Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will Pillar Stay or will he go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Truck

Only if Dublin want to go backwards. The man has been far from a success as an inter-county manager

True. He could'nt do anything with a good wexford side, then new manager brings them to semi final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Guisseppeth

NicheG wrote: »
    Just looking at some threads since Saturday and tbh I had totally overlooked the idea of Joe Kernan as a possible replacement for Pillar?
    I've seen him at a few Dublin matches over the past year (saw him at the Westmeath game in Croker, co-incidentally on the same day his sons were in action against Down in the Ulster SFC) both league and champo.
    Obviously with Pillar stating the fact that this was going to be his last year in charge; I suppose it would be naive to think the Costello and co have not 'talked' to a few possible contenders, with Big Joe being a likely candidate.
    With some of the Armagh boys plying their trade in Dublin over the last few years, he would have the advice there with regard to what's happening on the club scene.
    No doubt he has an excellent record. The only problem is; do we want to resort to the Ulster style of play?

He was at the Championship game in his role as a commentator for TV3. He said at the time that it was strange to be there when Armagh and his boys were playing elsewhere.

I also heard somewhere that he is Armagh to the bone and just couldn't imagine managing any other county in case they come up against his beloved Armagh. Thats not to say he won't though................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

Damo.Smith wrote: »
    joe kernan would be a great appointment...a bit of toughness and proper leadership

Heard Joe speaking on the Radio on Sunday... have to say, sounded like a man who is interested in potentially being maybe linked to a job... I think he wants back into management. Although he still refers to Armagh as "We" ( rightly so) and while we seems to appreciate the Dublin Job is one of the biggest appointments in GAA I think he also realises its a poison Chalice.

But on the raido he was saying all the right things....
    Keernan, Rock, Mullins, Clarke ?, all intersting ideas.

Personally I would lead towards Mullins. ( doubs he wasnts anything to do with this)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Extremely unfair comment - in the last 4 years dublin have lost 4 matches in the championship , tyrone have lost 5 -

They've also won an AI in those 4 years. We haven't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭APM

Mickey Whelan would be a good contender. Did very well winning the All-Ireland club championship for Vincents.

Don't think he stayed on as the senior manager either there.

APM wrote: »
    Mickey Whelan would be a good contender. Did very well winning the All-Ireland club championship for Vincents.

bit Auld no ? who is the guy that works with Mickey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Alany wrote: »

Ask Micko if Whelan is too old:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

APM wrote: »

Whelan was exposed as headstrong between 1996-1997. It would take a lot more to convince me that he is up to the job.

I think both Kernan and Micko would be interested. It was only his belief that he didnt have 100% Dublin support that stopped Micko taking the job in 2004.

Deegan,Galvin and Sheedy would interest me. But I would rather put an experienced man at the helm, and train one of them up for the job in 2 years.

Deegan would be interesting ..
    I hate to seem ageist but I do think Micko and Whelan are a bit too long in the tooth. But what do I know ??

perhaps Deegan/Mullins might make a good team ?

baztard wrote: »
    Haha, why would he leave an up and coming team, to manage a down and out one?

Anyway if he peforms well next year, he'll no doubt stay on at Kildare. And if he performs badly, why would Dublin want him?

Hands off buddy! :)

In fairness Kildare will have a lot more to do than beat Cavan and Limerick before we can consider them an up and coming team. Dublin still have the beating of all of Leinster even in the wake of Saturday's debacle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

How about Jack O'Connor as a new Manager? 2 All-Irelands in 3 Years, one blip being against a very strong Tyrone side. If they were going for an outside manager, they would surely go for a man with All Ireland success behind him. Outside of that, does anyone know who coached the Dublin Junior team that won the All-Ireland this year. They would also have to be considered.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    How about Jack O'Connor as a new Manager? 2 All-Irelands in 3 Years, one blip being against a very strong Tyrone side. If they were going for an outside manager, they would surely go for a man with All Ireland success behind him. Outside of that, does anyone know who coached the Dublin Junior team that won the All-Ireland this year. They would also have to be considered.

Michael Deegan, Michael Galvin, and Jack Sheedy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Ah ok, no wonder Mick Deegan's name has been bandied about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭APM

isn't that Dave Billings? who is/was also involved with the current Dublin panel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Jack o'connor would be my pick, we need to play hard and develop our play more with the ball, we seem to struggle to get the easy points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Back on topic, i think he will stay :D

Sorry, silly post but couldnt resist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

According to The Irish Times, Páidí Ó'Sé is interested
    Former Kerry, Westmeath and Clare manager Páidí Ó'Sé indicated he would be interested in the vacant Dublin job after Paul Caffrey resigned following their comprehensive All-Ireland quarter-final defeat at the hands of Tyrone at the weekend.

Ó'Sé said the Dublin role is a "very attractive job" for any former player or manager who has already managed their native county.

Speaking on Newstalk 106 today, the Kerry legend said: "Any player who went back to management, or managed his county team, of course he would give the Dublin job very serious consideration - it's a very attractive job.

"Of course all managers would look at that (the Dublin job) and would take it into account. Of course they would. I wouldn't be on my own in saying that, there are plenty of other people who would as well."

That said the former All-Ireland winner believes the Dublin County Board are seeking someone within the county to replace Caffrey.

"I would say at this point in time that Dublin would find it very hard to be looking outside their own county.

"They're a very, very proud county," he added. "They have a lot of very good men available to them in their own county at the moment and I'd be very surprised if they did decide to go outside the county to be honest."

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/gaa/2008/0818/1218868108969.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,027 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Golferx wrote: »
    An absolutely meaningless statistic.

Facts are that the Dubs have failed miserably.
    Winning a meaningless Leinster championship doesn't count for much.
    The simple facts would bear out Tyrone have been facing much better teams than Dublin. Any true test for the Dubs and they have failed.

explain how its meaningless - kerry lost a match this year - they have a second chance, tyrone lost a match, they have a second chance, wexford lost a match they have a second chance,

In the last 4 years, dublin have never gotten a second chance... and thats a fact.

kerry lost the munster title when everyone said they had it won,
    dublin had one bad day at the office - nothing went right from the off...

juvenal wrote: »
    According to The Irish Times, Páidí Ó'Sé is interested

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/gaa/2008/0818/1218868108969.html

Very exciting !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭2Scoops

Very exciting !

Páidí says himself there that he knows he won't be offered it. He's dead right about the reasons too - Dubs are too proud; good Dublin-born managers available. Another reason is that he's not a great manager, really. I've heard that from two different lads that played under him at least.

You could do worse than the ageless Mickey Whelan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

Joe Kernan has nwow ruled himself out of contention. The County Board are in no rush to appoint, and I'll be surprised if it happens soon. Plenty of time for speculation ;)
    JOE KERNAN has ruled himself out of the running to succeed Paul Caffrey, as Dublin begin the search for new football management.

The former Armagh and Crossmaglen All-Ireland winning manager said his connections with his own county - with whom four of his sons are panellists - were too strong to consider taking over another county.

"It sets off a fire alarm all right," he said when asked if he was interested, "but I'm too close to Armagh and the players. It would be very hard to take on another team to go out and meet your own. But it's one of the very biggest jobs in the game and I think anyone would be interested."

After the team's big defeat on Saturday by Tyrone, Caffrey stood down and triggered a flood-tide of speculation about who his successor might be.

Already Mick Deegan and his management team that recently took Dublin to an All-Ireland junior title have been installed as favourites. Deegan and one of his selectors, Mick Galvin, were All-Ireland medallists when the county last won the senior title, in 1995. The other selector is Jack Sheedy, a former All Star and player on the team of the early 1990s.

Brian Mullins of the 1970s and 80s teams has also been suggested, although the county board were unwilling to meet some of the conditions he set when discussing the possibility of taking over when the position was last vacant in 2004.

A number of other names have also been mentioned, including outsiders such as Kernan and Kerry All-Ireland winning manager Jack O'Connor, who was unavailable when approached yesterday. It is, however, strongly believed the county board would not look favourably on a candidate from outside the county when local candidates remain interested, as the indications are Deegan is.

Another Dublin manager with experience of the position is 1963 All-Ireland winner Mickey Whelan, who took over the job in the aftermath of the 1995 success but who stepped down in his third season in charge. Earlier this year he took his club, St Vincent's, to the All-Ireland football title with a win over Nemo Rangers.

Whereas he remains interested in an involvement with county teams, Whelan believes he wouldn't be part of the plans at senior level.

"I don't think that's going to happen," he said, "and anyway the county board might want to appoint from the former management so I'm not going to speculate on it but I'm happy to take over a development team like the under-15s."

Whelan, who has a formidable coaching pedigree, wasn't expecting Dublin's defeat but feels it doesn't mean the end of the team. "I was very surprised because Dublin were in such good form but I wasn't surprised that Tyrone made such a great fight of it. The match was an aberration in that Dublin never played as badly. I know a team only plays as well as it's let but they seemed to get upset at the early setbacks. Alan Brogan's injury was a huge blow to confidence."

Asked about developmental criticism that Dublin are prioritising the production of athletes rather than footballers, Whelan says that that is just a trend.

"Trends go from one extreme to another. In the 1950s, great Dublin teams were out-muscled by Kerry and that's why Kevin Heffernan prioritised big men on his team but they played a cerebral brand of football - there was intelligence there as well as power. You can do that. Small gaps in a team's amount of skill can be made up even if a chasm in skill can't.

"There's no point in jumping over the moon if you can't put the ball over the bar. Almost every team is doing strength work but you have to peak maybe two or three times a season."

He believes strongly that skills and decision-making on the field are best learned in match situations rather than by intensive coaching. "It's my particular hobby horse. There are parts of the game that can only be learned by playing and can't be acquired simply through drills. Smart mentors are using small-sided games as a way of prioritising tactical appreciation.

"I don't think Kerry coach any more than we do but I think they play more and learn more from playing. We're getting young footballers to play to win; Kerry make sure they're picking up the skill sets and decision-making ability necessary to win matches later on.

"The difference is you know the next move in a drill. You don't know the next move in a game or what an opponent is going to do next.

"At senior level, the player is mostly a finished product and you can only make them tactically aware of the challenge that opponents will bring. You should be working with senior players to give them the freedom to think."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

Ace2007 wrote: »
    explain how its meaningless - kerry lost a match this year - they have a second chance, tyrone lost a match, they have a second chance, wexford lost a match they have a second chance,

In the last 4 years, dublin have never gotten a second chance... and thats a fact.

kerry lost the munster title when everyone said they had it won,
    dublin had one bad day at the office - nothing went right from the off...

Mickey Hartes suggestion for provincial champions was a good one, whether he was using it as a mind game or not. Have the four provincial champions play off in two games. The losers meet two teams from the qualifiers and the winners go through to wait in the semi-finals. On the other hand the sickening part of the getting a second chance is, Cork have beat Kerry convincingly in Munster only to have to beat them again in the AI semi. The chance of beating Kerry once is slim enough, not to mind having to beat them twice in the same year. Mickey Hartes system would be useful also, to eliminate the long periods between provincial finals and AI quarter final.

If Paidi gets the job I will be hanging up my jersey! I would like to see Jack O Connor get it, its not a Dublin thing, I just cant stand Paidi and think he is way overrated as a manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Mick Deegan is favourite with Paddy Power, they can stay away from Jason Ryan.I think I will put my money on Bertie ;)
    Mick Deegan 		11 - 10
    Mick Galvin 		10 - 3
    Brian Mullins 		7 - 1
    Paidi O’Se 		10 - 1
    Brian Talty 		10 - 1
    Charlie Redmond 	12 - 1
    Val Andrews 		12 - 1
    Jim Gavin 		14 - 1
    Jack Sheedy  		20 - 1
    John O'Leary 		20 - 1
    Mick O'Dwyer 		25 - 1
    Declan Sheehan 		33 - 1
    Jason Ryan 		40 - 1
    Joe Kernan 		50 - 1
    Bertie Ahern 		500 - 1 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Waylander wrote: »
    If Paidi gets the job I will be hanging up my jersey! I would like to see Jack O Connor get it, its not a Dublin thing, I just cant stand Paidi and think he is way overrated as a manager.

I agree. I absolutely hate Paidi O Se, he is the worst kind of show-boater, and is a totally crap manager.

Let's get a manager who won AIs with Dublin as a player and has decent managerial experience, such as Brian Mullins.

I agree. I absolutely hate Paidi O Se, he is the worst kind of show-boater, and is a totally crap manager.

Let's get a manager who won AIs with Dublin as a player and has decent managerial experience, such as Brian Mullins.

To be fair I dont think it has to be a Dub. I would like to see Jack O Connor get the job as I think he would enjoy the opportunity to stick two fingers up to the Kerry establishment. I just dont rate Paidi as a manager. Failing that Deegan\Galvin\Sheedy would be my preference.

i always thought Paidi was an excellent manager..but Jack O'Connor would also be excellent.

What are Galvin/sheedy doing at the moment in terms of management ?

i always thought Paidi was an excellent manager..but Jack O'Connor would also be excellent.

What are Galvin/sheedy doing at the moment in terms of management ?

I think Paidi won his All Irelands when there was buggerall competition, as soon as Tyrone and Armagh came onto the scene he won nothing. Jack O connor toughened them up and made them competitive with the Ulster teams again. I dont rate him at all.

Deegan is Fingal Ravens manager and Dublin juniors, Sheedy and Galvin are his support team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

Paul Curran anyone?
    I know he's inexperienced but he's doing well with Thomas Davis AFAIK.

I'm surprised I haven't even heard him mentioned in connection with the job
    (......prepares to be shot down.....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭sgthighway

Was there much stroking going on in the Dublin Football Camp to keep certain players on or off the panel? It just doesn't add up that Dublin cannot win an All-Ireland. Is there a problem above the Management Level? I don't know but just can't understand it - big population - loads of money - good facilities - good supporters. Has Mick O'Dwyer made any comment on the position. He said before he would have loved to manage Dublin or Galway. I think you need to go outside Dublin and let him run his own show without any interference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Waylander wrote: »
    I think Paidi won his All Irelands when there was buggerall competition, as soon as Tyrone and Armagh came onto the scene he won nothing. Jack O connor toughened them up and made them competitive with the Ulster teams again. I dont rate him at all.

Deegan is Fingal Ravens manager and Dublin juniors, Sheedy and Galvin are his support team.

Give it to Deegan. He took Fingal Ravens to an AI final and won the AI with the Dublin juniors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

blackbelt wrote: »
    Pillar was always going to go win or lose Sam.There has been mention of Mick Deegan as favourite to take over as well as Brian Mullins.Other than that,Talty looks to be the next step from the current backroom team although he may want to stay on as selector.

If we were to get an outside manager,I'd be looking for a manager who could not only teach the Dublin players to play open direct football but to also use the swarm tactics that the northern teams such as Tyrone use.This is where we have fallen in 2005 and this year.

If he had left his position this year,which I don't think will be for another few years,I'd be looking to take on Tomas O Flatharta.

Really hope this will be the new appointment if we are to get an outside manager.Tomas O Flatharta has got Westmeath back on the map and has created a very mean defence that is probably the best defence in Ireland imo.This is where Dublin have lost All Irelands.I think he is a great manager and could bring out the best in the Dubs and actually have a gameplan.If we are to get O Flatharta,I believe that the DCB are making a tremendous choice and I'll laud them for that.

The following is from Hoganstand.com

Dublin’s new boss?

Tomas O’Flaherta
    21 August 2008

According to media reports a pair of Kerrymen lead the race to take over the Dublin manager’s job vacated by Paul Caffrey.

But the Dublin County Board have no wish to employ either Paidi O’Se or Jack O’Connor. However and a fact backed by reliable sources, the top brass of Dublin GAA circles have their eyes on another Kerryman and one much closer to home - Tomas O’Flatharta.

Kerry native O’Flatharta, who hails from the same part of the Kingdom as O’Se, has in recent years nailed his club colours to the Kilmacud Crokes mast.

He was linked to the Dublin job prior to Caffreys appointment and when the aforementioned Paidi O’Se took over Westmeath for the 2004 season, one of his first acts was to bring his neighbour on board.

Many within Westmeath GAA claim that O’Flatharta played a huge part, if not greater than Paidi’s when the Midlanders swept to their only provincial senior title later on in 2004.

When O’Se departed the midlands, O’Flatharta became the automatic heir. After a couple of mediocre seasons, 2008 saw a huge revival of Westmeath fortunes with O’Flatharta gaining much of the limelight.

Experts claim that Westmeath were the most organised outfit operating in the 2008 championship, with the management gaining the maximum effort from each player.

Dublin were beaten in the Division 2 League decider while hard fought championship wins were forged away to neighbours Longford and Offaly.

Westmeath came within a whisker of eliminating Dublin from the provincial race and after another away victory over Tipperary in the back door series, the men in maroon made Tyrone fight every inch of the way in Omagh.

If O’Flatharta’s side had not lost two key players through red cards at a crucial stage in the game, it could well have been another meeting with the Dubs. Even with their two men advantage, Tyrone just scraped through.

Events that have brought the Kerryman to the attention of the Dublin County Board. No doubt Westmeath will fight tooth and nail to hold onto their prize asset. But it looks like Tomas O’Flatharta will be guiding the fortunes of the boys in sky blue come 2009 action.

Im not sure about that one, like the article said 2 bad seasons and one good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Tomas O Flaharta? Not a chance of it!!!

The next manager has to be and will be from Dublin. We don't want to end up with another bumbling plonker like Tommy Lyons (and probably one of his buddies as well).

Why not Mickey Whelan with Deegan & Co in the set up? They are always harping about how Whelan is a tactics man and can influence things by a quick change here and there....where was that against Tyrone?

Paidi O Se: ask any Kerryman - the reason they got rid of Paidi O Se is because he is crap, but thinks he is a rockstar. Jack O'Connor came in and Kerry's form made a mockery of O Se's management credentials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Tomas O Flaharta? Not a chance of it!!!

The next manager has to be and will be from Dublin.

I really think Dublin should go and seek the best manager for the job regardless whether he is from Dublin or not. Why restrict yourselves? (BTW I am a Mayo man)

Yes it would be great to have a dub at the helm but if an outsider is better qualified then why not go for him? If Tomas O Flaharta was available you could be do a lot worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Why should it be Dublin man? I'd be happy with Jack o' connor or Colm o' Rourke has been mentioned.

O'Rourke. feck off.. sure the new man doesnt have to be from Dublin. But a fecking Meath legend.. I think not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Denis Irwin

Badabing wrote: »
    Colm o' Rourke has been mentioned.

I really,really hope your taking the p*ss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I really,really hope your taking the p*ss.

He has done good things with St. Patricks of Navan, why not?

Well for starters he would have to leave his cosy studio and put himself in a position where he is open to criticism. But more because Dublin fans would revolt if he got the job. I have no problem with a non-dub getting the job, but I do not think I could stand him getting the job.