Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some pictures I took recently

• Registered Users Posts: 9,324 ✭✭✭keps

oops sorry - these are the brent geese

31D78424C2054A2195906D7CB2F3741E-0000337703-0003722951-01024L-206B4C35AB1A44A6A1D82091D2E55A42.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Bonedigger

A rather chilled-out looking Fox
    96119ED6EB68410BAEB0D49674CD1141-0000372749-0003722987-00800L-F6514624E1FF43898D39386DFA999933.jpg

"You put the heart crossways in me.......I thought you had a gun!!!" :D
    21513F8F667A4256985EF930E8DAD055-0000372749-0003722988-00800L-3643F59C5C734A07AF7FD9DB68F32E17.jpg

B3D3FD03527A4572A920A0F6E1D3CD24-0000372749-0003722989-00800L-7D3A61A7037D423ABD00A13E6CC06187.jpg

Treecreeper
    572AA45504E5454F80B962E1D630DF45-0000372749-0003722990-00800L-C834467EFF1E4A62A6A213BFE7934262.jpg

A wonderfully camouflaged Bracket fungus
    C52E6ABDE6594C5B82F72E55F39E5AAA-0000372749-0003722992-00800L-219556563AD54E4ABDD924D0CDA8AA0F.jpg

3A46E17A4BD2415E90876CDC81C8C408-0000372749-0003722993-00800L-6ADA21686A6A430BAD0BC522FF9D1B17.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

Hi all I just want to say all your pictures are amazing and I hope as I get better I can take shots like all of you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Bonedigger

hollster2 wrote: »
    Hi all I just want to say all your pictures are amazing and I hope as I get better I can take shots like all of you :)

Don't wait to get better :), just post your pics. anyway - we'd all like to see them!

Thank you so here it goes then :) a few photos I took the last few weeks ones I think would be my best :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭chrisb1

Nice pics dragonfly is a sweet shot :)

Thank you :)

I have this Dragonfly one too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Capercaille

keps wrote: »
    oops sorry - these are the brent geese

31D78424C2054A2195906D7CB2F3741E-0000337703-0003722951-01024L-206B4C35AB1A44A6A1D82091D2E55A42.jpg

Teal and a wigeon thrown in for good measure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭chrisb1

There would be lots of wildlife up around you way plenty of opportunities to snap good photos

• Registered Users Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭bernard0368

B3679F7B975645B9A17D3582387C4A4C-0000314502-0003723018-00800L-F5E5D7C003E24CD9801BF4D135899B9A.jpg

Teal and a wigeon thrown in for good measure.

thanks - I was wondering about the smaller birds- they all took off together -flew as a flock and landed in a group!

BTW larger view of flight here - can be scrolled across

http://pix.ie/keps/3723063/size/2000

• Registered Users Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭gzoladz

Yesterday in Booterstown - bear with me, just started learning photoshop...

Redshank

C4503395BDF6495CBCB42E2CEA06559D-0000376699-0003723097-01024L-93D8CF9A07F94DFF9CDDDB69B6416D0D.jpg

Goldcrest

FB3D5F4688D44334959026B8C9C4687F-0000376699-0003723098-01024L-CAF69EB2085A4303893AAAB829FBCA41.jpg

Becoming a 'regular'.
    Reed Bunting - back garden this morning

9126215169054D048B967654935EFF4F-0000337703-0003723141-00890L-6D03A2C0DA6D4ABE8A8200301EFC630C.jpg

7478FC0FE25F440C9F5C8D43F091140E-0000337703-0003723142-00890L-E8150C478AD94F9EB8CC92E25A16D2BB.jpg

331771E0183C4A58A173992DDBB22322-0000337703-0003723143-00890L-8C7739E1CFE145088BDE2F809E8993CA.jpg

16E9625A49EA435A822BCA3F407A336A-0000337703-0003723144-00890L-1C8C6840E61743C2BED5B6DF9B96E7DF.jpg

literally 10 mins ago caught him in flight totally by fluke!!

C53E5D843E6D4FC0874A729E78CC5A8C-0000337703-0003723146-00890L-ED9A59CE534D4A8CB2FBF4903E031E7A.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭gzoladz

Mainly driven by my own curiosity, I have set up a poll to identify the most popular setup for N&BW members when it comes to nature photography.

Link below

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057373570

• Registered Users Posts: 619 ✭✭✭vistafinder

keps wrote: »
    literally 10 mins ago caught him in flight totally by fluke!!

And I spent hours in the snow this morning trying to get the garden birds in flight.

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭splish

Sika Tomnafinnoge Woods

6515F65C1D8C4BAD9CF2880D0BDDC768-0000371741-0003723157-00800L-F7829F2B469946EC8C7256F144EB51CB.jpg

A420495F53814B1988F8303415797E0A-0000371741-0003723156-00800L-07F442E0920F498CBF6C4C522504580C.jpg

A904DF1865214D8DB834CEB3F12A4852-0000371741-0003723155-00800L-229AA0A28488400F84FAFB5E67925468.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

And I thought I was seeing things when I got a glimpse of one through the trees down there last year!

There beautiful this forest is 5 minutes from me I always seen something run past at the corner of my eye amazing :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,580 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

this chap spent a few minutes looping overhead today.

337443.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,580 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

actually, is it a chap?

Went for a walk today and this Robin came very close.

When I went down on my knees to get level with it. It made this pose.

It kind of looked like it was saying Are you throwing shapes at me!

It was looking at me head on.

15809549903_f5a64b58c9_c.jpg
    Robin by vistafind, on Flickr

A few from the snow this morning in West Cork

16242189610_4532d283eb_c.jpg
    Goldfinch by vistafind, on Flickr

16242188460_e17a2723cd_c.jpg

16241945418_d39bb0d0cf_c.jpg

16242182800_2099d6d42b_c.jpg

16428651152_14f775803b_c.jpg

16242180780_4fa7fd6138_c.jpg
    Blue Tit by vistafind, on Flickr

that second shot is superb.

The shapes they make in the air are beautiful

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭PUnited

Fair play to ye all, i wouldnt be into the pic taking myself but i love nature. i will have a few hours now to enjoy all these wonderful pictures please keep up your good work lads and lassies.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MajesticDonkey

What sort of shutter speed is recommended for in-flight shots?

You'd certainly need to go to 1/800th second or above
    The shot of the Reed Bunting above was 1/2500th sec

A lot of the posters here use upload/share sites where the photo itself gives full exif data on all the camera/lens/ settings of each photo.

So if you double click on the photo , all these details become available.
    I always do that:)
    Hoping to learn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Capercaille

splish wrote: »
    Sika Tomnafinnoge Woods

6515F65C1D8C4BAD9CF2880D0BDDC768-0000371741-0003723157-00800L-F7829F2B469946EC8C7256F144EB51CB.jpg

A420495F53814B1988F8303415797E0A-0000371741-0003723156-00800L-07F442E0920F498CBF6C4C522504580C.jpg

A904DF1865214D8DB834CEB3F12A4852-0000371741-0003723155-00800L-229AA0A28488400F84FAFB5E67925468.jpg

I remember you saying you were an ecologist (I think). Whenever Im there I can't but notice how few oak saplings in the forest. Are the deer preventing regeneration?