Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you pay your childminder?

Options
  • 06-08-2008 1:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭

I am planning on looking for work as a childminder. I am going to meet a lady tomorrow who is looking for a childminder, full time to look after her 2 boys in their home. Just wondering what the going rate is? I have a couple of years experience in minding children but am not qualified. I've looked around online but can't seem to find much information on an hourly rate etc. Any advice would be appreciated as I know childcare costs are expensive for parents but at the same time I need to survive too so am unsure of what to expect to earn? Should I at the very least expect minimum wage per hour? Thank you.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

typically the cost may be based on a daily basis once an agreed drop off and collection time has been agreed. we pay our child minder €40 per day for minding one child. this includes meals.

Hope this helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭beaushalloe

op try the childcare forums on www.rollercoaster.ie i think theirs info in the professional childcare section. most people charge the minium rate, but then it depends on the amount of hours, how many children and where you are located. you could also try your local childminding commitee for infomation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

If you're minding the kids in their home then technically aren't you an employee so should expect the minimum wage per hour? Or am I wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭traceybere