Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Uh oh... wenger says getting our four injured stars (Fabregas, Rosicky, Eduardo and Walcott) back will be 'like new signings'. BAH!

im starting to think the reasons aw refuses to sign a defensive player are, because 1, he feels gallas, silvestre and toure have achieved enough in the game to lead the team and that maybe in time fences will be mended

2. he feels he would hamper the potential of the younger players such as djourou, nordveidt etc.

3 maybe its a case of getting the younger midfielders to pull their weight a bit more and that buying in a new player would damage these players for example diaby or song.

4 maybe if we had Eduardo or Rosicky back or Arshavin in, the motto would be, attack is the best form of defense and that opposition would not commit as much forward if Eduardo was lurking.

Looking at the goal differences, we have (near enough) scored as many goals as teh top clubs but conceeded (give or take) 10 extra.pretty much sums up what we're doing wrong IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Anyone hear whether Song passed his fitness test?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Frisbee wrote: »
    Anyone hear whether Song passed his fitness test?

no word yet afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭DenMan

I hope he is okay, we have enough problems as it is.

(Villa behind right now)

If he is I wouldn't mind seeing:

Almunia
    Sagna
    Toure
    Djourou
    Clichy
    Nasri
    Song----Denilson
    Vela
    RVP
    Ade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Galvasean wrote: »
    Looking at the goal differences, we have (near enough) scored as many goals as teh top clubs but conceeded (give or take) 10 extra.pretty much sums up what we're doing wrong IMO.

True, you can see utd last few games. Apart from the Chelsea match, they're having real trouble scoring. The thing is they're not conceding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,171 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Ugh, what was looking a very good day with about 15 minutes to go turned out pretty bad. Arsenal to drop points at Hull just to top it off.

16.35 La Gazzetta Dello Sport claims AC Milan are set to use the funds from the sale of Kaka to sign Emmanuel Adebayor, Michael Essien, Gael Clichy and Alex.

They can fcuk right off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

What is it with van Persie and the woodwork?
    Watching the Hull game and he is after hitting the crossbar again. The lad must have some sort of a record for it. He managed to hit it 12 times last season!

Interesting fact.

We've hit the woodwork 12 times so far this season.

First league win by more than one goal since October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

This season v previous seasons:
    2008-2009: 22 12  5  5 37 24 13 41
    2007-2008: 22 15  6  1 43 17 26 51 ( 3rd)
    2006-2007: 22 11  6  5 41 19 22 39 ( 4th)
    2005-2006: 22 11  4  7 34 16 18 37 ( 4th)
    2004-2005: 22 14  6  2 52 24 28 48 ( 2nd)
    2003-2004: 22 15  7  0 42 14 28 52 ( 1st)
    2002-2003: 22 14  4  4 45 24 21 46 ( 2nd)
    2001-2002: 22 11  8  3 43 26 17 41 ( 1st)
    2000-2001: 22 11  6  5 38 22 16 39 ( 2nd)
    1999-2000: 22 13  4  5 41 22 19 43 ( 2nd)
    1998-1999: 22 10  9  3 23 11 12 39 ( 2nd)
    1997-1998: 22 10  8  4 39 26 13 38 ( 1st)
    1996-1997: 22 11  7  4 39 21 18 40 ( 3rd)
    1995-1996: 22  9  7  6 28 20  8 34 ( 5th)
    1994-1995: 22  7  7  8 26 25  1 28 (12th)
    1993-1994: 22 10  7  5 24 13 11 37 ( 4th)
    1992-1993: 22  9  4  9 23 22  1 31 (10th)

All-time premier league record:
    Reading               4   4   0   0  11   2   9  12 3.00
    Watford               4   4   0   0   9   3   6  12 3.00
    Barnsley              2   2   0   0   7   0   7   6 3.00
    Wolves                2   2   0   0   6   1   5   6 3.00
    Wigan                 7   6   1   0  13   5   8  19 2.71
    Ipswich              10   8   2   0  23   4  19  26 2.60
    Man City             23  18   3   2  44  14  30  57 2.48
    Fulham               15  12   1   2  33   9  24  37 2.47
    Charlton             16  12   2   2  36  12  24  38 2.38
    Derby                14  10   3   1  27  11  16  33 2.36
    West Brom             7   5   1   1  15   7   8  16 2.29
    Leicester            16  10   5   1  38  13  25  35 2.19
    Crystal Palace        8   5   2   1  16   5  11  17 2.13
    Everton              33  21   7   5  66  26  40  70 2.12
    Birmingham           10   6   3   1  19   5  14  21 2.10
    Nottingham Forest    10   6   3   1  13   7   6  21 2.10
    Sunderland           15   9   4   2  30  11  19  31 2.07
    Southampton          26  15   7   4  50  24  26  52 2.00
    Oldham                4   2   2   0   4   1   3   8 2.00
    Swindon               2   1   1   0   5   1   4   4 2.00
    West Ham             27  16   5   6  40  17  23  53 1.96
    Coventry             18  10   5   3  25  13  12  35 1.94
    Middlesbrough        27  15   7   5  60  26  34  52 1.93
    Portsmouth           11   5   6   0  17   6  11  21 1.91
    Bolton               20  11   5   4  32  22  10  38 1.90
    Blackburn            29  15   7   7  47  26  21  52 1.79
    Chelsea              33  16  11   6  49  35  14  59 1.79
    Villa                34  16  12   6  53  30  23  60 1.76
    Bradford              4   2   1   1   6   3   3   7 1.75
    Newcastle            31  15   8   8  43  26  17  53 1.71
    Leeds                24  12   4   8  43  25  18  40 1.67
    Spurs                33  13  15   5  51  36  15  54 1.64
    Norwich               8   3   4   1  17   9   8  13 1.63
    MK Dons              16   7   4   5  30  16  14  25 1.56
    Sheffield Wednesday  16   7   4   5  21  16   5  25 1.56
    Sheffield United      6   2   3   1   9   4   5   9 1.50
    Hull                  2   1   0   1   4   3   1   3 1.50
    Man United           33  10  10  13  33  43 -10  40 1.21
    Liverpool            33   9  10  14  32  44 -12  37 1.12
    QPR                   8   1   5   2   7   8  -1   8 1.00
    Stoke                 1   0   0   1   1   2  -1   0 0.00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭DenMan

Very good to have hit the 40 point club now. A very good performance today, we were well up for it that's for sure. Strong and determined. Let's hope we can get Arshavin in quickly because we are playing very well now and it would be much better for him to come into a team on the up. A huge shout out to RVP today, he was brilliant and Nasri had another brilliant game. Ade back to doing what he does best and well done Nicklas. All three goals scored by three different players.

Think 4-3-3 might suit us for more games against 'lesser' opposition. We looked a lot more threatening once we took off Eboué for Bendtner.
    With all the attackers we have/will soon have, not to mention the injury pile up in midfield, it might not be a bad move.

Adebayor, RvP, Bendtner, Vela, Eduardo. Not to be snuffed at. Perhaps a 3 pronged strike force may be a useful option?

Almunia
    Sagna
    Toure
    Gallas
    Clichy
    Denilson
    Song

Fab
    Walcott
    Nasri
    Ade/RVP

Would be a nice enough side and all the front three are fairly interchangable with Vela/Eduardo/Bendtner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Galvasean wrote: »
    Think 4-3-3 might suit us for more games against 'lesser' opposition. We looked a lot more threatening once we took off Eboué for Bendtner.

I put that down to Eboue giving the ball away 9/10 times and Bendtner...ermm.. not doing that.....

GuanYin wrote: »
    I put that down to Eboue giving the ball away 9/10 times and Bendtner...ermm.. not doing that.....

Aye, that shot, what was he doing?
    The quicker Theo comes back the better!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Some of the papers are reporting that the deal is finalised with Arshavin.
    12-17 million is the total deal depending what paper you believe/

Would be a very good addition to the squad. He is very skillful, fast, creative and could be a real asset to the club. I think Rosicky will never play for us again so this is his replacement more so the a temp replacement for Cesc.

Id put him on the right wing instead of eboue straight away

Almunia
    Sagna
    Toure
    Djourou
    Clichy
    Denilson
    Song
    Arshavin
    Nasri
    Ade---RVP

Or play him instead of Song and leave eboue on the right wing. But thats not really a great option.
    Once Walcott/Eduardo and Cesc come back we will have a pretty mean attack and options. However CM is still a problem as is a centre back. But anyway a step in the right direction.

I've said it before and I'll say it again. Arsenal are just a spine of a team away from being great. All they need is a goalkeeper, a center defender a center mid and a striker :)

I half agree with you here.

I'm happy enough with Almunia. If we could pick someone really good I wouldn't say no. Akinfeev would be my first choice. Although if Citeh land a world class goalkeeper I'd snap Hart up in a second.

Centre back isn't too big of a problem zone for me atm.
    Gallas and Toure are both seasoned pro's and I expect Kolo to regain his form. Djourou will continue to flourish playing with them and Nordveit is definitely one for the near future.

CM is our problem. We need a high quality defensive midfielder (see my sig). Miguel Veloso would be my number one choice, he's a fantastic player.

Don't think we need a forward either. We have Ade, RVP and Eduardo who are all great strikers. Vela is going to be a superstar imo (see sig again :pac:) and Bendtner seems to be improving.

So the order I'd want signings in would be:

DM
    CB
    GK
    ST

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Van Persie is our striker! He has really stepped it up especially with his interviews and his attitude about the team. It is now showing on the pitch aswell. 4 assists in 2 games

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Agree, though with Edaurdo due back, he may be our striker, he was really starting to find his feet when he got the injury, hopefully we will see him back in the first team soon, though Arsene has said that he will not rush him. Centre back is still a huge problem imo would love us to sign a world class cb to play with Gallas.

Arsenal are about 1 more injury away from 6th place and maybe 2 injuries away from crisis. Imo you need all four, if not starters at least cover that are as good as.

I will say that few people appreciate how screwed over with injury Arsenal have been for the past few seasons. Considering how easily they've finished 4th when they've had key players missing for so long, it shows how good the players are.

Then again, the manager, if he seriously wants to win the EPL, should be looking at this and ensuring he has quality cover, rather than looking to promising youth.

TBH I dont think we need a new goalie. Almunia is doing very well this season (it's the defensive marking that's screwing up). Not taht I wouldn't love to get Shay given in, but he's a luxury at this point.

Don't need a new striker. RvP is awesome now that his fitness is back. Adebayor is still good when he bothers. Bentdner has his moments. Vela will soon become a world beater. Eduardo will be back before too long, remember he was in superb form just before his injury. Walcott can bag a hat trick at competitive international level. Wilshire is the next bergkamp apparently. Heck, Jay Simpson is looking good at WBA too.

Striker is the last position we need to strenghten.

edit: as I said before today our goal tally is comparable to the top sides, but our defense is much worse.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Almunia
    Sagna
    Toure
    Gallas
    Clichy
    Denilson
    Song

Fab
    Walcott
    Nasri
    Ade/RVP

Would be a nice enough side and all the front three are fairly interchangable with Vela/Eduardo/Bendtner
    I'd rather we sell Fabregas than deploy him in that role tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,111 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

from a purely football point of view i'd love to see;

Adebayor
    ---Arshavin
    Nasri
    Van Persie
    /\
    Fabregas--NEW(Appiah-esque) /\
    Clichy
    Sagna

Very fluent attacking 3 behind Ade. Would be handsome i reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

If we could add a quality dynamic defensive midfielder and get a bit luckier with injuries this Arsenal squad would be challenging for the title imo. Although I wouldn't say no to four new signings, I'd be happy with just one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

jasonorr wrote: »
    This season v previous seasons:
    2008-2009: 22 12  5  5 37 24 13 41
    2007-2008: 22 15  6  1 43 17 26 51 ( 3rd)
    2006-2007: 22 11  6  5 41 19 22 39 ( 4th)
    2005-2006: 22 11  4  7 34 16 18 37 ( 4th)
    2004-2005: 22 14  6  2 52 24 28 48 ( 2nd)
    2003-2004: 22 15  7  0 42 14 28 52 ( 1st)
    2002-2003: 22 14  4  4 45 24 21 46 ( 2nd)
    2001-2002: 22 11  8  3 43 26 17 41 ( 1st)
    2000-2001: 22 11  6  5 38 22 16 39 ( 2nd)
    1999-2000: 22 13  4  5 41 22 19 43 ( 2nd)
    1998-1999: 22 10  9  3 23 11 12 39 ( 2nd)
    1997-1998: 22 10  8  4 39 26 13 38 ( 1st)
    1996-1997: 22 11  7  4 39 21 18 40 ( 3rd)
    1995-1996: 22  9  7  6 28 20  8 34 ( 5th)
    1994-1995: 22  7  7  8 26 25  1 28 (12th)
    1993-1994: 22 10  7  5 24 13 11 37 ( 4th)
    1992-1993: 22  9  4  9 23 22  1 31 (10th)

Where do you get these stats?

I'd rather we sell Fabregas than deploy him in that role tbh.

In a central midfield role?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    from a purely football point of view i'd love to see;

Adebayor
    ---Arshavin
    Nasri
    Van Persie
    /\
    Fabregas--NEW(Appiah-esque) /\
    Clichy
    Sagna

Very fluent attacking 3 behind Ade. Would be handsome i reckon.

Sure City are planning on playing 4-1-4-1, surely Arsenal could play it too?

Adebayor
    Nasri
    Fabregas
    Arsehavin----Walcott
    NEW
    Clichy
    Sagna

Drop Van Persie? I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Yup, RVP is in great form at the moment. I'd certainly have him ahead of Adebayor.

In a central midfield role?
    As the furthest forward of a defensive 3 man midfield. Total waste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

Saw a clip of Kaka's potentially "last" game for Milan on the news last night and noticed Big Phil in the clip.

Is he playing regularly for Milan now? I dont think Flamini is.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Senderos was subbed on with then minutes left as a replacement for Beckham

As the furthest forward of a defensive 3 man midfield. Total waste.

With 6 players behind him we could afford Fab a free role in CM.
    He'd be playing as high up the pitch as he is now and not have to worry as much about play breaking down as he'd know he'd have more people behind him.

Having said that though, Wenger prefers the auld 4-4-2 and I don't think he'll change it up

With 6 players behind him we could afford Fab a free role in CM.
    He'd be playing as high up the pitch as he is now and not have to worry as much about play breaking down as he'd know he'd have more people behind him.
    That'd leave the striker far too isolated. We've frequently struggled to score goals this season, 4-5-1ing it won't help matters.

I wouldn't be a 4-5-1

More a 4-2-1-2-1 (hybrid 4-3-3) with Fab in CM with two advanced wingers and a striker ahead of him.

Little difference really.

All it means is that we'd be swapping Adebayor or van Persie for Song and we'd end up passing the ball sideways in midfield all day because we'd have shag all movement in attack. Cesc needs players to pass forward to.

Did you not watch the game yesterday? Adebayor spent about 90% of it 40 yards out passing the ball sideways. It's been a criticism ever since Ian Wright left, but it's true. Arsenal really don't get enough players in the box. Look at Adebayor's goal yesterday. He's big, and strong and can win headers. Ok he can't always direct them but he's always in with a decent shout of a goal if the ball's crossed in, he's never in the 6 yard box though.

Mé fein (I wrote a program), cén fath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Did you not watch the game yesterday? Adebayor spent about 90% of it 40 yards out passing the ball sideways. It's been a criticism ever since Ian Wright left, but it's true. Arsenal really don't get enough players in the box. Look at Adebayor's goal yesterday. He's big, and strong and can win headers. Ok he can't always direct them but he's always in with a decent shout of a goal if the ball's crossed in, he's never in the 6 yard box though.

I am of the opinion that if Van Persie is on the pitch Ade will look to pass rather than shoot. 40 odd goals last season and shag all this season kind of backs my theory....but I am no Ian St John so I stand to be corrected.

My theory is that he thinks he's a lot better than he actually is. He was comparing himself to Thierry Henry last summer when he was looking for more money, and I think he actually believes that comparison.

He should concentrate on the end product really and leave most of the intricate passing to the more creative players. Although fair enough, the only creative players on show yesterday were Nasri and Van Persie. But he was just dropping far too deep yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I also really want to know where you got those stats, I've looked for them before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Jaysus lads just reading back the last couple of pages of this thread and some of the post are a bit redic tbh, Wenger has been accused of not having he's priorities right and by the looks of things its contagious, there is feck all wrong with Arsenals front players the problems are whats behind them we have scored as many goals as anyone its just that we cant keep a clean sheet, as much as it pains me to say it Utd are going to win the league and they have one striker, a lazy git who strops around the field most of the time

PHB wrote: »
    I also really want to know where you got those stats, I've looked for them before.

See here, I just did it for Arsenal as they're the only team I'm interested in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Anyone else find Arseshavings face annoying? I wanna punch him for no good reason

andrei-arshavin_972740.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Anyone else find Arseshavings face annoying? I wanna punch him for no good reason

And the constructive comment of the day award goes to ..................