Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Drogheda United v Dynamo Kiev

• Registered Users Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭delija_sever029

It seems its over...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

2-1 Kiev, blatant penalty.
    4-2 on aggregate, got to assume gave over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Monkey chants for the black Drogs player.

Charming.

2-2,

4-3 on agg. Gartland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Monkey chants for the black Drogs player.

Charming.
    Thats a bit strange, Kiev had three black players in their team last week and look to have the same this week.

Two - Two, Gartland.

2-2.

Screw you gimmick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Wow, Kiev are a class apart, a draw would be a great result.

What a miss!!!!

What a miss.

How did Hughes miss that? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Poor Hughes, that was a terrible miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

Gimmick is the most bitter Eircom league supporter EVER ! ! !!

I cant believe that he missed that adam hughes oh my god

Oh my God.

Holy ****! How?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭andrewie

How did that stay out!!

Off the post... Jesus

Drogheda were robbed tonight :p

Drogheda have done the league proud whatever happens. Gritty performance.

How bad is that culchie commentator? "thats amazing, the 2 lads are speaking French, apologising to each other"

bohsman wrote: »
    How bad is that culchie commentator? "thats amazing, the 2 lads are speaking French, apologising to each other"
    Cringeworthy indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭carlop

bohsman wrote: »

agreed, commentary for both legs has been woeful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,393 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

What a crazy final 5 minutes.
    Drogheda nearly pulled it out of the fire.

Roddy Collins, oh how I despise that man and his need to be negative and controversial about everything. Hard luck Drogs.

DSB wrote: »
    Roddy Collins, oh how I despise that man and his need to be negative and controversial about everything. Hard luck Drogs.
    Too right.

You think he could give Drogs a little bit of credit. They deserved a draw out of this at least.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭delija_sever029

Good result for Drogheda,as neutral fan here i wanted to see surprise in this game and Drogs winning but i think they left good impression with these 2-2

Twas a good result for the coefficient anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Well done to Drogheda, they did the league proud. One of these years an irish club will make the breakthrough to the group stages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

My whole family were screaming for Drogheda in the last few minutes. I thought Adam Hughes had scored.

Very hard luck.

Shane Robinson made a big difference in this leg.

Made Roddy's over the top rants look petty now. :mad:

Rico showed some reason to his analysis. While he admitted that Kiev were the better team, he said that character counts for so much as well.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭scruff321

all i can say is that collins is a cRRRap pundit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Screw you gimmick!
    sarge wrote:
    Gimmick is the most bitter Eircom league supporter EVER ! ! !!

Thats put me in my place.

2-2 away from home, good result for them to be fair.

But once again, it is glorious failure, which all eL fans are all too happy to accept. Then, at last their European failure was not a European embarrassment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Excellent result for Drogs. It would have been the biggest upset I've seen from an Irish team in Europe anyway.

gimmick wrote: »
    But once again, it is glorious failure, which all eL fans are all too happy to accept. Then, at last their European failure was not a European embarrassment!

Its a step in the right direction, and ultimately earns a bit more respect for the league. Which will bring a small amount extra to the stands each week. Unlike Cork who put the name of the league through the sewers with a mauling at the hands of a vastly inferior Haka side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

^ I don't disagree with any of that.

Still don't have to like them though.

^ I don't disagree with any of that.

Still don't have to like them though.

Not a Drogs fan at all either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Fair play to Drogs, I understand Collins said he'd do a forfit if they were not beaten by 2 clear goals tonight so I wonder if he'll live up to his word.

Mike.

Will he hell! It's like Dunphy paying the money he bid for a jersey at a Waterford United benefit auction! Not gonna happen! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

Sure i'm hardly the biggest Drogheda supporter here , but I WILL support the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

unbelievable just unbelievable my heart is still in my mouth! IF.... IF.... IF......... so close to greatest result ever in irish football!!! they have really done us proud!!

Would Shels knocking out current Croatian champions Hajduk Split at the same stage of the same competition not rank the same, even if they had done it? Great performance from what I saw, and desperately unlucky, just not sure I buy idea it would have been the best result ever achieved.

No, Kiev are a far bigger team than Split.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

Yeah Kiev and Split can't really be compared.

Not exactly a total glorious failure, the draw at least gets us co-efficent points. I missed the game, though.

Fair enough, I was basing it on competition stages. I suppose to that degree I can see the logic. Apologies that upset any Drogs fans! :)

Theres far bigger results as far as stages go alright, Shels cl exploits, Bohs reaching the UEFA cup proper and beating Kaiserslautern away.

Meah one legged results don't count for anything imo. Shels beating Split for example ranks a billion times higher then 'drawing' with Deportivo. It's a two legged game, and it's about who you knocked out, especially after losing at home. Shels drew away with a fine Rosenborg team years ago too in the winter football Malta teams beating us 5-0 home and away era, but it means nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Then, at last their European failure was not a European embarrassment!
    Cork were playing the other night, weren't they? In Finland I think?

Slash/ED wrote: »
    Meah one legged results don't count for anything imo.

Agreed, I was more focusing on the reaching the 1st round proper part of it.

Ah that's true, Aberdeen was quite a scalp at the time too.