Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gynecologist question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

*adele* wrote: »
    Oh christ. Here you are preaching about how women shouldnt mind whether its a male or female doctor but from the crap the men in this thread are coming out with, and what you just said, can you really imagine a woman wanting to go to a male doctor? Because thats the reaction a women wants when she needs help with a medical problem.:rolleyes: Maybe you should grow up

And are we to take by your posts, that all women are over-sensitive, sensationalist, generalising whingers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Oh christ. Here you are preaching about how women shouldnt mind whether its a male or female doctor but from the crap the men in this thread are coming out with, and what you just said, can you really imagine a woman wanting to go to a male doctor? Because thats the reaction a women wants when she needs help with a medical problem.:rolleyes: Maybe you should grow up

To be honest I find a lot of the comments by men in this thread to be funny. It's just a joke. You hardly think that a male doctor is going to come out with some of those comments? Obviously there will always be one or two, but you'd get the same with female doctors.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

I really think there's a distinction to be made between the guys in After Hours and professionals who not only deal with these problems all day long, but are specifically trained to be sensitive to female patients (and thoroughly examined on it).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Phlann wrote: »
    I really think there's a distinction to be made between the guys in After Hours and professionals who not only deal with these problems all day long, but are specifically trained to be sensitive to female patients (and thoroughly examined on it).

I just put that in bold, because some people might be slow to realise the difference between the two.

I'm not a gynoco...gynas... ah feck it, fanny doctor by the way, WOTEVER!

*whistles whilst treading on thin ice*

ALT => The thought of that has given me an erection so hard it could be used as a question on QI.

or.....

so hard that it would put manners on the crustiest Reclaim the Streets protester. :pac:
    milod wrote: »
    I reckon it would have to affect you. I mean, I'm a Dentist, and let me tell ya, I've gone right off blowjobs...

Don't like the taste, no?
    Magpie! wrote: »
    Ex told me one of the worst experiences of his like was having a hot female doctor do an STD test on him

I f*cked up my knee playing hurling years ago, aged 16-17. had to go to hospital and was put sitting on a bed/trolley, still in my shorts, socks and boots, on my back and legs akimbo. Absolute stunner of a nurse comes in, stands right inbetween my spread legs and starts pushing them apart slowly while squeezing my knee every now + then and asking @how does that feel?'.

On my mother's life, you could hang a wet duffel coat off it. She was more embarassed about it than I was though. Especially after she came back 10 mins later to find me hobbling out of the jacks ;)
    janeybabe wrote: »
    To be honest I find a lot of the comments by men in this thread to be funny. It's just a joke. You hardly think that a male doctor is going to come out with some of those comments? Obviously there will always be one or two, but you'd get the same with female doctors.

Truth. This woman speaks it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Truth. This woman speaks it.

why dont you both meet up and kiss?
    :P

stevoman wrote: »
    why dont you both meet up and kiss?
    :P

Cool, you coming too?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Cool, you coming too?

maybe...... ;):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

Its fooking outrageous :mad: -I've had to lodge a complaint at the family planning clinic last month, Ive been going there for years now and NOT ONE doctor has perved at me m1nge!

For fooks sakes, ya pay your money and all ye get is a bored looking grandad in a wig, I dunno what the world is coming to!!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

On my mother's life, you could hang a wet duffel coat off it. She was more embarassed about it than I was though. Especially after she came back 10 mins later to find me hobbling out of the jacks ;)
    :D Fantastic!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

+1; I was just chatting about this topic with the OH, and while she said she'd probably feel more comfortable with a female doctor (hers is a lady), she wouldn't make an issue of it if she was suddenly brought in an emergency to a hospital/clinic situation and certainly wouldn't refuse treatment or an exam on the basis of the professional's gender.

Personally I wouldn't give a damn about a doctor's gender or anything of the sort if I felt I was getting a professional service. I understand people's comfort is a personal preference and it's probably not going to change after a discussion, but change the issue to race and see how you feel. Discrimination doesn't suddenly become OK just because you don't feel comfortable.

IMO if you're going to refuse medical attention and expertise on the basis of gender, race, religion etc. you really need to take a long hard look at yourself and think about where your priorities lie.
    . . .On my mother's life, you could hang a wet duffel coat off it. She was more embarassed about it than I was though. Especially after she came back 10 mins later to find me hobbling out of the jacks ;)

:D Oh how I LOLed - cracker!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Theres nothing i like more in the morning, then the smell of a freshly baked yeast infection. :D

That episode of futurama where bender makes his own beer finally makes sense :pac:!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

and women dont joke about the male reproductive organs?

I'll see your rollyeyes :rolleyes: and raise you 3 fapps :pac: :pac: :pac:

Heh, the pacman guy DOES look like a "fap"! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

stevoman wrote: »
    what if the man was a smooth talking cat like barry white?
    Then I'd definately go to him ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

snyper wrote: »
    and women dont joke about the male reproductive organs?

I'll see your rollyeyes :rolleyes: and raise you 3 fapps :pac: :pac: :pac:
    We dont say "Ooh you men are so sexist not going to a woman doctor" then carry on "Eww manky disgusting diseased penises"

I see your fapps and raise you this happy fellow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

We dont say "Ooh you men are so sexist not going to a woman doctor" then carry on "Eww manky disgusting diseased penises"

I see your fapps and raise you this happy fellow :D

you do know that the most vile comments about the female oraphis was made by dudess... a woman.. well apparently.. i havnt seen a boob pic yet

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭hunnybunny

Originally Posted by StormWarrior
    Can't imagine many women like having a male doctor for down there. He could have become a cardiologist or something instead.

Agreed, I would refuse point blank to have male doctor examine me there. I just hope I can ensure I have a female doctor when I have a baby.

Ah it's all just biology. I couldn't give a hoot what gender the person doing the examining was. The last bit of work I got done in that department was by a male actually. I didn't even think about it tbh. He was just doing his job.
    I think it's strange though that there aren't more female gynaecologists. I know of female doctors and nurses who do gynae/obs work, but no females actually specialising. I don't know... it would kinda make more sense - for instance empathy-wise. I know lads experience pain too but they'll never know what a menstrual cramp is like.
    And I do wonder why men would choose it as a career - the abuse they must get (mostly good natured, but still) must be endless...
    snyper wrote: »
    you do know that the most vile comments about the female oraphis was made by dudess... a woman.. well apparently.. i havnt seen a boob pic yet
    Yep, I think minges are rotten looking-yokes. Not that male genitalia looks nice either...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

hunnybunny wrote: »
    Agreed, I would refuse point blank to have male doctor examine me there. I just hope I can ensure I have a female doctor when I have a baby.

May I ask on what grounds?

I wonder are the individuals who are taking such a hard line on this issue the same ones who cry sexism when women aren't treated exactly the same as men?:confused: How would you feel if someone you were dealing with in a professional situation requested that you be replaced by a male, or a black person, or a non-Irish person? I imagine you'd be rather insulted.

Refusing "point-blank" is discrimation - no discussion. If you received medical care from an oriental or black doctor, would you refuse "point-blank" and ask for a caucasian doctor? I find some people's attitude rather immature. While I appreciate comfort is an integral part of any professional service, using an individual's gender, race or anything like that to justify your narrow-mindedness is offside IMO. If the room is too cold, or unhygenic, then sure, complain away - don't discriminate against someone who's doing their job.

I want the best care in a medical situation, if that happens to be from a one-legged Martian with a lazy eye, then so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

hunnybunny wrote: »

God forbid the baby is a boy and gets a good close up of your gash.

juvenal wrote: »

I wonder are the individuals who are taking such a hard line on this issue the same ones who cry sexism when women aren't treated exactly the same as men?:confused:

Refusing "point-blank" is discrimation - no discussion. If you received medical care from an oriental or black doctor, would you refuse "point-blank" and ask for a caucasian doctor? I find some people's attitude rather immature.

Yeah, I really don't understand it but I suppose it's a personal choice.

Not the same as a gynaecological exam, but when I got a breast exam the female GP made me feel uncomfortable and almost guilty for having a lump at my age and the male consultant made me feel comfortable and reassured me.

None of this means I will reject female doctors, but it does show that male doctors cannot be tarred with the one brush.
    Kold wrote: »
    God forbid the baby is a boy and gets a good close up of your gash.

I Lol'd!

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭hunnybunny

I wonder are the individuals who are taking such a hard line on this issue the same ones who cry sexism when women aren't treated exactly the same as men?

Refusing "point-blank" is discrimation - no discussion. If you received medical care from an oriental or black doctor, would you refuse "point-blank" and ask for a caucasian doctor? I find some people's attitude rather immature.

Its a modesty thing. I just would prefer a woman. I would be embaressed with a man. Black/Phillipino whatever race doesn t matter to me.

I wonder Dublin hospitals deal with the issues of Muslim women and their husbands who would absolutely refuse to let a male doctor examine them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 sondal

Yeah, I really don't understand it but I suppose it's a personal choice.

Not the same as a gynaecological exam, but when I got a breast exam the female GP made me feel uncomfortable and almost guilty for having a lump at my age and the male consultant made me feel comfortable and reassured me.

None of this means I will reject female doctors, but it does show that male doctors cannot be tarred with the one brush.

I Lol'd!

I had a bad experience with an foreign male doctor that told me I was too fat to wear blue jeans. It totally crushed my self esteem. I know there are lots of good male doctors in Dublin, as i changed GP from Carlow Town five months ago. However, i just dont trust them after my bad experience which was two years ago. There are a largenumber of south african male doctors working in Ireland ( i read this in the Irish Times). It seems they are very mature and caring GP's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Most of us are 20 something degenerates. Hardly med-school material.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

I don't want to be ganging up on Hunnybunny here but the whole childbirth point made me laugh.

You're going to be screaming, sh1tting and urinating in front of a room full of people and modesty is still a concern... people really are weird :pac:

Also I disagree with the empathy point that Dudess made. Men definitely can empathise with women's problems

For example, I was at a music festival years ago and took immodium all weekend so that I wouldn't have to use the manky toilets. The resulting poo was massive and I'm pretty sure I had post-natal depression for a while afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,211 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

You're going to be screaming, sh1tting and urinating in front of a room full of people and modesty is still a concern... people really are weird :pac:

:eek::confused: :eek::confused: :eek::confused: :eek::confused: :eek::confused: :eek::confused:

I always thought this in my head, what with all the pushing etc... but.... er..... :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

For example, I was at a music festival years ago and took immodium all weekend so that I wouldn't have to use the manky toilets. The resulting poo was massive and I'm pretty sure I had post-natal depression for a while afterwards.

:eek::confused:

You should have done heroin instead.... at least then you'd have the added benifit of being high while abusing your body.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

:eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

Medical student shouting "wahey", plus I have seen several news stories about male doctors abusing their female gynae patients. There was even a film about it on the true movies channel. It certainly does happen. And what about women who just don't want a male doctor because they don't feel comfortable with it? Do you think the woman is wrong for refusing? In Sweden recently a woman showed up at the gynaecologist, there to discover it was a male doctor. She asked for a female doctor instead. The male doctor complained about her and she was kicked off the clinic's list and not allowed treatment any more for "sexual discrimination" of the doctor. So, because she didn't feel comfortable with some random man poking around with her private bits, she is denied medical treatment. This is what political correctness leads to.

Firstly, It is a disgraceful thing for any doctor of any dicipline to betray the trust of a patient.

However, it doesn't happen regualary. Car crashes do happen, plane crashes do happen, insurance scams do happen. Lots of undesireable things do happen.

If a woman doesn't want a male doctor because she's not comfortable then a female doctor should be the one to treat her. However, to say that you don't want a male doc incase he perves on you is a bit of a gerneralisation.