Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help Required RE computer courses

Options
  • 08-08-2008 2:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭

Hey not sure if i've posted this in the right forum or not but sure here goes anyway.

i've been recently looking into working in the it sector as i spent 5 years in WIT studying computers.
    While there I completed a NC in Commercial Computing and a NC in Multimedia Applications Development.

But having graduated in 2004 my qualifications are now 4 years old, and as I have no relevant experience in the industry I thought some kind of "refresher course" or any course really would help me.

But i've been looking around online and am not really sure what would be useful to me.

So what I guess I'm asking does anyone know of any particularly good courses which I could avail of?

Or any help really?

Thanks any reply would be very much appreciated.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

First question is, what do you want to do?

Second question, how long are you willing to commit to another course?

Personally, I think most decent jobs nowadays require a degree, so I would suggest looking in that direction. Ideally do it in the evening while building up experience working during the day.

The other option is industry certification, such as Microsoft, Oracle, Cisco. But again, you need to do them in conjunction with getting experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB