Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How's life in NZ/Aus?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

Yet to make it there, but in a way, I think I could happily live anywhere that's consistently voted Tim Shadbolt mayor :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

Yet to make it there, but in a way, I think I could happily live anywhere that's consistently voted Tim Shadbolt mayor :pac:

Its a funny oul spot, the accent is mad altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 celticraven

Nuthin' wrong with Inverrrrrrrrrrrrcarrrrrrrrrrrrgill's accent :p

Best move Tim ever made was leaving Dorkland for the deep south! He was in the newspaper headlines the other day, speaking out most strongly against the pokie machines :D

Speaking of accents..... I was wondering just the other day whether NZ had regional accents. The most obvious one would be Southland, and the rrrrrrrolling (my ex's father tried to tell me it was because it was so cold in winter that their vocal chords froze :rolleyes:, and until I got here I believed him!) But what of other regions?

Nuthin' wrong with Inverrrrrrrrrrrrcarrrrrrrrrrrrgill's accent :p

Best move Tim ever made was leaving Dorkland for the deep south! He was in the newspaper headlines the other day, speaking out most strongly against the pokie machines :D

Speaking of accents..... I was wondering just the other day whether NZ had regional accents. The most obvious one would be Southland, and the rrrrrrrolling (my ex's father tried to tell me it was because it was so cold in winter that their vocal chords froze :rolleyes:, and until I got here I believed him!) But what of other regions?

Im based in the Waikato, but travel around abit (waikato, taupo canterbury,southland). The southland one sticks out like a sore thumb, more than any of the rest of them, i find. I was down there last week, fawk it was freezing.

Claasman wrote: »
    I was down there last week, fawk it was freezing.

yes, and that was our mid-summer temp! :p
    I used to live in the Waikato, and I'd rather be here almost any day - no fog! well, little enough that we can't complain ;)

I would have thought that if there was a regional accent to be had, then Otago would be first in, as settled heavily by Scots in the early days. Perhaps Southland is unique fabulous incredible just special :D

yes, and that was our mid-summer temp! :p
    I used to live in the Waikato, and I'd rather be here almost any day - no fog! well, little enough that we can't complain ;)

I would have thought that if there was a regional accent to be had, then Otago would be first in, as settled heavily by Scots in the early days. Perhaps Southland is unique fabulous incredible :mad:just special :D

I worked in canterbury for a year, and I'd gladly go back. The humidity here is a killer:mad:. Not good.

As for the southland accent, special isn't the first word that comes to mind:p.

Claasman wrote: »
    As for the southland accent, special isn't the first word that comes to mind:p.

awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, shucks :D

I must admit I haven't been everywhere in good ole' kiwiland, but my other fav spot would have to be the general Hauraki/Thames-Coromandel area (and not for the, er, greenery:p), although Marlborough was pretty good too:)

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭kiwipower

I dont think you can really say NZ has regional accents (especially when you compare with Ireland or the UK.) That said Gisborne has a noticably different turn of phrase and inflection.

Perhaps there is some East Coast colloquialism that is noticeable sometimes, but in general I didn't think we had noticeable regional accents, apart from the rrrrrrolling rrrrrrr's - although certainly not every Southlanderrrrr has that.

I agree that its definitely noticeable from within the UK, and America. There's probably an interesting anthropological study in there somewhere ;)

awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, shucks :D

I must admit I haven't been everywhere in good ole' kiwiland, but my other fav spot would have to be the general Hauraki/Thames-Coromandel area (and not for the, er, greenery:p), although Marlborough was pretty good too:)

I cant talk really;), I have a culchie (Kerry) accent myself

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Quick question....
    What do I need to get (if anything) to be able to use my Laptop in Oz? I'm in Ireland now but I'll be leaving in June. I presume they have different plugs or voltage or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Same Voltage, you just need a $10 Oz/NZ 3-pin adapter.

There's the slightest of noticable accent with southlanders, and a slight north/south island accent different, which is as much to do with a more maori influenced accent from the north, I think, but in general, there's feck all accent in NZ, but kiwis themselves don't tend to accept that fact until they realise what we mean when we say regional accent differences, like here. My ex didnt believe me until he was sat on a bus and couldnt make out the accent of the group of guys behind us getting off at the town before mine, that's when he realised what I'd been talking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Essien wrote: »
    Quick question....
    What do I need to get (if anything) to be able to use my Laptop in Oz? I'm in Ireland now but I'll be leaving in June. I presume they have different plugs or voltage or something.

Yeah just a plug adaptor and a signed note from your local priest saying that you dont look at pornography online which needs to be handed into the major of whatever area of oz youre in.
    Simple.

There's the slightest of noticable accent with southlanders, and a slight north/south island accent different, which is as much to do with a more maori influenced accent from the north, I think, but in general, there's feck all accent in NZ, but kiwis themselves don't tend to accept that fact until they realise what we mean when we say regional accent differences, like here. My ex didnt believe me until he was sat on a bus and couldnt make out the accent of the group of guys behind us getting off at the town before mine, that's when he realised what I'd been talking about.

We were sitting around the other week trying to decide what DVD to watch and one of the lads girlfriends whos from CHCH was pretty keen on watching "unknowen" with Liam Neison

Yeah nothing better than sitting i and watching "Unknowen" with some "Fosh n Chops"

Years ago someone asked me if I was English, because of the way I spoke, but I think I have become decidedly sloppy in my language these days.
    Perhaps a decently long holiday overseas in the UK would cure that? ;)

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Yeah nothing better than sitting i and watching "Unknowen" with some "Fosh n Chops"

Sweet as cuz!

One of my favourites is still kiwis saying the name of my old next door neighbour, Peggy, I'd giggle everytime cos I heard 'Piggy' and it managed to become a bit of a running joke.

Though nobody can understand me when I saw 'owl'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

The pronunciation of the guy on the ad for the music festival, Home Grown has made me refuse to ever go to it. He pronounces it Home grow-an and it drives me mad! John Key is terrible for it too - just watch how he pronounces the word shown.

A guy i work with had only yesterday recieved planning permission for his new 'dick', he even showed me drawings of his 'dick'

Looked more like a deck to me tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Skittlebrau

Took the pledge yesterday evening.. next stop, passport.

Funnily enough, I'm half thinking I wouldn't mind heading home for a while, see how it is. At least now I can always come back here if I want/need to.

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭doriansmith

That ad at the moment for some pet charity makes me laugh. "Look after your pits" indeed

Siven O Clock

hid-ache

Going for a drive in my "Sa-ba-roo"

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Going for a drive in my "Sa-ba-roo"

Sweet, sounds like it's gonna be in-tenths

• Registered Users Posts: 322 ✭✭Rebel Boy

Hey guys.

I hope to get a 2nd year WHV, I'm going to do farm work soon, but will I have to use the 2nd year visa strait after my 1st year or can I use it a few years later? I'm heading home in late Oct via Malaysia for a few days my visa isn't up till November but undecided if I want to come back to Oz right away, considering going around Europe or maybe the States and Canada before going back to Oz. all this is money pending etc but want to keep my options open.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Rebel Boy wrote: »
    Hey guys.

I hope to get a 2nd year WHV, I'm going to do farm work soon, but will I have to use the 2nd year visa strait after my 1st year or can I use it a few years later? I'm heading home in late Oct via Malaysia for a few days my visa isn't up till November but undecided if I want to come back to Oz right away, considering going around Europe or maybe the States and Canada before going back to Oz. all this is money pending etc but want to keep my options open.
    ah come on! It's stated on the website
    http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/417/how-the-visa-works.htm
    You were outside Australia

You can:

* travel to Australia at any time in the 12 months from the date your second Working Holiday visa is granted (this cannot be extended or deferred)
    * stay in Australia for 12 months from the date you first enter the country on your second Working Holiday visa.

so in summary, apply for it when you leave Oz, once granted you have a year to arrive and a year from when you land to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,336 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

You can even wait a year or two to apply, but the rules might change in 3 years time, and you might not be eligible. It's unlikely, but possible. Plenty of notice anyway

make sure you bring plenty of evidence of farm work on returning back into the country! Speaking from personal experience.