Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion]

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

When is Bob Charles coming back? I was looking forward to him featuring in a Christmas storyline?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

No, there has been no live episode of Fair City. TG4 did do a live series entitled Seomra a Sé, which was set in Hotel Room. It was very well done. One which involved the death of a Husband and then just his wife talking to him as he lay in bed dead, very moving and really well written.

http://www.iftn.ie/crew/crew_database/sublinks_static/editors/?act1=record&only=1&aid=73&rid=4281052&tpl=archnews&force=1

In relation to Ros Na Run, it only airs for 70EPS each year and as I have always said More does not equal better, thus the continued downward spiral of Soap Opera.

Also I understand the Historical importance (kind of) of a LIVE Coronation street episode as it original was broadcast live in 1960, but EastEnders only started in the 1980s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

wyndham wrote: »
    When is Bob Charles coming back? I was looking forward to him featuring in a Christmas storyline?

He was back filming in November so should be back on screen soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭STIG83

^Angel01, do you work on the set of FC? im just wondering you know when actors are back filming or are you an actor or actress in it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

STIG83 wrote: »
    ^Angel01, do you work on the set of FC? im just wondering you know when actors are back filming or are you an actor or actress in it?

Often wondered the same. Also seem not to like people put the show down, but that is nether here nor there

Neasa is getting brave with Carol

Deise Tom wrote: »
    Often wondered the same. Also seem not to like people put the show down, but that is nether here nor there

No, I am a huge fan of the show. I passionately support the show to the death, I feel it gets unwarranted criticism and I prefer to focus on the good about the show :)

No I don't work on the show, I won a recent competition and got a tour of the set and met a lot of the cast members. I met Bryan Murray (who plays Bob) and he mentioned that he is back filming in November.

I wish I did work on the show though ;):D

^ An FC addict i guess?

Go on Keith, You know you want to!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭max life

I think Keith has made his mind up. Just has to find the right time to dump Sarah.
    I wish Zumo would go nasty again cos he is too soft now.

( Neasa - WOW ! )

^ An FC addict i guess?

Oh yes and proud :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

why did sarah have curlers in her hair and then a short while later her hair was still straight and pulled back in a pony tail ?? :confused:

still waiting for louie & carol to happen... :D:D

Article on the Sunday World Magazine bout Zumo Decco and Denzo today, the three of them knew each other from living in Ballymun before going on FC

why did sarah have curlers in her hair and then a short while later her hair was still straight and pulled back in a pony tail ?? :confused:

still waiting for louie & carol to happen... :D:D

It shall happen soon ;)

This week:

00040499-545.jpg

This week's preview - Ep 194

Tuesday 14th December

It's the day of Annette's memorial but some residents need to be persuaded to attend.

Zumo lets Vivienne know what to expect from Ritchie Lennon.

Doug falls victim to the recession.

Tommy and Cass set up a Christmas market.

Vivienne makes Denzo feel unwelcome.

Esther's suggestions for McCoys don't go down too well with Louie.

And Robert spills the beans about Caoimhe's dissatisfaction.

Written by Trevor Colgan.

0004049a-545.jpg

This week's preview - Ep 195

Wednesday 15th December

Louie places an unfair wager with Ray.

Judith has grand ambitions for Caoimhe, but does Caoimhe?

Doug comes up with a plan.

Denzo stands up to Decco on Vivienne's behalf.

Louie garners more enemies.

Esther recruits Ray in her campaign against McCoys

And Louie 'assaults' Esther.

Written by Shona McCarthy.

0004049c-545.jpg

This week's preview - Ep 196

Thursday 16th December

Cass and Eileen argue over their pitch.

Charlie defends Esther's honour by hammering home some harsh truths to Louie.

Esther gathers support from the community in her campaign.

Even though it's a quiet night in McCoys, McAleer sees its appeal.

Tommy finds a way to get around Charlie..via Esther.

And Denzo and Zumo run Decco away from Vivienne's apartment.

Written by Shona McCarthy.

0004049d-545.jpg

This week's preview - Ep 197

Sunday 19th December

Seamus tries to tempt Louie with an offer for McCoys.

Doug says his goodbyes to Ray and Paul.

Zumo plans for a family Christmas dinner, but can he get Eileen and Vivienne at the one table?

The anti-McCoys event takes place in the community centre, Louie gets a frosty reception.

Decco threatens Vivienne, forcing her to steal from Judith.

Doug organises a farewell surprise for Pete.

Written by Ciaran Hayden.

Director Anita Notaro.
          Location Director Alan Robinson.

Members of the Fair City cast have recorded a charity single version of Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas in aid of the Simon Community.

The group came together with the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra to participate in the Carols from the Fair City programme, which will air on Christmas Eve at 6.25pm on RTÉ One. From that recording the concept for a Christmas charity single was born!

Please support the single by downloading it from iTunes or clicking on the link below. It costs 99c per download and 50c will go to Simon. Merry Christmas and thanks from all the cast of Fair City.
          http://itunes.apple.com/ie/album/have-yourself-a-merry-little/id409143723

For an exclusive behind the scenes, check out our gallery from the rehearsals for Carols in the Fair City.

If you fancy buying a book for Christmas, feel free to take a look at:

Across the Divide, by Fair City script writer, Brian Gallagher (€7.99), a vivid tale set in Dublin during the 1913 Lockout.

http://www.poolbeg.com/authors/gallagher_brian.htm

Spoiler time!

Christmas Day!
          Seamus spends Christmas Day on his own in McCoys. Louie stays the night in Phelans and Christy hands him a present in the morning. They both give Carol presents. Christy tells Louie that he doesn’t want any talk about the pub and he wants to put it behind him. Carol refuses to have a private conversation with Louie. Christmas cheer is evident in the Faheys' house as Dermot helps a very excited Ben construct a model airplane. Dermot tells Ben they need to use super strong glue for it.

A delighted Damien is cheered up when Wayne tells him he came home and they are going to spend Christmas together. Damien bumps into Suzanne and they have nothing to say to each other. In Bela's house, Cass catches a mortified Esther trying to leave Charlie's room. Carol accuses Louie and Christy of doing nothing to stop Seamus from destroying McCoys. She again refuses to talk to Louie about their kiss. She walks out on the two in disgust.

In number 41, Keith arrives down in a towel and Orla bumps into them. He kisses her on the lips by mistake and they have a moment of physical attraction. The Dillons find their first Christmas in Carrigstown very quiet. Denzo bumps into his gran and she tells him that she going to see Paddy. She fails to persuade him to go with her. She then turns down Cass’s invitation to join him for Christmas dinner. Barry persuades Seamus to leave McCoys and go home with him for Christmas dinner.

Louie approaches Carol and she admits that she doesn’t want him to leave. They confront Seamus about the pub. Christy accuses Carol of making a holy show of herself on the street. Louie asks Carol for her set of keys to the pub. Eileen arrives in Vivienne’'s house with a bag of presents for the boys and Charlotte from Paddy. Vivienne is forced to invite Eileen for dinner. At the Faheys' home, Ben manages to glue his hand to the plane. Jo freaks out when she sees it.

Una sparks a row when she calls over to Sarah's house with a present for Keith. Orla tells an upset Keith that she’s going to move out after Christmas and he begs her not to. Sarah and Una argue over him and Orla leaves followed swiftly by Keith. Carol, Louie and Christy let themselves into McCoys. Carol refuses to go home with an upset Christy. Louie and Carol decide to invite people to the pub. Keith and Orla escape to park when they see Una leaving Sarah's house. At Bela's, Cass winds Charlie up and Esther's remarks upset Suzanne.

In McCoys, Carol tells Louie that she is not going to break up with Christy. He tells her he understands but he feels really strongly about her. Ray rounds up the troops to go to McCoys to protest. Loads of people pile into the pub for the protest and for free drink. In Phelans, a lonely Christy is on his own. The Dillons decide to join the community to support them. Ray breaks up a tense meal with the Bishops when he tells them about the McCoys campaign.

Jo gives out to Dermot while she tries to get the plane from Ben's hand. Dermot, who is distracted, manages to glue a wing to Jo's hand. He glues himself to a chair. As the pub begins to fill with regulars, Louie goes to confront McAleer and prevents him from entering McCoys. Louie tries to win Carol over with a plan to save McCoys. He asks the community to stage a sit-in with him. The locals back Louie. At Bela's, Suzanne and Esther argue and Suzanne storms out of the house. Yvonne follows her and persuades her to go for a drink in McCoys. Seamus announces that he is going to get the guards. Ray rings Deegan and asks him for a favour….

In McCoys, Keith tells Orla that she is his ideal woman. Sarah and Una grimly wait outside. Keith and Orla kiss passionately in front of the locals. Ray calls to Phelans and persuades Christy to join the sit-in. Vivienne is furious when she learns that Eileen gave Charlotte a mobile phone. Louie and Carol sneak down to the stellar for a kiss.

Outside, Una and Sarah nearly come to blows and have to be separated by Christy. They let them into the pub. They meet Keith and Orla holding hands and Sarah breaks it off with Keith. Damien gets upset when he sees Sarah slap Keith and leaves. Vivienne is upset when she learns that Paddy is trying to call Charlotte on her mobile phone. They leave the pub. Louie and Carol take it all the way. They nearly get caught by Christy but Carol hides.

Damien admits to Wayne that he needs professional help to get over what happened to him. Wayne tells him he’ll help him as well. Barry arrives in the pub to join the lock-in and turns his back on Seamus. Louie tells McAleer he’s calling the sale off and tears the contract up. So does Christy. All the community including Barry deny seeing them sign the contracts. Charlie tells Esther how much he enjoyed Christmas with her.

A heartbroken Suzanne tells Yvonne that she knows it’s over between herself and Damien. She takes off her engagement and wedding ring. Charlotte secretly makes a call to her dad. The Faheys arrive into McCoys pub and Judith unglues them. Keith and Orla stay in the Brennans' home, as they are down in Cork for the holidays. Dermot promises Tommy to get a suitable pitch for his market. Esther declares Louie is forgiven and kisses him under the mistletoe and he watches on jealously as Carol and Christy leave.

Tuesday Dec 28
          Louie calls to Phelans and snatches a kiss from Carol when Christy is out of the room. Orla refuses to collect her clothes from Sarah's house and demands that Sarah does it. She tells him that they are going to stop all physical contact until he does. Niamh walks in and catches them in her house. Mark disagrees with Wayne that Damien needs counselling. Yvonne fails to discover Louie's reason for not selling McCoys. Damien also insists he is okay.

Niamh returns to work in the Smart Office and is annoyed at how Esther has taken over the place. Dermot tells Niamh that he needs a desk in the office. Christy mistakenly thinks Carol missed having a traditional Christmas. He decides to surprise her with a turkey dinner. Una advises Finn to find himself a new home as Sarah and Keith have broken up. Una tells Christy that she is going to go back to Africa. An annoyed Dermot demands that Niamh sort out Esther's loud behaviour in the office.

Keith persuades Finn to have a word with Sarah about Keith and Orla collecting their clothes. Carol berates Louie for taking too many chances when he tries to kiss her again. Louie asks her on a private date that night at nine. Finn convinces an upset Sarah to return Keith and Orla's clothes. Niamh's attempt to talk to Esther about her office behaviour backfires. Christy pretends to Carol that he is sick so he can go home early and cook her a surprise dinner. Ray asks if he can get a takeaway plate when the food is cooked.

Keith collects his stuff from number 41 and swears to Sarah that nothing was going on before Christmas night. Sarah cries when he leaves. Louie and Carol manipulate Neasa so that she insists she can work the bar on her own. Suzanne bumps into Wayne and asks him to look after Damien. Christy, who has cooked a scrumptious dinner, becomes anxious when Carol does not turn up after work. Ray agrees to go get her.

Orla and Keith discover that Sarah has ruined all of their clothes. Niamh stops her from doing anything saying she took her man for the second time. Ray calls to McCoys and Neasa tells him that Carol is meeting a friend in town. In Louie's bed Carol is thrilled when she receives a gift from him. Wayne persuades Damien to read the information on counselling. Christy is left on his own with an uneaten dinner, disappointed and upset.

Wednesday
          Carol tries to make it up to Christy for missing the dinner and he softens. She admits to Louie that she didn’t think of Christy at all. Damien pressures Wayne to come with him to the assessment. Mark is unconvinced when they pretend they are collecting hair supplies. Dermot is put out when Esther monopolises the boardroom. Keith invites Orla on a shopping spree to cheer her up about her destroyed clothes.

In the beer garden Carol gazes at the necklace that Louie bought her but is caught by Neasa. Carol pretends she found it. Christy pitches an idea to Carol called ‘New Year, New You’, to raise money for Una's charity. Damien struggles to speak to the support worker about his experiences. Wayne supports him. He opens up a bit to the supporter worker. Dermot pretends to a client that Niamh is his secretary. Esther spots Dermot's overweight client and hijacks him.

Damien tells a delighted Wayne that he has decided to begin group meetings. A suspicious Yvonne challenges Louie to deny he has feelings for a McCoys barmaid and that's why he didn't sell. He lets her believe he is involved with Neasa. Neasa wears the necklace much to Carol’s horror and Louie's shock. In McCoys, Una lambastes Keith and Orla for their brazenness. Carol convinces Una to speak at the ‘New Year, New Look’ event. Esther tells Niamh and Dermot that they should work together and help one another.

Una maliciously suggests to Sarah that Orla and Keith may have been cheating for some time. Sarah charges over to McCoys and accuses Orla of stealing Keith when she got home. Finn takes Sarah home. Mark is furious to learn that Suzanne will be calling to the Halpins' house to collect her stuff. Carol overhears Louie talking to Yvonne, saying his affair is a fling and mistakenly believes he is talking about them. He assures her it is not a fling and this is the real deal for him

Thursday
          Louie assures Carol he'll find a way to get Christy away from Carrigstown on New Year's Eve. Damien calls to Vinos and tells Suzanne that some of her stuff is still in the house and did she want to collect it. A furious Yvonne gives out to Damien for upsetting her. Keith is confused when Orla seems scared of the idea of moving into Pete's house with Keith. Carol approaches her and asks if she'll talk at Carol's ‘New Year, New You’ event.

Yvonne has another go at Damien and Mark intervenes and they clash. Orla confides in Niamh that she is worried her relationship with Keith is going too fast. Christy rejects Louie's offer of premiership tickets so he can spend time with Carol on New Years'. Louie refuses to let a disgusted Neasa move back in. Esther tells Niamh and Dermot that she has a migraine and she is worried about a client. Niamh persuades her to go home and she will look after the client.

Mark tries to throw Suzanne's stuff out and Damien argues with him not to. Wayne points out that Mark is constantly overreacting and he needs to calm down. Carol is consumed with guilt over her and Louie's treatment of Christy. Keith approaches Niamh about Orla and he tells her that Orla is concerned they are moving too fast. Yvonne and Suzanne arrive at Halpins to collect Suzanne's stuff and happen upon a fight as Mark complains about Suzanne and her behaviour. Yvonne is outraged at Mark's attitude and gives him pause for thought.

Niamh is forced into a situation with Esther's client that she lies about Dermot's past with food and pretends that he was obese and lost weight thanks to Slim Star. Dermot plays along and becomes engrossed in a fictional story about how he lost the weight. Louie approaches Ray about the premiership tickets and Ray promises that he will get Christy to go. Seamus goes into McCoys pub and Carol serves him while the rest of the community ignores him. Seamus thanks her.

A romantic Keith calls to Orla with flowers and promises to give her as much time as she needs. Niamh and Dermot refuse to answer Esther when she queries how they got on with her client. Back at Vinos, Yvonne probes Suzanne about her mental state. When she leaves, Suzanne books a flight online.

I wont be able to see any of the Xmas episodes as ill be in The States, i am at a loss with tonights' episode, why was there trouble over the bench that Seamus put in the park? why was Paul blaming Annette for Gina's death?

When Paul bought Doug the pint, Doug was delighted, surely if someone bought a drink for somebody else like that, they be told where to go, saying they are not a charity case?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,038 ✭✭✭✭tk123

why was Paul blaming Annette for Gina's death?

Annette was locked at Paul & Niamhs wedding and making a bit of a show of herself so Barry was taking her home and as they were driving out of the church she distracted him and he ran into Ray and Gina on the way from their own wedding (on the same day) - Gina was in the sidecar of the scooter Ray was driving.

tk123 wrote: »
          Annette was locked at Paul & Niamhs wedding and making a bit of a show of herself so Barry was taking her home and as they were driving out of the church she distracted him and he ran into Ray and Gina on the way from their own wedding (on the same day) - Gina was in the sidecar of the scooter Ray was driving.

That explains why Paul went nuts when he read the plague

Where have you all gone? :(:(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭max life

I am glad we have not seen too much of Niamh lately. She always has a big grumpy head on her..
          I am surprised by Orlas' Christmas storyline. They seem to be too similar to be a couple.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

angel01 wrote: »
          Where have you all gone? :(:(

I've about a week and a halfs worth of episodes to catch up on at the moment - its the busiest time of year, don't ya know... ;)

Phew you are still alive :D I have a little less than you.. 2 episodes to go.. Hmm.. have I mentioned, I have not got one Christmas present yet :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

angel01 wrote: »
          Phew you are still alive :D I have a little less than you.. 2 episodes to go.. Hmm.. have I mentioned, I have not got one Christmas present yet :eek:

sure, who gets presents before xmas day? I haven't even started thinking about xmas shopping yet.

Looks like another Christmas Eve shopping spree for me :eek:

pavcro10 wrote: »
          I agree! I think Niamh is a good actress. But paul is terrible! By the way, the way Dillons dad (can't remember his name) fell off the bike was absolutely awful! Why can't FC do stunts like this properly! It was as bad as when Robin fell over in the garage!

His name is Tommy, though I admit I have a soft spot for him :p:D

RE The Bishops.. I base it around their mannerisms, tone of voice etc.

Yes I work around these people because I am an extra on the show but not directly with them and just because of this doesn't mean I can't have an opinion of their performances. I watch and love the show like almost everyone else here and I find some are better actors than others.
          I'm not going to pretend they are amazing actors if they're not just because I work around them. I had this opinion of them even before I began working on the show and since I started the extra gig and met them it has only re-inforced my opinion.
          I have nothing against the actors personally at all... actually they are very, very nice people but I find their abilities as actors limited. Simple as.
          Now lets take Eileen Bishop... My God, the woman who plays her (Margaret) is so far from Eileen you wouldn't believe it... So IMO she is acting.. she is playing a part.. Same with the girl who plays Sara.. (Gemma) she is such a lovely person and the complete polar opposite of Sara... Gemma's accent is different, her tone of voice so different and her mannerisms etc... plainly put she acts the bitch really well... Whereas with the Bishops and Keith... when I talk with them they sound the same and frankly behave (minus what the storyline requires for their characters etc) the same...

So you are judging on whether they have a different accent to the part they are playing or act somewhat different, Quite shallow in my opinion.. sorry to say it.

When I met the actor who played Keith, I thought he was really nice and an all around lovely guy to know and I don't care what accent or what he acted like. I was just delighted to be around him and many of the other cast.

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭pavcro10

Don't get me wrong... I think the Bishops are good but after meeting them in person I think they play themselves and would be challenged if required to play anything else (obviously the guys aren't violent or malicious like the characters:D). I actually think that storyline with Keith and Colm only underlined the limitations of Keith's acting:o... Again don't get me wrong.. I think he is great at being the stereotypical Dublin lad but I actually found myself laughing at his acting in those scenes with Colm because he was just unconvincing and obviously very much out of his comfort zone. There was absolutely no fear in his eyes when Colm was attacking him. I didn't believe him what-so-ever. Compare that to the time when Ray was kidnapped by Terence. You could read the fear in Rays eyes... another actor who IMO is underused these days:confused:...

I agree with pretty much everything you say! Apart from Paul bring a top actor.