Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dodgey Mechanic!!!

• 16-07-2008 9:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭

Hi all!! some help needed??

Today I brought my car to a mechanic to get the brakes changed, I have alloy wheels which have locks on them so I left the key for the locks in a little box for him! when I came back he said he had lost it!:mad:

He told me could try and break of the bolts which are locked with a chisel I tink it wus and a hammer but he never told me he would damage my alloys in the process!!:( none the less his method didnt work! and he told me that he might have to cut the alloys to remove them! But what good is that to me! I dont want to end up with no alloys!

Should he pay for the damages? I just cant imagine hes gonna pay for a set of new alloys if he has to cut them:(:(:(!!!

If anyone has any suggestions or advice it would be greatly appreciated!!???:):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭LolaDub

I'd imagine if he admitted he had lost them he would be liable for some of the damage but i really don't know. Good Luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

WHAT?!?! By no means you should pay anything to this cowboy. I'd be getting on to my solicitor if my alloys were damaged, especially considering he was given the tool to remove the alloys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

He was given the tool and he lost it..

he then damaged your alloys...

of course he should pay!

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Amzie

WHAT?!?! By no means you should pay anything to this cowboy. I'd be getting on to my solicitor if my alloys were damaged, especially considering he was given the tool to remove the alloys.
    ClioV6 wrote: »
    He was given the tool and he lost it..

he then damaged your alloys...

of course he should pay!

I know he should pay but will he pay that is the question. Would you say I need to take it further if so by what means???

A solicitors letter????

Im really pisssed off about it!!:mad::mad:

Is it even worth my while??
    What happens if I get a puncture and i cant get the wheel off?????:eek::eek::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I know it's a bit late now, but why didn't he just pay for a replacement key for the locknuts? In any case, you should accept nothing less than your car back as you gave it to him - ie with undamaged alloys, undamaged locknuts, and a key for them.

Perhaps put your complaint in writing and drop it into him/email it. If he doesn't reply/replies unfavourably send it to a consumer agency. Or can anyone advise who to send a complaint like this?

Anan1 wrote: »
    I know it's a bit late now, but why didn't he just pay for a replacement key for the locknuts? In any case, you should accept nothing less than your car back as you gave it to him - ie with undamaged alloys, undamaged locknuts, and a key for them.

As far as im aware he couldnt get one but I have started another thread hoping someone might have the same alloys as myself and be able to get them off! :confused: this is such a nightmare!! all I wanted was new brakepads!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

LolaDub wrote: »
    Perhaps put your complaint in writing and drop it into him/email it. If he doesn't reply/replies unfavourably send it to a consumer agency. Or can anyone advise who to send a complaint like this?

Director of consumer affairs AFAIK. Or CAI.

Amzie, - do not let that cowboy near your alloys with a chisel, he'll destroy them. As Anan1 said, get him to pay for a new key at the minimum and get your car out of there pronto.

Amzie wrote: »
    As far as im aware he couldnt get one but I have started another thread hoping someone might have the same alloys as myself and be able to get them off! :confused: this is such a nightmare!! all I wanted was new brakepads!:mad:

Is it an aftermarket lock or did it come with the car?

What make of car / alloy?

SteveC wrote: »

Amzie, - do not let that cowboy near your alloys with a chisel, he'll destroy them. As Anan1 said, get him to pay for a new key at the minimum and get your car out of there pronto.

Yeah that sounds like a good idea!Thanks for the advice:) Im a bit soft when it comes to these kinda things! I hate big confrontations but I just cant afford to be forking out repairs or possibly new alloys! He said hes looking into geting a key, hes ringing me tomorrow! so fingers crossed! I definitely wont be going to him again!:mad:

Is it an aftermarket lock or did it come with the car?

What make of car / alloy?

No they came with the car, Peugeot 206 Wolfrace alloys 15"

AFAIK the keys are easy enough to get then. Sounds like the mechanic is talking BS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Either of those will want you to try and sort it yourself first. They will only help if you come up against a brick wall

AFAIK the keys are easy enough to get then. Sounds like the mechanic is talking BS.

hes was going at the bolts with drills and everything! very worrying! he even broke 3 drill bits trying to drill through the bolts! surely this isnt good?? and he still couldnt get them off! I went to other garages and they said he did such a bad job of it that they wouldnt even go near it!!:eek::eek:

If I cant get a new key for the lock is the only way to get the wheel off to break the alloy??:eek::eek:as this is what hes told me!!

Onkle wrote: »
    Either of those will want you to try and sort it yourself first. They will only help if you come up against a brick wall

So what should I do first then??:):confused:

Write a letter to him outlining that you want any damage that he caused repaired and also a new key. Give him a deadline also. Send it by registered post so there is a record also

umm good Idea;)
    Obviously Il keep a copy of that letter too yeah?:confused: what kind of a deadline should i give him 2weeks a month? what should I do if he dosent respond?:rolleyes:

I think the standard is 10 (working?) days. Then go to who Stevec suggested if no response or no satisfactory response.

Ive never gotten into a legal battle before(if this is what its going to be!) and do i need to get a solicitor involved at this stage or is a handwritten/typed letter be sufficent to him? should I also quote and references to get it fixed or anything like that?:confused::o

Yes, give him 10 days. Keep a copy for yourself also. And make sure it is sent by registered post, that way him or one of his employees would have signed for it and they can't deny ever getting it

Ive never gotten into a legal battle before(if this is what its going to be!) and do i need to get a solicitor involved at this stage or is a handwritten/typed letter be sufficent to him? should I also quote and references to get it fixed or anything like that?:confused::o

Has he offered to do anything for you so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

might not be much help as i dont know the name of the tool, but a local auto-shop in the NW showed me a tool they have for taking off lock nuts, it was like a standard socket, but there was teeth coming out of it. It went over the lock nut and griped it and then he just turned it and it came off. I couldn't believe how easy it was, especially seen my lock nuts were round and smooth.

So if you cant get a key for them (although you should) see if some garage has one of these tools. Dont let this cowboy damage your alloys further unless he has a new set sitting waiting for you, for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Good question.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Good question.

Thank you, I aim to please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Forget chisels, drill bits, waste of time, Take it to someone who does welding/ fabrication This lad hasn't a clue. When we needed to remove the locknuts we would mig weld an old socket to the lock nut then weld the removed locknut to the other so on . The end result is 4 locknuts welded to each other. Dont forget to stick him for a new set of lock nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Get him to weld a normal wheel nut on to the lock nut and just turn and remove. Its not that hard....

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Plug wrote: »
    Get him to weld a normal wheel nut on to the lock nut and just turn and remove. Its not that hard....

Excellent idea. I've seen it done and it works too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I just came in to suggest post 28.
    Really is/should be first course of action if you loose key, unless you can source new key quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭TechieEddy

Im just after buying a 206 with Wolface alloys!! you can try and use my one if ya want.

PM me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

This is a bit mad alright, hope you have some luck.

Could you go to the local Peugeot dealer and get a new key for the lock then bill the mechanic? Although I'd advise getting him to agree to this first. I guess in an ideal world he should do go get it himself but he sounds like a bit of a headcase so he's likely to get the wrong key or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭roughan

there are lots of tools that can remove lock nuts
    without cutting the alloy etc.
    halfords actually a universal one!!!

a lock is only to keep an honest man out .........

http://forums.teamphoenixrising.net/showthread.php?t=32340

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8Uc2SlkSPM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

Firstly, how did he loose the key??

Mechanics specialise in not loosing things!! When your taking an engine apart every little bit matters! i can't believe he lost it in the first place...

Anyway he sounds like a complete hacker, would take the car back asap before there is any more damage done to it.... Maybe a trip to the local quick/fast fit place as they must see these sort of problems all the time..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I agree with the previous poster, get your car back asap. I wouldn't even trust that mechanic to get the car washed.

He has offered to pay for new lock nuts but honesty he dosent have a clue he had 3 other guys looking at it took over 2 hours and still cudnt shift one nut there wus smoke coming out of the alloys and everything!

Forget chisels, drill bits, waste of time, Take it to someone who does welding/ fabrication This lad hasn't a clue. When we needed to remove the locknuts we would mig weld an old socket to the lock nut then weld the removed locknut to the other so on . The end result is 4 locknuts welded to each other. Dont forget to stick him for a new set of lock nuts.

Yeah I just heard about that from someone the other day! but I dunno would I trust the mechanic to do it:eek::eek:

This is a bit mad alright, hope you have some luck.

Could you go to the local Peugeot dealer and get a new key for the lock then bill the mechanic? Although I'd advise getting him to agree to this first. I guess in an ideal world he should do go get it himself but he sounds like a bit of a headcase so he's likely to get the wrong key or something.

Ive already tried they were pretty horrible to me! I practically had to beg them to look at em! the man kept sayin we wouldnt have any keys to unlock alloys and I wus like what?? :eek: they eventually had a look and said they couldnt do anything for me and not even suggesting anything:(

Firstly, how did he loose the key??

Mechanics specialise in not loosing things!! When your taking an engine apart every little bit matters! i can't believe he lost it in the first place...

Anyway he sounds like a complete hacker, would take the car back asap before there is any more damage done to it.... Maybe a trip to the local quick/fast fit place as they must see these sort of problems all the time..

aw dont worry I wouldnt leave my car with him!I was already pissed off enough with him! ive tried like all those places and no success all of em sayin youl never get em off after the mess hes made:(
    I agree with the previous poster, get your car back asap. I wouldn't even trust that mechanic to get the car washed.
    dont worry shes outside my door!lol:D
    roughan wrote: »
    there are lots of tools that can remove lock nuts
    without cutting the alloy etc.
    halfords actually a universal one!!!

a lock is only to keep an honest man out .........

http://forums.teamphoenixrising.net/showthread.php?t=32340

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8Uc2SlkSPM

oh if only halfords was in waterford! my breaks need changing and I dont fancy a trip up to carlow in her :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

What a muppet of a mechanic in fairness. What was he thinking of? Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Take it to someone who does welding/fabrication as a living. They have the expertise and are competent for the most part. What if you get a flat tyre on the road, you will be in big do-do then, Cost to get towed etc,etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Canis_major

Its a crap situation to be in TBH and I'd be looking for cost of repairs from siad "mechanic", its a pain in the rear but dont be afraid to take it to small claims court if angry letters get you nowhere.
    If you have any mates with a welder get them to put an old socket on top of the lock nuts as a last resort, messy but may save you a set of wheels or being towed for a flat tyre!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Canis_major

Just noticed someone else suggested the same thing. :o
    Best of luck OP

just to let ye know I got new alloys.. the mechanic paid up! so its all sorted finally got my brakes changed at long last! yay!!!:D

Thanks for all the advice!
    Amz;)

Well done Amzie

And fair play to the mechanic in the end too