Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Quitting Work Stories

• 22-07-2008 3:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭

Handing in my notice this Friday, I've only been in the company 3-4 months and I'm pretty sure there going to go MENTAL!

Its a very small company so they had big plans for me etc etc. Just wondering if anyone ever had a relly bad breakup with a former company.
    E.g Ran out the door in a hail of staplers and abuse??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

I once took a job went to the first day which was for training after about one hour i excused myself went to the bathroom with my coat and snuck out of the place.
    I had decided it was either murder the person training me(future supervisor) or sneak out I didn't even want to tell him i was leaving it was none of his business.

This is beaten by a old acquaintance whom on his first day climbed out the window of the bathroom to escape the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

When I was about 16 I was working in a big department store. I wanted to have the summer to myself before the big LC, so I decided to leave. I handed in my notice and then when people asked me why I was leaving I came out with a big speil about how I was moving to London for 3 months to take care of my Aunts children, where I pulled that from I will never know, either way it meant I couldn't go to the the shopping centre for 3 months!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I have left no less than 3 multinationals within 1 day of arriving there.
    I cannot however tell you any stories as it would be implicating me.
    And I am already implicated enough as it is through this website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

Many years ago I got a job in McDonalds, did the couple of hours training and then it was down to work. I was given a mop and told to clean up a spillage on the floor, I went out, started mopping up and said nuts to this and walked out the door.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭TheBlock

A few years ago I started in a rather large multinational bank in the IFSC. after spending the first week trying to figure out what they had actually hired me to do (I wasn't provided a phone line or PC) I left for Lunch on Friday and never went back. The only people that seemed out out where the Agencey that had got me the posiotion as they obviously lost a fairly sizable commision. Needless to say they were not best pleased with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭dazberry

In the mid 90s I suffered 19 months in a sh1t little IT consultancy. Got a new job but they doubled my wages and promised me all sorts of good work if I stayed, the latter being a complete lie. So a few months later, got another job, and arranged it so that I wouldn't have to hand in my notice until after the company funded christmas piss up in Brussels. When I handed in my notice I basically got chucked out and they point blank refused to pay any sort of severence etc. I could have so sued their asses, but I just started the new job on the following Monday...

D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Worked in retail a few years ago. Had a woeful Saturday, woke up Sunday morning dreaming about work and then had to go in an hour later.

Thought to myself, thats not right - shouldn't be dreaming about the place. So told myself that if one person gives me sh*t, I'd be walking.

Morning goes fine, before my break one of the managers decides to act the prat. I smiled, went on break and straight to the HR office.

Me: Can I have an A4 sheet please.
    HR: There you go.
    Me: Can I have an envelope as well please.
    HR: Sure, are you handing in your notice? Hahaha.
    Me: Yup.

Went into the canteen, wrote a ****ty "I'm leaving" scrawl on the paper, placed into the envelope and went back into work smiling thinking, "This is my last day". I had fun that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Despite the fact that my office doesn't have any windows/natural light, I can't really say that its been hell here. Hopefully I'll just get the usual guilt trip "After all we did for you......" puppy dog eyes etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Was leaving a job because I was sick of 16+ hours off my weekend and 40hours of college a week. I made up that I'd been given another job in a jewellers (had simply thrown a CV into one) and for months after he kept asking how my job is going at which point I'd make up all different stories. At some point he got it into his head that I'd moved back to London (I did work there one Summer so maybe he heard that..) so whenever I go to the shop he asks how's London going for me (assumes I'm visiting my parents). I actually can't be bothered to set his straight at this point as I have a natural aversion to small talk anyway.

Rob_l's made me lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

My cousin's ex-husband got a job as a postman in England. On his first (and last) day he posted the entire contents of his bag through the first letter-box on his route and went home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

In a previous life I was a plasterer and one particular contractor I worked with really riled me up. Anyway one day he came on site dressed in his best clothes and shoes and was wandering around the building where we were working.

I was plastering a ceiling and he stood right underneath me and a small drop of plaster fell and landed on his shoe. He started verball abusing me with a quite impressive list of cursing and generally fuming. I told him he shouldn't be on site dressed up that way if he didn't want to get dirty, and that I wasn't impressed with his diatribe.

Cue more cursing and general abuse, to which I scooped the remaining plaster onto my trowel and threw it all over him before walking off the site. Thankfully he was too shocked to come after me because he was huge! and had I been thinking straight I'd never have done it.

We've met a few times since and had a laugh about it, but I don't think either of us were very jovial at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Yes I have. This year.
    The HR manager was being a right cow, so she was. I went out on New Years Eve and had work at 7:30 a.m. the next day. I turned up for work but had some head on me. She said I was looking rough and was displeasing to the customers. All that was wrong with me was that my eyes looked tired imo.

Anywho, she had a meeting me with me and started saying how DRUNK I was at the recent Christmas Doo, and saying how appalling and reckless behaviour it is, especially when I have work the next morning. She said this as if she was there, but she didn't even bother going so she has no right to bring this up in the meeting. Then started going on about the previous night. Anyways, she was new at the time and started saying how she would expect this from the locals (locals being in a disadvantaged area) but she didn't know that I WAS A LOCAL!!

Anyways, I said, "Ok, I've had enough of this, I'm going to give you my 1 weeks notice. I don't appreciate how you treated me during the yadda yadda etc".

So I went back to work, she came down with a written warning... wtf!!! I just signed it. She then said "what happened in the meeting, is that the reason for your resignation?"

I said: "No, I don't like your snobbery, now I've got work to do!"

That was it, never spoke to her again. After 5 months without work, I was hired back by a new manager and they apologised about the way she behaved.

Was in college too, so didn't mind if I quit.. missed the money though.

What a biatch!!!!!

edit: oh the manager, I probably 'would' though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

i softly softly handed my letter in and explained that i was leaving to my boss, everything was great until i mentioned where i was going... i received a verbal onslaught, called a useless c*nt etc and he stormed off in a huff.

Turns out he went for the job too and thought he had it.

Man was that a rough 4 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Was working for a large multi-national. I walked into my supervisors office to hand in my notice as i got a better job with their largest competitor.

My supervisor was all nice, picked up the phone calmly and called security to escort me from the building. They searched me and let me wave my notice period.

He came for a job in my company two months ago, guess who was asked to interview him?:pac:

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

Despite the fact that my office doesn't have any windows/natural light, I can't really say that its been hell here. Hopefully I'll just get the usual guilt trip "After all we did for you......" puppy dog eyes etc.
    Just out of interest, why are you leaving?

I quit a ****ty job there last friday..

about to take an order.. was like.. ahh I can't be arsed.. said "I'm outta here" .. and then left. There faces = quite amusing.

I'd only been there 2 weeks. Go me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭supertramp

Was working in an electronics and engineering factory, when I learned my Uncle needed a deck hand on his yacht to go to France for 5 weeks. Handed in 1 days notice and off I went,....time of my life!

The boss, usually so strict, was very nice about it and also gave me a "raving" refference.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

funk-you wrote: »
    Was working for a large multi-national. I walked into my supervisors office to hand in my notice as i got a better job with their largest competitor.

My supervisor was all nice, picked up the phone calmly and called security to escort me from the building. They searched me and let me wave my notice period.

in some companies that's Policy if someone is leaving to go to a competitor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

in most companies thats policy if you go to a competitor..in fact its written in my contract...

i have no stories...but im planing one some day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

in some companies that's Policy if someone is leaving to go to a competitor.

Nah, he never did it to anyone else. He knew i would be next in line for job equal to his and i wouldn't let him take credit for other people's work like he had been doing.

-Funk

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Some good stories there...

Keep em coming.

I've never left a job dramatically. I still have time though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

Worked delivering flyers for a restaurant when I was 16, took the flyers, went home, theyre still in my room there. Got paid for the days work and all.

Worked in promotions, went to a location hungover one day, realised there was about 40staff, signed the roster to say I'd arrived stating the time as 10AM, signed it again half an hour later stating 10PM... went home. Got paid again.

Took a job as an experiment for a journalism article on the topic of 'Pen1987 loves the jobs you hate'... did this one position, went in, sat through the hours health and safety training then listened to the instructor then tell us to basically ignore all that, decided my own safety was more important than getting a possibly semi-decent article, got up while he was mid-sentence and left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I handed in a cheeky two week notice the day I was going to be fired :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭KBarry

My last job in England was the pits. Permanent nights, never really hit it off with the people and was a bit too much like hard work tbh. It seemed like a good idea when I applied for it. I was supervisor/fix everything guy so it was a bit of extra money and possibly would open a few doors for me. I knew I'd made a mistake after a couple of weeks, but I stuck it out for 8 miserable months. I eventually flipped one night with about 4 hours of the shift to go, told the workers "I'm off" and left a scribbled note on my bosses desk "Had enough. Goodbye."
    He was on the phone the next day and laid a bit of a guilt trip on me about how I was letting the company down after they'd given me a break. I fell for it and went back for all of 7 days.
    A week later I decided I'd go for a quick pint with my brother before work. One pint led to, ooh about 7 or 8 more, followed by a nightclub and a curry.
    Never did go back to work, apart from going back in for my tools one Sunday afternoon when it was closed (I had keys to the premises which I posted in the letterbox after).
    I got a letter off them a while later threatening to sue me for breach of contract, trespass and theft (they had given me a couple of spanners). But I was already on my way to Ireland and I wasn't too worried Interpol would be after me.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

started a job was in it like 2 weeks found out my mates were going to a festival that I couldn't miss, Told them I was moving to belgium and that I was leaving to tomorrow, never saw them again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

"never burn your bridges" !

take heed now that the recession is upon us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I've heard a lot of companies like to get rid of you before your notice period is up to avoid damage or "borrowing" of equipment. They still have to pay you for the notice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,902 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I was working in retail up til Christmas last year. Got an interview for a journalism job but it was during my work hours. They let me go though as I told them the interview was for freelance in my spare time so I wouldn't be leaving or anything. Got the job no bother and was to start first week of January.

At the same time I had booked 3 weeks hols in Brisbane from mid December up til I started my new job. Now any retail worker knows time off over Christmas is a major no-no but I managed to convince them to let me have the time off, knowing full well that I would get fully paid while I was gone. The day before I left for my hols I went in and told them I was quitting for a new job and my three weeks hols would more than cover my notice period. Needless to say they were not one bit happy with me but I got fully paid while on my Christmas hols! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

cance wrote: »
    i softly softly handed my letter in and explained that i was leaving to my boss, everything was great until i mentioned where i was going... i received a verbal onslaught, called a useless c*nt etc and he stormed off in a huff.

Turns out he went for the job too and thought he had it.

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

funk-you wrote: »

-Funk

I've seen this with other MNC's before. They don't want to risk giving you the opportunity to steal/sabotage etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

kowloon wrote: »
    I've heard a lot of companies like to get rid of you before your notice period is up to avoid damage or "borrowing" of equipment. They still have to pay you for the notice though.

Yep, this happened to me last week. Gave my 1 months notice and was escorted off the premesis shortly after.
    Was told the main reasons for that policy was to avoid people taking company property and also for other staff morale as they didnt want staff unsettled by someone talking for a month about the great new job they were going to :)

No bridges burnt and my new job had arranged a start date for a months time so I could work out my notice, resulting in me having a paid month off before starting in the new place. Everyone's a winner :D

Few years ago I was working in Australia and an agency got me an IT job where I'd be coding on VB/Access. Went in 1st day and it turned out that I was in a call centre, 1st line support. Waited until lunch time and rang the agency to say it wasnt the job they have said and I wasnt doing it. They said to hang in for the day and they would get on to the boss. 5pm came, boss came around to see how everyone had enjoyed their 1st day. I asked if the agent had spoken to him, he said No so I said Adios.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

I've seen this with other MNC's before. They don't want to risk giving you the opportunity to steal/sabotage etc..

there is also such a thing called garden leave, payed for your notice period but are locked out of the systems.

one months holiday... WOOO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

mental07 wrote: »
    Just out of interest, why are you leaving?

Joined this company (10 people) after leaving a multi-national (100+ people) and its just too quiet. Its all the little things, instant coffee, eating your lunch at your desk, no plants, no office banter, no sports & social, no craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

In my last job, the manager was a bit of a nutcase.

I went in and told him I was leaving, he turned around and said to me, Im glad your moving to Galway cos if you were leaving for a job in Dublin, then we would have a huge issue! headcase!!

Im leaving my current job soon too...dreading it to be honest....really like the job, but hate the people and Im moving back to Dublin...that will be a fun conversation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

At the company I used to work for (I worked in an IT Security Admin role), the whole idea behind the "escorting employees" was so that they didn't have any other chances to get hold of confidential information and company specific files. I remember one guy handed in his notice and about a month later HR found out he was sending mails from up to a year before that to a major competitor. I had to recover his mailbox up to 2 years and with HR, Compliance and IS&P had to go through every single email to see what information was sent. Zzzzz...

Haven't left a job dramatically either. Although, some day I will hopefully have a story for ye... :)

In my last job, the manager was a bit of a nutcase.

I went in and told him I was leaving, he turned around and said to me, Im glad your moving to Galway cos if you were leaving for a job in Dublin, then we would have a huge issue! headcase!!

Im leaving my current job soon too...dreading it to be honest....really like the job, but hate the people and Im moving back to Dublin...that will be a fun conversation

well that went suprisingly well! He said he expected it etc etc etc

So a good story for once! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He's probably a Boardsie. :p

ha ha no i dont think so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

In my last job working for a huuuge MNC, collegue i worked alongside was a complete and utter scobie, and a nightmare to deal with. Constantly trying to order me about and always dodging work by talking to friends for hours at a time. One day she would be happy and chatty, then at the drop of a pin would flip. Yeah i know woman in her mid 40's single mother type blah blah angry with the world and men.

Managed to keep quiet and bite my lip for 10 odd months, but kept loosing the head with her whimsical bull**** and constant moaning.

Handed in my 1 months notice and sat back and did as little as possible. One of the lads i know from the other office had to come replace me, and hes not one bit happy with working with her at all.

Told my manager about her constantly while working there, but didnt give a flying fock, and wasn't willing to listne to me. So on my last day had a exit interview, so slated the co-worker for being a nightmare and doing next to no work, and my manager for not listening.

But knowing the company and how young and useless their HR department are i'd say nothing would be said.

Back in probably the biggest MNC now, and loving it. Great people, boss is sound out same with collegues. Alls well that ends well !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

When I was 16 and I worked in Londis I didn't get rostered one week, so I never returned, mwahahaha!

I ahted that job so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭dh2007

one of my first part time jobs was as a waitress in a fairly well known south dublin restaurant. They treated me really badly even though I worked really hard. They used to give me less tips than everyone else just because I was young (very unfair!) :mad:

well there was this horrible manager who was always absolutely obnoxious to me. One day we had a whole load of huge tables in and we were completely understaffed so it was manic in there. I called the kitchen to tell them that i'd cleared the starters away for one table and to let them know to get the mains on. About two minutes later the manager came up to me going mental, telling me that I hadn't called the table away and that I was a little liar.

Well I snapped. Absolutely snapped. I shouted at him and told him I was leaving and that I'd had enough! you shoulda heard me tellin him things like he was a bad manager and didn't know how to run the place and tellin him that it was his poor management that was causing the high staff turnover!

I did regret it afterwards when I was jobless and penniless. ten years on I'm much more sensible and would never do that kind of thing now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭starlight07

Huh? I dont gettit :confused:

My walkout story was from one summer while I was in college...

Thought I was the bees knees when I was told I had been accepted for a job working in The Sheepskin Factory, a shop that sells leather/ suede coats etc.....now bear in mind it was August... most boring half a shift ever...

The final straw was when the manager asked me to hop up on to one of the chairs to fix one of his awful displays, which I did. Then he commented "Now watch ye dont break my chair!" and began to snigger to himself. I was only 16yrs old a size and a size 10, so I called him a fat pervert n walked out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

the OH has a good one. she booked her holidays off and was waiting weeks for approval so she just went ahead and paid for the flights etc. the week before she was due to go her supervisor started talking about the tasks she was to do the following week and the missus turned around "eh no I'm on holiday" the super said i never approved those i told you someone else has the time off. the missus replied "yeah but she applied after me". the boss said Doesn't matter i never approved it, when you go home tonight i want you to think about whether you want to work here or not. the missus laughed at her and said " i was quitting anyway see ya" and walked out the door. turns out teh other one had only applied teh week before an dteh missus had applied months before but person 2 was a drinking buddy of teh super

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

I was working in Lidl 4 years ago for 2 months. one of the managers was a real d*ck and eventually one day I had had enough: I removed my work t-shirt, threw it in his face, told him to shove his job up his arse and stormed out feeling like a God

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

The Bollox wrote: »
    stormed out feeling like a God

Excellent description :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Left one job with the following tirade to a standing ovation from the regulars in the bar:

"you're nothing but a playground bully who's own insecurities about her sexuality and incompetence are screamingly obvious to even your customers. Fvck you, fvck your job, I quit you fvcking cvnt."

And yes, she did deserve it.