Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Could Fabregas in some way be causing a problem for Arsenal? Yes he's their best player, but the team is built around him.

Back in the days when Arsenal used to win things, they never had an attacking centre mid. Was always two holding midfielders and two goalscoring wingers. Vieira, Petit, Gilberto, Edu. Now Fabregas has come along things are different. Anyone reckon Arsenal would get outmuscled by Hull, Fulham etc. with two holding midfielders on the pitch?

Yeah I know the actual problem is that Arsenal currently have 0 holding midfielders, but they haven't won anything since Fabregas came along.

In absolutely no way am I saying go back to this system and get rid of Fabregas, just wondering does anybody else reckon it could actually be making a difference.

Viera played slap bang in the centre of the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

gosplan wrote: »
    Viera played slap bang in the centre of the pitch

Aye, and while he was a dynamite passer of the ball, he was a better defender than attacker. Great positioning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

He could be pretty good in attack too.

Galvasean wrote: »

Yup, but he offered a lot more defensively than Cesc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Galvasean wrote: »

He was clearing that ball.....that's an old Winterburn trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Smegball wrote: »
    As a United fan, why isn't Vela getting more chances rather than Bendtner
    His long flights for international matches with Mexico would have a fair bit to do with it - as would the fact that it's his first season as an Arsenal player in England. Wenger's on record as saying that he's pretty much ready to go bar getting used to the English game a bit more.
    Frisbee wrote:
    Ade = Strong and talented striker who uses his presence and pace well
    Never thought I'd see that in one of your posts :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

He was clearing that ball.....that's an old Winterburn trick.
    You've reminded me of this old Dixon trick:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MpSo1aciPqU

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    Never thought I'd see that in one of your posts :p

Haha, Ae just needed to be dropped for a game to buck his idea's and realise he's not guaranteed to start all the tim.
    We did that at West Ham and I couldn't have been happier by the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

"Nice one Dicko"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Jaysus I remember that. The plonk.
    There should have been an official inquiry.

Didn't he score a quality diving header og too????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

pah, what a load of kaka.

As if they have any hope of landing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Gallas out but Toure back for Wigan clash

By Chris Harris

Arsène Wenger had good news and bad news when he discussed his injury list with Arsenal TV Online on Thursday afternoon.

The Arsenal manager will be without William Gallas on Saturday after the French defender failed to shake off the calf injury he suffered during Sunday's win at Chelsea. However, Kolo Toure's own calf problem has eased and he is available to face Wigan.

Johan Djourou (hip) is also fit, giving Wenger plenty of options at the back, while Emmanuel Eboue could also return after five weeks out with a knee injury.

"We certainly lose Gallas for Saturday but we have of course Mikael Silvestre, who will be available," said Wenger. "We have Kolo Toure available again and he is more suited to playing on the right side [of central defence]. We will see until Saturday how well he is.

"Eboue could be back in the group and Diaby [abdominal strain] could be available from next week onwards. Djourou is fine."

Theo Walcott (shoulder) and Tomas Rosicky (hamstring) are still sidelined but Eduardo's return seems imminent. "As soon as possible he will play now," confirmed Wenger. "He is joining in full training matches but he needs games now."

So Gallas is out so his partnership with Djourou didn't last too long. Hopefully it'll be Toure and Djourou for this one. Should be looking to win this match comfortably enough, especially seeing as the kids beat them 3-0, but of course we all know it won't be like that:rolleyes:

Also great news about Eduardo, amazing how quickly he's come back. Hopefully he'll get some game time with the reserves in a couple of weeks and be back with a bang after christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Rosicky should be put down tbh.

Off to the vet with him. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Arsenal1986

great news on eddie delighted for him...itll be great having him back well have a another genuine class striker and be able to play two up front and rotate now rather than having to rely on bendnter

cson wrote: »
    Rosicky should be put down tbh.

Off to the vet with him. :cool:

It's a shame that this injury has caused so many problems for him, I really like him as a player and think we are seriously missing him. I mean who is our first choice right midfielder now that theo is out too, Eboue? Followed by Denilson and Ramsey

We pretty much have to write him off for the rest of the season since we have no idea when he'll be back so another signing would really be welcomed to replace him. Wenger thought he was going to be back by October originally so he was obviously part of the plan for the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭DenMan

Looking forward to the weekend game with a great sense of optimism. Come on the Gunners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

DenMan wrote: »
    Looking forward to the weekend game with a great sense of optimism. Come on the Gunners.

I wish I shared your optimism!

jasonorr wrote: »
    I wish I shared your optimism!

Wigan match has 1-1 written all over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

I'm with DenMan on this one. Even with Zaki back for Wigan, I think we can beat them. We have to, there's no other way about it.

Gonna say 3-1 to the Arsenal, van Perise and Nasri to share the goals.

Been linked with Felipe Melo. Doing a super job for Fiorentina right now. Anybody seen him play?

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11854_4592669,00.html

Read that Tottenham are linked with Stephen Appiah. If he goes there and does brilliantly well for them I will pull my hair out. He is a free agent (Ghana captain) and now fully available and injury free. I know he has had problems with injuries in the past, but being honest who hasen't (especially at Arsenal). Also Torsten Frings would be a brilliant signing imo and we have been linked with him.

Zaki supposed to be back and Camera (who has been playing really well for Wigan) is out. Van Persie making his 100th Premier League appearance for Arsenal if selected. Will be tough. If we can get an early goal from RVP/Nasri then Wigan will have to come out and that will will create huge problems for them that Arsenal can exploit. 3-1 would be a great result.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L0Ntn6moW1s

I was hugely disapointed with some of the antics with liverpool fans of late, especially the constant groans about lucas but the above you have to say is a disgrace no?

I think everyone knows I'm not a fan of the guy but that really fcuking disgusts me.
    Absolute bell ends

mayordenis wrote: »

I was hugely disapointed with some of the antics with liverpool fans of late, especially the constant groans about lucas but the above you have to say is a disgrace no?

There you go!

That was fairly harsh, what did he do?

Liverpool have been very bad for it recently, ye must be having a terrible season...oh wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

I actually felt sorry for Eboue, no player deserves that from their own fans. Sure you can boo a team's collective bad performance, making sure the team and manager know about the supporters distaste, but picking on a particular player has no comprehensible benefits.

he's a [insert whatever word you want] but like that is shambles he does try for his team, he is still quite young.
    You have to wonder about Wenger there - like that's pretty ****in calous.

jasonorr wrote: »
    There you go!

That was fairly harsh, what did he do?

Liverpool have been very bad for it recently, ye must be having a terrible season...oh wait!

cheers I kept shaggin it up.

This is just going to end up leading to more 'dressing room unrest'

2008-2009: 16  9  2  5 28 19  9 29
    2007-2008: 16 11  4  1 33 14 19 37 ( 3rd)
    2006-2007: 16  7  5  4 26 13 13 26 ( 4th)
    2005-2006: 16  8  2  6 22 15  7 26 ( 4th)
    2004-2005: 16 10  4  2 42 20 22 34 ( 2nd)
    2003-2004: 16 11  5  0 30 11 19 38 ( 1st)
    2002-2003: 16 11  2  3 36 17 19 35 ( 2nd)
    2001-2002: 16  8  6  2 34 18 16 30 ( 1st)
    2000-2001: 16  9  4  3 24 13 11 31 ( 2nd)
    1999-2000: 16 10  2  4 28 16 12 32 ( 2nd)
    1998-1999: 16  6  8  2 15  7  8 26 ( 2nd)
    1997-1998: 16  7  6  3 30 18 12 27 ( 1st)
    1996-1997: 16 10  4  2 32 14 18 34 ( 3rd)
    1995-1996: 16  8  5  3 22 11 11 29 ( 5th)
    1994-1995: 16  5  5  6 18 16  2 20 (12th)
    1993-1994: 16  7  6  3 15  8  7 27 ( 4th)
    1992-1993: 16  9  2  5 22 16  6 29 (10th)

Reading               4   4   0   0  11   2   9  12 3.00
    Watford               4   4   0   0   9   3   6  12 3.00
    Barnsley              2   2   0   0   7   0   7   6 3.00
    Wolves                2   2   0   0   6   1   5   6 3.00
    Wigan                 7   6   1   0  13   5   8  19 2.71
    Ipswich              10   8   2   0  23   4  19  26 2.60
    Man City             23  18   3   2  44  14  30  57 2.48
    Fulham               15  12   1   2  33   9  24  37 2.47
    Charlton             16  12   2   2  36  12  24  38 2.38
    Derby                14  10   3   1  27  11  16  33 2.36
    West Brom             7   5   1   1  15   7   8  16 2.29
    Leicester            16  10   5   1  38  13  25  35 2.19
    Crystal Palace        8   5   2   1  16   5  11  17 2.13
    Everton              33  21   7   5  66  26  40  70 2.12
    Birmingham           10   6   3   1  19   5  14  21 2.10
    Nottingham Forest    10   6   3   1  13   7   6  21 2.10
    Sunderland           15   9   4   2  30  11  19  31 2.07
    Southampton          26  15   7   4  50  24  26  52 2.00
    Oldham                4   2   2   0   4   1   3   8 2.00
    Swindon               2   1   1   0   5   1   4   4 2.00
    West Ham             27  16   5   6  40  17  23  53 1.96
    Middlesbrough        26  15   6   5  59  25  34  51 1.96
    Coventry             18  10   5   3  25  13  12  35 1.94
    Bolton               19  10   5   4  31  22   9  35 1.84
    Portsmouth           10   4   6   0  16   6  10  18 1.80
    Blackburn            29  15   7   7  47  26  21  52 1.79
    Villa                33  16  11   6  51  28  23  59 1.79
    Chelsea              33  16  11   6  49  35  14  59 1.79
    Bradford              4   2   1   1   6   3   3   7 1.75
    Newcastle            31  15   8   8  43  26  17  53 1.71
    Leeds                24  12   4   8  43  25  18  40 1.67
    Spurs                33  13  15   5  51  36  15  54 1.64
    Norwich               8   3   4   1  17   9   8  13 1.63
    MK Dons              16   7   4   5  30  16  14  25 1.56
    Sheffield Wednesday  16   7   4   5  21  16   5  25 1.56
    Sheffield United      6   2   3   1   9   4   5   9 1.50
    Man United           33  10  10  13  33  43 -10  40 1.21
    Liverpool            32   9   9  14  31  43 -12  36 1.13
    QPR                   8   1   5   2   7   8  -1   8 1.00
    Hull                  1   0   0   1   1   2  -1   0 0.00
    Stoke                 1   0   0   1   1   2  -1   0 0.00

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

he's a [insert whatever word you want] but like that is shambles he does try for his team, he is still quite young.
    You have to wonder about Wenger there - like that's pretty ****in calous.

Are you saying Wenger was wrong to take him off?

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Are you saying Wenger was wrong to take him off?

YES. 89th minute was it?

It was more unfair to stick to stick him on the left, don't think I've ever seen him play there! Especially when both Ramsey and Wilshere can!

YES. 89th minute was it?

Didn't know it was that late on.

Tough one,haven't seen the match yet but with only a goal lead and Eboue getting stick from the crowd, I can see why Wenger would have done it, his priority is to get three points.

aye but it's a little short sighted, I agree from a purely tactical stand point it was probably the right thing to do.

No point winning this game, if the squad morale and the rest of the season goes to **** though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,171 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

YES. 89th minute was it?

If he'd continued to fúck up, lost the ball that led to an equaliser would you be saying the same thing? I seriously doubt it.

Wenger's been criticised for the team not doing enough to hang on to fragile leads at the end of games. He did what he thought he had to to get the result. I think enough fans have heard Wenger talk about morale and belief after every game Arsenal drop points in, for once Wenger ignored that in order to get the result. He definitely made the right call.

aye but it's a little short sighted, I agree from a purely tactical stand point it was probably the right thing to do.

No point winning this game, if the squad morale and the rest of the season goes to **** though.

Nothing to say it will hit the squad though, might impact on Eboue though.

If he didn't take him off and he makes a mistake and we draw, people will say why wasn't he taken off.

If he'd continued to fúck up, lost the ball that led to an equaliser would you be saying the same thing? I seriously doubt it.

Wenger's been criticised for the team not doing enough to hang on to fragile leads at the end of games. He did what he thought he had to to get the result. I think enough fans have heard Wenger talk about morale and belief after every game Arsenal drop points in, for once Wenger ignored that in order to get the result. He definitely made the right call.

It's not a definate, it's your opinion.
    In your opinion the change eboue would make in the last 3 minutes is worth shattering his confidence.
    Nothing to say it will hit the squad though, might impact on Eboue though.

If he didn't take him off and he makes a mistake and we draw, people will say why wasn't he taken off.

Well you're team morale is pretty much hammered at this point, I just think it's going to have a further negative impact on the situation. Can't imagine none of the arsenal team care or were affected by this.

That's bull****. Of course it will affect the other players. I really feel sorry for poor Emmanuel. I always liked him as a player, his dedication and work rate is phenomenal and his attitude was always spot on. He is only back after 9 games out and was played out of position today after coming on when Nasri got injured. It was great to see Adebayor have a quick chat to him before Silvestre came on for him. I hope he comes back and starts at right back against Porto next week. Discraceful behaviour by our fans. No real fans should ever treat one of their own players like that.

DenMan wrote: »
    That's bull****. Of course it will affect the other players. I really feel sorry for poor Emmanuel. I always liked him as a player, his dedication and work rate is phenomenal and his attitude was always spot on. He is only back after 9 games out and was played out of position today after coming on when Nasri got injured. It was great to see Adebayor have a quick chat to him before Silvestre came on for him. I hope he comes back and starts at right back against Porto next week. Discraceful behaviour by our fans. No real fans should ever treat one of their own players like that.

why are you saying that to me?? That is exactly what I have been saying.

It's not a definate, it's your opinion.
    In your opinion the change eboue would make in the last 3 minutes is worth shattering his confidence.

It's not my opinion that leaving him on the pitch would have been a risk, that's fact. And it's just your opinion that his confidence is now completely and utterly gone and he'll never be any use as a footballer again.

If somebody is a risk to the team at the end of a game where you're hanging on to a one goal lead, get them the hell off the pitch. Results are what count. Not sparing somebody's feelings.

Just for the record, yes I agree what the crowd did was awful.

And it's just your opinion that his confidence is now completely and utterly gone and he'll never be any use as a footballer again.

That's not even my opinion, but did you honestly watch him walk off the pitch? if you did then you know I'm not saying this or coming up with a theory out of nowhere, it was plain to see. He might show great mental resolve and have a blinder next week, then great, but I doubt it.
    If somebody is a risk to the team at the end of a game where you're hanging on to a one goal lead, get them the hell off the pitch. Results are what count. Not sparing somebody's feelings.

Just for the record, yes I agree what the crowd did was awful.

and like - your just clearly not reading what I've wrote for a moment.
    I understand the team comes first, but what I'm saying is that in this case the decision may actually have a negative impact on everything but the table right now. It may not, it may all be rosey.

stop twisting my words. thanks.

We don't know though, I think Eboue might have taken a knock in confidence but don't think that being taken off would have made it any worse, I would say his confidence was gone at that stage. Arsene has to make decisions re subs for the good of Arsenal FC not any single player

ok I give up,
    was really and I must have said it 5 times now, I'm not just talking about a single player, I'm talking about the potential impact on the whole squad, it may nil, it may be significent.
    What Arsenal needed was a win by any means without rockin the boat further, settle everything down. Ye looked on course for that even with eboue having a shocker.

How do you think dropping another 2 points would have affected team morale? I don't see how I'm twisting your words. You think what Wenger did could fúck up team morale and the season. I really don't think subbing Eboue off is now going to send Arsenal into freefall. I think leaving him on a potentially dropping 2 points would have a much bigger impact on team morale and the season as a whole. Yes he could have left him on and still won the game, but he didn't want to risk it. I really don't blame him for that.

You can't blame the manager for doing what he did. That is not in dispute. He wanted the win, and he got it. It's the way the fans turned on poor Emmanuel I am very angry about. Playing out of position and doing his best for the club and the way they turned on him is truly maddening. Eboue knew himself the boss wanted the win and had to take him off for the good of the team as a whole. I hope the lads have a good chat to him during the week and get his mentality right for the Porto game. Emmanuel Eboue is a strong character and will be in the right frame of mind for next week. Hang in there Emmanuel, you're in safe hands.

Couldnt see the match today so only saw the highlights there.
    Yeah Eboue looked like he had a 'mare but that was pathetic from the Arsenal fans booing him like that.
    He's just come back from an injury and the tossers can only think to boo him.
    Absolutely fcuking disgraceful, hope he has a blinder next week

As i said in the match thread that kinda behavior from the crowd is a disgrace. How a lot of them can sit there on their hoop not makin a noise for 80 minutes and then decide that booing their own player off the field was appropriate is beyond me:mad:

I don't blame Wenger for subbing him off at the end because if he had made a mistake leading to a goal or something it would have been a lot worse for both the team and him. I just hope it doesn't effect Eboue's morale because strangely enough despite the fact that I, like most, haven't been his biggest fan, he has done fairly well this year and is still a very good right back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Beau x1

**** the negativity from those gob****es imo, Eboue's a tank. I just think it sets such a disgraceful reputation for the other Arsenal fans out there.

Eduardo's back on the 16th too, which will be sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

It wasn't right that the fans booed ebooooue, Even tho he's muck atleast the guy works hard. He gets a massive amount of stick from blogs and the like.

Sorry to be changing the subject but I am wondering do any gooners fans here on boards ever get over to watch a match at the grove??? I myself go over once a year, have done since 98/99 season and a HUGE cost to myself. The ticketing system is a joke at Arsenal. Last year I paid 240 pounds for a ticket to see Villa (Senderos the tit scored an OG and Bendtner got the leveler with only a minute to go). NOT WORTH 240 POUNDS.
    I know that tickets at face value are roughly around 50 quid depending on location of seats. I could have gotten it a small bit cheaper but the ticket tout/broker has a pretty good reputation.

I joined the season ticket waiting list (I think I am number 58000 and something and I also joined the "Red" level membership thingy). Absolutely ZERO chance of getting tickets directly from the club so my only hope is using the d*ickhead touts that charge 5 times the going rate to watch a match.

I guess im wondering have any boardies had any experience of getting match tickets??? and sure if you have been over there why not lets us know what you thought of it.

I joined the season ticket waiting list (I think I am number 58000 and something and I also joined the "Red" level membership thingy). Absolutely ZERO chance of getting tickets directly from the club so my only hope is using the d*ickhead touts that charge 5 times the going rate to watch a match.

As a red member you have an excellent chance of getting tickets for all home matches. I stick my season ticket up for sale on ticket exchange for all home matches on clubs website, always loads up there for sale so you will have no problems getting tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

As a red member you have an excellent chance of getting tickets for all home matches. I stick my season ticket up for sale on ticket exchange for all home matches on clubs website, always loads up there for sale so you will have no problems getting tickets.

I dunno man I log onto to the Arsenal website and see the tickets are there but
    they get snapped up before i can stake a claim. Tis as bad as trying to get AC/DC tickets for the o2. Do you get over often, with a season ticket I presume you do

Just read Piers Morgan's piece on the mail's website, I get the feeling he doesn't like fergie too much. Here the link
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1092550/PIERS-MORGAN-If-youre-going-lecture-Sir-Alex-facts-right.html