Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prison Officer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 plas69

has their been many from 08 group called for interview yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

plas69 wrote: »
    has their been many from 08 group called for interview yet

Zero. Give or take a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Sisu200

hello lads, I don't want to build any hopes up, but maybe there is some light at the end of a very long tunnel, I was told last weekend from a very reliable source (a serving PO) that there are alot (60 to 70+) of PO's retiring from 2 prisions in the Midlands, this does not take into account any other prison, this will drive the need for Recruit Prison Officers, I hope it does drive it for the folks waiting to get in, best of luck ;)

Sisu200 wrote: »
    hello lads, I don't want to build any hopes up, but maybe there is some light at the end of a very long tunnel, I was told last weekend from a very reliable source (a serving PO) that there are alot (60 to 70+) of PO's retiring from 2 prisions in the Midlands, this does not take into account any other prison, this will drive the need for Recruit Prison Officers, I hope it does drive it for the folks waiting to get in, best of luck ;)

At this stage its fair to assume there will be movement on recruitment very soon, but will it come at a cost. Now seems like a good time for prison managenent to reduce recruit salaries, possibly in line with Trainee Gardai. Basic economics, supply of potential recruits far outstrips demand from IPS.

Such moves were mooted in the past but were resisted by unions. Given that serving officers have already agreed to the system for the reduction in overtime costs, what difference would it make to them if new recruits came in on lower salary scale.

According to serving officers, IPS management can be manipulative to say the least. Add to that external budgetary pressures and God knows what will happen. As I have suggested before, the outsourcing of prisoner transfers has been considered and may now be looked upon more favourably. Such a move would allow for reintegration of Escort Corps staff into the prisons, thus reducing the need for massive recruitment.

Sisu200 wrote: »
    hey sisu200, i was talkin 2 a po due 2 retire in comin weeks and he was sayin the same. wish someone could shed some light on when next class are goin in.:mad:

Wexfjord, I agree that the ball is definitly in the IPS court with regard to the availibility of potential recruits and the possibility of taking advantage of the current situation, I am of the opinion, like what happened with a similar moratorium in the 80's (a ban on the recruitment of Guards, PO's and Public Service in General was brought in, after 18 months, all hell broke loose and people had to be replaced).

I would say that there will be a big drive soon in this area, alot of the PO's I am aware of are out of there after Christmas. With crime on the rise, and the talk about deferring prison sentense's until "space" becomes availible, it will simply not be possible to run the system with reduced numbers of Prison Officers.

However like most things in the Public Service, recruitment is unbelievebly slow, it's that slow it's criminal:D, I really hope that the info I have been told leads to this recruitment getting underway, it's very frustrating, thats the worst of the panel system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 bano12

hey tommy rang the ips today.said there is about 50 from 07 waiting on clearence still!! they also said i'd be in the top 12 or 13 when or if i do get clearence.

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭tommy57

my god man 50 people what are they looking up ,you swear we applied for the CIA or something. We can forget about this year and just hope we get cleared soon.To be honest i,m gonna forget about it and if i get cleared fair enough.Cheers for letting us know,wonder who the other 48 are.Thats not good news for the 08 lads.

2 weeks ago the ips told me they were waiting on 12 clearances. now they are waiting on 50.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 hotter

maybe they want to take on a bigger class, hence the number has gone up

The tagline reminds me of a McDonalds recruitment campaign. "Do you want a career with that"....... not so funny now.
    Prison_PAS_advert2.jpg

Going back to my second last post and referring to the possible outsourcing of prison transfers, I've been looking at the Northern Irish Prison Service website.

They pay their staff generally better than in mainland UK, the grade that is equivalent to Prison Service Escort Corps however earns £8.53 per hour (E9.50 at todays rates), about five grand sterling per annum less than an RPO in Northern Ireland.

Not wanting to pee in anyones soup here, but realistically, there will be recruitment but they may well move the goalposts. I'm at the better end of 08 campaign and levies and pay cuts aside, I think the prison service will be a different creature entirely from the one featured in the recruitment poster by the time that any of us might get in.

No disrespect to McDonalds but they may well end up being the better option. We live in a country where some accountants are on minimum wage, solicitors previously engaged in conveyancing are in dole queues, plumbers are in Tesco and bankers are in heaven. A government looking to make serious "adjustments" wont think twice about ruining your lifes ambition to be a correctional officer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Scatman81

wexfjord wrote: »
    Going back to my second last post and referring to the possible outsourcing of prison transfers, I've been looking at the Northern Irish Prison Service website.

They pay their staff generally better than in mainland UK, the grade that is equivalent to Prison Service Escort Corps however earns £8.53 per hour (E9.50 at todays rates), about five grand sterling per annum less than an RPO in Northern Ireland.

Not wanting to pee in anyones soup here, but realistically, there will be recruitment but they may well move the goalposts. I'm at the better end of 08 campaign and levies and pay cuts aside, I think the prison service will be a different creature entirely from the one featured in the recruitment poster by the time that any of us might get in.

No disrespect to McDonalds but they may well end up being the better option. We live in a country where some accountants are on minimum wage, solicitors previously engaged in conveyancing are in dole queues, plumbers are in Tesco and bankers are in heaven. A government looking to make serious "adjustments" wont think twice about ruining your lifes ambition to be a correctional officer.
    If its going to be so bad why are you applying??:confused:If Macdonalds is a better job why dont you apply for a job there?:confused:

Scatman81 wrote: »
    If its going to be so bad why are you applying??:confused:If Macdonalds is a better job why dont you apply for a job there?:confused:

I have "applied" and am not "applying".

I "applied" last year in response to recruitment poster as shown in previous post.

Its the "job" I applied for not necessarily the terms and conditions. While these have and will change, I still intend to follow this career path. I am not whingeing or whining but making an observation about what "may" happen.

References to McDonalds are simply to make a point, that Prison Officers are not nearly as valued by government or society as they should be. Get yourself a happy meal and move on.

I have "applied" and am not "applying".

I "applied" last year in response to recruitment poster as shown in previous post.

Its the "job" I applied for not necessarily the terms and conditions. While these have and will change, I still intend to follow this career path. I am not whingeing or whining but making an observation about what "may" happen.

References to McDonalds are simply to make a point, that Prison Officers are not nearly as valued by government or society as they should be. Get yourself a happy meal and move on.
    what you are saying is true, the job is not as good as it looked nearly 3 years ago when i went for it, but hopefully when the country gets back on its feet things will go back the way they were.

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭po candidate

I know two officers, that are family and they are both pulling in atleast 60k,are you telling me that mx donalds pay betr??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

60K before stoppages? Wait until Lenihan is finished with Prison Officers and will be doing well to get half that into the hand. :(

I know two officers, that are family and they are both pulling in atleast 60k,are you telling me that mx donalds pay betr??

They must be the two that are not going on strike.

bohsboy wrote: »
    60K before stoppages? Wait until Lenihan is finished with Prison Officers and will be doing well to get half that into the hand. :(
    both officers have been in the prison service for 26 years and the other for bout 12 years, both on the highest scale, be4 levy both were earning around 70k give or take, now they both tell me they earn bout 60k a year, and i find it hard to believe that amount will only be 30k after the budget.

They must be the two that are not going on strike.
    actually they are both in favour of strike action, if in december these cuts are implemented.

its a good secure job and there are thousands of people around this country that would give anything to be in a job like it. i just dont think we should be complaining

Absolutely, it is a secure Job, private sector is tough these days, it's better to have a wage and a secure job than neither.

i agree, its still a very good wage, and a job for life, i dont see why people are complaining, for those who don't want it because its less attractive in money terms, move aside there's about 1300 people waiting to be interviewed

recruit po wrote: »
    Why did they bother doing a 2008 campaign when they had people left in the 2007 campaign? :confused:

We're all guilty of complaining it seems.

You have to go back quite a few posts to find someone actually complaining, as opposed to someone expressing an opinion based on current economic situation etc. Would love to know to whom you refer in your most recent post.

I agree with most of what has been said in the last three posts but I dont think its up to you who qualifies as a suitable candidate. In any event I dont think anyone has said they "dont want it because its less attractive in money terms".

On a lighter note I have to admire you for your almost unflappable optimism. I hope the job doesnt take that from you.

Best of luck to everyone whenever the interviews do come around. You'd expect that the process will speed up a little once they've committed to interviewing. Anyone doing any preparation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

both officers have been in the prison service for 26 years and the other for bout 12 years, both on the highest scale, be4 levy both were earning around 70k give or take, now they both tell me they earn bout 60k a year, and i find it hard to believe that amount will only be 30k after the budget.

Seriously, he's taking most of the allowances. Thats what boosts the salaries. Im talking take home pay. Wont be far off it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 0x0121

Can anyone tell me the age limit for the prison service?

• Registered Users Posts: 17 kilkennny

0x0121 wrote: »
    Hey oxo121,
    im not 100% sure but i think its 35 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭JohnThomas09

as far as i know its 35 but their is a recuirtment freeze at the moment.

bohsboy wrote: »
    Seriously, he's taking most of the allowances. Thats what boosts the salaries. Im talking take home pay. Wont be far off it.
    yeah i think its allowences too bohsboy ur rite, so is it known how much they will take off in the budget?. To be honest i'd still jump at the chance of a career as po, but its completely wrong to take away so much money of people, for me i'll never miss what i never had and wud still be far better off in the prison service even when the salaries are reduced than i am now.

NB The information that follows is from a careers website, the content of which may not be upto date.

"Candidates are required to be citizens of Ireland. They must be at least nineteen and under thirty-five years of age on 1 September in the year of application. The upper age may be extended by up to three years in the case of persons already in full-time employment in state, local authority or health board services or up to six years in the case of persons who have had military service." *

* http://www.careerdirections.ie/CD/DBAllCareerFrame.jsp?id=204

http://www.publicjobs.ie/en/campaign/inprogress.asp

http://www.irishprisons.ie/recruitment-home.htm