Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion]

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭max life

Deise Tom wrote: »
    I remember Linda, said during the week she is one of the characters that should be brought back. Was Barry or Bella the father of the child that you referred to or was it somepne else. Cant remember her having one. You will have to refresh my memory. Where are they now.
    Bella was the father of her child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭starryeye

I'm sure Bela was the father of Baby Alice and I think he could not mourn her openly as a father would normally if his child had just died. He had to keep the secret to himself for a long time and Rita wondered why he wasn't himself. The baby died as a result of having a heart condition or something. Thanks too for reminding me about Clive. I thought he was a great match with Eunice. I couldn't remember what happened to him at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 jenny30

I'm glad you enjoy Fair City and agree with me that Wayne and Robert are good characters in the show. I think Wayne is actually my favourite to be honest and I think his attempts to juggle the cocktails in Damien's kitchen was extremely funny. I hope that there are lots of more laughs in the future. My opinion is just an opinion Angel. I assure you I am not here to defend Fair City or abuse it.

Dont think anyone on here is, or not too many are anyway, but everyone should be allowed to express an opinion, especially when it is pointing out things that people feel should or could be done better. It should be seen as nothing more than constrctive critism.[/QUOTE]
    I love that there are boards like this where you can have an opinion on things and everyone is entitled to their own opion and to be respected for their opinions, BUT, I was shocked to read a post from Sigourney calling a child actor on the show a scumbucket. In my opinion that is crossing the line. As a teacher my priority is the welfare of children and calling minors names like that is just wrong.

I think Pascal died on a cruise. He met his long lost love in Carraigstown and they went away together.

Well said Jenny30. I do agree with you. Name calling and using that kind of language really should not be necessary or tolerated just to emphasise that you may not be too keen on someone and particularly a young child who does some acting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

Suzanne looked awkward in that kissing scene on the couch with David !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

I'm looking at yer man with the wonky arms and thinking "he could do better."

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭STIG83

Wayne and women equals FAIL
    Even Leo pulled!! :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,653 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

WTF!

I turn on Fair Sh1tty for the first time in ages and I find the Doctors husband and Jo having an affair!!!!

It's all happening in the Station tonight :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,653 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Jesus it's all fierce steamy

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭STIG83

hiscan wrote: »
    It's all happening in the Station tonight :D

Not for Wayne though!! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭Lunaarli

Cringe cringe cringe.

Tonights episode has possibly been the most pathetic ever.

Neasa 'oh oh turlough' give me strength.

Why oh why can't programmes like raw & the clinic take over from this ugh-ness

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭dirtypanties

double cringe!What was with Neasas porno moaning!!:D

suntottie wrote: »
    Cringe cringe cringe.

Tonights episode has possibly been the most pathetic ever.

Neasa 'oh oh turlough' give me strength.

Why oh why can't programmes like raw & the clinic take over from this ugh-ness

I f I was Finn,I'd have pretended I didn't hear that :D

Not the most sensible thing to say there Nessa! How is it that Turlough is the love of her life. The mind boggles. Women are a mystery as Wayne found out. Funny reaction.

Jo and Tommy. He says to her: "You have beautiful eyes" Pass me a bucket please.

I can't understand how the "family man/devoted husband" doesn't occasionally have the odd twinge of guilt even. It is like he is two different people. Has Tommy got an identical twin brother who is with Jo or is it really Tommy? Does he have a conscience at all? Is it his first affair?

• Registered Users Posts: 23 Jean Ann

Does anyone else thing the whole Tommy/ Jo thing is very hard to understand?? Its a bit out of left field...well apart from Jo fancying him for a while but theres more to it with Tommy I think...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

^ Pass me a whole load of buckets!!!

Not only is the whole Tommy and Jo affair hard to believe (two previously faithful spouses just deciding to have an affair from NOWHERE, and skulking around like expert cheaters after just one encounter), its not good for my stomach to see such an unattractive woman being romanticised like that. Then again, he is no oil painting so they are a good match! Just dont have your dinner watching this show.

The show is laugh out loud bad when it comes to situations which would simply never happen. A lesbian clubbing with a group of 30 somethings and Leo tagging along, then Leo pulls a gorgeous woman? Never in a million years would that happen. And then Finn blowing hot and cold over Nease every episode is very annoying, not to mention David and Suzanne suddenly being loves' not-so-young dream.

Fair City- making people laugh for over 20 years :D

I did feel a little bit sorry for Caoimhe tonight and thought she was convincing enough apologising to Neasa. She would not be my favourite but unrequited love is a tough thing to endure.

^ Pass me a whole load of buckets!!!

Not only is the whole Tommy and Jo affair hard to believe (two previously faithful spouses just deciding to have an affair from NOWHERE, and skulking around like expert cheaters after just one encounter), its not good for my stomach to see such an unattractive woman being romanticised like that. Then again, he is no oil painting so they are a good match! Just dont have your dinner watching this show.

The show is laugh out loud bad when it comes to situations which would simply never happen. A lesbian clubbing with a group of 30 somethings and Leo tagging along, then Leo pulls a gorgeous woman? Never in a million years would that happen. And then Finn blowing hot and cold over Nease every episode is very annoying, not to mention David and Suzanne suddenly being loves' not-so-young dream.

Fair City- making people laugh for over 20 years :D

The show can be a bit cringeworthy at times.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Morgans

RTE really should employ enough actors to allow for Fair City storylines to make sense. I find the traditional one character/persona per actor/actress works best.

The edict to sex things up a bit clearly heard.

Is it a lottery that determines which actors get which storylines?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

starryeye wrote: »
    I'm sure Bela was the father of Baby Alice and I think he could not mourn her openly as a father would normally if his child had just died. He had to keep the secret to himself for a long time and Rita wondered why he wasn't himself. The baby died as a result of having a heart condition or something. Thanks too for reminding me about Clive. I thought he was a great match with Eunice. I couldn't remember what happened to him at all.

I remember the story now.

Please give us a big, dramatic storyline on Fair City. It is crying out for one.

Mr. Denton wrote: »
    I'm looking at yer man with the wonky arms and thinking "he could do better."

DOnt think he is a good actor. It looks like that they went out and took the first disabled one they found. I take it that they wanted a disabled actor or are the working storylines around the one they found.

amdublin wrote: »
    Jesus it's all fierce steamy

They could drop the 'Fair' from the programmes name and slip in 'Sex in the' but that has been used already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

DOnt think he is a good actor. It looks like that they went out and took the first disabled one they found. I take it that they wanted a disabled actor or are the working storylines around the one they found.

The guy (Mat Fraser) is famous in the UK. He fancies himself as a comedian and actor and has this definite chip on his shoulder that he'd be getting better gigs/roles if he didn't have Thalidomide. Personally I think he's not that good and would be less well know if he didn't have the condition. I don't think he's either funny or talented but there you go (perfect Fair City material).

BTW, all those shots of him taking off his shirt/coat and putting them back on, you can bet that was his idea and not the writers of the show. Constantly trying to prove a point in everything he does as tho he's some crusader for the disabled.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

And by the way, why on earth is Leo still in this soap? He has had his day with dramatic storylines and in 2011 his character is 100% redundant. When your only screen time is a story about going on the lash with people 4 decades younger than you and hitting on foreign women who wouldnt look twice at you in the real world, then you know its time to say enough is enough and leave with dignity before the scriptwriters have even more fun ripping the piss out of you for being the token background fodder with no purpose. Cmon Leo, move on for Christ sake....:rolleyes:

Looking forward to Carol's new storyline next week.

And by the way, why on earth is Leo still in this soap? He has had his day with dramatic storylines and in 2011 his character is 100% redundant. When your only screen time is a story about going on the lash with people 4 decades younger than you and hitting on foreign women who wouldnt look twice at you in the real world, then you know its time to say enough is enough and leave with dignity before the scriptwriters have even more fun ripping the piss out of you for being the token background fodder with no purpose. Cmon Leo, move on for Christ sake....:rolleyes:

I remember poor old Bela spent a lot of time sitting on a bar stool in McCoy's. He almost became part of the furniture there. I hope the older characters get a decent storyline again. I'm glad that Charlie has a new partner now. He was great with Mags and I'm glad he still gets a part in the show. Cass is an interesting character to watch. I love the little dog Sheba that is with him in some of his scenes. I believe that this little dog belongs to Eamon Morrissey who plays Cass.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 jenny30

starryeye wrote: »
    Looking forward to Carol's new storyline next week.

What is Carols new storyline?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Eradicate

Strange episode tonight!
    Not buying Jo and Tommy at all. She seems to be acting in a christmas panto. Major roll of the eyes from myself tonight, when she put her hand to her chest after seeing tommy, in a "be still my beating heart" moment. Awful acting!
    Neasa is doing well with her story i think. This board is very hard on her, but i think she has been very good the past few weeks.
    Suzanne and David???? I dunno! Suzanne doesnt seem comfortable at all. I dont buy that shes in love with him. Why does she get all the big storylines?
    I enjoyed the pulling competition. Utterly ludicrous, yes. but i think it was supposed to be. I love scenes with Damien, Wayne and Dean. Very believable as friends. Damien is a sweetheart! Suzanne of with another fella already and him not wanting to play the field.
    I love Dean, he is one of my favourite characters. Such an asshole but he has a gorgeous smile.
    Leo, hilarious as always. I dont know what it is about him, he is just funny to watch.