Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bass Drum mics

Options
  • 26-07-2008 10:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭

My new interface has been ordered (profire 2626) so I'm planning my new mic locker to go with it. I know the akg d112 is the default kick mic but I'm also considering the sennheiser md421 as itll give me an excellent bass cab mic as well (I'm a bassist so this is a big deal :D). I'm also looking at the Audix D6.

Any thoughts?

Edit: The EV RE20 looks interesting if a bit expensive, its not just for kick either, hmmm

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭teamdresch

eoin5 wrote: »
    My new interface has been ordered (profire 2626) so I'm planning my new mic locker to go with it. I know the akg d112 is the default kick mic but I'm also considering the sennheiser md421 as itll give me an excellent bass cab mic as well (I'm a bassist so this is a big deal :D). I'm also looking at the Audix D6.

Any thoughts?

Edit: The EV RE20 looks interesting if a bit expensive, its not just for kick either, hmmm

The RE-20 is a great mic for kick and bass amps.
    An MD-421 and SM-7 are good for both too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Soundman

Two more mics to consider which are by todays stadards better than the D112 would be:

Shure Beta52a: Good for both Bass drum and bass amp. Also good for brass too.

Sennheiser e602/902: Closer to the D112 but still better IMO. Not as honky sounding. Same uses as the Beta52a.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

Soundman wrote: »
    Two more mics to consider which are by todays stadards better than the D112 would be: