Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Aston Villa Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

15 in 80 games

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Link saying he's signed?

none exists

its tenuous at best at the moment, but its gaining momentum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Never heard of the chap. Wiki says he's a midfielder/striker...

swedish international

id never heard of him til an hour ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Just saw this on VillTalk! No idea where the guy got it!
    ''Robinho: City was my second choice''

Man City's new Brazilian superstar Robinho has confessed that linking up with Mark Hughes' men had not crossed his mind until a few hours before Monday's transfer deadline. He had been regularly linked with Chelsea all summer but it was not former mentor Luiz Felipe Scolari's outfit that the forward had his eye on, rather Premier League rivals Aston Villa. While admitting his great respect for Scolari, Robinho was hoping for a last minute phone call from Martin O'Neill.

"When I decided it was time to leave Madrid, I made it clear to my agent that England was the place for me. We were aware of the Chelsea interest from the beginning but I felt they were more keen on Kaka. It was not until that door was closed that they began calling me.

"I started to go through tapes of last season's games [in the Premier League] and the side that really impressed me was Aston Villa. They played an exciting, attacking style of football. I felt this style would suit me as a player. So I got my agent to call them."

Unfortunately for Robinho, Villa weren't interested.

"They said they were not interested in me. The coach, O'Neill, was very offensive. He said he did not want to sign someone who treated their club like I did. And that I was a poor version of Ashley Young. I didn't understand. I just wanted to leave Madrid, I was unhappy there."

O'Neill told the Brazilian's representatives that the club were in the market for another right-sided player and if that deal fell through, only then would he consider signing Robinho. Villa signed James Milner from Newcastle last week, crushing Robinho's hopes of sealing his dream move to B6.

"I knew that once they signed Milner, that was it. I cried for hours."

So now the show-boating attacker must settle for Hughes' Man City, who Villa thrashed 4-2 on the opening weekend. But what if O'Neill changed his mind?

"If the call came in January that Aston Villa wanted me I would run to Birmingham and bow at O'Neill's feet. I don't care about the money. I'll play for free."

'A poor version of Ashley Young'....damn right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,109 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Just saw this on VillTalk! No idea where the guy got it!

'A poor version of Ashley Young'....damn right!

lol :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

That sounds so ludicrous it must be made up. If its not, MON is a fool :) But the idea of him crying for hours is just silly.

Yeh just checked it, utterly made up :) But funny nonetheless :)

PHB wrote: »
    That sounds so ludicrous it must be made up. If its not, MON is a fool :) But the idea of him crying for hours is just silly.

dear god man, you needed to check?!

It quoted Robinho as saying this!;
    "If the call came in January that Aston Villa wanted me I would run to Birmingham and bow at O'Neill's feet. I don't care about the money. I'll play for free."

Of course it's made up. What I mean't was I didn't know if the guy wrote it himself, or got it from somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I won't lie to you, I'm wasted :) Also I've seen some utterly crazy stuff about Robinho so :)

lol fair enough, as good an excuse as any and better then most.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Soccer needs more mods like PHB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Doodee

So no last minute signings then? Poop.

Was hoping for another striker since competition is always good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

I think after yesterday (and we're not the only club asking this) what now for Villa as another club joins the big money leagues? how much money does RL actually have?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

I'd say plenty since we spent loads this summer. I'd imagine our transfer policy from now on will be to keep this squad intact while adding in 1 or 2 top notch players per transfer window in positions we need them. Preferably up front. There is no need for us to go splashing the cash Man City style if we can do this well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭rgiller

I think after yesterday (and we're not the only club asking this) what now for Villa as another club joins the big money leagues? how much money does RL actually have?

Nothing like as much as Abramovich or Citeh's new sugar daddy. It's going to be tough for us, but even more so for Liverpool, which is good

rgiller wrote: »
    Nothing like as much as Abramovich or Citeh's new sugar daddy. It's going to be tough for us, but even more so for Liverpool, which is good

until DIC buy them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Seriously lads, what you mean its going to be tough for us? As in it will be harder to break top 4?

Really it just means when we do break top four we will be doing it with a squad of players who will all have paid together for years, who will all be better equipped to play with each other. You can't buy team spirit, and team spirit will get you further then Robinho ever could (prays that he wont become 30 goal a season striker).

shoutman wrote: »

Really it just means when we do break top four we will be doing it with a squad of players who will all have paid together for years

Freudian slip indeed!

Its all about the money lets be honest, particularly in the medium to long term. Man City will join Chelsea in the top 4. Man Utd, LFC & Arsenal will either have to get bought out or fade away the way they are going, for Villa & Spurs it means that serious investment is required just to stay where we are. Villa may have had a record breaking summer in terms of spending, but thats going to have to be the minimum spend every summer if we are to keep pace.

But then it has to be said, even though its been said for years, the money in the game is unsustainable and sooner rather then later there will be a crash and burn somewhere, so i rather consolidation. Keep up the good work MON & RL, i worship Villa, not petro dollars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Doodee

See reports that MON was after Heskey?
    WTF?!?!

Doodee wrote: »
    See reports that MON was after Heskey?
    WTF?!?!

link please?

If this was true it was clearly just to compete with the Hare. Heske is a proven english international :p

lads, just coz he was linked doesnt mean we were ACTUALLY after him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

There have been numerous reports that Wigan rejected a £6m bid from Villa for Heskey................phewww! That was a close one :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Coppell quoted as saying no bid received for Doyle 'for weeks'. Clearly the player was available, willing to move and for some reason MON chose not to pursue despite apparently being in the lead by some considerable distance.

the mystery of villas spending splurge solved...
    ASTON Villa fans are ecstatic that James Milner will be flying down the right-wing at last while Luke Young is finally filling their problematic right-back position.But the long-awaited right-hand man that has done more for Martin ONeills top four ambitions than any superstar signing will not be paraded before a flurry of flashbulbs waving a claret and blue scarf.

If Villa fans were becoming increasingly fed up of stop-gap solutions to the specialist on-pitch positions then that was nothing compared with their managers frustrations behind the scenes.

While Olof Mellberg, Craig Gardner and Nigel Reo-Coker filled in at right-back and a host of makeshift men deputised on the right-wing, the role of chief executive was even more fraught for Villa.

Finally, as with Milner and Young on the field, they seem to have found the perfect fit off it too. The name Faulkner is unlikely to adorn too many replica shirts, but Paul Faulkner is already proving to be as important a player as any footballer in the Villa Park dressing room.

After the mystery resignation of former CEO Richard Fitzgerald during the January transfer window and the subsequent departure of chief operating officer Michael Cunnah soon after, Villa finally appear to have found a trusted sounding board for ONeill.

Faulkner is now the chief exec in everything but title and its no coincidence that his increased input has resulted in the biggest transfer spending spree in Villas history over the past month or so.

The record signing of Milner from Newcastle on Friday took ONeills, or more precisely Randy Lerners, outlay to around s45million this summer and catapulted Villa into a new financial stratosphere.

By his own admission ONeill, who has never had either the dosh or the desire to spend big at any of his previous clubs, had, for the most part, been thriftier than an impoverished pensioner with his billionaire backers banknotes.

But something has changed during recent weeks and rather than the loose change of the Doug Ellis era its a sea of change that has confirmed Villa as serious contenders rather than perennial also-rans.

Faulkner has played a significant part in this culture switch, although the young Englishman wont shout about it, preferring a British modesty compared to the brash bravado of Lerners other lieutenant General Krulak.

However, even amidst the hype and hysteria surrounding the Gareth grudge match against Liverpool this afternoon, ONeill found time to name-check Faulkner for his help in landing his transfer targets.

Since Lerner and ONeill arrived in that balmy summer two years ago Faulkner has always been on hand.

But the fact he now enjoys such a close relationship with the manager as well as the chairman can only bode well for Villas Champions League ambitions.

For too long the enigmatic Irishman, a self-confessed control freak who hates to delegate, has been bogged down doing the dual role of head coach and chief executive.

Now he has a trusted ally to share the off-the-field burden, ONeill can get on with the serious business of attempting to shape Aston Villas most successful squad.

Helix wrote: »
    the mystery of villas spending splurge solved...

i dont get it...Lerner Owns the club and told MON that he could buy who he wanted. Krulak said Lerner has never said no to MON. So what could that former guy have possibly done to stop anything?

Surely MON just says 'Hi Randy i was wondering could we get X in?', Lerner says 'yup no bother marty, you know i promised to back you 100% you can have who you want - get that mofo signed up!'

MON just doesn't like signing big name, big money players, whether the money is there or not.

that makes much more sense then this new CEO riding in on a white steed, thwarting the previous regeme and liberating Randy's wallet from the dragon guarded high tower.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    i dont get it...Lerner Owns the club and told MON that he could buy who he wanted. Krulak said Lerner has never said no to MON. So what could that former guy have possibly done to stop anything?

Surely MON just says 'Hi Randy i was wondering could we get X in?', Lerner says 'yup no bother marty, you know i promised to back you 100% you can have who you want - get that mofo signed up!'

mon was essentially acting as chief executive up until recently. that meant if mon wanted a player, he didnt just say he wanted him and leave it at that. he had to do all the paperwork, make all the contacts, tie everything up himself.

NOW he tells faulkner who he wants, and faulkner goes and gets him

its something we've really been missing since stride moved roles and ultimately left

mon was essentially acting as chief executive up until recently. that meant if mon wanted a player, he didnt just say he wanted him and leave it at that. he had to do all the paperwork, make all the contacts, tie everything up himself.

NOW he tells faulkner who he wants, and faulkner goes and gets him

its something we've really been missing since stride moved roles and ultimately left

If this is true it comes across badly for MON, that he was what stopped yee making signings by not doing whatever it was needed to be done or bringing in a secretary. The problem of not enough signings was there a long time, its a bit of a joke if something as simple as this was the cause and never rectified..

sure everyone knew that was the problem

Sack MON!:pac:

part of the problem was'nt just MON driving hard bargains but when he took over Villa had become cannon fodder.

most of the players Villa signed this summer would not have joined 2 years ago.

We've come a long way baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭rgiller

We've come a long way baby.

Agreed! I hope sh1t like Man City doesn't knock us back. Good job we played them first game of the season...

YOUNG IN TALKS OVER NEW DEAL

Martin O'Neill has revealed negotiations are underway over a new deal for Ashley Young.

Reports over the weekend suggested that Young had already put pen to paper on a new four-year contract with Aston Villa.

O'Neill has denied that is the case, but remains confident of keeping his influential winger.

"Nothing has been agreed but we are in negotiation," O'Neill said in the Birmingham Mail.

Villa do not have another game until the trip to Tottenham on September 15 and O'Neill is ready to sit down with a number of his players following the closure of the transfer window.

However, O'Neill has insisted there is no need to hurry as he looks to secure Young's long-term future.

"I can spend the next week-and-a-half dealing with the issues I have wanted to deal with," he said.

"That means looking at the players who have got two years or less and those who I would like to keep at the football club.

"The best time to do it is to open those negotiations now. I have already spoken to Ashley's agent, so we will see where we go.

"I am hoping he is enjoying himself well enough here and that he would like to stay. He still has three years left to run. So it is not a major problem."

Young has not been included in Fabio Capello's England squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers against Andorra and Croatia but O'Neill expects the 23-year-old to have a long and successful international career

"I am surprised but his time will come. Ashley would not be worrying himself about it - not at all," said O'Neill.

"If and when England qualify for the World Cup I am sure he will be on the plane to South Africa.

"He will be an old man by then though. He'll be at least 24!"

http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_4090850,00.html

Lets hope the buy out clause is in the billions just in case some evil rich owners cast their eye upon him!

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭spiderdan

Now that all the madness is over till January what do people expect our first team to be? Mine would be

Fridel
    --Young
    Cuellar---Laurson----Bouma--
    Rio Coker
    --Milner
    Barry---Sidwell
    Young--
    Carew

I think its a solid team- I'd possibly leave Rio Coker out and have Gabby playing in a 442, but I think RC is a very effective DM and does a really good job when playing in that position although Petrov might play there. The other one would be who partners Laurson? its s tough one- which 8m defender do you leave on the bench?? id go with CC. not sure about Davies. Shorey or Bouma will be interesting too.

Luckily the dilemma of who will be picked in midfield & defence is a good quandary to have, we have to see Cuellar play first but luckily Davies has competition now so hopefully he'll be on his toes a bit more. Ditto for the CM places, Petrov is impressing now there is 4 players for 2/3 places.

On Shorey/Bouma it has to be Bouma by a long shot. Imo Shorey is a bit crap but is a good stop gap as can be bought until Wilfred returns, i think its only with his injury its become apparent how good actually he is and how he is missed.

I cant pick a first XI, im just glad that the first XI doesnt pick itself like it did last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,125 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

The 50 greatest Villa moments as seen by The Times. Great read.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/premier_league/aston_villa/article4652386.ece

Given Gabby's present inconsistency, I'd favour 4-3-3 - Reo Coker holding behind Barry and Sidwell, Young and Milner out wide and Carew at centre-forward. If we need a pacy impact sub, bring on Gabby for Reo-Coker and switch to a 4-4-2, otherwise he stays benched from starting duties until he gets the finger out.

I'm really eager to see how Sidwell gets on. If he gets himself back to the player he was at Reading, our central midfield will add to the goal threat, giving more freedom to our wide players which in turn will boost both their and Carew's goal chances.

If he doesn't, he'll be dropped for Petrov. Not the end of the world, it'll just mean our central midfield will be primarily work-horses and our only real threat will be out wide.

Sidwell looks to have played 90 mins tonight for the reserves, 2-1 win over Shtoke.

Excellent, we need goals from CM, NRC/Petrov & Barry great as they are they just dont have the knack of scoring (at least not in the PL eh Petrov?)

Hopefully Sidwell will settle in soon enough.

I think Petrov has been quite solid so far this season...."FINALLY" I hear ye shout :D

I honestly haven't a clue what system MON will deploy but suffice to say he defo has a fair few more options now. So long as Petrov stays on form, I can see Messr Milner having a fight on his hands. What a nice situation that'd be, £12m man having to fight his way into the team....:eek:

Petrov's not a right winger...no way he should keep Milner out of the team, or even make him fight for it...

spiderdan wrote: »
    Now that all the madness is over till January what do people expect our first team to be? Mine would be

Fridel
    --Young
    Cuellar---Laurson----Bouma--
    Rio Coker
    --Milner
    Barry---Sidwell
    Young--
    Carew

I think its a solid team- I'd possibly leave Rio Coker out and have Gabby playing in a 442, but I think RC is a very effective DM and does a really good job when playing in that position although Petrov might play there. The other one would be who partners Laurson? its s tough one- which 8m defender do you leave on the bench?? id go with CC. not sure about Davies. Shorey or Bouma will be interesting too.

I like this formation....maybe with Barry or Sidwell sitting a bit deeper beside NRC?

I'd be picking Davies ahead of Cuellar at the moment, he was very good against Liverpool and has been consistently good in all games which I have seen him play in.

As for formations, if it wasn't going to be 4-4-2 (with Milner replacing Petrov on the right, with Reo-Coker partnering Barry in the middle until Sidwell can come in and earn his place.)
    I would like to see Villa reverting back to the formation that did us so well at the start of last year (I know some teams learned to cope with it but I think with the new quality at our disposal it would be a lot harder to combat)

Brad F
    --Young
    Davies
    Laursen----Bouma--
    Sidwell----Reo-Coker----Barry
    --Milner
    Young
    Carew

Subs: Guzan/Taylor
    Cuellar
    Shorey
    Petrov
    Gabby
    Balou
    Gardner

lol @ everyone dropping Agbonlahor

We always said we wanted a striker to just put the ball in the back of the net, Gabby has shown he can do that given the right service so why you'd expect him to be dropped is anyone's guess.

As for Petrov/Milner, one is in the team the other isn't. The onus is on Stan to stay there, at the expense of Milner if needs be. Both will be better players and the team will be all the stronger for it.

gabby can occasionally do it given the right service, the rest of the time he wastes the ball, runs straight into opponents, or refuses to pass to players in better positions

Early last season perhaps but I think he has improved his link up play. If you watch him (impartially) he's a lot more sensible with the ball now than he was before.

Basically, he's a better player than last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Jays, Villa have a lot of English players!

Savman wrote: »
    Early last season perhaps but I think he has improved his link up play. If you watch him (impartially) he's a lot more sensible with the ball now than he was before.

Basically, he's a better player than last year.

hes nowhere near as good as he was last season, hes been utterly dreadful every time ive seen him. and ive sat in villa park and purposely watched his every move

the chap is a mess at the moment

dont know how you can say hes sensible with the ball. he still runs straight into opposition players, he still never looks up, and he still doesnt pass it when he gets within 25 yards of the goal