Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Baby names!

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭PuddingHead

it's just a choice, my mother didn't have one and still gives out to this day that she didn't get one.

I think they usually sound good with a first name or so both parents can choose a name.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭emz8

Think I'll join in on this as I'm making my own name list!

We *think* we are having a girl. (They said they were only 60% sure it was a girl as they couldn't really see! Anyone else been told that?)

So far, I have Lyla, Laila, Lilia, Elise, Robyn, Morgan, Bobbie and Georgie.

Kind of struggling with boys names, my brother passed away a couple of years ago, his name was Daniel. I actually love the name, and am feeling like its expected of me to name the baby after him, but I dunno, I feel like I'd be constantly be comparing them or something! Only other boys name is Bobbie. Boys names are way harder!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

emz8 wrote: »
    Think I'll join in on this as I'm making my own name list!

We *think* we are having a girl. (They said they were only 60% sure it was a girl as they couldn't really see! Anyone else been told that?)

Kind of struggling with boys names, my brother passed away a couple of years ago, his name was Daniel. I actually love the name, and am feeling like its expected of me to name the baby after him, but I dunno, I feel like I'd be constantly be comparing them or something! Only other boys name is Bobbie. Boys names are way harder!

Ive always been a fan of Nathaniel. Something a bit different that would incorporate your brother's name without being too obvious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭seosamh1980

emz8 couldn't you make Daniel his middle name? Nathaniel is a nice idea too, I know a lovely little boy called that, Nate for short.

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Hello Lady!

I agree, Eloise is a gorgeous name, and unusual without being weird or too quirky. It would have been top of my list only for the fact that half of hubby's family are not native English speakers and would have had no clue low to pronounce it resulting in half her cousins not being able to say the name.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭Pipmae

It's a lovely name but it's been very very popular for the last few years. There'd probably be at least two other Ellas in every class she's in, every activity she joins etc.

There is an Ellie, Ella, Ellen and an Ali in my DD's class (1st class).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭nikpmup

Immy wrote: »
    I hope you don't live in south Dublin or you're about to hear of a few more, there are bloody loads of them. Going to be 3 in my sons Montessori next year. There are only 20 kids in the class in total.

There was me thinking I was super original :rolleyes:

I'm not, im in west Dublin. I'm hoping it doesn't become too popular! It wasn't on the CSO top 100 list for 2012.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Lucuma

No you don't have to give one.

What is the purpose of them then? I mean obviously I can see the reason for doing it if you're using a grandmother/grandfather/other relation's name. It's a way of commemorating that person or it's a nod to them if they're still alive.

But other than that does anyone know of any purpose for the middle name? Does anyone actually use their middle name now? I know it's not written on any of my legal documents like passport, bank cards, tax certificates, pension documents etc etc. I know americans actually use their middle initial but I think in Ireland we don't use our middle names at all do we?

Pipmae wrote: »
    There is an Ellie, Ella, Ellen and an Ali in my DD's class (1st class).

OMG, the poor teacher! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

I was in a class back when I was in Belgiumin secondary school where we had:

Two An's
    Two Els's
    Three Stefaan's
    2 sets of identical twins .... in a class of about 24

Thinking back, they are the teachers I pitty!

emz8 wrote: »

Friends of mine called their daughter the first name on your list, but they spelled it Lilah.

Also there was a girl in my class in college (hence in her 30s now) who was called the 2nd name on your list but it was spelled Leila (her Dad was arabic, Mum was irish)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Lucuma wrote: »
    What is the purpose of them then? I mean obviously I can see the reason for doing it if you're using a grandmother/grandfather/other relation's name. It's a way of commemorating that person or it's a nod to them if they're still alive.

But other than that does anyone know of any purpose for the middle name? Does anyone actually use their middle name now? I know it's not written on any of my legal documents like passport, bank cards, tax certificates, pension documents etc etc. I know americans actually use their middle initial but I think in Ireland we don't use our middle names at all do we?

I think years ago the purpose of middle names was for when you were baptising children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

I thought it was for the massive families of 100 years ago. So where you have 16 kids, and maybe three of them are called Michael, you give them different middle names. There used to be all these rules/traditions that people followed about naming. First born son was named after the paternal grandfather, second son after the maternal grandfather, third son after the father... something like that. So if all those people were Michael's you got stuck fairly rapidly without a second name.

Not sure why it would be needed for being baptised. I've no middle name, and I was baptised.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

In out case, we used a middle name as we couldnt agree on one name, I was stuck on one, my wife on another so we named him:

Her Choice, my choice --> Evan Scott

And like a good Irish mummy she only uses his full name when he's done some thing wrong :p

My middle name is used quite a bit. Its initialed on my bank statements and card, my college prints it on all my transcripts and my midwife took it and it will be on my birth cert for my baby when they come. I think it adds a bit of extra flow to a chosen name and obviously can aldo be used as a subtle way to honor someone close to the family. But originally I think it was a baptism thing. We arent baptising our child, but theyre still getting a middle name!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭dori_dormer

I knew a girl in school who was known by her middle name. Her parents were from the country as far as I remember. I also think it helps to differentiate people who are named after parents/grand parents.

Ours will be getting a middle name to honour my Dad who never got a son to name after himself! :) No Christening tho!

My middle name is on my passport. I just took it off my driving license there a few weeks ago. Will probably do the same on the passport, unless theres a rule like it has to be exact same as on birth cert or something

GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    In out case, we used a middle name as we couldnt agree on one name, I was stuck on one, my wife on another so we named him:

Her Choice, my choice --> Evan Scott

I'd say that happens quite a bit....and if one person can tell me an example where it was decided to go with:

His choice, her choice

I'll eat my hat! :D

I'm really interested that some of you aren't having baptisms. I thought everyone still did that in Ireland regardless of whether they hadn't darkened the door of a church in 10 or 20 years! Fair play to ye for sticking up for what ye (don't) believe in

I'd say that happens quite a bit....and if one person can tell me an example where it was decided to go with:

His choice, her choice

I'm really interested that some of you aren't having baptisms. I thought everyone still did that in Ireland regardless of whether they hadn't darkened the door of a church in 10 or 20 years! Fair play to ye for sticking up for what ye (don't) believe in

Think non church weddings are getting more and more popular now especially with the humanist celebrants being able to marry people. Follows on that there would be no baptism for any children that come along. My Dad was shocked that we arent baptising our bump, even though we didnt marry in a church and he knows why. he did threaten to steal the baby away for a secret baptism tho! He most def will not be given babysitting duties!

Think non church weddings are getting more and more popular now especially with the humanist celebrants being able to marry people. Follows on that there would be no baptism for any children that come along.

Yeah that's true. Big difference is I suppose that there's a non-church alternative to a wedding. Just coz you don't get married in the church doesn't mean you don't get to have a wedding. You just have a humanist or other wedding. But if you don't have a church baptism what alternative celebration is there to bring both sides of the family together to celebrate the baby's birth in a formal way? The new Ireland needs to develop one....there could be a market for humanist christenings I'd say?

In our case, his family live 3 hours drive away from mine, and they almost never, ever meet. So for us the christening will be huge in that it will be a rare occasion to get the 2 sides of the family together. I can't see his family necessarily travelling to Cork for say a birthday party, but they definitely will for a christening coz it's seen as a big deal. So it's not an option for us to not have one as we'd be missing a real rare opportunity for our families to meet!

But if you don't have a church baptism what alternative celebration is there to bring both sides of the family together to celebrate the baby's birth in a formal way? The new Ireland needs to develop one....there could be a market for humanist christenings I'd say?

Humanists do Naming ceremonies, where you can even have 'guide parents' and they also do funerals too! Id definitly have my funeral with them, bamboo biodegradable coffin and all! :D

Im debating the naming ceremony at the mo. Part of me feels its just copy catting the religious for the sake of it. might just have a big party instead for the new arrival. From living abroad, other religions dont necessarily have ceremonies/parties for babies, people just visit cos they want to see the baby!

Anyone else had a baby name picked for a long time and then right before they are due panicked a little about the choice?? Im scared Ive gone off Eli!

His choice, her choice

Elliot Brody and Lori Alexis. Both his choice, his choice :P He did get a few nudges in the right direction though!
    No baptisms because neither myself or my partner believe in any god or deity, and dont feel it is right to subject a child to a Catholic upbringing without their consent. If they made the decision to become Catholic, or any other religion for that matter, we would be fully supportive within reason. But I dont think wearing nice clothes and getting money off relatives is a reason to force a child into making promises to God that we, and they, have no idea if theyll be able to keep.

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

Its interesting to see some of the suggested names from the beginning of this thread and the end of the celtic tiger have a lot in common,some examples rain,sky,piper,moses.
    As of 2014 we are more grounded and choosing far more sensible names that wont end up scarring the kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

You're from the future :eek:

And the award goes to ....ShashaBear - get the names you like but he thinks they're his choices, master stroke!! hehe ;o)

Yeah dormer for me the christening is about bringing both sides of the baby's family together. They are going to be joint grandparents/aunts/uncles to this baby now so it's a good chance for them to get to know each other a bit better and give them a chance to socialise together. Any excuse for a hooley eh! ;o)

And the award goes to ....ShashaBear - get the names you like but he thinks they're his choices, master stroke!! hehe ;o)

Yeah dormer for me the christening is about bringing both sides of the baby's family together. They are going to be joint grandparents/aunts/uncles to this baby now so it's a good chance for them to get to know each other a bit better and give them a chance to socialise together. Any excuse for a hooley eh! ;o)

I was smart, wrote a REALLY long list of about 40 names for each sex that I like, and put it in my college bag on the way to exams at the start of January. He was packing lunch for me and found it. Never said a word, just announced the names he liked, and since I'd technically pre-picked them, he thinks he's done the naming himself - well he has, really. Only nudge he got was that he wanted Brady Elliot, but I said, I love Brady, just a pity your folks surname is Brady (mother remarried). So it became Elliot Brady, and then Brody :P

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Hello Lady!

We're having a non religious naming ceremony for our girls. I posted a thread asking for ideas and experiences of any other parents who did the same. I am leaning towards having a humanist celebrant, but cost might be a factor. I have been given prices of €250 to €400 for a celebrant which I think is a bit too much of an extravagance. But that is from registered solemnisers. The good thing about a naming ceremony or a Funeral is that, unlike a wedding, there is no legal requirement of the ceremony so you can get a solemniser who isn't HSE registered. A family friend is a humanist celebrant who is not yet approved so possibly we might use him as he won't charge much for conducting the ceremony.

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

Maybe it was easier not so long ago in Ireland where the child wss snatched from the mother and baptised in the hospital chapel.
    Happened to both my brothers and then you did not have to bother with any christening party.
    Suppose then it was just treated as normal you had a child now its treated more of a celebration or an event in people lives and any excuse for a knees up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭seosamh1980

hedgehog2 wrote: »
    Maybe it was easier not so long ago in Ireland where the child wss snatched from the mother and baptised in the hospital chapel.
    Happened to both my brothers and then you did not have to bother with any christening party.
    Suppose then it was just treated as normal you had a child now its treated more of a celebration or an event in people lives and any excuse for a knees up.

I remember thinking about that when I was made a Godparent, all I had to do was show up, but years ago the Godparents took a few day old baby and got it baptised, imagine the responsibility of taking somebody else 5 or 6 day old baby, taking it somewhere, and having to mind it! Too intense. Standing there wiping his head was enough for me and he was 6 weeks old :)

On an aside note to having the same name as someone in the family and using middle names to distinguish, I have the same name as a very close relative, and I've never been called anything other than it, so there's two of us. There's also two male relatives with the same name in my immediate family. It's funny how after a while our family, friends and particularly small children can distinguish which person you're talking about based on the context of what you're saying almost all the time. Poor babies do get baffled when they are just learning names and instructions and are told to do something relating to "Ciara" and there's two of us :P

I remember thinking about that when I was made a Godparent, all I had to do was show up, but years ago the Godparents took a few day old baby and got it baptised, imagine the responsibility of taking somebody else 5 or 6 day old baby, taking it somewhere, and having to mind it! Too intense. Standing there wiping his head was enough for me and he was 6 weeks old :)

On an aside note to having the same name as someone in the family and using middle names to distinguish, I have the same name as a very close relative, and I've never been called anything other than it, so there's two of us. There's also two male relatives with the same name in my immediate family. It's funny how after a while our family, friends and particularly small children can distinguish which person you're talking about based on the context of what you're saying almost all the time. Poor babies do get baffled when they are just learning names and instructions and are told to do something relating to "Ciara" and there's two of us :P

Same in my family funnily, my dad and brother have the same name, and even when my brother overshadowed my dad by half a foot, it was always Big Glenn and Little Glenn :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

Yeah that's true. Big difference is I suppose that there's a non-church alternative to a wedding. Just coz you don't get married in the church doesn't mean you don't get to have a wedding. You just have a humanist or other wedding. But if you don't have a church baptism what alternative celebration is there to bring both sides of the family together to celebrate the baby's birth in a formal way? The new Ireland needs to develop one....there could be a market for humanist christenings I'd say?

In our case, his family live 3 hours drive away from mine, and they almost never, ever meet. So for us the christening will be huge in that it will be a rare occasion to get the 2 sides of the family together. I can't see his family necessarily travelling to Cork for say a birthday party, but they definitely will for a christening coz it's seen as a big deal. So it's not an option for us to not have one as we'd be missing a real rare opportunity for our families to meet!

I think we might end up doing a BIG first birthday party. And it'll be made clear to relatives that they shouldn't count on any other "big day out" that they keep hinting at, such as a wedding or a christening - this will be the big one, so they can come, or they can choose not to. :)

It'll actually be a nice time for it, he'll be a lot older than most babies who get christened, so he'll be able to participate and interact with everyone a lot more!