Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nice little quick, cheap car

• Registered Users Posts: 65,441 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

The Alpine is rare and sweet and more affordable than I thought, but it's a completely different proposition compared to the Clio. The Alpine is a classic supercar. The Clio is a modern hot hatch. The latter is faster, which says a lot about car evolution over the past few decades

• Registered Users Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

That Clio is nearly too good to be true, I smell a scam. They're £3500 and up in the UK at the moment. Having had a few passenger spins in other 172s, I can confirm that they are a ridiculously good car. They're quick, handle well, and would put most current hot hatches to shame. Anyone looking at a hot hatch bargain won't care if it's the pre-facelift model or not, the 172 is rated over later models like the 197 by many Renault heads. Seriously good value if it's the real deal though!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Peugeot/205/GTI/1156210/

that's a cheap car that's always gonna have a value. It is however an auto, which doesn't really bother me at the price.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭Ferris

Not that much of a fan of Clio's but for the money this 172 is a cracker.

Put it this way, its about a squillion* times better than a Honda Civic VTi which would be difficult to get for this money.

*scientific measure:D

• Registered Users Posts: 20,110 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

i think a lot of people are just seeing a 2litre clio and thinking wtf

this is one of the best handling hot hatches in years, think pug 205gti with way more power, these will always sell.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭fletch

ninty9er wrote: »
    http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Peugeot/205/GTI/1156210/

that's a cheap car that's always gonna have a value. It is however an auto, which doesn't really bother me at the price.
    An auto 205 GTI! Em give me the Clio any day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

a2dg wrote: »
    "How much will an 01 Golf GTI set you back? (th clio is much quicker btw)"

Sold my gti turbo 00 last nov for 9250, clio might be quicker standard but the possibilites of the golf are much greater than the 2ltr staight clio.... not to mention the the appearence, for all the non petrol head out there ur in a 17year old girls car:D

Possibilities? You pay 9250 for a Golf and then some more to tune it, say a grand to get an easy few bhp more. Throw 5 grand at that Clio with a professional tuner to bring it to the same price and it'd mop the floor with a chipped GTi. Don't count tuning. Standard it's quicker, cheaper and much better handling. Can't knock it.

Biro wrote: »
    Possibilities? You pay 9250 for a Golf and then some more to tune it, say a grand to get an easy few bhp more. Throw 5 grand at that Clio with a professional tuner to bring it to the same price and it'd mop the floor with a chipped GTi. Don't count tuning. Standard it's quicker, cheaper and much better handling. Can't knock it.

Having driven a chipped 1.8T Golf there is no way it would hang on to the back of a Clio 172. It might hold it in a straight line (the golf was very quick in a straight line to be fair) but it will not hold a better handling, smaller, lighter car with a better power to weight ratio through the bends.

The Clio 172 was the class leader in its day, really until the Mk5 GTi arrived.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,244 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Cyrus wrote: »
    i think a lot of people are just seeing a 2litre clio and thinking wtf

Unfortunately this mentality has been drilled into alot of Irish motorists over the years due to numerous governments seeing the soft touch motorist as being an easy way of generating revenue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

why do people have a problem with the fact that it's 2ltrs? I have 3 cars at home with a total of 8ltrs between them... and I want more!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

CtrlSource wrote: »
    Wouldn't touch it. Looks like a nice car, but it's 8 years old and is 2 litres!

such a sad attitude that will deny you many nice cars my friend.

quarryman wrote: »
    such a sad attitude that will deny you many nice cars my friend.

I'd be more of the "small car, big engine, whats not to like?" mindset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

This Irish mentality is very good!

keep it up until I've the money saved for this car please.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I could get a roasting for being a dick here but.....
    I'd love one, but for what it is, it's overpriced IMO. Who's gonna want a 10 year old 2l supermini, which is what it would be by the time I'd be done with it.
    CtrlSource wrote: »
    Wouldn't touch it. Looks like a nice car, but it's 8 years old and is 2 litres! Furthermore it's an obsolete model.

Seriously lads - do you guy's have any interest in cars at all ?
    This is the attitude of people with no clue about what they are on about.
    Your attitude is a perfect example of a major issue the motors forum is having imo.

Anyway -
    The 172 is a future classic and was an excellent addition to a long line of fast hatches from arguably the finest hot hatch maker of them all.
    If I had a garage and 5k lying about - I would love to mothball one of those or if I was looking for a track car - it would be hard to beat.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭omega man

a2dg wrote: »
    "How much will an 01 Golf GTI set you back? (th clio is much quicker btw)"

Sold my gti turbo 00 last nov for 9250, clio might be quicker standard but the possibilites of the golf are much greater than the 2ltr staight clio.... not to mention the the appearence, for all the non petrol head out there ur in a 17year old girls car:D

Another poor soul who thinks the GTI is the be all end all. That MKIV was pants, looks and engine. I would rather 1 'petrol head' admiring my car then 100 non 'petrol heads'. As for a '17 year old girls car', it would be pathetic enough to get smoked by a little clio but to be smoked by a 17 year old girl driving a clio :D. BTW the 172 & 182 were cracking little cars, great handling and just fun to drive. Will give a few red faces to many a 'bigger' car driver!

RobAMerc wrote: »

Your attitude is a perfect example of a major issue the motors forum is having imo.

Anyway -
    The 172 is a future classic and was an excellent addition to a long line of fast hatches from arguably the finest hot hatch maker of them all.
    If I had a garage and 5k lying about - I would love to mothball one of those or if I was looking for a track car - it would be hard to beat.

I'd buy a 13 year old 4.2l A8 if I could afford to run it....that Clio's just not for me, maybe it's that it's a Clio.

I could probably justify it if it was a Polo or 206

• Registered Users Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Ooooh...I'm sitting on the fence on this one.
    I've never driven a 172 or been in one but the mags raved about them and some knowledgeable people on here seem to have a very positive first-hand experience.

It's not really my cup of tea - maybe deep down I'm prejudiced. But I tip my hat to anyone with the sheer-bloody-petrolheaditis to appreciate this car.

I really hope it goes to a genuine enthusiast that will appreciate it and not some Burberry-be-decked skanger who will weight it down with a go-faster bodykit, oversized wheels and a stereo system the size of a Volvo - which I think is a real danger at that price.

This logic baffles me:confused:

I'd buy a 13 year old 4.2l A8 if I could afford to run it....that Clio's just not for me, maybe it's that it's a Clio.

Oh christ.
    Please tell me your being sarcastic ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭siralfalot

show me a 206 or Polo that would be as good as a Clio 172?? :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭VH

siralfalot wrote: »
    show me a 206
    206 GTI 180 - close but prob not quite as good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭siralfalot

VH wrote: »

nice car, but nowhere near as good, I considered buying one a few years back when I was trading in my 306, I didn't like it at all

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

If i had to downgrade my 5 series and save a few quid, I would buy that Clio today.

VH wrote: »

I have not driven the 206 gti - but by all accounts I have read it is a fairly long way off the best hot hatch ( which happens to be the Clio )

While Peugeot have produced some great hot hatches - 205,106,and 306 in gti/xsi form ( even the 307 is a fine handling car) Renault have imo been the consistent kings of the area for years.

5 gordini
    5 gt turbo
    19 16v ( not up to the rest of them but good )
    Clio 16v
    Clio Williams
    Clio 172 etc etc ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭VH

I have not driven the 206 gti - but by all accounts I have read it is a fairly long way off the best hot hatch ( which happens to be the Clio )

While Peugeot have produced some great hot hatches - 205,106,and 306 in gti/xsi form ( even the 307 is a fine handling car) Renault have imo been the consistent kings of the area for years.

5 gordini
    5 gt turbo
    19 16v ( not up to the rest of them but good )
    Clio 16v
    Clio Williams
    Clio 172 etc etc ....
    for every person that says that about renault there is one that says it about ford (escort cosworth, focus st etc), honda (civic type r, integra r), peugeot 106 gti, 205 gti, 306 gti6, mini cooper, etc etc etc - its all subjective

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 damo2006

Cracking little car, steering wheels wears badly which would lead you to believe the car has more mileage than it does, so if your looking at one don't let that put you off. Great handling, alot of bang for oyur buck, came close to buying one before the whole"French" thing scared me off though probalby silly i know

For less money you could have this though, just found it on adverts:-

http://adverts.ie/63985

Just have to make sure the LSD isn't knackered.

Ferris wrote: »
    For less money you could have this though, just found it on adverts:-

http://adverts.ie/63985

Just have to make sure the LSD isn't knackered.

No thanks - I would still take the Clio - although the 200 would be good fun on the wet roundybouts :D

the 200 would be good fun on the wet roundybouts :D

So could the Clio if you're inventive and brave.

Not that we could ever condone such a thing:p

Actually this is the problem with the 200sx - the image it has. That and the hassle you'd get off boy racers.

siralfalot wrote: »
    show me a 206 or Polo that would be as good as a Clio 172?? :confused::confused:
    I just don't like the Clio in general FFS. It's want to be less than €2k to even get me close to interested. It doesn't appease me at all that it's a cracker of a car if it looks like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Toon--soldier

Anyway -