Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What is your county's phrase?

• 23-07-2008 9:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭

www.30thbirthday.ie

Supermacs are celebrating their birthday with a poll on each county's identifying phrase.

For the purpose of the poll you'd probably have to split Dublin in 2.

And I'd asume that the phrase 'savage' could be claimed by a number of counties.

Any thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

YER IN CYAAAAVAN NOW LAD!!! would be mine I suppose...

Feckin culchies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

Yer in lazare's county...come on in and shaag his sister...I DID

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Ask me gee!

That's for Dublin btw

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I'll kick tha heart outta ya.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭TheRealBoss

Well ?

That seems to be the greeting that u'll get when u meet anybody in Laois, Carlow, Kilkenny ...... maybe it's the same countrywide.

No 'howya', 'how's it goin', 'hello' . Just .............. Well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

"Dat's qwern good, sonne!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,902 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Ask me sac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

"Jaysus no...ha ha ha....Offaly's the udder side o' thaa fu*kin' bridge dere, yur in Laois now me boyo"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

No fat chicks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 zildjian1

She had a face like a melted wheelie bin :)

UP GALWAY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

According to chopper, apparently Cork's is "Y'LANGER" which it clearly is not.

We do however like to say "like" and "y'know" and "y'know like" and "dacent" (decent pronounced dae-sint) and "C'mere to me" alot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

I live in Carlow but not from here. Two here:

1 Your quare ......., She is quare mad or some such

2 The other is - you may... you may go and pay that bill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

zildjian1 wrote: »
    She had a face like a melted wheelie bin :)

UP GALWAY!

LOL!

Think ".. sowndd loike..." translation - sound like.. has to go down in Galwegian dialectology too.

As do "mouldy" and "corbed".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Supermacs arent in every county are they?

Until a few years ago there were restaurents in Cavan and Kells caled Super Sams, and their Big Mac knock off tasted the same as the Supermac Big Mac knockoff whos name escapes me. Same sauce etc. What was the jazz there?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Supermacs arent in every county are they?

Until a few years ago there were restaurents in Cavan and Kells caled Super Sams, and their Big Mac knock off tasted the same as the Supermac Big Mac knockoff whos name escapes me. Same sauce etc. What was the jazz there?

The Mighty Mac!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Now im craving Super Macs. That almost never happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

Dublin - Animal, rapid, rapid buzz, sound, deadly.

i can imagine the posters:

Mighty mac now €2 - Rapid buzz!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Roscommon = they are my f**king sheep you galway, mayo, sligo, leitrim, longford, westmeath, offaly c**t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Donegal: "Fxck Dublin"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭dee8839

queen-mise wrote: »
    I live in Carlow but not from here. Two here:

1 Your quare ......., She is quare mad or some such

2 The other is - you may... you may go and pay that bill

Oh my god +1000,000. Spent my J1 with a load of Carlow guys and it changed the way I spoke for ages. What's this may business about?! I thought it was just those particular guys!!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

"Lob it inta me, boss. Balls n' all!"
    - Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

"Roysh" / "likeohmigod" - South Dublin
    "grand soft day" - Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

"I will yeah by" - Cork. Translation 'i wont'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Tha Gopher wrote: »

It wasn't jazz, rather jizz with a bit of tomato sauce.

Or so they tell me, obviously I'd never eat one myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

Sleepy wrote: »
    "Roysh" / "likeohmigod" - South Dublin

Dont forget greystones :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭david_the_great

dee8839 wrote: »
    Oh my god +1000,000. Spent my J1 with a load of Carlow guys and it changed the way I spoke for ages. What's this may business about?! I thought it was just those particular guys!!

it means you will/ you had better

you may pay that bill-

you had better pay that bill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Lord Muck

ask me bollox - Dublin

' Want to know about our Supermac Super Meals , ask me bollox '

i think it works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

"I will yeah by" - Cork. Translation 'i wont'.

Forgot this one! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Mighty mac now €2 - Rapid buzz!!

Whopper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Offaly - He'd do his right arm if his left arm caught it w**king = meaning he's is main (mean) c**t of a guard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

West Limerick, Kerry and West Cork, "yerra craythur are you okay" "She's a nice ol' craythur"

craythur as pronounced crater

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Dublin- I went to supermacs last night when I was p*ssed and got food poisoning again! what a kip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The Dublin one should be 'Supermacs. You know - for culchies.'

Either that or as some else said 'Ask me bollox'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Hows she cuttin'? - Cavan

• Registered Users Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

quare

"that's quare bad"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

quare

"that's quare bad"

Carlow? I was just about to say that, it will be mentioned over and over but it cant be over-emphasised, its an epidemic around here.....quare annoyin lad;)