Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sick parrot?

• 28-07-2008 8:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭

Hi folks,
    just looking for some advice from the bird experts.
    My usually-boisterous 3 month old Senegal has been a bit under the weather all day today. He has just sat in the bottom of the cage in a corner and slept, he is not shaking or sniffling though. Its seems that he has not eaten (apart from taking a few seeds from my hand) or gone to the toilet all day. I can't tell if he has had any water, other than a few drops that he licked off my fingers this evening. He is more perky (but not as much as usual) when he is out with us getting loves.

He has a big cage with plenty of different types of wooden perches and more toys than he needs. All day yesterday the food that was available to him was his usual parrot seed mix, a honey seed bar, fresh carrot, and a quarter digestive biscuit (a treat that I have researched and has been advised by a few different experts). He also has water in a bowl (changed am and pm), and water in a rabbit or hamster style ball-bearing dropper. In the evening I put him outside for about an hour and a half or so, all the while himself and all of the cage was in my full view, just outside the window beside the couch I was sitting on There was no wind outside and he usually seems to enjoy being ouside very much. He has had no contact with other birds (wild or domestic). He also spent a considerable amount of time out of the cage with us throughout the day, always supervised.

This was a 100% typical day for the bird, the only thing that changes day-to-day is what sort of fresh food he gets, and whether or not he'd get outside (depends on weather, and if pesky cats are around :rolleyes:). He hasn't been sick since I had him. He hasn't eaten herbs, chocolate or avocado.

I hope I've got enough info down in this post as my own laptop is broken so my internet access is restricted.
    I'd be greatful if someone can give me a bit of advice or reassurance. As I'm really worried about the little guy and would hate to think he's uncomfortable.
    My theory is that he may be constipated and or dehydrated... but I could be wrong.
    No offence to anyone here but please only give advice or suggestions if you really know alot about birds as I'd hate to make the situation worse.
    Thanks! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Sigma Force

No matter how well you look after a bird they can come down with all sorts. speaking as someone owned by 4 birds.
    So I would say he may have some sort of virus or infection or blockage, could be anything but when a bird becomes ill they must be taken to a vet straight away you cannot delay with bird and small animals. They go downhill quickly.
    The fact he hasn't eaten anything is a worry and that he hasn't passed anything. If he pooped it would be easier to guess what was wrong but it would only be a guess.

So a trip to the vets is a must straight away can't stress this enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

I agree with Guineapig Rescue go to a vet asap, usually when a bird actually displays symptoms it's been there a while whether you have realised it or not. Parrots have a very high metabolic rate and when they are sick, time is of the essence.
    I hope you get it sorted out whatever it is that's happening, I know what it's like to lose a parrot, it's heart breaking. Don't delay go to a vet if he doesn't perk up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭AngelicRaindrop

your in dublin right? 1st bit of advice is take him to an Avian vet, not just a normal vet,but one that is fully certified for treating birds. second that sounds an awful lot like what happened to a grey a friend owned who had pbfd but died before he developed outward signs

if you want the number of a very good avian vet give me a pm ill give ya her address and number

• Registered Users Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Bairbre O'Malley in Bray is a specialist avian vet.

Bairbre is who i was on about, i bring all my birds to her and i travel from wexford.

You could also try John Bainbridge, he has been around a long time and specialises in exotics.
    Argyle and Bainbridge are based in Dundrum.

tallus wrote: »
    You could also try John Bainbridge, he has been around a long time and specialises in exotics.
    Argyle and Bainbridge are based in Dundrum.

Whereabouts in Dundrum are they based?

I need to get my Grey's wings clipped.

Bairbre is who i was on about, i bring all my birds to her and i travel from wexford.

She seems to be an excellent avian vet - highly recommend her.

i love Bairbre, she is a little more expensive than John but she gives me peace of mind, and wouldnt leave a stone unturned, she helped me out with an epileptic chipmunk i was given by a petshop.

I did once bring my parrots to a regualer vet and she told me how beautiful my Amazon was!, i thought no way she is getting near my bird!, he was actually an african grey, for people who dont know an african grey is grey with a red tail and amazon is mostly green with different colours depending on which sub spieces. shes also microchipped all my birds for me, and does take into acount that when making an appointment i do live a 2hr drive away and will do her best to accommodate me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Rory123

Thanks guys! Here is an update.
    So last night Fergal was a little perkier and slept on his favourite perch (I had to put him on it).
    I decided I would see how he'd get on over today. At lunchtime my girlfriend called to say that he was back on the bottom of cage, lethargic, and had vomited twice. At this point I dropped everything at work and rushed home, making an appointment with Barbaire O' Malley in Bray on the way.
    We wrapped him up and put him in our unused habitrail ovo hamster cage (VERY handy for sick parrots!). We were very worried.
    Barbaire reckoned that it was just some sort of bug that he could have carried for quite a while. She gave him an antibiotic injection and crop-fed him some nutritious baby parrot formula.
    She gave me some antibiotics and some electrolyte formula for dehydration to take home. I am to feed him Milupa baby food for the next few days. Barbaire thought the hamster cage was ideal and told me to keep him in it until he is better. He was perky after the food but is mostly sleeping (he needs it).
    It wasn't that expensive at €57 (apart from losing half a days wages and the diesel to and from bray).
    He'll needs lots of love and care over the next few days. But with a bit of luck he'll be ok.

?attid=0.1&disp=emb&view=att&th=11b707666c51334b
    Here is a photo of the patient in his sickbed. He is the big pile of fluffed up green feathers on the right :rolleyes: (all contorted looking as he is roosting)

i couldnt see the photo, but im glad bairbre was able to help. hope he gets better soon

Great you got him treatment. Is he on a pro biotic as well something like Avipro while he's on the antibiotics coz they can be rough of the system.

...blunt answer is no... I wasn't told anything about that by the vet. Unfortunately Fergal had to be taken back to Barbaire O Malley today. This morning he pretty much went limp and lost the use of his claws, he was completely weakened. He was crop-fed again by the vet but did not show much sign of getting any strength back in the afternoon. He is so weak that a blood test would kill him so we've no way of knowing what his problem is, unless he gets some strength back. Awaiting an update from the vet anytime now but it doesn't look good for the little guy. :(
    We are heartbroken but we are living in hope.

Well just got the phone call nobody wants to get. Fergal gave in a little while ago. We really got to love him and his boldness over the last few weeks. Folks please don't take your pets health and the enjoyment they give for granted.

• Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭LisaO

Very sorry to hear that. He sounded like a lovely little character.

Sorry to hear about the little guy the vet could do a post mortem to put your mind at rest but that's up to you.

Yeah thanks. I wouldn't like the vet to do a post mortem for a few reasons, I know that I did my best for him and he died through no fault of my own anyway, there is also the added cost and I just wouldn't like him to be interfered with any further.
    We are in very very sad house tonight. The stripped-out cage is hard to look at but I'm keeping it out for the moment.

LisaO wrote: »
    Very sorry to hear that. He sounded like a lovely little character.
    Ta he was. He was very bold, but I'm happy that I gave him a good little life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Rory I am so sorry for your sad loss - tis never easy to lose any pet.

Rory i am so sorry about losing your Fergal

i lost my black headed caique last year do a congentical problem at 6months old. its a horrible feeling to loose a pet parrot or any pet like that

Sorry to hear Rory, I lost a grey years back in similar circumstances, it's heartbreaking.

Thanks folks. We are very sad and we won't forget Fergal in a hurry but we have decided that we want to get another Senegal as soon as we can... You'd miss the incessant squawking too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭joesoap007

have just been reading the posts:(:(:(..its very sad

iv a 22 week old macaw thats under the weather,and lookin for a vet now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Where are you located?

If anywhere near Dublin then http://www.veterinary.ie/

Toulouse wrote: »
    Where are you located?

If anywhere near Dublin then http://www.veterinary.ie/

+1 - Bairbre specialises in Parrots, brought my parrot there a few times and she's superb. I see you're in Louth, not too hard to get to her if you use the motorway to go all the way round to Bray.

22 week old macaw???!!! Beautiful!

Any pics???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭joesoap007

+1 - Bairbre specialises in Parrots, brought my parrot there a few times and she's superb. I see you're in Louth, not too hard to get to her if you use the motorway to go all the way round to Bray.

22 week old macaw???!!! Beautiful!

Any pics???

hey lads thnks for the quick replys
    but i think was over reacting a bit .iv only had it a few days.waiting on d.n.a back.id say say it miss its last owners they seem to be very nice people
    001-2.jpg

Birds take a wee while to get used to new surroundings and people even new things in their cages can take a while for them to get used to.
    He should be grand, plenty of attention and play time to help with the bonding.
    If he ever does appear ill don't worry about being paranoid if in doubt always take him to the vets even if it turns out to be nothing. I've looked a right eejit the odd time when paranoid about pets but it puts your mind at rest.