Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Another brick in the Wall - The BGRH Back to School Beers, Friday 12th of September

• 07-08-2008 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭

Yes, it's that time of year again, when the kids are heading back to school, the evenings are getting shorter and the weather is getting better. And what better way to celebrate than a few beers?

When: Friday 12th of September
    Where: Messrrs Maguire, Burgh Quay. Top floor, left, and left again. Map here.
    Time: 5:30pm till late

Standard rules apply, newbies are especially welcome but must bring a can of Carnation Condensed Milk. Why? Because it is actually for your safety. Full details here.

And as usual, if this is your first beers and you don't want to walk in on your own, PM me or any of the regulars and we can have somebody (male/female) meet you beforehand.

The theme for this one, in case you hadn't already noticed is school. Feel free to dress accordingly.

Will you be attending? 60 votes

Yes, conkers in hand
    0%
    No, I am allergic to nuts
    80%
    Tom Dunnethe_sycoCreamy GoodnessAngryBadgerWintersNevynAgent SmithZaphmonkeyfudge_blank_Lucy Luomb0wyn5ehpij9Gaspodepanda100SplinterDegsychopperbyrneWibbshomerjay2005Will 48 votes
    Nutella
    20%
    ShiminayPepe LeFritsKoldThe ReclinerSthenoJohn Masonwatnapatrickc[Deleted User]metalgear2k2Tim131Looby_Loo 12 votes

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Seeing as I'm now no longer going on holidays the next day, beers will definitely be needed that night.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,037 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

I'm in for this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Hansel

Are all these beers nights based in Dubland?

Hansel wrote: »

All the BGRH beers are, but there have been more general Boards beers in various places around the country. Can't remember hearing of one in Limerick though, now that I think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Up to now, yes. But rest assured, the social committee is working fevourishly relentlissly hard behind the scenes to organise a beers outside Dublin. Watch this space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Hansel

that's a shame. I'm in dublin the week after that (i think), and i'm always up for beers with strangers from the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

il be there, drinks in both hands.

that's a shame. I'm in dublin the week after that (i think), and i'm always up for beers with strangers from the internet.

Well you won't find many stranger than here.

Will wrote: »
    il be there, drinks in both hands.

Thought you were taking a break? Merest hint of a beer and you come running. Impressive Brother Will.

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    the kids are heading back to school,

so can I wear my school uniform??? If I attend?? ;)

ChewChew wrote: »
    so can I wear my school uniform???

You can't come out with a question like that and then add "If I attend".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,945 ✭✭✭trout

Zaph wrote: »
    Seeing as I'm now no longer going on holidays the next day, beers will definitely be needed that night.

Tis an ill wind that blows no good.
    deswalsh wrote: »
    I'm in for this one.

Coolage. Look forward to seeing how fortune has smiled on you in the last 15 years.

Only if you really want to :cool:

Listen you.....

I mean, there is no dress code, so feel free to wear what you like. Keeping with the theme is to be encouraged. Now, where did I put that cane?

You can't come out with a question like that and then add "If I attend".

Look, it's a given that I WILL attend. So shall I start again. . . SHOULD i wear my school uniform at this event?? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

I'm in! :)

Listen you.....

I mean, there is no dress code, so feel free to wear what you like. Keeping with the theme is to be encouraged. Now, where did I put that cane?

dont you give me that!!! I will just go and dig out my tie and knee socks!! :cool:

Look, it's a given that I WILL attend. So shall I start again. . . SHOULD i wear my school uniform at this event?? ;)

Hmmm, I dunno. send me some pics and I'll let you know if it's appropriate or not. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Cmol

Yussssss I shall be there

Cmol wrote: »
    Yussssss I shall be there

Damm right you will be!!

Hmmm, I dunno. send me some pics and I'll let you know if it's appropriate or not. ;)

done! ;) now no sharing ok! :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

oh yes..
    Will we see the legendery Tom Dunne on the dancefloor.

If people Dont want to go own there own or what not, i'd be heading in about 7ish, And could meet a few newbie's if they want. we dont bite!

done! ;) now no sharing ok! :rolleyes:

Oops. :o
    If people Dont want to go own there own or what not, i'd be heading in about 7ish

Feckin' amateurs :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Back to school beers? \o/ yay :D

So does that mean we have to wear uniforms?! :p;)

Missed the last one and it'll be my first better get the milk!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Nutella
    I'm so far the only one not going :(

I'll be in Holland that weekend, so I'll try and remember to think of ye whilst I'm having my ears blasted off me by one of the heaviest and loudest bands on the planet :D

Jemmy wrote: »
    Back to school beers? \o/ yay :D

So does that mean we have to wear uniforms?! :p;)

I am really beginning to like this idea.

Oh, and by the way Jemmy, don't be offended (again) if I don't remember your face. I was somewhat drunk when we met last time. :o

Well if the girls are doing it the guys have too!

OMG :eek: that hurts!
    Your a disgrace!

So does anyone have a pic of Tom? I was a little drunk too! :o:p
    Remember he was lovely guy tho! :D

Feckin' amateurs :rolleyes:

Fecking Leixlip!

I am currently in discussion with you know who about our outfits!! ;)

Ahem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

I'll see if I can make this one for the craic.

Oh yea bcoz im going to recognised you from that! lol :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I'll try my best to make it! It depends on work though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

i finsh work that day so i think ill be in town drinkin from about 5 then drop up after a couple of beers!! :D look forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

I'm a big ass maybe on this one as I may have a birthday that I have to go to but not sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I'll be there... although I'll already be back in teaching action by then, so does that mean I get to play the Headmistress? :D

g'em wrote: »
    I'll be there... although I'll already be back in teaching action by then, so does that mean I get to play the Headmistress? :D

Stop, you are killing me.

HAHAHA!! well done G'em. . . . you might have to WHIP some of those naughty girls into action!!! hahahahaha :pac:

*observe the beads of sweat forming on trout's forehead, as he manfully resists the urge to say something smutty*

trout wrote: »
    *observe the beads of sweat forming on trouts forehead, as he manfully resists the urge to say something smutty*

You should have seen the responses I didn't post. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

trout wrote: »
    *observe the beads of sweat forming on trouts forehead, as he manfully resists the urge to say something smutty*
    You should have seen the responses I didn't post. :o
    *adopts best teacher tone*

Behave boys. ( :pac:)
    HAHAHA!! well done G'em. . . . you might have to WHIP some of those naughty girls into action!!! hahahahaha :pac:
    This could prove to be a very interesting Beers...

i'll bring the handcuff's. . . i mean the eh. . . um. . . and I wont wear my shortest skirt. keeping within school dress code and all that!!

Behave boys.

So ... if I were to ... misbehave ... I might have to stay back and do detention ?

Hmmm :cool:

Behave boys.

Sweet Jeebus, I can't. I just can't.

I've even made a sticky.

Out of the thread, that is.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Nutella
    i'll bring the handcuff's. . . i mean the eh. . . um. . . and I wont wear my shortest skirt. keeping within school dress code and all that!!

You could always style yourself on http://www.sttriniansmovie.co.uk/

Trout you might be cuffed to your desk in detention

Screw trying to behave, I've been a very naughty boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I'd be stoopid not to go.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

It could possibly happen, must find somewhere to stay first.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Ack! September is nuts for me, I'm probably a no, but could change my mind at the last minute..;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I'm supposed to be flying to Cape Town the following day, but I'm sure that won't stop me from going and having a couple...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Cazlou

I am soooooooo there for this one! \o/:D

Well if the girls are doing it the guys have too!

OMG :eek: that hurts!
    Your a disgrace

Don't worry chick, Tom has a diabolical memory - I had to meet him 3 or 4 times I think it was before he remembered me!:pac:

i'm on the dart and i heard two people talking about this, own up people....