Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The pro-Palestinr stand on Shop Street

• 23-07-2008 7:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭

Does anyone who suppoorts Israel ever tackle the people who run the stand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

Why should they?????
    Do you attack people who disagree with you on the street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

No, what I meant by tackle was that I just wondered if people debated with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

I wouldn't if I was in that position,
    In all honesty why get into a debate on the street?
    It's not a controlled environment and some pisshead could decide to start some trouble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭TheInvisibleFie

*mono* wrote: »
    I wouldn't if I was in that position,
    In all honesty why get into a debate on the street?
    It's not a controlled environment and some pisshead could decide to start some trouble
    Because then you can walk away if someone is acting the eejit. Kind of like the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

branie wrote: »
    No, what I meant by tackle was that I just wondered if people debated with them.

Why don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

*mono* wrote: »
    Why should they?????
    Do you attack people who disagree with you on the street?

Ah, a small thing called freedom of speech?

Why should we not be allowed to challenge these jobless wonders when they can set up stall in the middle of the busiest street in Galway waving their flags and spouting their vitriolic propaganda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Mayo Exile

vitriolic propaganda.

An israel supporter that the OP was looking for!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

ronnie3585 wrote: »

Why should we not be allowed to challenge these jobless wonders when they can set up stall in the middle of the busiest street in Galway waving their flags and spouting their vitriolic propaganda.

who cares what those socialist workers party types think in any case, they just jump on any bandwagon they can find. I guess the fact that Israel has been incessantly attacked by its neighbours for 60 years dosen't really register with them.

Israel has been incessantly attacked by its neighbours for 60 years dosen't really register with them.

Er, um, whats Israel been doing since June 1967???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Mayo Exile wrote: »
    Er, um, whats Israel been doing since June 1967???

The Six day war was a war for the survival of the jewish state. I imagine that a people that survived the holocaust take such things pretty seriously.

Then there was the Yom Kippur war which I guess you must have forgotten about. Regular shelling by syrian forces from the golan heights over the years, rocket attacks and suicide bomings by hezbollah and hamas for years, what is a state to do, let outside forces try to destroy it?

Six day war and yom kippur war

1967 war might be seen as a war of survival but what it actually did was leave israel holding 100% of Palestine. Have you ever seen the original 1947 UN plan for Palestine? Both Jews and Arabs were to have equal land areas.

1973 war. Fair enough. The Arabs attacked first and israel eventually won though huge american arms shipments helped too.
    hezbollah

Appeared due to Israel's completely illegal occupation of Lebanon from 1982 to 2000. Resistance to an occupier is a logical thing isn't it?
    Hamas

Hamas appeared because of the circumstances of the situation in the West Bank. Corruption amongst the Fatah regime already in place aided their growth. Actually elected by the people there to form a government! Continued to be labelled "terrorists" by the US and Israelis because they didn't "like" the result!
    rocket attacks and suicide bomings

No democratic solution offered. Plus the grinding poverty in the occupied West Bank will drive people to extremism as defined from a Western point of view. History has loads of example of poverty breeding extremism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

1973 war. Fair enough. The Arabs attacked first and israel eventually won though huge american arms shipments helped too.
    [strike]In the lead-up, Egypt ammassed troops and tanks at the border.
    Israel bombed Egyptian planes on the ground. Was accepted as being justifiable in the west because Israel saw war with Egypt as being inevitable, and it was seen as a lawful anticipatory use of force in self-defence.[/strike] whoops, wrong war
    After the ceasefire, Israeli forces kept advancing into Egyptian and Syrian territory, and only stopped once the US tapped them on the shoulder.

"That's my field" etc.

Also, Gulf of Tonkin. Lolz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Wompa1

History has loads of example of poverty breeding extremism.

Tell me about it!, I was once so poor I couldn't afford toilet paper so I wiped my ass with Doc Leafs instead. Who'd a thought this thread would of gone in this direction eh?

Apologies to the OP, this is definitely going way off the intended topic! Probably should be going on in the Soc>Politics forum! Some pro/anti Israeli jousts going on over there at the moment.

Link: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=99

Hmmm! Western Civilisation would go to war too if it found out there was no toilet paper anymore!

Anyway, how long has this palestinian stand been there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭tristanc

This convo is turning into a monthly event on this board. Maybe we should make it a sticky ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

Only reason I would tackle any of these groups that set-up a stall on shop street on a saturday is the simple fact they take up half the width of the street for a table with one maybe two people standing at it!

Fair enough with the standing there handing out flyers, talking to people that want to listen etc. But do they have to narrow down an already busy street with a huge table and keeping the thing out from the wall enough to be too much without enough space to walk behind it? Do they know they are taking land that is not theirs and using it for their purposes? This goes for those sitting down selling face painting, pieces of colored string as well as the political types.

Saturday afternoon walking down shop st is like rush hour on the M50!

As for Israel Vs Palastine. The UK Vs Ireland tbh.

West Bank/Gazza Strip = To hell or to Connaught
    Israel claim a god given right to the place = UK claimed Ireland and seeing as their King was the head of the church then you could nearly say they had a god given right to.
    Israel prevent the practice of the natives religion = Uk imposed penal laws and outlawed mass.

Religion is all well and good but when you get fanatical, extremists (commonly heard in reference to the bad guys but easily applies to the good guys too!) it all goes to pot.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

po0k wrote: »
    Also, Gulf of Tonkin. Lolz.

What's that got to with Israel and/or crusties on Shop Street?? :confused:

Oh I gettit. Never mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

ronnie3585 wrote: »

Can you show me that in the constitution please?

kayos wrote: »

West Bank/Gazza Strip = To hell or to Connaught
    Israel claim a god given right to the place = UK claimed Ireland and seeing as their King was the head of the church then you could nearly say they had a god given right to.
    Israel prevent the practice of the natives religion = Uk imposed penal laws and outlawed mass.

[history nerd] Actually long before Henry VIII became king and head of the church the first and only english pope had decreed Ireland was available to the english. So they did have a "god given right", as much as you can have anyways.[/history nerd]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,459 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Why are they protesting something that's happenening in the middle east, in Galway City of all places?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Blisterman wrote: »
    Why are they protesting something that's happenening in the middle east, in Galway City of all places?
    Tilting at windmills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭KBarry

kayos wrote: »

:confused: Plenty of mosques and churches last time I was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Bass Cadet

Blisterman wrote: »

I suppose, we did f@ck all about the situation in the North of Ireland, might aswell stick our heads in the sand regarding every human rights abuse throughout the rest of the world too. Afterall, Galway is the home of the affable...I include myself in that statement too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

Could i put up an anti palestine stand on shop street?

or a "dublin is for ****ers" stand?

DRakE wrote: »

Get a girl at the stand giving out stamps for free into Cuba and you're onto a winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

PLEASE DO, by now everybody should know they are also the GAAW, nothing you ever do will please those freeloaders, i once passed by them outside Lynch's Castle and tried to say what about Israel etc and how they are supporting suicied bombers but needless to say i didnt get a word in.

Does anybody else get baffled by them being Antiwar yet the majority of them wear Combats?? WTF?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

or a "dublin is for ****ers" stand?
    Do it during the Races "Jackeens go home" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

I think its great that they are there. Fair play to ppl who give up their free time to try educate joe soap who has been brainwashed by the western media into thinking that Israel is a victim.

Israel from its very conception as a modern reality in the minds of the early Zionists has been an extremely aggressive and unjust state that exploited and robbed the poor ppl that lived in the area called Palestine. The Gaza strip is the worlds largest prison where people live in horrendous conditions and Israel is aggressively and illegally settling large areas of the west bank. From day 1 the Palestinian ppl have been fighting for their homes, lives and futures. Their 'terrorism' is not unlike the terrorism that went on in this country in the early 1900's .. except the conditions faced by the Palestinians are much worse.

I really cant get my head around Israeli apologists on this board .. I mean the facts of the conflict are quite clear .. the numbers of refugees .. the numbers killed .. the land grabs and illegal settlements .. Zionism as an ideolgy. How can anybody when presented with an objective account still side with Israel unless they are morally dsyfunctional to an extent.

Just pick up one of Chomsky's or Finkelsteins books .. these are Jews. Chomsky has been to Israel many times and even considered living there earlier in his life. These men also suffer the fate of anyone who disagrees with the Israeli propoganda machine ... their names tarnished and dragged through the mud by their own ppl. You can find many human rights watchdogs inside Israel (run by Israelis) who try and bring attention to the horrible crimes that the Israelis commit on nearly a daily basis.

So if you see these ppl on the street why dont you stop and listen to them first before you 'tackle' or attack them. Or how about you think for a sec and ask yourself why in the world would these ppl be giving up their free time unless the felt passionately about what they were doing. What other reason do they have for being there unless they were crazed anti-semitic loons .. which I highly doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Israel is a victim. They control the water/power going into Palestine yet they still fire rockets into Israel, Israel should and rightly so retaliate against these attacks, they have tried diplomacy yet the extremeists/terrorists ( Hamas who are viewed outside of Israel as terrorists too ) continue to break the ceasefires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Can you show me that in the constitution please?

Article 40.6.1 The State guarantees liberty for the exercise of the following rights, subject to public order and morality:

i. The right of the citizens to express freely their convictions and opinions.

It's amazing what you can learn by actually reading the document you are referring to.