Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting started

• 31-07-2008 1:23am
    Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭

Hi
    I'm doing the open water dive course in Sharm el Sheik in October. From what i gather I can dive to 18m. I want to dive the SS Thistlegorm(30m). I was going to do the advanced course to allow me to go that deep straight after. Can anyone see a problem with this or is there any leniency(spelling) on this?

I am also trying to price up equipment. Whats the best way of doing this? i.e. Do's and Don'ts.

Thanks

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 colinmcbride

Hi,
    I am a PADI Instructor and I if you follow the rules you should have an advanced rating to dive to 30m. Quite a lot of operators will ask for that rating to let you dive the Thislegorm and rightly so. However, in my personal opinion the advanced rating should come with a minimum experience (dives) as well and I would not recommend you diving any deep wrecks (30m) with less than 30-50 dives.

As for equipment, your best bet is to shop around lots of people on these boards are sending people abroad in order to get gear on the internet - In my opinion this will eventually cause a collapse in the diving industry in this country. There are bargains to be had in this country too just have a look. Also, you have a lot of people recommending a particular mask or brand of fins etc - this is a load of rubbish, try different gear on see what fits and what is comfortable, it all works the same.

Best of luck with the training, think strongly about not doing the deep wrecks this time around.

Cheers
    Colin McBride
    www.first4scuba.com