Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Mr Alan wrote: »
    is there any Arsenal fans who think that Wenger may have taken the team as far as he can?

and that if he cant alter his transfer policy he should maybe think about moving on?

No, to get rid of Arsene would be a big mistake, we need to strengthen, I think Alonso was Arsenal bound last summer but when the Barry deal fell through that put an end to that, and Arsene is not the type to spend just for spend sake,not having a knock but how much have Liverpool spent over the last few years and it still has not brought them the league. We are going through a bad patch at the moment , have a lot of injuries. I would hope that we will bring in a couple of players in Jan, also Eduardo is due back in the next couple of weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I love how people think Wenger isn't doing well enough. He has zero money to spend. Zero. He's built a top 4 side without spending any money on transfers!! Nobody could do what he is doing, not even Fergie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

thats the thing PHB, if he was going to buy Alonso this year, there is money there, Arsenal have said there is money there, and Wenger himself has said there is money there.

Our accounts also suggest that their is ample money available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,595 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Interesting comment on the BBC updates,....

1832: "How close are the positions in the Premier League this year?! Arsenal are as close to the top as they are to the relegation zone."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

exactly, if there is money available and AW is afraid to spend it and Arsenals position within the top 4 becomes seriously jeopardised, i think it may be time to look at alternatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Sack Wenger and poach Harry Redknapp I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭DenMan

In Wenger we trust. It's his trust of the team he has available that's my main worry.

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

is there any Arsenal fans who think that Wenger may have taken the team as far as he can?

and that if he cant alter his transfer policy he should maybe think about moving on?

yes and yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Seriously I think that people need to stand back from this result a bit and look at it.

We are in need of a defensive midfielder and a good defender but also today our team was missing Ade, Walcott, Fabregas and Gallas. I'm not even counting people like Eduardo and Rosicky.

Also this is the best Man city team in a long long time. They blow hot and cold a bit but they were playing well today.

If Man city hit some form today is was always going to be a hard game. With our current situation it was almost impossible.

Lol, anyone see both the penalty Arsenal gave away and the penalty Vidic didn't.

We've more problems that ever before but decision this year have really sucked. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,170 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Did anybody ever think they'd be up for United in a Villa - United game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

2008-2009: 14  7  2  5 25 18  7 23
    2007-2008: 14 11  3  0 31 11 20 36 ( 3rd)
    2006-2007: 14  6  4  4 22 12 10 22 ( 4th)
    2005-2006: 14  8  2  4 22 12 10 26 ( 4th)
    2004-2005: 14  9  4  1 38 18 20 31 ( 2nd)
    2003-2004: 14 10  4  0 28 10 18 34 ( 1st)
    2002-2003: 14 10  2  2 31 13 18 32 ( 2nd)
    2001-2002: 14  7  5  2 30 15 15 26 ( 1st)
    2000-2001: 14  8  4  2 23 12 11 28 ( 2nd)
    1999-2000: 14  8  2  4 21 14  7 26 ( 2nd)
    1998-1999: 14  6  6  2 14  6  8 24 ( 2nd)
    1997-1998: 14  7  6  1 30 15 15 27 ( 1st)
    1996-1997: 14  8  4  2 27 12 15 28 ( 3rd)
    1995-1996: 14  8  3  3 21 10 11 27 ( 5th)
    1994-1995: 14  5  4  5 17 14  3 19 (12th)
    1993-1994: 14  6  5  3 13  8  5 23 ( 4th)
    1992-1993: 14  8  2  4 19 13  6 26 (10th)

Reading               4   4   0   0  11   2   9  12 3.00
    Watford               4   4   0   0   9   3   6  12 3.00
    Barnsley              2   2   0   0   7   0   7   6 3.00
    Wolves                2   2   0   0   6   1   5   6 3.00
    Wigan                 6   5   1   0  12   5   7  16 2.67
    Ipswich              10   8   2   0  23   4  19  26 2.60
    Man City             23  18   3   2  44  14  30  57 2.48
    Fulham               15  12   1   2  33   9  24  37 2.47
    Charlton             16  12   2   2  36  12  24  38 2.38
    Derby                14  10   3   1  27  11  16  33 2.36
    West Brom             7   5   1   1  15   7   8  16 2.29
    Leicester            16  10   5   1  38  13  25  35 2.19
    Crystal Palace        8   5   2   1  16   5  11  17 2.13
    Everton              33  21   7   5  66  26  40  70 2.12
    Birmingham           10   6   3   1  19   5  14  21 2.10
    Nottingham Forest    10   6   3   1  13   7   6  21 2.10
    Sunderland           15   9   4   2  30  11  19  31 2.07
    Southampton          26  15   7   4  50  24  26  52 2.00
    Oldham                4   2   2   0   4   1   3   8 2.00
    Swindon               2   1   1   0   5   1   4   4 2.00
    West Ham             27  16   5   6  40  17  23  53 1.96
    Middlesbrough        26  15   6   5  59  25  34  51 1.96
    Coventry             18  10   5   3  25  13  12  35 1.94
    Bolton               19  10   5   4  31  22   9  35 1.84
    Portsmouth           10   4   6   0  16   6  10  18 1.80
    Blackburn            29  15   7   7  47  26  21  52 1.79
    Villa                33  16  11   6  51  28  23  59 1.79
    Chelsea              32  15  11   6  47  34  13  56 1.75
    Bradford              4   2   1   1   6   3   3   7 1.75
    Newcastle            31  15   8   8  43  26  17  53 1.71
    Leeds                24  12   4   8  43  25  18  40 1.67
    Spurs                33  13  15   5  51  36  15  54 1.64
    Norwich               8   3   4   1  17   9   8  13 1.63
    MK Dons              16   7   4   5  30  16  14  25 1.56
    Sheffield Wednesday  16   7   4   5  21  16   5  25 1.56
    Sheffield United      6   2   3   1   9   4   5   9 1.50
    Man United           33  10  10  13  33  43 -10  40 1.21
    Liverpool            32   9   9  14  31  43 -12  36 1.13
    QPR                   8   1   5   2   7   8  -1   8 1.00
    Hull                  1   0   0   1   1   2  -1   0 0.00
    Stoke                 1   0   0   1   1   2  -1   0 0.00

Another fantastic performance for the lads :rolleyes:

No and I wasn't, Villa all the way...hate United!

No, Villa have rapidly become my second favourite team(closely matched by Hull atm). I'd love to see Villa do well but just hope it's not at our expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Nope. If it came down to it I'd rather the current team went and Wenger build a new team from scratch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,132 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Nope. If it came down to it I'd rather the current team went and Wenger build a new team from scratch.
    Good theory but never gonna happen. AW is never gonna change. He is too stuck in his youth system. In a perfect world we'd be able to get a real manager that isn't afraid of his players and isn't afraid to swing the axe when required, and then keep AW as manager of the youths which is obviously what he'd prefer. We need someone to make drastic changes and my biggest fear is AW isn't that person. In Wenger we trust. Sadly he has abused our trust with this disgrace of a team(back line in particular).

For anyone that blames it on bad luck or bad ref decisions really should grow up and realize that reffing decisions inevitably even themselves out over a season, so the truth is ya get out what ya put in. Let's face it there isn't an Arsenal player that can stand up this season and say he tried his best. And that's because they don't need to. Because of Wenger. He has blind faith in an under achieving side that kick him, and us fans, in the nuts with their pitiful display week in week out.

I'd love to know what has to be done, but I don't. But one thing I do know is that Wenger isn't the man to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

For anyone that blames it on bad luck or bad ref decisions really should grow up and realize that reffing decisions inevitably even themselves out over a season

No they don't...that's ridiculous...they probably even themselves out eventually, but not over a season necessarily! I don't blame either of those really, as our lack of trophies since that FA Cup, can't be pinned on those 2 things alone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Im sick **** of Wengers post match comments, they really get up my nose.

I've stopped believing the crap he spits out after every match. Things like
    "we lack maturity" Yeah dick head cos of you!!!

You were too bloody busy pissing about with French TV during the summer (making a few bob for yourself) when you should have been out there looking out for the best interests of your club.

Arsenal are two soft. We need a lot more than an experienced head or two, the whole squad needs to grow a spine and a pair.

I used to love the days when Arsene used to get in **** cos of all the red cards Arsenal used to get, it showed that the players cared. There was passion in that team as opposed to the shower that we have there now.

They are all a bunch of ****in marys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Yeah dick head cos of you!!!

lol tbh.

it would have been better to stay at Highbury at this stage if we are as financially constrained as AW makes us out to be. AW previously stated that we have to sell to buy for the next 17 years to pay the mortgage on the emirates. I mean people pay top buck to see a match at the emirates week in week out and for what, a team who cant even defend a set piece. This stadium was to be the next step in this football clubs path to achieving greatness but loyal fans get kicked in the teeth by browls like Gallas who despite getting monstrosity in wages week in week out, sob on the pitch like a child when things go wrong. Wenger had the whole summer of 2008 to get the right guys in and he didn't do it.
    Another thing i noticed, the likes of Denilson was given early chances this season to shine in the absence of Fabregas. a chance to prove that the position should be his on a permanent basis, but Denilson who has plenty of experience from the previous 2 seasons failed to impress and hasnt done his stuff like we know he can do.

As it is at the moment there is no guarantee we'll even be in europe after midweek after we neglected to wrap up the group the last night.
    Our season has unraveled in November, the players and manager wont suffer as they can f*ck off anytime they like and that's the only answer they know. We, the fans on the other hand are lumbered, praying and hoping that a shower of overpaid prima donnas can get their act together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

I can't believe I'm the one having to say this...

Yesterday Arsenal were missing Sagna, Toure, Gallas, Eboue, Fabregas, Rosicky, Walcott, Eduardo and Adebayor. Add a keeper and one more outfield and that's an entire team!!! And it's a team that has a lot of experience at this stage, so all this rubbish about Wenger's over-reliance on the kids is just that, rubbish. You are missing a huge chunk of your first XI, that is why you're struggling right now.

I sometimes wonder about the age and maturity of fans of the bigger sides who talk about crisis after a few defeats, perhaps a few lean years for all of the big 4 might help introduce a touch of perspective?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

With the whole Gallas situation he has to be sold in January and any other players who are causing trouble. The matches against Villa and City could have been won if we had proper harmony in the team. Then we would be only 4 points off the top as opposed to 10.
    Considering the exact same team that beat United in a display of sublime football walked out against Villa and looked out of sorts, barely able to string a few passes together, it should have been clear that something was up.
    Yes, we have perhaps more than our fair share of injuries but this has been the case for the last few seasons. We needed to strengthen or at least maintain our defense and we didn't. We lost Flamini and Gilberto, loaned out Senderos and brought in Silvestre. That is hardly a defensive improvement.
    Dunne, Kompany, Appiah and Engelaar were all available in the last transfer window but we didn't go for any of them.
    Now with the seemingly inevitable departure of Gallas (I for one never want to see him play in an Arsenal shirt again) a new defender is a must and also a defensive midfielder. These won't come cheap in January.
    Alas, it is time Wenger swallows some pride, bites the bullet and gets the cheque book out. If we don't get this mess sorted we could well lose our Champions League spot. It won't be easy to hang onto the likes of Fabregas and Van Persie if that happens.

Yesterday Arsenal were missing Sagna, Toure, Gallas, Eboue, Fabregas, Rosicky, Walcott, Eduardo and Adebayor. Add a keeper and one more outfield and that's an entire team!!! And it's a team that has a lot of experience at this stage, so all this rubbish about Wenger's over-reliance on the kids is just that, rubbish. You are missing a huge chunk of your first XI, that is why you're struggling right now.

I sometimes wonder about the age and maturity of fans of the bigger sides who talk about crisis after a few defeats, perhaps a few lean years for all of the big 4 might help introduce a touch of perspective?

Yes but its the strength in depth which is a cause for the main concern. These lads who are expected to do a job for us in the absence of the 1st teamers and are not doing the business. Denilson, and Bendtner are 2 that spring to mind. Central Defense is like a sieve. Every time a ball goes into our half the other team look like scoring. i reckon Tottenham would have probably won 5-4 had the game gone on any longer, we were that bad! Gallas is right in a way. there are no water carriers in the team. All attacking fancy Dans but no Flamini/Grimandi/Gilberto type players who roll up their sleeve and get stuck in and get the basics right. There's no point Song being one of them if he gives the ball away continuously. That said Gallas hasn't done his own stuff and is pointing the finger at everyone else but himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

He is too stuck in his youth system... this disgrace of a team... an under achieving side that kick him, and us fans, in the nuts with their pitiful display week in week out... You were too bloody busy pissing about with French TV during the summer (making a few bob for yourself)... the players and manager wont suffer as they can f*ck off anytime they like and that's the only answer they know
    Some of the comments here are ridiculous - it's a bad patch and there's no doubting that there are weaknesses in the team but overreacting in a mad rage clearly isn't going to solve anything. I didn't hear any of this after the Utd match when it still should have been equally true and I'm sure you won't be saying the same if we get something from the Chelsea match so try not to be so immature and fickle. As gosplan said, I think a bit of distance is needed all round.
    Denilson who has plenty of experience from the previous 2 seasons failed to impress
    Actually Denilson was superb when he covered for Fabregas, one of our best early season performers along with Nasri I'd say.
    reffing decisions inevitably even themselves out over a season
    Clearly that's not true.

I honestly don't think Wenger's "pride" is the issue here - it may be that he doesn't want to take a risk (even if others at the club are willing to) but I'm more inclined to believe that his transfer plans have been shafted a couple of times. Stick Diarra or Alonso (who's playing very well this season from what I've seen) into that Arsenal midfield (and keep even half our injured players fit) and it's a different prospect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

You were too bloody busy pissing about with French TV during the summer (making a few bob for yourself) when you should have been out there looking out for the best interests of your club.

Yeah there was absolutely no way he was there to scout for players such as Nasri. No way. He was definitely there for the money because I'm sure he doesn't get paid enough.
    Grow up

Frisbee wrote: »
    Yeah there was absolutely no way he was there to scout for players such as Nasri

Wenger would have been scouting Nasri for a year or two. He would have already known exactly the type of player Nasri was. The deal was done before the tournament even started. He wasn't there scouting Nasri.
    If he was there scouting he didn't get around to much of it, he signed Silvestre....... o wait he wasn't even there

Wenger would have been scouting Nasri for a year or two. He would have already known exactly the type of player Nasri was. The deal was done before the tournament even started. He wasn't there scouting Nasri.
    If he was there scouting he didn't get around to much of it, he signed Silvestre....... o wait he wasn't even there

The Nasri deal was not done by the Euro's. Why wouldn't he be there to scout Nasri?
    You can never see too much of a player you may intend to sign.
    And just because he didn't sign anyone who was playing in the Euro's doesn't mean he wasn't there looking.
    I know I certainly wouldn't have gone for any of the available DM's on show in that tournament aside from Alonso. Perhaps Inler.
    Frings I'd like, but he's not available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Arsenal1986

is anyone else really worried at the lack of available quality players in the two positions we desperatly need them in january?Cant think of one world class CB we could get in jan?Upson is actually looking not that bad as an option?!Probably no way wenger would swallow his pride and buy diarra back for three times what we sold him for is there?Otherwise everyone else we were linked with for a dm in the summer i cant see moving in Jan - alonso, toure, inler etc....

Was just about to post this, excellent post imo, spot on :)

The Nasri deal was not done by the Euro's. Why wouldn't he be there to scout Nasri?
    You can never see too much of a player you may intend to sign.
    And just because he didn't sign anyone who was playing in the Euro's doesn't mean he wasn't there looking.
    I know I certainly wouldn't have gone for any of the available DM's on show in that tournament aside from Alonso. Perhaps Inler.
    Frings I'd like, but he's not available.

Wenger said after the Euros he didn't see any players who were available for transfer that were better than what he already had.
    That said I believe Nasri is a better player for us than Hleb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Galvasean wrote: »
    That said I believe Nasri is a better player for us than Hleb.

He will most definitely offer more in the future, needs a bit more bedding in to the English game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭tred

Yes but its the strength in depth which is a cause for the main concern. These lads who are expected to do a job for us in the absence of the 1st teamers and are not doing the business. Denilson, and Bendtner are 2 that spring to mind. Central Defense is like a sieve. Every time a ball goes into our half the other team look like scoring. i reckon Tottenham would have probably won 5-4 had the game gone on any longer, we were that bad! Gallas is right in a way. there are no water carriers in the team. All attacking fancy Dans but no Flamini/Grimandi/Gilberto type players who roll up their sleeve and get stuck in and get the basics right. There's no point Song being one of them if he gives the ball away continuously. That said Gallas hasn't done his own stuff and is pointing the finger at everyone else but himself.

i agree wiht recklessone. Liverpool missed gerard yesterday and they dropped 2 points. u take carragher out of that team and maybe one more...and they dont have the strength on bench. it must be so frustrating. if we could get them back fit wed be in a different position. like someone said here, find me a world class centre back thats for sale. Wenger is on record as saying wiht both upson and sidwell that he could see them coming back some day. he rated sidwell highly.

tred wrote: »
    Wenger is on record as saying wiht both upson and sidwell that he could see them coming back some day. he rated sidwell highly.

Sidwell has moved onto bigger, better things.

Fever Pitch on 4 music at the moment, always worth a watch :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Cesc is the new Arsenal captain

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/a/arsenal/7743904.stm

Alot of people are goin to start sayin he is too young I bet, but I think that he has lots of game time experience which is worth alot, there are alot of older players who would not have played as many games for there club as Cesc has for Arsenal. I do hope that the extra pressure does not affect his game and I think it won't. I wish him all the best and hope he can be the inspiration that Arsenal sorely need at the moment.

Good luck Captain Cesc

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Evil_Clown wrote: »
    Cesc is the new Arsenal captain

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/a/arsenal/7743904.stm

Alot of people are goin to start sayin he is too young I bet, but I think that he has lots of game time experience which is worth alot, there are alot of older players who would not have played as many games for there club as Cesc has for Arsenal. I do hope that the extra pressure does not affect his game and I think it won't. I wish him all the best and hope he can be the inspiration that Arsenal sorely need at the moment.

Good luck Captain Cesc

good choice, seems to have his head on his shoulders. Will be more a leader by example kind of guy that a shouter I'd say. wonder what kind of reception Gallas will get from the fans ?

You just beat me to it Evil Clown. I would have liked someone older but he is the most level headed player for me so maybe that will outweigh his relative inexperience.

Hopefully Cesc can drag us out of this slump.
    Question is though will Gallas listen to him and toe the line if he is to keep playing with the squad?

You got it in one there Fris, its gonna be very interesting to see Gallas' reaction tomorrow night (presuming he plays)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

You got it in one there Fris, its gonna be very interesting to see Gallas' reaction tomorrow night (presuming he plays)

To be as blunt as Gallas is, if he doesn't like Cesc as captain and tries to undermine him then Gallas should be f**ked out in January
    I hope he is either way, there has been talk of gettin Upson back and West Ham might have to sell so Gallas out and Upson in possibly with a profit. Good news all round imo

Wenger says Gallas is to play tomorrow night.
    Evil_Clown wrote: »
    To be as blunt as Gallas is, if he doesn't like Cesc as captain and tries to undermine him then Gallas should be f**ked out in January
    I hope he is either way, there has been talk of gettin Upson back and West Ham might have to sell so Gallas out and Upson in possibly with a profit. Good news all round imo

I've always liked Upson and would love him back. However not sure if we could swing it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Arsenal1986

cant see why we couldnt surely Upson would want come play for a massive champions league playing club rather than a team that could be relegated and west ham look like they have to sell at the moment with their owner difficulties and the 30 million they owe sheffield united. If it transpires they have to sell alot of players woudnt say no to Noble nice bit of depth thatd give us

I'd much prefer Upson. He's a quality player.

In other news Diaby and Nasri are out for tomorrow night aswell..

Hot piss. No fit wingers in the squad bar Wilshere, can't even play Diaby on the wing. Is Eboue still out? Let's all stab a guess at the starting line up for tomorrow.

Almunia

Djourou
    Gallas
    Silvestre
    Clichy
    Ramsey----Denilson----Fabregas
    Wilshere

Van Persie
    Bendtner

That's assuming Toure, Eboue, and Adebayor are all still out.

If it transpires they have to sell alot of players woudnt say no to Noble
    I'd rather Parker if he could stay fit and the price was right - always liked him. Good footballer with a nice bit of bite. Don't think he'd win us the league mind.

Wilshere
    Ramsey----Fabregas
    Denilson---

Van Persie
    Adebayor
    Or maybe like this? Reckon Ade will be back anyway - as far as I know, he was only left out because he'd had such a long/late flight back from internationals?

I checked physioroom.com and it said he had an ankle injury, but I wouldn't rely on that info really.

Also I'd rather not see Denilson on the wing.

Adebayor has an ankle injury he picked up playing against Rwanda last week.
    He might be back for the match tomorrow, its doubtful though.

Midfield could line up like:

Ramsey---Fab---Song----Denilson

OR

Ramsey---Fab----Denilson---Vela

He's been known to play Denilson on the left when stuck. I'd rather see Vela there though...

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Is Eboue fit? If so, I'd like to see:

Almunia

Eboue -- Djourou -- Gallas -- Clichy

El Capitan - Denilson

Wilshere --- Ramsey --- van Persie

Bendtner

Vela could swap for Wilshere and Silvestre could go in for Eboue. I don't want to see Djourou at RB though.

If Eboue is fit I'd say he'll most likely play on the wing.