Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How's life in NZ/Aus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

you know how we've got the same name, and same nationality boyfriends, and we're going through so much of the same shit together and shit?

you know that i still hate you, right?

:p

ok ok ok, i still wubs ya... but that doesnt stop me being ridiculously jealous....

Mwah hah hah! I know you wubs me really.

Don't be jealous until the thing is physically in my passport. You never know what immigration NZ are capable of.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Nice one Watna.

Because myself and the g/f broke up before xmas, I'll no longer be staying here through her and doing the partnership visa.

I'm gonna apply for residency in a few months on my own. Should be no prob with it I think (hope).

Rabies wrote: »
    Nice one Watna.

Because myself and the g/f broke up before xmas, I'll no longer be staying here through her and doing the partnership visa.

I'm gonna apply for residency in a few months on my own. Should be no prob with it I think (hope).

Get a new girlfriend! :D

Just give the residency plenty of time and prepare for a wait. My application was sent in on October 23rd and is still in a queue going nowhere. That's why I had to apply for a work permit as well.

Funnily enough, a girl I work with from Galway applied for PR through London. It took 4 weeks. My application has been in the Wellington office now for approx 14 weeks and hasn't even been looked at. Apparently min waiting time is a year.

Ill work on that bit later. Still enjoying the nice new young model I've got now < insert evil smiley>
    No strings, nice and casual :)

A year!!!!! Feck.... I'll apply for it when I get back from Ireland in Aug. Can't afford to do two of them at the same time. Current permit doesn't expire until Nov 2010

• Registered Users Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

whow, sorry to hear, rabies, but you seem to be dealing anyway, and 2010?! jealous!!

and yes, watna, i wubs ya, but that's nothing to do with anything right now. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Derek B

OK so who can give me some info on the skilled migrant visa? I'm in Oz at the moment on a 457, been working here 27 months roughly (in current job 6 mths, last job also 457 for 1 yr), initially on 417...now I'm thinkin about going back home for a year or two for a couple of reasons around june...I'm worried that if I leave now, I may not be able to ever come back if that's what I want to do a couple of years down the line, i could see myself living here potentially...Im 26 and have a Computer Science degree and been working last few years in a fairly specialised area of IT

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭lemon_of_old

Ok, well I can now officially post in this thread! Arrived in Auckland on Tuesday, hated it, got into Wellington on Sunday morning, got a job on Monday, and started work this evening. It's mad going back to a ****ty waitressing job after years in "proper" work, but it's all good. And so far, Wellington is wicked. Mental weather, but wicked nonetheless.

so how is wellington? apparnetly, my fella wouldnt mind living there, i discovered this week.

and congrats on getting a job so quickly too! fair play!

whats the weather like there? it's started looking like autumn the last week or so here, had a load of cloudy/rainy days starting last tuesday, gorgeous yesterday, then back to cloudy today. that said, ive barely been outdoors all week, due to lack of job or surfboard (getting it back on thursday! yaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyy!!!).

I'm not gonna lie - the weather is completely mental. On Sunday it was gorgeous, blue skies and sun but so so cold in the evening, I need to quit smoking because I can't handle being outside when it's this cold (this is what happens when you adjust to 4 months of 35 degrees plus weather). Then Monday it just rained all day and was pretty miserable, so I bought a hoodie and a woolly hat to celebrate. Tuesday was incredible, not a cloud in the sky and even after lashing on the factor 50 I got sunburned. And today is nice and fresh, blue skies and clouds are kind of fighting each other, and I reckon it'll heat up in the afternoon. But yeah, it totally feels like Autumn, even though someone told me that February is usually a really hot month here.

I really like the town so far, after only 3 days I know a few people and feel pretty comfortable in the place. And if you're free at the weekend and in the vicinity (where are you based Crumble Froo?) you should really come to the Cuba St. carnival, everyone's so excited about it, it looks brilliant. Of course I will be doing my best to be an awesome waitress ALL during the carnival, but at least the restaurant is smack bang in the middle of it, so I'll get a bit of the atmosphere at least.

haha, weather's pretty mental alright. apparently christchurch (where im based) is worst for changes, due to being in a spot that gets windchange a lot, or something.

all i know is that the worst thing in the world is a nor-wester wind. it blows in this awful dry hot hot heat, and drives everyone mental.

you know how at home, you joke about how the full moon brings out the loonies? well here, it's just totally accepted that you dont wana go drinking in town if there's a full moon and a norwester... and if the <insert local/national rugby team here> don't win, then you definitely definitely don't wana go out.

another bit if kiwi wisdom i love, is in winter, and you get a warm spell... and people will nod sagely and say 'yep... snow's coming'.

since when does warm mean snow?!
    but the feckers are always right :(

but yeah, like i say, im in christchurch, but if i get my visa and get back to work, it's straight to saving up for my tattoo sleeve i wana get from an amazing artist in new plymouth, which ill probably be making a bit of a holiday out of, and have (in my very very forward thinking plans) planned to go visit watna in wellington while up on the north island, so im sure we can have a mini beers there, then :D

Auckland weather is hit and miss. The past few days have been cloudy but warm. Prob early 20s. Today is the same.

Last week was mad. 100% humidity, 22c in the mornings. Wasn't a pleasant nights sleep for a few days.

Auckland can be boring at times, but I work enough that it doesn't bother me that much. If you live in Auckland, you really need a car to leave the city and do stuff. It has a poor rail network and some of the better beaches, hot pools, general stuff to do is all out of town.

y'no, i dont care how good the deal is... between police 10/7 and a gang exposé thing i watched almost a year ago now.. i just don't think i could ever move there :P

it's supposed to be mostly around 20 for the rest of the week here, except friday, which should dip to 15. (of course. i get my board back, the next day, it gets cold -.- ).

not really anything much to do round here if you're not into outdoor sports, but then, it's christchurch. sorta a given :P

Its suddenly changed from a cloudy warm day to pissing rain

:(

i lol'd. it's still just overcast here.

what i love is talking to natives of melbourne, and they keep telling you how 'changeable' the weather is. which is totally isnt by irish/kiwi standards... i'd love to see some of them spending a month of 'summer' in ireland...

...and now we're back to normal. Was gonna catch a train a few min ago, but it started raining. I'll get the next one now.

Knowing my luck it'll rain again

haha, im doing the sponsored head shave for the leukaemia/blood cancer peeps, so am going to go visit a few friends/old workmates and try to convince them to give me money for it.

heh, on the offchance you wana gimme money too, feel free to PM me.

If I wasn't trying to save to fly home, save for a car, save to move house, save to pay off my credit card I'd throw some $'s your way.

Didn't even renew my Boards sub this year for the first time in a couple of years because of this :(

Oh, once I left for the train it pissed rain again!!!!!

haha, no worries... just thought it's worth the shot... making up a sig over hte next coupla days, just on the offchance someone's feeling generous :P

• Registered Users Posts: 3,939 ✭✭✭pclancy

Tropical Cyclone heading our way :) Amazing considering today was gorgeous and tomorrow will be the same. Gunna be a wet Cuba Carnival!

For some reason im playng a gig on saturday night in a bar in Newtown. Very weird night considering the carnivals on but hey gigs a gig!

feck. i just used 'drop kick' in AH, and got called up on it. how the hell do i explain that one?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,772 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

feck. i just used 'drop kick' in AH, and got called up on it. how the hell do i explain that one?

Just say "Yore Ma" and the cretins will crawl back under their rocks :pac:

hahahaha, awesome. i'd forgotten that was a kiwi term... now that i think about it, i can remember the first time i heard it... my fella was telling me about some dude, a mate's ex or something... "****ing dropkick, mate". and the visual was just fantastic for me, loved it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Got myself a proper IT job today. Woohho!

Might take a trip to OZ since I have a week to spare until now and then.

Well, despite it pissing rain all day yesterday, carnival day has dawned bright and beautiful. And instead of mingling with the mentalers down in cuba street, I'm up in my hostel putting my brain back together after too many beers last night. Wellington is way too dangerous for too many beers. My new travel buddy landed a job yesterday and went a bit mad to celebrate, so I stuck around to be the sensible influence. Didn't make much of a difference really. He ended up getting arsey, turned music on in the dorm and starting smoking joints out the window, and this morning got told none to politely to get the flock out of the building. So now he has a raging hangover, nay, he's still pissed, and is wandering around the streets with his backpack and has to start his new job in 3 hours. Men!

But I can hear the shenanigans down in the town. It sounds deadly. I reckon I'll wander into work an hour early or whenever I feel better (whichever comes first) and soak it up.

Oh and a total shot in the dark - PClancy, you don't play with a turkish guy called Yersen do you? Just this bloke told me he was playing a gig in a put in Newtown tonight, and sure you never know! Could be the same band!

And yes when your holliers roll round Crumble Froo we'll definitely have a mini beers! If I can stick this wind that long........

oh god, if it happens it'll not be till after winter. combination of being generally broke, accumulating debt and not being allowed work... but ive been planning this ink for nearly two years now, and unless the artist comes back down to the south island for a convention or something, (which i havent heard anything of), ill definitely be travelling up north for it.

Nope no turkish guys with us....played to one of the emptiest pubs of all time in Newtown, i mean there was like 10 people there. Just like a paid practice session so it was a good laugh :)

Lol @ the hostel antics. Its amazing how much weird **** suddenly happens with people you meet in hostels.

Im hammered now at home. Should have stayed out. How was the carnival did anyone go? I was in town and in molly malones for a few hours today and it was pumping.

Yeah it seemed pretty cool. Was working until about 11.30pm in a restaurant just off cuba street so I saw a lot of drunken happy faces go by. It's so funny, I've found kiwis to be a little bit more straight laced than Irish people, but my God they know how to throw a good party and go absolutely mental when needs be! Everywhere around cuba st and courtney place was a mass of samba choons and dancing heaving bodies. Deadly.

A mate of mine who's been living in Welly for a few months now convinced me to go to this trance night called Twisted cos he'd been to one before and thought it was the best thing since sliced pan. It's not really my cup of tea, but I said I'd give it a go. Thing was, this time the gig was on in the Garden Club, which is pretty much a gay club, and turns out my mate is a bit of a big macho homophobe (who knew?!) and had no idea that there was going to be a load of flamboyant gay people bouncing along with him on the dancefloor. He couldn't relax at all. So we headed off to Vespa from where we emerged at 7am this morning.

That's IT. I am not drinking for another million years.

Just back from my hols and Vanuatu really was lovely. Seriously, go there!

Unfortunately I did accidently fry myself to a crisp in the sun and I currently look like a lobster. My skiin is blistering and everything.

I am going to get the piss ripped out of me when I go back to work on Tuesday!

oh man, left my only rashie in melbourne, been out surfing since, my top left my neck and upper arms exposed. i r burnt too.

i want to add more. but im sitting in a room of 5, where 4 (everyone except me) has just seen maidne live) an dim a bit bitter.

Lol Vespa. I've ended up there a few times early in the morning. Usually very drunk by myself. It seems to draw people that are too fecked to get in anywhere else and they can go and stay drinking for a while. Ive had some mental conversations in that place. The blue note too :)

Ahhh i love falling home as the sun rises :)