Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dodgey Mechanic!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭roughan

there are lots of tools that can remove lock nuts
    without cutting the alloy etc.
    halfords actually a universal one!!!

a lock is only to keep an honest man out .........

http://forums.teamphoenixrising.net/showthread.php?t=32340

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8Uc2SlkSPM

• Registered Users Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

Firstly, how did he loose the key??

Mechanics specialise in not loosing things!! When your taking an engine apart every little bit matters! i can't believe he lost it in the first place...

Anyway he sounds like a complete hacker, would take the car back asap before there is any more damage done to it.... Maybe a trip to the local quick/fast fit place as they must see these sort of problems all the time..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I agree with the previous poster, get your car back asap. I wouldn't even trust that mechanic to get the car washed.

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Amzie

Onkle wrote: »
    Has he offered to do anything for you so far?

He has offered to pay for new lock nuts but honesty he dosent have a clue he had 3 other guys looking at it took over 2 hours and still cudnt shift one nut there wus smoke coming out of the alloys and everything!

Forget chisels, drill bits, waste of time, Take it to someone who does welding/ fabrication This lad hasn't a clue. When we needed to remove the locknuts we would mig weld an old socket to the lock nut then weld the removed locknut to the other so on . The end result is 4 locknuts welded to each other. Dont forget to stick him for a new set of lock nuts.

Yeah I just heard about that from someone the other day! but I dunno would I trust the mechanic to do it:eek::eek:

This is a bit mad alright, hope you have some luck.

Could you go to the local Peugeot dealer and get a new key for the lock then bill the mechanic? Although I'd advise getting him to agree to this first. I guess in an ideal world he should do go get it himself but he sounds like a bit of a headcase so he's likely to get the wrong key or something.

Ive already tried they were pretty horrible to me! I practically had to beg them to look at em! the man kept sayin we wouldnt have any keys to unlock alloys and I wus like what?? :eek: they eventually had a look and said they couldnt do anything for me and not even suggesting anything:(

Firstly, how did he loose the key??

Mechanics specialise in not loosing things!! When your taking an engine apart every little bit matters! i can't believe he lost it in the first place...

Anyway he sounds like a complete hacker, would take the car back asap before there is any more damage done to it.... Maybe a trip to the local quick/fast fit place as they must see these sort of problems all the time..

aw dont worry I wouldnt leave my car with him!I was already pissed off enough with him! ive tried like all those places and no success all of em sayin youl never get em off after the mess hes made:(
    I agree with the previous poster, get your car back asap. I wouldn't even trust that mechanic to get the car washed.
    dont worry shes outside my door!lol:D
    roughan wrote: »
    there are lots of tools that can remove lock nuts
    without cutting the alloy etc.
    halfords actually a universal one!!!

a lock is only to keep an honest man out .........

http://forums.teamphoenixrising.net/showthread.php?t=32340

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8Uc2SlkSPM

oh if only halfords was in waterford! my breaks need changing and I dont fancy a trip up to carlow in her :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

What a muppet of a mechanic in fairness. What was he thinking of? Seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Take it to someone who does welding/fabrication as a living. They have the expertise and are competent for the most part. What if you get a flat tyre on the road, you will be in big do-do then, Cost to get towed etc,etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 Canis_major

Its a crap situation to be in TBH and I'd be looking for cost of repairs from siad "mechanic", its a pain in the rear but dont be afraid to take it to small claims court if angry letters get you nowhere.
    If you have any mates with a welder get them to put an old socket on top of the lock nuts as a last resort, messy but may save you a set of wheels or being towed for a flat tyre!

• Registered Users Posts: 32 Canis_major

Just noticed someone else suggested the same thing. :o
    Best of luck OP

just to let ye know I got new alloys.. the mechanic paid up! so its all sorted finally got my brakes changed at long last! yay!!!:D

Thanks for all the advice!
    Amz;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Well done Amzie

And fair play to the mechanic in the end too