Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

student tax query

• 15-08-2008 4:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 32

I have a query which I'm hoping somebody here can resolve for me.

I am currently a full-time third level student and my student stipend is exempt from tax. I'm currently involved in a start-up company that makes no money but is starting to look like it might become profitable (fingers crossed!). The company's plan is to pay all employees a basic salary whenever it has the money to do so. So my question is, how would this affect my tax situation? The scholarship exemption form doesn't appear to prohibit alternative sources of income. How would I be taxed for the income from the company? If, for example, I am currently receiving €18K p.a. as a student stipend and I was to begin receiving €20K p.a. from this company, would my tax free allowance be significantly reduced or superseded by my scholarship exemption? If the scholarship is exempt from tax, does it still contribute towards placing me in a higher tax bracket?

I hope I have made my situation clear here! I suppose, at the most basic level, my question is: If I earn 38K p.a. and 18K of it is exempt from tax, how much tax am I expected to pay?

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Okay......... Lets break this down

The Company element: