Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion]

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭rogercar

I thought tonights episode was the worst in along time, very contrived and silly. All the guys lined up in a line in the station fancying their chances with the various women. And there were exactly enough women to match them. Even Laura pulled,everyone did, except Wayne. Tonights episode imo was complete and utter crap. Jo and Tommie were fine, convincing inso far as, they are attracted to each other. Judith too plays her part well. But overall it was embarrasingly bad. FC seriousley need to get their act together. It can only improve. They axed the clinic, I know it wasn't a soap but it was definetely the best drama RTE ever made. I think they should bring it back in the form of a soap two or three episodes a week and give us a quality drama/soap once again.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Judith got it totally wrong tonight.

It wasn't 21 year old arguing with 23 year old. It was more like 4 year old arguing with 5 year old...... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭_whiskers

rogercar wrote: »
    They axed the clinic, I know it wasn't a soap but it was definetely the best drama RTE ever made. I think they should bring it back in the form of a soap two or three episodes a week and give us a quality drama/soap once again.

Please bring the clinic! Just goes to show rte can produce quality shows :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭rogercar

_whiskers wrote: »
    Please bring the clinic! Just goes to show rte can produce quality shows :pac:
    I agree. As far as I can remember RTE got an independent company to produce The Clinic - Parralell films I think. Perhaps they should consider that for FC.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

^ Pass me a whole load of buckets!!!

Not only is the whole Tommy and Jo affair hard to believe (two previously faithful spouses just deciding to have an affair from NOWHERE, and skulking around like expert cheaters after just one encounter), its not good for my stomach to see such an unattractive woman being romanticised like that. Then again, he is no oil painting so they are a good match! Just dont have your dinner watching this show.

The show is laugh out loud bad when it comes to situations which would simply never happen. A lesbian clubbing with a group of 30 somethings and Leo tagging along, then Leo pulls a gorgeous woman? Never in a million years would that happen. And then Finn blowing hot and cold over Nease every episode is very annoying, not to mention David and Suzanne suddenly being loves' not-so-young dream.

Fair City- making people laugh for over 20 years :D

i seriously lol'd at this comment.....had to read it to hubby & all :D:D
    Eradicate wrote: »
    Strange episode tonight!
    Not buying Jo and Tommy at all. She seems to be acting in a christmas panto. Major roll of the eyes from myself tonight, when she put her hand to her chest after seeing tommy, in a "be still my beating heart" moment. Awful acting!
    Neasa is doing well with her story i think. This board is very hard on her, but i think she has been very good the past few weeks.
    Suzanne and David???? I dunno! Suzanne doesnt seem comfortable at all. I dont buy that shes in love with him. Why does she get all the big storylines?
    I enjoyed the pulling competition. Utterly ludicrous, yes. but i think it was supposed to be. I love scenes with Damien, Wayne and Dean. Very believable as friends. Damien is a sweetheart! Suzanne of with another fella already and him not wanting to play the field.
    I love Dean, he is one of my favourite characters. Such an asshole but he has a gorgeous smile.
    Leo, hilarious as always. I dont know what it is about him, he is just funny to watch.

agree with everything here!

tonight was just .,.... awkward! fake!
    there were feck all people in the station....and the chances of all those lads pulling .... it just was obviously unrealistic! and the way there was no music at the end and they (damo & wayne) sitting in an empty pub... and all of a sudden staff are ready to go like a minute later? weird.....

the scene at the end with neasa and turlough... her moaning... OMG i thought they were actually getting it on .. i was shocked to hear those type of noises on a soap.. i was like..are they actually SHOWING THIS TYPE OF THING?????
    but then i realised she was just going OTT with making out noises :rolleyes:
    very awkward to watch.

david doesn't bother me too much but jeaaaayyysus didn't he eat the face off suzanne! and yes she did look awkward! nearly a 20 year gap between those two and all.

poor dermot standing there looking for the bedtime romance..
    it's going to be interesting to see how that affair pans out!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

jenny30 wrote: »
    What is Carols new storyline?

There's a bun in the oven and doubt who the baker is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭starryeye

Eradicate wrote: »
    Strange episode tonight!
    I enjoyed the pulling competition. Utterly ludicrous, yes. but i think it was supposed to be. I love scenes with Damien, Wayne and Dean. Very believable as friends. Damien is a sweetheart! Suzanne of with another fella already and him not wanting to play the field.

I doubt anyone would be too quick to play the field after being married to Suzanne. It could put him off women for life!

The Billy Meehan story was compulsive viewing. I think we need some more complex characters like him to put some really good drama into the show. I think the actor who played Billy Meehan was unemployed for a long time after his role in Fair City. I am sure he played the part of Van Gogh and had his front two teeth removed so that he could get into the mindset of the troubled artist. He had a great dedication to his role and wanted to be utterly convincing in the part. The best actors I think have the gift of making the audience believe that they are the person they are portraying.

I wonder how long David will be in Fair City?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

starryeye wrote: »
    I am sure he played the part of Van Gogh and had his front two teeth removed so that he could get into the mindset of the troubled artist. He had a great dedication to his role and wanted to be utterly convincing in the part.
    Well there's dedication and then there's crazy. And that would seem to be on the crazy side.
    Hopefully he didn't import drugs and do a few gangland hits so he could be more convincing in the role of Billy Meehan. :eek: :pac:

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Well there's dedication and then there's crazy. And that would seem to be on the crazy side.
    Hopefully he didn't import drugs and do a few gangland hits so he could be more convincing in the role of Billy Meehan. :eek: :pac:

It is an extraordinary thing to do and I hope he got an understanding and kind dentist afterwards to replace the missing teeth. I certainly hope that playing B.M did not give him a taste for crime. I still admire him for playing the roles and doing justice to those characters even though that particular action was an extreme thing to do and I would imagine a very painful experience while on the dentist's chair. The thought of it alone is terrible. He did prove that he could act the roles and make them credible for the audience. I think some actors lack credibility and I can think of some who give wooden performances and an unatural, unrealistic portrayal of their character. Obviously, I would not recommend such drastic measures such as what he did with his teeth . I don't think that is the best example to give to an aspiring actor or one who wishes to improve their performances.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

suntottie wrote: »
    Cringe cringe cringe.

Tonights episode has possibly been the most pathetic ever.

Neasa 'oh oh turlough' give me strength.

Spot on. Tonight's episode has to be one of the worst ever. That scene at the end with Neasa blurting out "Oh Turlough" has to be one of the clunkiest and most cringeworthy scenes ever. And Fair City's stab at "humour" with the various characters trying to pull in The Station was real "hide behind the sofa with your face in your hands" stuff. Wow, if it's that easy to score on an average Sunday night in The Station, I'd better make my way there quick-smart. Are we REALLY supposed to believe that Dean went back to his house for a threesome with those 2 girls he was chatting to? Cos that's what was being implied. Just what is it about that guy that makes women want to drop their knickers within 10 seconds of meeting him?
    And Leo picking up another Russian Lana look-and-sound-alike?? Come on! Pure rubbish! I'd have loved to have heard his cheesy chat-up lines. They'd be enough to make most women run a million miles, I reckon. And then Damien's sister gets a piece of the action with a lesbian pick-up, and even Damien gets an offer :rolleyes: Everybody except Wayne that is, and we're all supposed to fall about the place laughing that everybody scored like as if it was shooting fish in a barrel except for the poor ould Waynster.

Who on earth writes this rubbish?? If you told me it was a bunch of 12 year olds, I'd be inclined to believe it. :rolleyes:

starryeye wrote: »
    I can't understand how the "family man/devoted husband" doesn't occasionally have the odd twinge of guilt even. It is like he is two different people. Has Tommy got an identical twin brother who is with Jo or is it really Tommy? Does he have a conscience at all? Is it his first affair?

There seems to be a lot of sociopathic/psychopathic tendencies being exhibited by a lot of the Fair City characters. This is probably a reflection of the crap writing more than anything else. Tommy is acting like a typical sociopath in the way he's conducted his affair with Jo. There is not one ounce of guilt in the guy.

For psychopaths, look no further than Suzanne. For most of her life she's this salt-of-the-earth and wouldn't harm a fly, kind to puppies character. Then she transforms into a cool, calculating, husband-beating violent bitch who looks a complete lost cause on her way to insanity. Then, quick as a flash, she's back to being nice, kind, salt-of-the-earth Suzanne again! WTF is going on there??? :rolleyes:

Deise Tom wrote: »
    There's a bun in the oven and doubt who the baker is.

My money's on ould Mr Brennan. He's a dirty oul bastard :D

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Long Room Hubba

My money's on ould Mr Brennan. He's a dirty oul bastard :D

Remember this is a soap, Harry. I'd be looking at a who's-the-daddy storyline with Johnston, Mooney and O'Brien.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

Remember this is a soap, Harry. I'd be looking at a who's-the-daddy storyline with Johnston, Mooney and O'Brien.

A case of "who put the bun in the oven"?

• Registered Users Posts: 86,167 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Wow plenty of horny folk in FC this week Jo, Tommy and David etc and then poor Wayne cant get any

So on a Sunday night the station is packed with only women and Damo, Leo and Laura score but not Wayne :rolleyes:

WTF did Nessa call Turlough's name :confused:

Why did Neasa call out Turlough's name?

It seemed a bit false imo. She clearly fancies Finn and was furious with Caoimhe when she walked in on both of them together. A bit incredible and she said his name loudly. Finn would have to be deaf not to have heard her. It was done as a deliberate act to add another complication into the story by the writers so that they can drag it on for as long as possible.
    We will be left with the idea of Will they? or Won't they? for ages. This saga will go on and on and Turlough might even make contact from beyond the grave if he finds out how to do it properly this time! Finn may even find that The Station is haunted like Cathy haunting Heathcliff in Wuthering Heights. Who knows! Watch out for any creaky sounds in The Station Finn!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Fristly in all honesty how many times have you ever seen 4 people facing away from the bar (apart from watching the tv and at that it would be sideways) - that was totally unrealistic.

Secondly while snogging I've never called out any name.

Thirdly all the smacking noises during the kisses put me right off my gin.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,167 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

All the couples lately in FC lack any bit of chemistry or spark bar maybe Sash and Robert and they arent a couple yet and are not around now

• Registered Users Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

I love the way Rita is still such a part of the show even though we don't get to see her on screen.

Amd thank God we don't get to see her too.....the WORST Actor I've EVER seen!

As someone on here said a while back about a particular scene, a comment which made me laugh....she couldn't even act being asleep! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭STIG83

deelite wrote: »
    Fristly in all honesty how many times have you ever seen 4 people facing away from the bar (apart from watching the tv and at that it would be sideways) - that was totally unrealistic.

Secondly while snogging I've never called out any name.

Thirdly all the smacking noises during the kisses put me right off my gin.

It's like the writers just don't care anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

I am bored by the show at the moment alright.

Marital affairs have been done so many times by so many soaps (including Fair City)!

Even the upcoming story of who owns the bun in the oven isn't exactly original. It's another plot that's been done by every single soap before (includung Fair City). I'm half expecting a ridiculous twist with the baby being neither Christy's or Louis' in the end.

Then there's Barry's money laundering exploits about to come back soon I'm sure....different, but not credible!

Then there's the other upcoming sory of
    Mark
    turning into a bit of a gangster too. This has potential - the jury will decide quickly!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LC2010HIS

Did neasa call out turloughs name last night?

Missed it and todays repeat:eek::(:(:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

LC2010HIS wrote: »
    Did neasa call out turloughs name last night?

Missed it and todays repeat:eek::(:(:(

Sure did.

There was no mention of him or very little since he died. Yet first time she gets near a man since he died and who does she call

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭rebel without a clue

the kissing scene with yer wan and finn was total cringe!! they were just kissing and she starts groaning??? jez what would she be like if they were at it full throttle??!! :eek:

the scene where esther is having a go at suzanne and david was well done, typical irish mother! david was natural too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭STIG83

Neasa was doing a good porn moan and then calls out Turlough's name then :rolleyes:
    Spoil the moment why dont ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭IsMiseLisa

I was watching the end of the Fair City repeat today and my brother walks in and goes 'When did they start showing porn before Masterchef?'

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Long Room Hubba

Catching up on episodes after reading the thread can be very interesting. It shows how much we get things wrong sometimes. For example, I got the impression that Finn kissed Neasa, and suddenly she started moaning. It sounded awful.

In fact, we cut to a scene, which might have been going on for ages. He was on the couch, pretty much on top of her, and his hands were off-screen. I know it's before the watershed, but it doesn't take too much imagination to figure what was going on.

I'm the first to wish the directing on FC was a bit more subtle, but the price of being subtle is that we might miss it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Twas far from Humous you were reared!!