Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Daft invest in Boards.ie

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

seamus wrote: »
    Daft.ie will not be given preferential treatment.

If the Daft guys want to comment on-thread, they can. But this isn't going to be the start of censoring people for badmouthing daft or for mentioning myhome.ie and the other inferior sites :p

I was just wondering if there was a conflict of interest how would it be handled?

I think I might put a poll up to see who sucks more between myhome and daft and see how long it lasts as a test*

* Wont actually be done

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,636 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Congratulations to boards owners and to powers that be in daft.

Free gaffs for all woohoo!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Awesome! Payrises all round for Mods!

raise-1.jpg

Why did you blank out all the porn subscriptions?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Heh. This might get me in trouble, but wouldnt they be better off using the money to actually run a decent website? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Awesome! Payrises all round for Mods!

Bahahahaha I know where you shop now!

/readies stalker kit

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

kearnsr wrote: »
    Why did you blank out all the porn subscriptions?

I'm more curious about what app he felt the need to hide on the quick start bar...

Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

well done lads :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Yay a pay raise, whats 0x10% again? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 83,235 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Jumpy wrote: »
    Heh. This might get me in trouble, but wouldnt they be better off using the money to actually run a decent website? :P
    They just bought Cult. They're set for life.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Congratulations lads. I hope it goes well for yis. :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

Congratulations guys - new hamsters all round...:D

• Registered Users Posts: 37,301 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Mena wrote: »
    To give an insight into the potential direction of the evolving franchise, last year Boards.ie acquired the Boards Group, an international chain of domains, from founder John Breslin.
    I found this interesting. Who controls the Boards Group? DeVore? Bubbles?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

the_syco wrote: »
    I found this interesting. Who controls the Boards Group? DeVore? Bubbles?

It was/is controlled by Cloud afaik.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Its now owned by Boards Ltd. The company bought a huge number of domains from Cloud for the price Cloud paid for them initially (which is only fair).

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

The admins were grilled on this, one of the Daft.ie people also commented and all is well.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

As for criticism of Daft, we'll apply the same rules to them as everyone else.

Think about this: We've had long term advertisers here and any Mod who can step forward and detail a time when I deleted something or told them to delete something or interefered with their modding or over ruled them to favour an advertiser, step up and call me a liar.

It wont be any different now. Firstly, the Daft guys are cool and copped on, they wouldnt do that. Secondly they'll get told a curt "I'm sorry, we dont do that". Its simply a non issue, but I'm publically telling you (and indirectly I guess Daft), that you arent to vary any decisions pro- or anti- Daft as a result of this announcement. Its just a non-issue anyway.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

As someone who runs a couple of websites himself, it's great seeing community focussed websites doing well.

Nice one! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭OTK

Can a community be sold?

OTK wrote: »
    Can a community be sold?
    Not really, no. The community can be fostered and nurtured but it exists as a mass of connections between users and a structure of moderation and self-regulation powered by good will , good will which arises ultimately from agreement between all parties that something worthwhile is being built and in itself that is a reward.

I have a feeling some (most?) people get that and some dont. :)

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,982 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Congrats, hope it goes well for ye.
    Does this mean we should prepare for an influx of those who refer to themselves as "Dafties" followed by a brutal power struggle?:eek:

hahahha, we'd eat them alive. :)

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Cool_CM wrote: »
    Does this mean we should prepare for an influx of those who refer to themselves as "Dafties" followed by a brutal power struggle?:eek:

DeVore wrote: »
    hahahha, we'd eat them alive. :)

DeV.

Good, because that thought sounded quite scary!

Congratulations and all that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Heathen

Rock on lads!!

result!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,557 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Cool_CM wrote: »
    I, for one, welcome our new Daft overlords and would like to remind them that as a trusted boards.ie user, I can be helpful in rounding up others to toil in their underground sugar caves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

Not bad for a bunch of Quake nerds, eh?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,836 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Congrats :) Hopefully you'll all earn some nice pocket change that would be expected for a website of such popularity.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

There is no mention of The Snyper in that press release.

I wonder is my position still tenable