Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your 3 facts of life

• 30-07-2008 9:55am
    Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭

We all know that certain things are and that's just the way it is. That no matter how much you fight it, it's just the way things are.

Here's mine:

1) There will always be a drug problem in Ireland when the price of an E tablet is 2 euro less than the price of a pint.
    2) Wherever you go in life there will always be some c*nt who deserves a good punch in the face
    3) Someone will respond to this with "yore ma"

So what are your 3 pearls of wisdom. What are your 3 inevitabilities in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

1) Stevelknievel is either getting ripped off for pints or knows a pretty good dealer.

2) No matter what you do there will always be someone there (who didn't want to do it in the first place) to tell you how it should have been done.

3) Rolling your eyes at someone online :rolleyes: will cause them to have a hissy fit and/or a mental breakdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

We all know that certain things are and that's just the way it is. That no matter how much you fight it, it's just the way things are.

Here's mine:

1) There will always be a drug problem in Ireland when the price of an E tablet is 2 euro less than the price of a pint.
    2) Wherever you go in life there will always be some c*nt who deserves a good punch in the face
    3) Someone will respond to this with "yore ma"

So what are your 3 pearls of wisdom. What are your 3 inevitabilities in life.
    1. Aids is real! Use a CONDOM
    2. Racism = Ignorance!!!!
    3. Life is short, enjoy it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

1. You are small
    2. The world is big
    3. Everyone will take what they can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

1. Everything is for the best in the best of all possible worlds.

2. Nobody but yourself will stop you from getting to where you want to be.

3. It's only arrogance if you can't back it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

1.buttsecks is like marmite.

2.some people have major problems that you can't always fix

3. you have yourself in this world. Life your own life and don't give a fcuk what others think.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

1) No matter who you vote for in general elections, nothing will really change. There is no such thing as an alternative government.

2) People will always believe in superstition / religion / pseudo-science because it makes them feel good. No matter how much science does to provide elegant alternatives and to show how ridiculous these things are, they will always persist. Ignorance is stronger than science.

3) You don't have as many real friends as you think you have. Most will drop you like a hot potato if it is in their best interest (and you will do the same to them if it suits you).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,159 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

1. Trying to pick your real friends is impossible only they can pick you!

2. Nothing is ever 'greener' on the other side!

3. The only person guaranteed to stand beside you right till the end is you, so always pick yourself over others. this might sound selfish but it true!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭beautiation

1) Nothing matches the thrill of doing something pointless, reckless and downright dangerous.
    2) Living and thinking too logically will be the death of me, but I'm stuck this way.
    3) People change, and all I can do is make sure I don't change with them just to keep them close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

1. Most people are inherently good. Work from that principle.

2. It's good to be open to meeting new people.

3. Travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

1) Life is too short to be getting stressed about things!

2) No one on their death bed will ever say that they regret not working harder or making more money. Spend time living!

3) Every day is an adventure!

Dave! wrote: »
    1. Most people are inherently good. Work from that principle.

2. It's good to be open to meeting new people.

3. Travel.

I like that your post is under mine, cos those would pretty much be my 4, 5 and 6 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

MIN2511 wrote: »
    1. Aids is real! Use a CONDOM
    2. Racism = Ignorance!!!!
    3. Life is short, enjoy it!

That to me sounds like you are a swinger...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,159 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I like that your post is under mine, cos those would pretty much be my 4, 5 and 6 :)
    I like that ye are beside each other because ye should get a room!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

I like that ye are beside each other because ye should get a room!

Haha :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭lolly22

1. We dont inherit from our parents, we borrow from our children.

2.If you can keep your head,when all are loosing theirs,then you havent understood how serious it is.

3.Oppertunity usually knocks when your in the shower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Captain Ginger

"Everything" causes cancer.

More expensive isn't always better.

You can't say you don't like things till you have tried them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

1) The first time someone calls you a prick you call him a dickhead. The second time someone calls you a prick you punch him in the face. The third time someone calls you a prick you remember that you have called him a dickhead and punched him in the face, admit your a prick and apologise. Next time you won't let it get past the first without apologising.

2) You need to put the work and effort into acheiving you own happiness. Very little will fall into your lap.

3) You can't choose where you came from but you can choose where you are going.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,555 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

1) There's no more secure prison than your own comfort zone

2) Laziness is mankind's strongest characteristic

3) The more you think about it the angrier you get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

1) See my sig.

2) You are not alone however bad it feels.

3) Stopping to smell the flowers is a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

1: Politics and religion are best served baked.
    2: Getting off a plane or a bus is always exascerbated by the fact that people are slow,ignorant bastards.
    3: The biggest tools end up in the nicest boxes.

That to me sounds like you are a swinger...

Whose asking:eek::eek:

I might be:p

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Whose asking:eek::eek:

I might be:p

Ha! You have been rumbled. I demand links to all of your sexy pictures.

Wanna make out?

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭stevelknievel

briantwin wrote: »
    3: The biggest tools end up in the nicest boxes.

Haha! Love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

1. Do what you have to, do to what you want to.
    2. Enjoy the moment, not the memory of the moment.
    3. Sh1t happens, get over it, time spent wishing is time spent wasted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Ebonyellie

1) no matter when your period is due, if you wear white that just brings it on (same for holidays/weddings/watersports)

2) if you are lying in bed feeling terrible with a pounding headache because you have a flu people are sympathetic, if you are lying in bed with a pounding headache because you have a hangover no one cares

3) why are so many ugly heads wasted on skinny bodies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Ebonyellie wrote: »

Can you explain this one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Captain Ginger

Ebonyellie wrote: »
    1) no matter when your period is due, if you wear white that just brings it on (same for holidays/weddings/watersports)

2) if you are lying in bed feeling terrible with a pounding headache because you have a flu people are sympathetic, if you are lying in bed with a pounding headache because you have a hangover no one cares

lulwut?

Naos wrote: »
    Can you explain this one?

Shes fat and has a pretty head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

Worrying about the small stuff is pointless.

It's not where you stand but the direction you look that is important.

You only get one life live it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

1. Carbon Dioxide is the devil incarnate
    2. Most people are fairly stupid and uptight
    3. Putting a drop of cream on your cornflakes is the key to happines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

1. perfect is a frame of mind, and not physically possible

2. what doesn't kill you leaves an unhealable wound

3. opposites attract but getting with someone just like you is worth the extra work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

1. Worry is a wasted emotion. If you can do something about it, do it. If you can't, feck it! (They said the thing just couldn't be done. They said he couldn't do it. But he TRIED the thing that couldn't be done. And he couldn't f*ckin' do it).
    2. Apologising for being in the wrong is rarely fatal.
    3. There will always be a little old lady looking for the last one cent coin in her purse at the only check out that doesn't have a queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

1: Wear sunscreen

1 - If you go into any game with the wrong mentality you will never win, life should be lived the same.

2 - Whenever you're down over something, remember. Life sucks, get a helmet!

3 - Your own life is what you make of it, so don't make a bollix of it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

1. Better to have loved and lost, then to spend your life with psycho;

2. People on the Internet are strange and angry;

3. Everything is going to give you Cancer, so why worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭suckslikeafox

1. Most people will either annoy you or bore you

2. **** happens, find a way to deal with it

3. No regrets

...although im not so good at keeping to the last one

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭Muggy Dev

1) In matters of the heart,always trust your mind.

2) Never rat on a friend.

3) The sexy girls looking for contact on your web page don´t look like that in real life!:(

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,605 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

1. Everything happens for a reason.
    2. Shake 3 times before putting it in.
    3. Never trust the composition of a fart when walking.

Ha! You have been rumbled. I demand links to all of your sexy pictures.

Definitely!!!

sending pics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

1. When you think things are bad and won't get better, they always get better.

2. You'll die.

3. When you ask people to explain how to have a happier life everyone will have an answer. But depression continues to rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

- There is porn on the internet of everything you cherished as a child

- We're here for a good time, not a long time

- There is nothing wrong with liking a drink at the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Krsnik87

-There is nowhere you can be that isn't where your meant to be; its easy!

-If we could laugh at all the horrible things in the world we could get past it and the world would be a better place.

-Drugs and bombs have alot in common; you only stop when you know its bad.

antodeco wrote: »
    1. Everything happens for a reason.

pffft....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

1: Wear sunscreen

:cool:

As for three facts, I couldn't come up with 3 and most have already been posted. A verse from a Regina Spektor song came to mind that it's always worth remembering.

"..people are just people
    they shouldn't make you nervous
    the world is everlasting, it's coming and it's going
    if you don't toss your plastic
    the street won't be so plastic
    and if you kiss somebody then both of you'll get practice"

There's at least 3 facts in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

1.You die
    2.You have to pay taxes
    3.You have to do the laundry (washing)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,605 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Dave! wrote: »
    pffft....

View the 3rd point and you'll understand! :D

lol :p

For #2 I would add that shaking it more than 3 times qualifies as playing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Prefabsprouter

The light at the end of a tunnel is invariably the headlamp of an oncoming train

If you show kindness towards a person they generally reciprocate

Trains are a wonderful way to travel if you have time.