Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay bar in Midlands?

• 16-07-2008 2:18am
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I am a moderator on another message boards and there is a recurring theme of how there are no venues for gay and lesbian people in the Midlands. Some posters on the boards say it's because of virulent homophobia, small mindedness and small town attitudes and, becuase of that, there are so many LGBT people deep in the closet in the Midlands that wouldn't want to be seen using this venue.

But come on, it's 2008 and with that in mind, would there actually be scope for a gay bar in Athlone? Would it be supported? After all, if Galway can support three LGBT venues and a gay bar is now open and doing well in Strabane of all places, then surely it's time that a gay bar came to Athlone?

What do people think?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

JupiterKid wrote: »
    What do people think?

Whats wrong with normal bars. I have absolutely no problem with gays, I just don't understand the need for alienation.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

@Don Jose - try kissing another guy in a "normal" bar and see the reaction. In an ideal world, there would be no alienation or segregation. But lesbians and gay men need a space to meet up safely in - ergo the need for gay bars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Occidental

It would probably do quite well, though the first few months could be rough enough if the self righteous or local nutters pick up on it. As with all of these things, it's very much a matter of people getting used to it. Small mindedness, racism and begrudgery is very much alive and well in Athlone, and it covers all age groups.

Good luck with it if you can find someone to take up the challenge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭siralfalot

Occidental wrote: »
    Small mindedness, racism and begrudgery is very much alive and well in Athlone, and it covers all age groups.

not just Athlone, most of the blooming country outside the major citys is like that, anyone remember the fuss made over the lap dancing club in Rochfortbridge??

Thanks for the replies. There is an organisation - GLAM - that arragnges social meet ups and nights out for gays and lesbians in the Midlands but there are no permanent bars/venues to go to. I think that Athlone would be an obvious location for a bar/resource centre. Particularly since the general pub trade is is freefall and property prices are crashing - maybe there would be an old/closed pub in the town that could be re-opened amd refurbished.

Some posters have suggested that a "gay-friendly" place rather than a gay bar as such would do more business. I think that in the late 2000s, any sizable Irish town that has a gay bar would be a plus in its image as a modern, progressive, diverse and welcoming location. If an LGBT bar opened with no problem in up in Strabane, then why not Athlone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Occidental

I'd say more than half the pubs in town could be considered for sale at the moment and there's already a few closed down. The hardest part is finding someone to take the initiative and I can't see anyone in the local business community who's likely to show that much imagination. I'd say your best bet is to identify a suitable sympathetic venue(good luck with this one) in the town and start organising regular meet ups. If a landlord sees good regular custom coming across the bar, he won't want to loose the business and at the moment they need all the business they can get. Given time and regular support from the gay community I can't see why you can't transform one of the existing venues into what you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 G.L.A.M

Hello everyone...someone mentioned GLAM?! We are a midlands based social network set-up to try and get a few more things going for the LGBT community and friends of the LGBT community in the midland counties.
    DonJose wrote: »
    Whats wrong with normal bars. I have absolutely no problem with gays, I just don't understand the need for alienation.

You’re quite right there – gay people should be able to go out and mix with straights in the full range of bars and clubs available - we shouldn’t need to stay separate. But sadly, at this point in time security is a key factor. There is still a threat towards gay people in many midland areas, and as Jupiter Kid explained – simple displays of affection between gay people could be frowned upon.

GLAM has enjoyed some success in Mullingar where we can now decide to go to any one of the larger pubs available and be ourselves in relative safety. Sadly, we have yet to make a real impression in Athlone, but that is something we hope to help address when we re-launch in the Autumn.
    Occidental wrote: »
    It would probably do quite well, though the first few months could be rough enough if the self righteous or local nutters pick up on it.

Firstly, many bars seem to be struggling right now because of the economic situation and other factors such as drink driving controls and the expense incurred in finding alternative methods of transport. So would now be the right time to open any kind of bar – let alone a gay one? I can’t see anyone taking the risk right now which is a shame but maybe when things pick up a bit it will be different.

Secondly, you are right. In the UK many small towns now have a gay pub and each venue had its share of initial protests. These do calm down eventually when people realise that the gay folk are just going to treat them the same way they treat the other bigots they encounter on a daily basis. Water off a ducks back! In terms of nutters, well that comes down to security again but unless the issue is out there and gay people start going out openly, that will never be fixed.

As I have said, GLAM is hoping to set-up more meets in Athlone and other areas later in the year and I would encourage anyone who is gay in those areas, or who supports our group (straight friends welcome too!) to come out and support us. Only then with plenty of support will we be able to show that we have money to spend, that our custom should be encouraged and that we should feel safe and welcome anywhere.

I've heard from a poster on Gaire (the leading LGBT message boards in Ireland) that there is a rumour going around Athlone that Biddy Mulligans is to reopen either as a gay bar or "gay friendly" bar.

Is there any truth to these rumours?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

Didn't hear that about Biddy Mulligans and to be honest, I'd be completely against it. Not it being gay friendly, but the fact it's a hard to monitor area and there's too much scum about. You'll have people attacked by 12 year olds that can flee off into the back alleys. If there was one to be opened, it would probably be better situated towards the center of the town. But that's just my thoughts on it.

Again, I'd be of the opinion that there should be no segregation in pubs, but then again, I've never seen two men kiss in a pub, so wouldn't know what the general reaction to it would be.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Athlone has a very open and thriving gay community.

Ignorance and small mindedness is alive and well everywhere.

Are there any particularly gay bars in athlone?.. no, not that i can think of.

But as a town that prides its self on a great nightlife with good pubs clubs and some great resturants its not an inatitive that would be unwelcome.

I think it's high time that Athlone gets a gay bar and/or resource centre. There is absolutely NO-WHERE for gay people to congregate and be themselves in the entire Midlands, save for the odd night organised by GLAM which is very welcome I may add but a permanent venue is needed.

Mullingar is tooc lose to Dublin and Tullamore in a non-starter so Athlone would be a good location. It's not as if there aren't loads of closed/closing pubs in the town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 roscommonguy

:)Hi Guy's

I was reading some of the post's and it pee's me of at this day an age I think people are starting to come around with the hole "GAY" thing. So I put my thinking cap on and sat down with a good friend and came up with an idea I would like to give all the Gay Guy's & Girl's a opperuinity to enjoy them selves again and not have to hide away anymore. Just log on to this site
    www.cpmc.webs.com it's free to register and the best of all it's very Private. Follow the simple instructions . The launch will be held b4 the end of the summer of 2010.

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭athlonelad

didnt 41's used to have a "rainbow" night on a wednesday? would a gay bar have enough business in the town? I cant see someone opening one wtihout some sense of worry that it would be targeted by anti gays.

im not anti gay or anything but i dont think athlone would be able to support a gay bar. No richard Graces is not a gay bar this rumour goes around town everytime a new place opens up. Heard it about Metro/Local heard it about 41s heard it about coppers.

I dont think too many pubs are not "gay friendly" in athlone. isnt there legislation about that now

im not gay! Just saying a gay bar wouldnt go down too well with some in athlone

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭yoursaviour1989

you keep saying that someone should open up a gay bar in Athlone, quit whinging and do it yourself, don't expect people to cater to your whims

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 roscommonguy

As I have said again and again I am not intrested in opening up a gay bar in Athlone. My aim is to find out from the Gay and Bi People in Athlone if they would go to a pub if it was to hold a Gay night ?. It has nothing to with a gay bar thats the hols idea of the web site so if you would stop blabbing and log on to the web site and see what it's all about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭molloyjazz

athlonelad wrote: »
    didnt 41's used to have a "rainbow" night on a wednesday? would a gay bar have enough business in the town? I cant see someone opening one wtihout some sense of worry that it would be targeted by anti gays.

im not anti gay or anything but i dont think athlone would be able to support a gay bar. No richard Graces is not a gay bar this rumour goes around town everytime a new place opens up. Heard it about Metro/Local heard it about 41s heard it about coppers.

I dont think too many pubs are not "gay friendly" in athlone. isnt there legislation about that now

No it had Male strippers, which brought the ladies in.. and lads too i'd imagine as its was only a 30 min preformance.

As for Metro/Local id say that is a gay bar, alot of queer lookin fúckers and underage male hookers always smoking outside.

Also i think Gurty Browns could be one too.. this is why.. i was in there one day with an old mate back over on hollidays as he was living in holland at the time, anyway he drinks Guiness. We were both at the bar ordering our pints, there was only a couple of auld lads in there and it was quite, we were kinda in a quite mood too because of this. My mate asks the barman 'whats the guiness like?'... he replyed 'Its Dark... Creamy... and Orgasmic' we said nothing, both shocked.. feeling as if we were just verbally raped! we got our pints went around the corner to the seats at the back of the bar and started cracking up.. we promptly drank up and moved on to the next place.

molloyjazz wrote: »
    Also i think Gurty Browns could be one too.. this is why.. i was in there one day with an old mate back over on hollidays as he was living in holland at the time, anyway he drinks Guiness. We were both at the bar ordering our pints, there was only a couple of auld lads in there and it was quite, we were kinda in a quite mood too because of this. My mate asks the barman 'whats the guiness like?'... he replyed 'Its Dark... Creamy... and Orgasmic' we said nothing, both shocked.. feeling as if we were just verbally raped! we got our pints went around the corner to the seats at the back of the bar and started cracking up.. we promptly drank up and moved on to the next place.
    I think one or two of the barmen might be a bit on the gay side in there but i wouldnt call it a gay bar as its always full of older couples.

that guy deffinatly is, next time your in there ask how the guiness is, but be warned! i felt very very voilated.. and i didn't even ask!

FFS some of the latest replies like the one about a barman in Gertie Brown's and the "I'm not gay!" post show just how much a distance a little place like Athlone has to go to be ready for a gay bar.

Cop on a grow up some of yis...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭boredatwork82

Ah sure theres loads of gays in Athlone, you should be able to find them anyways on a night out, no need for a gay night.

I remember in college the lgbt society having their night out. They never advertised it, kept in low key. But you could spot the 8 of them sitting around a table in scribes from miles away. Gas enough!

As for the local been full of young male hookers... molloy jazz do you know where their female counterparts hangout?

Ah sure theres loads of gays in Athlone, you should be able to find them anyways on a night out, no need for a gay night.

I remember in college the lgbt society having their night out. They never advertised it, kept in low key. But you could spot the 8 of them sitting around a table in scribes from miles away. Gas enough!

As for the local been full of young male hookers... molloy jazz do you know where their female counterparts hangout?

Apparently across the road from Dunnes Stores in town!.. well they don't really hang out think you need ring them and then they meet ya near dunnes,.. google: escort athlone has 087/086 numbers ring them for the crack and get them to go dunnes u can check them out then, no purchase neccessary!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭boredatwork82

got any meteor escorts! I got free texts and calls to meteor numbers!

FFS some of the latest replies like the one about a barman in Gertie Brown's and the "I'm not gay!" post show just how much a distance a little place like Athlone has to go to be ready for a gay bar.

Cop on a grow up some of yis...:rolleyes:

Laughable comment. I was replying to another persons comment about Gertie Browns being full of gays and that is one of the reasons gays do drink there. I guess they feel more comfortable.
    Athlone is not a big enough town for a Gay only bar.

Laughable comment. I was replying to another persons comment about Gertie Browns being full of gays and that is one of the reasons gays do drink there. I guess they feel more comfortable.
    Athlone is not a big enough town for a Gay only bar.

If Athlone is not big enough, then how come Strabane and Kilkenny - both smaller than Athlone - have gay bars that are doing well?:rolleyes: The Midlands needs a gay venue and if you have a problem with that then get over it.

Ive no problem with gay bars, but are normal bars not enough for the gays why must you put a tag on a bar by calling it a gay bar. I never heard of a "straight bar".:D

got any meteor escorts! I got free texts and calls to meteor numbers!

LOL:D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Its hard enough for publicans to make ends meet now, i dont see personally how a gay bar would survive in Athlone. That said, i dont have any problem with gay bars, ive never been in one, nor do i think id be going to one for the pint of beer. I have no moral objections to gay bars, as Homosexuality is not immoral.. (im uncomfortable around overtly gay people - but thats something i will learn to deal with in time myself im sure)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Ive no problem with gay bars, but are normal bars not enough for the gays why must you put a tag on a bar by calling it a gay bar. I never heard of a "straight bar".:D

I hate this argument.

Straight people aren't a minority. Straight people (generally) aren't discriminated against or massively misunderstood or targeted for hate crime or violence. Straight people don't have to deal with immature idiots tossing out varied insults and sniggers.

There's a reason gays want gay bars. They're sick of dealing with ignorant people and want a place of refuge where they can enjoy themselves without having to deal with bigots. Like straight people do in every single other bar ever.