps things ticking over nicely.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

If anybody here wants to register on Irishkop over the next while PM me here and I will fix you up,we are closed to new registration's for the next couple of days as we got a little invasion of porn spammers today not even good porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭colly10

Torres and Keane, lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,415 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Delighted Keane has broken his duck - nice finish aswell. This should allow him to relax and do his thing without trying quite so hard. Good times ahead imo.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Delighted Keane has broken his duck - nice finish aswell. This should allow him to relax and do his thing without trying quite so hard. Good times ahead imo.

Indeed,
    Backed him in a wincast too :D. He looked delighted when he scored. Good times ahead! Bring on Xavi's team on Sunday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Interesting to hear Benitez now has the opinion that he rotated too much last season.
    I reckon he's had enough of the criticism and is trying to play nice with the media now. Him saying that maybe he made too many changes is basically saying that the media were right and may placate some of the big Rafa haters out there. Maybe.

As we know lads, Rafa is a stubborn fella when he thinks he is right. The rotation policy worked wonders for him with Valencia and from what is obvious he geniunely thought it would work with Liverpool.

I think now he has realised that to mount a serious title challenge you need practically the same team week in week out to do so. So I think he has finally swallowed his pride & wont be doing silly things like resting Gerrard & Torres unless totally neccessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,324 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

PiE wrote: »
    I reckon he's had enough of the criticism and is trying to play nice with the media now. Him saying that maybe he made too many changes is basically saying that the media were right and may placate some of the big Rafa haters out there. Maybe.

one thing is for certain, he couldnt care less about the media, and why would he?

Incidently more crap from dunphy and co last night, they really are clueless

talking about liverpool having no midfielder who gets on the ball and passes, talked about it not being gerrard or mascheranos game and that lucas was a donkey

not a word about xavi who stroked the ball around the whole field last night, and also covered more ground than any other pool player :cool:

Xavi? :eek:

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,714 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Excellent, we've signed the Barca midfield maestro on loan and disguised him as Dirk Kuyt.

lol :p

If only god loved Liverpool !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

lol :p

If only god loved Liverpool !

But he does !

And we loved him playing for us too :p

zing wrote: »
    But he does !

And we loved him playing for us too :p

ahha indeed

Robbie !

Dunphy and Whealen are such a joke.
    It's pathetic!

So bitter.

Lucas and Arbeloa, and Kuyt are Donkeys.
    Liverpool have no midfielders who can pass.
    Rafa is a joke.
    Liverpool will nevr challenge with this squad as we don't have enough good players (Gerrard/Torres/Xabi/Keane/Carra/Agger/Skrtel/Riena/Masch/Babel?!!!)

Idiots the pair of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

It's typical RTE punditry. They say that all the time and its not reserved for Liverpool. Sure Dunphy has been calling Ronaldo a nothing player for the last two years.

Someone should parade Paul Scholes in front of them wearing nothing but a smile and watch Giles and Dunphy clamber over the table to start drooling on him.

They are still yearning for the players of "back in the day". The game has changed lads. Sorry.

It's typical RTE punditry. They say that all the time and its not reserved for Liverpool. Sure Dunphy has been calling Ronaldo a nothing player for the last two years.

Someone should parade Paul Scholes in front of them wearing nothing but a smile and watch Giles and Dunphy clamber over the table to start drooling on him.

They are still yearning for the players of "back in the day". The game has changed lads. Sorry.

I know that Dunphy especially is clueless to most teams, but he really does have a problem with Liverpool.

Remember the Milan game in anfield last year?

7:30pm - Dunphy: Milan are Italian champions for the last two years, they're a brilliant team, Ibrahimovic is a real danger, Liverpool have no chance.

Liverpool destroy Milan 2:0.

9:30pm - Dunphy: Milan are terrible, Italian football is terrible, Ibrahimovic is a joke, Seville are better than Milan, Liverpool are still crap.

He really does have a problem.

I reckon if we won the prem, he'd honestly try and say it's only cause the other teams lost it, and we were lucky!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

So I think he has finally swallowed his pride & wont be doing silly things like resting Gerrard & Torres unless totally neccessary.
    But... he never really did that anyway. He rotated the fringe players, much like every other top-flight manager.
    Cyrus wrote: »
    one thing is for certain, he couldnt care less about the media, and why would he?
    He shouldn't. But he was certainly reacting to their criticism earlier this season.

My point is, I think he's going to tow the media party line and hopefully con them into laying off with the critisism, rather than actually change his ways much.

"Steven Gerrard is a nothing player" - that's my favourite Dunphy-ism.

He's pure entertainment. I used to get really annoyed at the RTE analysis but now I just laugh at it.

I'm happy out as a Pool fan at the moment. We're so used to Rafa's sometimes crazy team selections and approach that now things appear to be going right we're expecting it all to fall down (again).

Rafa's mad as a box of frogs, no doubt about it, but I'm enjoying this run while it lasts.

Rafa is one of the most tactically astute, inteligent managers in the game.

He over thinks sometimes, but i deffinately prefer that to underthinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

I know that Dunphy especially is clueless to most teams, but he really does have a problem with Liverpool.

Remember the Milan game in anfield last year?

7:30pm - Dunphy: Milan are Italian champions for the last two years, they're a brilliant team, Ibrahimovic is a real danger, Liverpool have no chance.

Liverpool destroy Milan 2:0.

9:30pm - Dunphy: Milan are terrible, Italian football is terrible, Ibrahimovic is a joke, Seville are better than Milan, Liverpool are still crap.

He really does have a problem.

I reckon if we won the prem, he'd honestly try and say it's only cause the other teams lost it, and we were lucky!:rolleyes:

Yea he's got a particular thing about them alright. Maybe he went for a trial with them and they laughed at him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,522 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Destroy is a bit strong. Two very late goals against a team with ten men (after a dodgey sending off).

Rafa is one of the most tactically astute, inteligent managers in the game.

He over thinks sometimes, but i deffinately prefer that to underthinking.

Absolutely, but I don't think I'm the only fan to have scratched my head at his team selection and tactics (not this season, mind you).
    Lots of pothibilites, as the man himself would say.
    And he's OUR box of frogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

noodler wrote: »
    Destroy is a bit strong. Two very late goals against a team with ten men (after a dodgey sending off).

don't forget viera catching the ball in the penalty area and nothing given ;)

noodler wrote: »

Liverpool_________Inter
    25_______Shots______4
    6___Shots on target___0
    18______Fouls_______18
    10____Corner Kicks____1
    1______Offsides_______3
    70______Time %_____30

=

Destroyed.

Absolutely, but I don't think I'm the only fan to have scratched my head at his team selection and tactics (not this season, mind you).
    Lots of pothibilites, as the man himself would say.
    And he's OUR box of frogs.

I know what you mean.
    There's always a reason though, it just doesn't work sometimes.
    Doesn't stop me wanting to tear my hair out at the time though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

inter came for a 0-0 that night, they barely crossed the half way line with 11 men, surprised they even had 4 shots on goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,522 ✭✭✭✭noodler

But the sending off happened after 30 minutes. Inter were away from home in a CL knock out tie-its hard to judge how conservative they were based on 30 minutes with ten men.