Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MicraBabble

Options
  • 15-08-2008 2:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 916 ✭✭✭

Hello!
    I feel it is time to start posting a fitness log to track the progress of my gym life which is just a week old. My stats:

Age/Sex: 30 year old male.
    Weight: Approx 12-12.5 st (77 kgs)
    Height: 6ft (180cm)

My background is that I was a keen swimmer in my youth, but haven't trained for 15 years at this stage, although I think it helped give me a solid set of shoulders. In recent years after piling on the pounds in my late twenties I weighed in at about 13.5 st and was some what pudgey. I got interested in diet and nutrition and tend to eat a low GL type diet with a nod to John Berardi's Precision Nutrition. I also took up cycling to work which is 30mins twice a day. I tend to cycle this as intensively as cross city travel safely allows me. The end result of this good diet and excercise is that I am a stone to a stone and a half lighter. However the problem is I am now what you might call "skinny fat". Slim but no real definition, and kind of soft looking.

So there is my goal, to tone up, drop body fat and add muscle.
    My current circumstance is that I am working abroad and not cycling. So I had to bite the bullet and join a gym in order to prevent myself becoming a fat heap again. It also means my diet isn't as good as it would be at home.

Objective (1): Maintain current weight and/or add lean muscle. Improve body shape.

Objective (2): Longer term if I went back up to 13.5 stone with lean muscle I would be delighted.