Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DT210 - Msc. in Computing (Part-Time)

Options
  • 15-07-2008 4:13pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭

So, my company has a education-funding program and I'm weighing up my options around Dublin. I'm a Systems Engineer for about 2 years, looking after about 200 Servers (hetrogenous makes + platforms) and accompanying hardware (SANs, various networking hardware, tape libraries).

I plan to stay in this role for a few years. At least the way it stands, I hope to move up to Senior SysEng / Team Lead as time goes by. However, I'm thinking down the line that I'd like to move into an IT Management position (be it in this company or with another) and I figure that a Masters may help me in that goal.

As I say, I'm only seeing what's out there now. I don't think my job has any relevant Masters courses (they tend to be the likes of Server+, CCNA, etc.), so I'm looking for something that's both interesting and is moderately future-proofed for C.V.'s purposes, hence my looking at the more generic IT Masters courses. If anyone has any suggestions at all, please feel free to comment!

I've a BSc. in Computer Science from DIT (FT/DT228) and also the Diploma in Computing from DIT (DT266, now defunct I believe!), so I naturally went looking at DIT first: http://www.dit.ie/DIT/study/graduate/courses/ft230.html - However, anywhere around Dublin I'd entertain. I live closer to DCU, so that's always an option.

Thanks in advance!
    Seán

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 NiteOwl2

I've said this in a previous post...